Customer Reviews for

Indelible

Average Rating 4
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Grant County Series

I started reading Karin Slaughter's themed books because I liked the characters of Dr. Sara Linton and Police Chief Jeffrey Tolliver. I like to buy 2 or 3 books from a series so that I have the next one ready when I finish the first one. I do this because I can't wait...
I started reading Karin Slaughter's themed books because I liked the characters of Dr. Sara Linton and Police Chief Jeffrey Tolliver. I like to buy 2 or 3 books from a series so that I have the next one ready when I finish the first one. I do this because I can't wait to read on and see what is going on with my characters. Karin Slaughter writes in a fashion that makes easy reading but always keeps your interest. I especially enjoyed Indelible as it touches on the minor characters also. I highly recommend you start reading the Grant County series from the first book to the most recent. I guarantee you will enjoy them.

posted by elaynecm51 on August 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

unnessary sex

I have just read all of Karin Slaughters books and have loved all but this one.She is an excellent writer with characters you take turns really liking and not liking them at all. The brutal xplicit sex scenes have been necessary to he plot in previous books How ever in...
I have just read all of Karin Slaughters books and have loved all but this one.She is an excellent writer with characters you take turns really liking and not liking them at all. The brutal xplicit sex scenes have been necessary to he plot in previous books How ever in Indelible. I had the feeling that the sex scene between Lucy and Jeffrey in the truck in this book was for pornographic value only and added nothing to the story.

posted by Anonymous on November 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Good story

    This was a good mix of mistery and romance... the only thing it jumped from one scene to another,so you had to remember the other chacters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    unnessary sex

    I have just read all of Karin Slaughters books and have loved all but this one.She is an excellent writer with characters you take turns really liking and not liking them at all. The brutal xplicit sex scenes have been necessary to he plot in previous books How ever in Indelible. I had the feeling that the sex scene between Lucy and Jeffrey in the truck in this book was for pornographic value only and added nothing to the story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Recommended - a good read.

    If you have read Karin Slaughter you know that she keeps you interested through out the entire book. I've read most of her books and find that I want more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    just ok

    It was a great scenario with the acute development of the hostage situation early on. If the objective of going back in time to tell prior stories is to keep the readers turning the pages then this tactic is simply annoying. What went on in the past is a stretch to what is happening now. The way the author gets us back is even more unreal. Jeffrey, one of the protagonist, has repeatedly mentioned how he hates the town, how much he 's ashamed of it, then it makes no sense at all to go back out of the blue. A huge problem there as to the approach of writing about the past. Additionally, there is nothing likable about the guy. He's a player. And for Sara to fall for him only serves to further cement the common belief or myth that women like bad boys. Keeping in mind, she's a physician. What does she see in him? Aside from the great sex, nothing. Then there is not much to explain their divorce. Whatever that conflict was, at the end, we are to simply believe they are back together again. That's just not real! The storyline isn't very original. Similar plots and themes have been employed by other authors such Richard North Patterson with much more intensity and believable writing. Nonetheless, it was an ok read. Just not as good as others.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3 stars

    At first the novel had too much going on at one time but once you get past the back and forth it gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Good read

    Enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Left hanging!

    This book was different in that the reader might feel as though there was no ending. I got the feeling there was a lot left unsaid and left to the imagination of the person doing the reading. The book is an easy read and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Well written, but the storyline hops all over the place.

    Karin Slaughter typically writes a good thriller, but this one was too helter-skelter for my taste. It kept jumping all over the place to develop the characters and the role they played in the storyline. Could of been much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An easy read

    Although I read a later book in the series first. I still found this story pretty good. Lots of twists and turns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    Not as good as her previous books.

    Today began like any other day, until the shooting started. Medical examiner Sara Linton, tagging along with her lover, police chief Jefferey Tolliver, is at the police station when two young men with masks and guns barge in and start shooting¿leaving one officer dead and Jefferey wounded. As the tense hostage situation builds, Sara begins to unravel the mystery of the two men who hold them captive only to discover their plan is one of revenge based on the sins of the past. `Indelible¿ was a good read. I enjoyed the present day plot of the hostage situation, but the alternating chapters of the earlier years plot got in the way of pacing. The two separate plot lines did come together to tie everything up, but I am not a fan of books that alternate plot lines and time periods between chapters and this novel did it throughout. On the plus side there are some genuinely surprising twists and several tense action scenes. Karin Slaughter is a good writer and her dark, gruesome thrillers are some of the more enjoyable to come out over the years, but her newest is not on par with her previous books. Nick Gonnella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2