Customer Reviews for

An Incomplete Education

Average Rating 2.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good jumping off point.

I really like the book. I think the author's sense of humor is fun. Obviously the book doesn't cover every subject in great detail but it certainly opened my mind to new concepts and gave me enough information to do my own study in greater depth on the subjects I foun...
I really like the book. I think the author's sense of humor is fun. Obviously the book doesn't cover every subject in great detail but it certainly opened my mind to new concepts and gave me enough information to do my own study in greater depth on the subjects I found interesting. I bought this book in anticipation of being on a quiz show. I didn't make the cut for the show but I was very pleased with the new things I learned from this book.

posted by CosMcKidd on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bits and pieces

I am typically drawn to these tid-bit style books. I enjoy reading useless and sometimes entertaining bits and pieces. So with that proclivity, I was given this as a gift.
While it has it's moments this is basically disjointed, disorganized and uninteresting. A lot of ...
I am typically drawn to these tid-bit style books. I enjoy reading useless and sometimes entertaining bits and pieces. So with that proclivity, I was given this as a gift.
While it has it's moments this is basically disjointed, disorganized and uninteresting. A lot of what appears in here is opinion based. I don't read these type of books for opinion. This is like a "best of" list book in parts. I don't care to read someone else's opinion on insignificant things.
I cannot urge anyone to buy this mess.

posted by Sloth-SHS65 on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    Bits and pieces

    I am typically drawn to these tid-bit style books. I enjoy reading useless and sometimes entertaining bits and pieces. So with that proclivity, I was given this as a gift.
    While it has it's moments this is basically disjointed, disorganized and uninteresting. A lot of what appears in here is opinion based. I don't read these type of books for opinion. This is like a "best of" list book in parts. I don't care to read someone else's opinion on insignificant things.
    I cannot urge anyone to buy this mess.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good jumping off point.

    I really like the book. I think the author's sense of humor is fun. Obviously the book doesn't cover every subject in great detail but it certainly opened my mind to new concepts and gave me enough information to do my own study in greater depth on the subjects I found interesting. I bought this book in anticipation of being on a quiz show. I didn't make the cut for the show but I was very pleased with the new things I learned from this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    Interesting and useful.

    I attended one of the best colleges in the country, one that is known for its so-called Common Core Curriculum, which should have educated all of us in the basics. Somehow I still managed to lack tons of information that I think that an educated person should know. I ran across this book and read about a tenth of it. That was enough to make me want to buy it, which I am doing today. I read the review from the reviewer who accused the writers of being homophobic and focusing on this aspect of their personalities in an unfair way. In the roughly tenth of the book that I have read, I found no mention at all of homosexuality of any kind, and suspect that the reviewer has a bit of a chip on his shoulder.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A COMPLETE Waste of Time and Money

    I bought this book in hopes of enriching my mind and refreshing my memory of certain themes covered in my college curriculum; I was sorely disappointed. The authors take a sneering approach to the subjects they cover, in what appears to be a poor, cavalier stab at humor. The effect is off-putting, and actually inspires a defensive attitude from their audience. Caution lovers of Literature: chances are that one or more of your favorite authors have been denigrated within this book's covers. The knowledge the authors of this book impart on the various topics they cover is scant at best, and these anaemic summaries are more often then not followed by embarrassingly one-sided, pretentious editorialization. If you have a love for knowledge and some modicum of education, beware this book. If you have no real interest in the topics at hand, and are merely looking for opinions to snarkily regurgitate to an audience who in turn has no real interest in the topics in order to make yourself appear more knowledgeable than you really are . . . well, then, you have discovered your Holy Grail.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A horrible read

    Admittedly, I did not complete this book. I managed to force my way through the first 100+ pages before just getting fed up with it so, it is quite possible it gets better but highly unlikely. The authors of this work are clearly elitist, homophobic, cynical snobs with nothing better to do with their time then to insult and belittle the great thinkers and creations of humankind. Almost every single accomplishment discussed is put-down and if the creation isn't put-down then the creator is disgraced and half of these great historical figures they discuss, after slandering and vilifying them the authors always end the writing by mentioning they were homosexual as if that might be the cause of their supposed lack of humanity and/or ability. I am typically a fan of the cynical humor but this book was just over the top and should not try and pass itself off as a reference book from which one can truly learn.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    fun facts you forgot you knew

    very well written to be easy and fun to read in small bites, a good conversation starter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I stayed up til 5am for 4 days straight reading this book.

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It was addicting the amount of information they were throwing at you. They make it easy to skip around to topics that interest you most. The authors actually have a sense of humor which makes for absorbing all this information a little easier and entertaining. I would have liked for a little more detail and more clarification on some issues. Sometimes it did seem like the authors expect you to already have common knowledge on certain subjects which made their explanation a little confusing. But otherwise, I appreciated how the authors compared what you learned in high school to what you should have learned instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    Very Disappointing

    As someone who has read and loved history for many decades I thought this book would make a great addition to my collection, but I was very disappointed. Much of the information is piece-meal and incomplete, just enticing the reader a bit and then leaving them wondering where the rest of the story is. I was also surprised by the frequent and glaring anti-conservative messages, which were often unrelated to the topics being discussed. I understand that historians are human and have political leanings, but in this book too much opinion tainted the historical message. I was hoping for an informative new take on the topics included, and as I say, I was disappointed.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Wow, a lot of harsh criticism of this book. The original 1987 ed

    Wow, a lot of harsh criticism of this book. The original 1987 edition was in my family's library when I was a child, and
    I have fond memories of perusing through this book enough that I probably read the whole thing 2 or 3 times in small doses at a time.
    Even being that young, I could tell this book has a strongly humorous bent and doesn't take itself too seriously, and neither should the reader.
    It's not designed to be a heavy-duty, ultra authoritative compendium of human culture. That said, it does offer a lot of interesting tidbits of
    knowledge (and opinion) to casual readers. It won't turn anybody into a scholar,  it's just meant to be a fun book that can help give a reader a little bit of well-roundedness if they can read it with some objectivity. Because of this book, I have had a handy and easy-to-read reference point for learning a little bit about philosophy, film history, etc. Lighten up, folks. And please remember, the key word here is "incomplete". I think some reviewers here have set the bar way too high.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Quick read!

    General info for a rainy day read! Do not need to sit down and read at one sitting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    Just Okay

    Not as comprehensive as I had hoped (and too "preachy" on some points). Could have been better organized and given a broader view of the areas it purports to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    Very very disappointed with this book.

    Not well written and snarky pseudo-intellectual sarcasm included. Use wikipedia or buy an Oxford Dictionary or Encyclopedia instead. This was the first book I ever returned to B&N.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3