Customer Reviews for

Indelible

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    When I first saw this book I thought it would be cheesy. For mon

    When I first saw this book I thought it would be cheesy. For months I would look at it and refused to get it. Finally I gave in and decided I would try it. I was blown away.

    Kristen Heitzman tells an incredible story about love and lost and how we can find a savior. It is beautifully written and keeps you reading into the night. Indelible is a mix between Ted Dekker and Robin Jones Gunn.

    A quote from the book: "Maybe there were miracles, and mere men could participate."

    I would definitely recommend this book. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing for this review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Kristen Hietzmann is a suspense writer of the best kind. Her fas

    Kristen Hietzmann is a suspense writer of the best kind. Her fast paced novels keep the reader on the edge of their seat from the first page until the last one. I read this one in two days... hardly coming up for food or sleep in the meantime.
    This novel comes after Indivisible, and even now, thinking about a novel I read months ago, my adrenaline starts pumping. Since I read the first one first, I can not say if it would have been different if I had not. Although it probably adds depth to the story, I don't think it is necessary to read one before the other. The topics Kristen chooses to write about are not the normal, humdrum everyday life type of topics, and yet they are there.
    The main characters, Trevor MacDaniel, and Natalie Reeve are strong people. Trevor is search and rescue and the first page has him fighting a cougar to save a child. But Trevor is vulnerable, and has a hard time when faced with a child's pain. Natalie has a rare mental condition called eidetic memory which causes her to remember more than is good for anyone, and struggles with it and with relationships. I am definitely a pushover for heroes, and since Kristen writes about heroes, she is one of my favorite authors.
    The story flows well, though fast, and the only thing I regret is that of turning the last page, reading the last word. She makes you feel as if you can see the scenes happening, and that you are right there. Not for the faint of heart and not an easy feel good cozy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Wow

    Wonderful read! One of her best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    An interesting book from author Kristen Heitzmann called "I

    An interesting book from author Kristen Heitzmann called "Indelible" started off so quickly I had to stop to get my bearings. I felt there was more to the story that I should have known before I started that's when I discovered there was a book before this one. Once I understood the characters and Heitzmann's writing style I really got into the book. A search and rescue volunteer, Trevor MacDaniel, rescues a toddler from a mountain lion. The toddler's aunt, Natalie, has just moved to Redford and is opening her art studio in the same building as MacDaniel's outfitter store. Natalie has an unusual disability and uses sculpturing as a release. Together they discover their weaknesses and strengths as a menace, targeting the helpless, targets Trevor. Who is it and why are the questions they frantically search to answer before he/she strikes again.
    I received a copy of this book from the publisher, Waterbrook, to review for free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Romance, Suspense, Action, and a little bit of creepy!

    Natalie has a gift; or is it a curse? Her eidetic memory allows her to capture emotion into her sculptures like no one else. But when Trevor McDaniel, a search and rescue volunteer, recovers her nephew, Cody, from the jaws of a mountain lion and the toddler is left in the care of Natalie, and she wonders, with this “gift”, if she’s fit to take care of Cody by herself. Trevor’s strong protector quality drives him to take Cody under his wing and meanwhile, a budding romance forms between him and Natalie. Trevor struggles with breaking free from his own past, and tries to compensate by helping Cody face his fears. A psychotic stalker is somewhere in their midst, deep in the shadows. First blackmailing Trevor, then threatening closer and closer to home, putting helpless victims at risk until it finally goes too far. Can they face their own fears and work together to put this twisted man’s actions to an end before it’s too late? I was excited to read this book, as it is a sequel to Kristen Heitzmann’s previous novel, Indivisible. It was great to see characters from that book make reappearances in this book. But, for this reason, some of the parts may be a bit confusing for someone who has never read this book’s prequel. Kristen is one of my favorite authors for several reasons: her plot lines are complex, her writing is unique and visual, she always creates likable characters, and the way she writes dialogue is natural and believable. She is a master at making the reader feel exactly what the characters are feeling. Each of her stories features a tough and athletic hero, and an elegant and artsy heroine. This book is no exception. The only problem I have with her books is that she makes characters drink wine. This is a very controversial subject, which is why it’s not usually mentioned in Christian books. I personally don’t like that she does this, as I don’t drink at all. I do like, however, how the story is kicked off with a bang, the action starting on the very first page and pulling me in right away. The rest of the story was not a letdown either, it held my attention all the way though. One thing that separates Kristen Heitzmann from other authors is her ability to get you inside of an emotionally disturbed person’s head. Her writing from this perspective is downright creepy and really sets the mood. Not for the faint-hearted! If you love romance, suspense, and psychological thrillers, you’ll love Kristen Heitzmann!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    It was good, but...

