Customer Reviews for

Incubus Dreams (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 950 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(468)

4 Star

(194)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(108)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I Loved This Book

I have been reading the Anita Blake series for about a year now, and I've finally just sat down and started reading other customers reviews of the books. I have to say for those people out there who say Obsidian Butterfly is her last good book in the series they need to...
I have been reading the Anita Blake series for about a year now, and I've finally just sat down and started reading other customers reviews of the books. I have to say for those people out there who say Obsidian Butterfly is her last good book in the series they need to actually sit down and read those past that title again. There are many complaints about the amount of sex in the series and how that's all that there is. Really, it's not. If you go back and reread the books every sex scene drives the character developement. The character developement is the reason that I love this series so much. Every single character has changed to a degree and I think that's fascinating. You really get a look into their personalities. Jean-Claude is not the monster that Anita thought he was in the beginning of the series. She realizes that yes, he may be a vampire but he's a person with feelings too. I highly recommend the series to anyone and hope that they finish going through to the most current book coming out. I personally can't wait for it.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Where is Anita Blake?

What happened to Anita Blake, former vampire hunter and zombie raiser? The lead character has been reduced to being an indecisive and confused slut. Over a period of only a couple of days, Anita sleeps with a stranger in front of another stranger, has several threesom...
What happened to Anita Blake, former vampire hunter and zombie raiser? The lead character has been reduced to being an indecisive and confused slut. Over a period of only a couple of days, Anita sleeps with a stranger in front of another stranger, has several threesomes with different men, and does furry. Sex sells, but this is ridiculous and unoriginal. I found myself flipping through pages and even whole chapters to get beyond the blatant sex and back to the plot. But then I realized that there was no plot, only Anita Blake, queen of slutsville.

posted by McMonkey on December 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 960 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Where is Anita Blake?

    What happened to Anita Blake, former vampire hunter and zombie raiser? The lead character has been reduced to being an indecisive and confused slut. Over a period of only a couple of days, Anita sleeps with a stranger in front of another stranger, has several threesomes with different men, and does furry. Sex sells, but this is ridiculous and unoriginal. I found myself flipping through pages and even whole chapters to get beyond the blatant sex and back to the plot. But then I realized that there was no plot, only Anita Blake, queen of slutsville.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    I Loved This Book

    I have been reading the Anita Blake series for about a year now, and I've finally just sat down and started reading other customers reviews of the books. I have to say for those people out there who say Obsidian Butterfly is her last good book in the series they need to actually sit down and read those past that title again. There are many complaints about the amount of sex in the series and how that's all that there is. Really, it's not. If you go back and reread the books every sex scene drives the character developement. The character developement is the reason that I love this series so much. Every single character has changed to a degree and I think that's fascinating. You really get a look into their personalities. Jean-Claude is not the monster that Anita thought he was in the beginning of the series. She realizes that yes, he may be a vampire but he's a person with feelings too. I highly recommend the series to anyone and hope that they finish going through to the most current book coming out. I personally can't wait for it.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Incubus Dreams

    I think people have been a little too harsh on the arduer. Its important to remember that Anita is coming into powers that she cant control and has to learn to practice.

    Personally I am glad to see Hamilton evolving Anita past the "moral tightrope" she had been strangling herself on in the first few books. A long running series means that Anita has had to grow up, and Hamilton is doing a great job with that.

    The plot and characters remain intact even through the additional fluff of the sex/arduer.
    It was a good read and worth the money. If a little bit of erotic writing frightens you then you might want to avoid the book. DONT JUMP INTO THIS BOOK if you havent read others. You would be far too confused.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    Best book of the series!

    This is my favorite book of the Anita Blake series. I love them all but I have re-read this one the most. I ordered the audio book so I could listen to it while I did my walking. It gives me a change from music. I will continue to follow Anita in all of her future books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    My first Anita Blake book

    OMG I loved this book I'm on my way to the book store to buy all of the Anita Blake Series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    One of my favorites in this series ...

