Customer Reviews for

Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 415 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(193)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Surprised

I chose the book because it was a great deal, and I figured this is a topic I could definitely stand to know more about; but I was surprised to find that Harriet Jacobs was a woman I felt I could relate to, regardless of the centuries and culture gap between us. She wri...
I chose the book because it was a great deal, and I figured this is a topic I could definitely stand to know more about; but I was surprised to find that Harriet Jacobs was a woman I felt I could relate to, regardless of the centuries and culture gap between us. She writes with passion and intelligence, and her revelations of the cruelty of the slave trade are tempered with anecdotes of familial love and the kindness of others who are sympathetic to the plight of the slaves. Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl reads as easily as Jane Eyre and if you are interested in narratives involving slavery, women in the 1800's, or simply a story about someone who clings to the hope of a better life and will suffer almost anything to achieve it, this book is worth your time.

posted by sybil_rising on June 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

great book

i had to read this for class i would read it again for leisure. the only reason i dont give it more stars is because the way it is written is more autobiographical though she fictionalizes her name so as not to point at her identity directly. but this is a great book a...
i had to read this for class i would read it again for leisure. the only reason i dont give it more stars is because the way it is written is more autobiographical though she fictionalizes her name so as not to point at her identity directly. but this is a great book about the life of a slave girl, right up there with douglas. though douglas's is better.

posted by Anonymous on July 25, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Here is the Unsung Hero of Abolition

    Here is the story of a woman born into slavery who learns to read, write, and speak the language of her captors. Her harrowing escape and the eventual purchase of her freedom, and that of her daughters documents the Abolitionist Movements of New England and Europe. A defining American story of the power of a woman and her deep strength born of faith. This is inspiring to all people in all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Fantastic

    Such a great book! I couldn't put it down. I highly recommend it for reading in all Junior high school history classes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    A "must" read. Not an easy reading topic.

    I have had to read this in little bites but it is a very important book, and everyone should read it so we don't repeat history

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Treffic story

    A must read, it gives a lot of insight into their lives at that time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Beautiful

    I love this book,No doubt about it this will be a classic forever in my heart some parts of the story I did get teary eyed this is such a wonderful book its worth the money or you can buy the the cheaper one by looking up Linda Brent and or I can lend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    If you are interested in antebellum Southern history this is a great read

    I loved this book! It is the actual life story of Harriet Jacobs' harrowing life of slavery under a cruel and lustful master. It was written by her in the 1850s and authenticated in the 1980s. A fabulous story of survival and a mother's love. It also is a fascinating primary document that outlines the dark underbelly of the idealized antebellum South.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    BLACKDEATH

    I thought you tried to run away. Twenty dick spanks (or fuks!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    American History

    This book was nothing like i expected it to be. My heart was full throughout the book. I would recommend this book to everyone, not just those interested in slavery. Every person should know how things were just over a century ago and how similar they are to people's attitudes/feeling today. The courage it took for "Linda" (Harriett) to put her life story into words is beyond words. There are so many untold stories and I'm glad to have read this one. This is something I will pass down to other generations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Highly recommended; couldn't put it down

    Harriet Jacobs was an inspiration then and now. Her strength to endure the tribulations of being a female slave was riveting. I missed her after I finished the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Awesome woman

    I read this book for a college class and will never forget it. Such an example of strength and courage

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Great book

    What an eye opener! Think l have better insight on not just slavery but human intuition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Great read and awesome endurance by the author

    This educated Negress slave, had a great vocabulary and her tell is so clear that you can picture the events. Her journey is to say the least harrowing and more than heroic. Loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful.

    This is a picture of the hardship endured under slavery, and of how the human spirit can endure all things as long as there is hope. A worthy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    Amazing

    I was so captivated by her story, I read it in 1 day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Amazing book.

    This book was hard to put down. I just wanted to know what happened next on each page. The slave girl's amazing courage and determination to live as a free woman never faltered. Seeing life through a slave's eyes was very eye opening. I would highly recommend this book for it's poignant moments, strength of will and history of the Southern way of life before emancipation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Makes you think!

    I love stories about what life was like for people back then and how they made it through the rough times. Get a cup of coffee and curl up to this book that keeps you thankful for how life is today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    A harrowing account of slavery as it really happened

    Why anyone would want to celebrate and honor the Confederacy has always puzzled me. As depicted in this book, a real account by a real person, slavery was virtually the rape of an entire people. Slaves suffered, lived and died at the whims of their owners who were rarely the kind of caring people as seen in other books about the Old South. Instead, slaves lived in perpetual fear -- fear of hideous physical punishment, fear of being sold and separated from family including their own children, fear of the thugs who patrolled the South and, after the passage of the Fugitive Slave Act, the North and caught runaway slaves. and, if you were a teenage girl, fear of rape by your master. There are countries in the world where these conditions still exist, so we should not congratulate ourselves onhow enlightened we are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommeded!!!

    The book was very interested and I couldn't put the book down. Ms. Jacobs is the inventor of the Pin Name for sure...The book is very well written. I loved the book since it pulled on my emotions quite alot. It goes under the Favorite category on my shelf. It is a MUST read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Amazing Biography

    Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl / 978-1-411-43239-0 It is amusing to note that Jacobs' autobiography was published shortly after Stowe's famous Uncle Tom's Cabin, and yet would never attain the same level of popularity. Stowe's work, for all it's virtues, is (to modern eyes, at least) painfully didactic, frequently breaking the narrative to tell the reader what they are meant to take from a scene. Jacobs' Incidents, however, is written freely and easily, relating the salient points of her life, rarely breaking narrative to tell the reader what to think. Her history is merely presented as is, and is immensely more readable than other contemporary works. Unfortunately, Jacobs' work was doomed to be far less popular, at least in part because the material was considered too salacious - she actually includes men in her novel, and not all her encounters are strictly 'forced', in the sense that some liaisons are contracted for convenience and safety, if not always for love. Amusingly, these "flaws" in Jacobs' character make her narrative that more interesting and insightful to read. It is relevant and worth knowing that slaves sometimes felt obligated to please certain men in order to secure safety or basic necessities. Jacobs determination to survive and thrive within the system that oppresses her causes us to admire her and to enjoy her narrative as we hope for some kind of happiness and success in her life of few options, none of them good. If you have any interest at all in slavery or the American Civil War, I highly recommend this narrative. ~ Ana Mardoll

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Highly recommended - especially for history buffs!

    I was riveted by Ms. Jacobs writings, and disappointed in the fact that this was not required reading when I was in school, (which was back in the 1960's)and even now with this generation. The Diary of Ann Frank was required reading, of which I thoroughly enjoyed, and learned from, but this happened right on my own soil, to my own people and I am just reading this great work! Kudos to Barnes & Nobles for putting it in their Classic Series, and making the world aware of personal writings of an enslaved people in the United States of America! Thank you B&N

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10