Customer Reviews for

An Inconvenient Book: Real Solutions to the World's Biggest Problems

Average Rating 3.5
( 153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This book is divided up into several sections, but the best is Beck's demolition of the idea of global warming. Gore's pathetic and lame collection of 'facts' is so skewed to the left that it almost ends up on the right. I would prefer a little bit of histrionics by B...
This book is divided up into several sections, but the best is Beck's demolition of the idea of global warming. Gore's pathetic and lame collection of 'facts' is so skewed to the left that it almost ends up on the right. I would prefer a little bit of histrionics by Beck than have to listen to a robotic monotone by Gore. He is a little bit sexist, particularly about how to score with your wife by watching some dreary English 'bonnet movie' with her, but aren't all of us a little bit that way? I liked his sharing of his past history and admire him (and Tanya) for his accomplishments. I found the whole book interesting and have listened to it on CD as well. I had to get both versions to review it on my radio network and gladly paid for them myself. Glen Beck has made me a watcher of CNN, something that I had quit some time back because of the liberal bias. Liberals, tree huggers, anarchists and Gorebots will not like the book, but that is their loss. I like to listen to the CD version when I am eating my supper of caribou steaks garnished with breast of spotted owl. John Edwards and his monstrous home bought with ambulance chasing are covered in a hilarious way. If you have brains you will enjoy the book. If you don't (can you say liberal?) you will hate it. Either way Beck doesn't bore us.

posted by Anonymous on December 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Regarding CO2 and Natural Disasters

Re: 'the truth' that as CO2 has increased, deaths from extreme weather have decreased... as quoted in the book Synopsis Beck assumes a correlation without providing any evidence to prove this statement, merely suggesting that two facts disprove a theory (i.e. CO2 inc...
Re: 'the truth' that as CO2 has increased, deaths from extreme weather have decreased... as quoted in the book Synopsis Beck assumes a correlation without providing any evidence to prove this statement, merely suggesting that two facts disprove a theory (i.e. CO2 increases from pollution are responsible for more intense weather). Beck's statements completely - and conveniently - ignore any number of other factors that are more likely to relate to a decrease in deaths from violent weather. The increased power and accuracy of meteorological equipment that monitors and predicts violent weather stricter safety standards for vehicles making them better able to withstand the elements - even a decrease in the number of people whose occupations require them to work on the ocean due to increased industrialization and mechanization - ALL of these factors have more relevance to the decrease in violent weather deaths than Beck's idea that air pollution is making us safer.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 153 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    More propaganda for right-wingers

    Just another book of conservative tripe. This one attempts to disprove global warming among other things. It's backed by no scientific facts or evidence, and although the author makes an attempt to be funny, a al Jon Stewart and Steven Colbert, his humor falls flat. Don't bother with this one.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Perfect reading for those who only want their own viewpoints supported

    To the person who suggested this fictional book be used in college I say 'my dear friend, you are giving away the fact that you never attended one.' One only has to spend one semster in college to know that the first thing you learn about determing facts is to consider your sources. Secondly, anything written without credible sources, citations, and documentation is never to be considered fact or scholarly. Mr. Beck has every right to his point of view, but it is unexcusable to use his snake-oil salesmanship on unsuspecting people by misleading them into believing there is any factual basis to his 'views'. He is just another greedy business who gives the rest of us conservatives a bad name.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    What the heck?

    This is absurd. 'the MYTH '?!?!?' of Global Warming? Who is this guy? Is his head underground or does he live in some kind of bubble seperate from reality? You should only buy this book to level a table. It's nearing the league of Ann Coulter's books. Seriously 'and I was entirely serious before', what does this guy know about a planetary climate shift??? With the thousands upon thousands of scientists who spend thier lives studying this know and have without a doubt proven it exists and was almost entirely due to our actions on Earth...how does he compare?!?

