Customer Reviews for

An Inconvenient Truth: The Crisis of Global Warming

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great but missing one little thing

good book, good points...but lacking that one thing i wanted to know....DOES MANBEARPIG EXIST....otherwise a good read ..if your into fairy tales.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A perfect example of how has-been politicians and pseudoscience groupies can lie and make money at the same time.

There are so many inaccuracies and self-serving scientific 'facts' in this book that it is impossible to name them all. Suffice it to say that Herr Josef Goebels would have been proud to have endorsed this book. That despicable little Nazi promoted the principle of the...
There are so many inaccuracies and self-serving scientific 'facts' in this book that it is impossible to name them all. Suffice it to say that Herr Josef Goebels would have been proud to have endorsed this book. That despicable little Nazi promoted the principle of the Big Lie. Tell a lie loudly enough and long enough and gullible people will begin to believe it. Fretwell's book, The Sky is NOT Falling, should be read by those who want a balanced viewpoint and then let your own judgement take over. We have had recurring cycles of global warming and cooling ever since man has been on this planet and long before that. Our carbon footprint is a negligible factor in these recurring cycles. Gore has a BIG footprint when it is not inserted into his mouth and wastes energy in that big house of his. He justifies this by buying carbon offsets, but he is a bad example for our children to follow. Read both books and compare science with pseudoscience and make up your own mind.

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    A perfect example of how has-been politicians and pseudoscience groupies can lie and make money at the same time.

    There are so many inaccuracies and self-serving scientific 'facts' in this book that it is impossible to name them all. Suffice it to say that Herr Josef Goebels would have been proud to have endorsed this book. That despicable little Nazi promoted the principle of the Big Lie. Tell a lie loudly enough and long enough and gullible people will begin to believe it. Fretwell's book, The Sky is NOT Falling, should be read by those who want a balanced viewpoint and then let your own judgement take over. We have had recurring cycles of global warming and cooling ever since man has been on this planet and long before that. Our carbon footprint is a negligible factor in these recurring cycles. Gore has a BIG footprint when it is not inserted into his mouth and wastes energy in that big house of his. He justifies this by buying carbon offsets, but he is a bad example for our children to follow. Read both books and compare science with pseudoscience and make up your own mind.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Great but missing one little thing

    good book, good points...but lacking that one thing i wanted to know....DOES MANBEARPIG EXIST....otherwise a good read ..if your into fairy tales.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    We can make a diffrence

    An Inconvenient Truth is a great book. It explains all about global warming and you can learn a lot from it, I know I have. Al Gore tells just about everything you would need to know about global warming, he also has a counter for everything that makes skeptics think that global warming is not happening or that we as humans have no affect on or that the increase in temperatures are just normal fluxes. An Inconvenient Truth tells how important global warming is and it also tells us that if we do not start to stop global warming soon then it may be too late to stop it at all. One of the coolest things about the book is the part where he talks about how the scientist can read the ice and tell what year the ice was formed. This was a great book and if you have any doubts about global warming READ THIS BOOK! It well change your mind forever.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    Al Gore Book about Global Warming

    This book covers the topic of Global Warming an is very well written by Al Gore. People that might be interested in this kind of book are one people who want to learn about world crisises and also need a good read. The book talks about Global warming and all the effects of it like the ice caps up in Greenland or the North Pole and how all the snow and ice is melting it also covers the ocean rising and the problem of natural disasters like for example the terrible hurrican Katrina which was one of the worst and it happened in New Orleans. Some more stuff that it has is how that we are the ones causing it and we are the only ones that can stop it. A reason that you might be reading it is one like me for schhol or just for fun. It is good for some teachers and it is very eduacatinal and also it has a lot of pictures along with the words that better make people understand the topic. It teaches a good lesson to learn that what we can do to the enviroment is bad and only we can stop it. The last thing that i have to say is that this book is true and this stuff is really happening out there in the world so think what you can do to stop it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    A must read

    It's always puzzling to find supposed skeptics who truly do want to accept the scientific fact that global warming is affecting the world and it is going at a must faster rate than it can be anticipated. An Inconvenient Truth is a must read for everyone because this book is not so much a book telling people that the world is going to end but that human impact is causing global warming and that people can make a difference. If people learned more ways to conserve their energy, use less green house gases, and take steps to improve the environment around them, we can still prevent the major disasters that come with the increased global climate change. Everyone should read this book--forget the politics, it's a human issue.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    A must read for anyone concerned about the environment

    This book should be required reading for all college students, no matter what their major, because our generation will be the one to reverse the effects of global warming. A good sized majority of the older generations (my parents included) simply don't care or are in error when they say that global warming doesn't exist. There is too much proof to the contrary. No matter what your personal beliefs are, you cannot deny the existence of global warming, and this book goes well above and beyond its duty in pointing out the facts to prove that it does exist and is definitely a problem.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    Need of the Hour

    How long can people run away from the mistakes which human keep making. Nature is not a meek thing, it nows how to keep things in control. All because these companies wanted to make lots of money etc etc, the truth was hidden by the media. There are people still who will swear that there is no global warming. An Inconvenient truth is to open the eyes of such blind folk in the world and urges all of us to start conserving and come together to work to save the earth which we have taken for granted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    A Must Read

    This book offers compelling proof of the effect humans have had on the enviroment. It's informative graphs and data are scientific proof of the phenonmenon. For those out there who believe global warming is just a cycle, READ THIS! Sure, Earth goes through warming and cooling periods, but NOTHING like whats happening now. Although I believe humans have the responsibility to take care of this Earth, I am by no means they type to shove this stuff down your throat. My advice, read a book from both sides of the issue and then decide your views for yourself!! Whatever your interest level is, you must read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    it was as bad as the movie...

    in science we had to read and watch the inconvenient truth and it was not fun at all. it is not relayed to teens at all besides a bit of simpsons in the video. not recommended for teachers to get for students

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    GLOBAL WARMING IS REAL

    global warming is real and is happening all around the world right now. whats realy sad is that by the time you people grow a brain and realize that this is real it will be to late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1