    OK - yes this one does have quite a bit of sex (which I can't imagine to be a BAD thing?!), but it also moves along a ton of Anita's relationships and has some of the most touching moments. Besides, I love Nathaniel & Micha.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    Simply awful

    This is by far one of the worst books I have ever read. The sex was constant in the book and it wasn't even done well. I was so creeped out by the amount of sex that I actually began to wonder 'is Anita going to start boinking her zombies next?!?!?!'. YIKES! I wouldn't put it past her now that she seems to have no inhabitions about what she is sleeping with at all. I felt insulted as a fan of the series that LKH actually believes that this is what her readers want from her books. The plot was completely nonexsistent, unless you consider gratutious sex to be plot and I certainly do not.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Bad

    Does she even write about Anitas job anymore? 260 pages in and nothing but sex. So trashy. So done with this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Former heroine dumbed down

    Anita Blake has been such a strong, complex character that it makes me sad to see her reduced to "so much meat". She has gone from a ball busting, zombie raising, fearless heroine to a simple minded, sniveling twit. It leaves one searching for the plot among the piles of pointless, gyrating bodies. It seems so many things are controlling her mind now that she has lost her ability to have an independent thought (her best feature by far). This is the first time since starting this series that I do not feel compelled to rush into the next book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Crap

    I thought i could get through the mindless drivel of the ardeur but come on!!! The whole book was sex, not that i mind the sex, i knew what i was getting into but the plots of each book get worse and worse. Really pissed off i spent all this money reading the series so far.... not going to finish it as the next book is 100 pages.... probably of more ardeur garbage.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I am sorry I even bought it.

    I liked this series up to Obsidian butterfly after that though NO! HORRIBLE! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME READING THIS MEDIOCRE PIECE OF WORK.
    It is as if Mrs. Hamilton just forgot how to write the good stuff.
    I will not buy another book from her again. It is a waste of money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    What happened LKH???

    I am not a huge Anita Blake fan. AT ALL. But when I first stared out, I was excited, overjoyed to be reading such a 'great'; book series! I got up to Circus of the Damned, and stopped enjoying it there.
    What happened!!!!???
    The arduer is a STUPID plot twist, a way for one to write sex scenes, but with saying that she has an excuse. It wasn't enough that Anita was an annoying character already; she was whiny, always whipping out her gun.
    This book is a huge dissappointment. I want a plotline, not a confusing sex book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Sex, sex and sex

    Is there anything else in this book besides sex?
    I love the Anita Blake series but this one lost me.
    The book isn't about anything else besides how many people Anita can sleep with. Oh come on!!! I'm sure there is some other way to deal with the Ardeur.
    I love a steamy sex scene just as much as the next gal but this is a bit extreme!
    I could've done without this book without it ruining the rest of the series.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Incubus Dreams

    Not sure how or why but Anita Blake is still around, still sleeping with every guy around and I am still reading about her. Not much more than that to the book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    Yes the books have gotten more and more erotic, and as they do, Anita becomes more and more annoyed with how her life is getting. But she is also learning how to cope with the fact she cant really change what she has to do. During the sex more stuff is happening then just sex, and every act of sex brings one more person into Anitas life, and complicates things even more. If you can see past the sex and pay attention to the story and not just the erotic parts. Youll love it. Everything has its reason

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    loved it

    Highly Recommended

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Wonderful addition to the series

    This series continues to keep me "hooked." The characters interactions are always interesting. And, the "inner termoil" of Anita is very real (considering the premise).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    http://www.sammyshubooks.com

    This is an excellent book, I couldn't put it down. It is stunningly imaginative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Amazing Series! Touching, Imaginative, Sexy!!!

    First of all, this is not a series you should just pick up anywhere. Start at the beginning. There is so much history you need in order to appreciate where Anita is at in her life in this crazy story. If I started with this book I would have been weirded out but I have come to know and appreciate Anita's personality and all the amazing men in her life. This author has done a great job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    too much sex

    When I first started reading this series, I appreciated the fact that Anita stuck to her morals and kept true to her beliefs. Within just a few books, especially this one, she has turned into a whore. I like steamy scene as much as the next person, but this book was an overkill. Get over the ardeur and move on already

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 960 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48