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    I've listened to this guy...

    and I've purchased four copies of this book to give as gifts as well as one for myself. Pick it up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    piece of garbage

    The first review was right. I watch headline news in the morning and Glen Beck is always on. I have never seen anyone take a whole hour promoting their book so hard. He even had Anderson Cooper on his show to interview him about his book. Pretty weak

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    Some people will love this book

    First, I'm not sure why the person below found this author's ego to be so exhausting. He's certainly no more egotistical than any other deejay. Look, Beck may not be some kind of educated, deep thinking genius with a bunch of clear opinions supported by evidence, but everything he says is so true and SO inconvenient. How often do you find a conservative deejay with both the insight and courage to call child molesters 'perverts' or environmentalists 'environmentalist whackos,' or the poor 'lazy'? You might be thinking, 'Well, like every day.' But don't let that fact discount the courage of Mr. Beck to repeat it again in this work. He certainly does it with his own creative, deejay zeal and wit. The picture on the cover really says it all. Hilarious! If you are as mesmorized by morning deejays as I am, for their deeper understanding of the truths of the world and their ability to incite the best reactions in their listeners, you won't be able to put this down. And that's the truth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    Read the book and agree except for one detail

    I agree with Glenn Beck with everything he says in the book except for one 'small' detail. In the book Glenn says Islam is a religion of peace. This assertion is false and could not be further from the truth.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    Typical Reactionary Head in the Sand Rhetoric

    Scary to think so-called educated people still have this illogical and unscientific point of view. Don't bother wasting your time with this one.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    A book that crosses parties

    Glenn Beck is one of the few public people out there today who is for AMERICA - not for Republicans or Democrats. He is interested in the truth and genuinely has this country's people at heart. THANK GOD FOR GLENN BECK! KEEP IT COMING!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you are totally disconnected from reality this is the book for you. Where is the research that backs any of this up? It's just another blowhard saying it must be true because he's on the radio and has a TV show.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Did You Ever Listen To This Guy?

    Glenn Beck has been pushing this book on his radio show I know and probably on his TV show as well. We all know there are certain rules and regulations that are followed not because they have always been that way but because they are tried and true. Beck tries to cut a hole in the tried and true but I really feel it is because he is very good and loves self promotion. Beck has an ear for anyone who has a different view of a current thinking and that's not so bad. But have you ever listened to Glenn Beck?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Truly an Inconvenient Read

    This is a difficult book to finish. This writer is full of himself and his ego gets in the way of the truth. Certainly his type of thinking is without basis and more in tune with the Rush Limbaugh 'shoot from the hip' genre. Today's global problems deserve more than this type of self-serving drivel.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Terrible Read

    If you are a high-school dropout, or if you only have a h.s. diploma, this book is for you, otherwise, this book lacks intelligence and integrity. Poor Read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    interesting

    always interesting reads. having ADD helps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    Truth is the Beck world

    Glenn Beck, never went to college, was a failing rock DJ before he became a "talk show host", knows nothing about politics, and spent a great part of his adult life strung out on cocaine and alcohol. His philosophy is don't confuse me with the facts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    This book takes the wind out of the sails of the hyper-environmentalists.

    We gave this as a gift to our son. He really enjoyed it. He brought it with him when he came to visit and quoted out of it often.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    Great Read

    There is nothing better then hearing Glenn Beck rant on about politics, which is exactlly what he does in this book. The best part of the book is when he sticks it to Global Warming.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Common Sense Packaged in a Funny Bag

    My wife bought me a copy of Glen's Book for my birthday. As a fan of his television show, it was the perfect gift. <BR/><BR/>As a person who has first hand experience with the problems surrounding immigration, I could relate and agree with Glen's assessment. <BR/><BR/>I could also fully agree with the solutions to poverty and the sins of self-serving politicians. While I agree with these viewpoints, I hope that others that maybe wanted to agree find that the over the top humor, may dispel the gravitas of the message. Personally, I like the humor of the book and find this makes for much more interesting read than the typical "I have the answer" type of books. <BR/><BR/>Hopefully Glen Beck, through his radio, television and books will keep the heat on the groups that are slowing but surely destroying our country and our way of life. Michael L. Gooch, SPHR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Great!

    I am a senior in college, and I hate reading since I have to do so much school reading--but I LOVED this book. I read it in only a few days and then gave it to my father afterward. It is definately right-wing, but it is a wakeup call to liberals as well. Most of my friends who don't know anything say that they are liberal, but I bet if they read this book they would change their minds. I loved it and I would read it a couple of times

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    Glenn Beck knocks another one out of the ball park. The man is hilarious. His political insight is dead on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 153 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8