    Another book read on my Kindle. The formatting was a little strange, but I managed to figure it out anyway.

    I liked this book, but there were several things that I did not like, dragging my overall rating down to a three out of five. I liked the idea and individual character traits of each of the characters, but for a book this length, there were too many characters that the author tried to give depth to. The author has an interesting, almost poetic, writing style, but the sections written from the adversary’s point of view were extremely confusing and did not make any sense at all. That could have been the goal, but it was really hard to tell. The ending, ah the ending! If a book doesn’t have a good ending, it ruins the rest of the book for me. This book had a decent ending, but it was rushed and and left a lot of details hanging instead of tying them up nice and pretty. There was only one chapter after the climax, and I felt like there could have been a lot more said.

    Would I read it again? Nah. Would I recommend it? Only if you really like to read, and like to read fast. Otherwise, don’t bother. There are so many better books to choose from.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Very Engaging!

    Indelible by Kristen Heitzmann was awesome! I am so glad I got to read this book. I skimmed some reviews before requesting to read it myself and was not disappointed by what people had to say. The plot for this book was very different than any I have ever read and really kept my focus and attention.
    Natalie is the main character and has an Eidetic memory, where she keeps seeing something as though it is still there. Her way of coping with this is to sculpt the images she sees into clay. Once she sculpts the images, they go away and she is able to “see” again. She believes this gift to be from God, a way of seeing things as he does. The images she sees have an indelible (making marks that can’t be removed-had to look that one up!) imprint until it is transferred to the clay. Trevor, the other main characters is a well-known Olympic skier, who no longer skis due to an accident. He has a gift as well. Helping people.
    The strange part about this book is that before the end of each chapter, there is a separate “writing” from what appears to be a “demon”. This person is confused and lost and is looking for “help” in the only way he knows how. These sections before the end of each chapter were written with a different “language” from the rest of the book and therefore, a little confusing to follow.
    Overall, I loved this book and would recommend it to anyway. I can’t wait to read the other book available by Kristen Heitzmann.
    I received a copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah’s Blogging for Books program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating Psychological Thriller

    Indelible by Kristen Heitzmann is the story of gifted sculptor Natalie Reeve and adventure outfitter Trevor MacDaniel. Their paths first cross when Trevor rescues Natalie¿s nephew from a mountain lion attack. Later it turns out that Natalie has just opened an art studio next to Trevor¿s outfitter shop. While Natalie worries about her nephew¿s injuries, Trevor is receiving mysterious photos from an anonymous stalker. The pictures become increasingly disturbing, and Trevor and Chief of Police Jonah Westfall race to solve this riddle. Trevor has his own issues to resolve as well. What makes this book unique is that Natalie is not just gifted, but troubled. She has an eidetic memory, and sometimes suffers from visual overload. She uses clay to work through her problems, resulting in troublingly honest sculptures that she does not show to anyone. Heitzmann does an excellent job with her characters, showing how difficult it is for Natalie to admit that her eidetic memory causes problems for her, and how Trevor struggles with a secret from his past. Her portrayals make the characters fascintating. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group Blogging for Books program for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    A Romance with a Little Suspense and a lot of Drama

    Indelible by Kristen Heitzmann is a suspense book with a little romance in its. Set in the Rocky Mountains there is a sculptor whose name is Natalie Reeve. Natalie Reeve's special talent for her sculpting is that she has an eidetic (photographic) memory, so when she is doing a sculpture of a person she can remember every detail of the person's face, and that when sculpts tat God would see she sculpts the person how God sees them. Trevor MacDaniel is a former Olympian skier owns an outfitter store. Trevor has a rough past, his younger brother died and his dad left when Trevor when he was little. To add to this there is a stalker, previous relationship issues and more. In this book there was a lot of drama and it made for a confusing read. If Kristen had focused on maybe two of these points it would have been a better read. I do not recommend to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hard Time Putting Down!

    As the title of the review suggests, I had a very hard time putting this book down! (I would recommend that you read this book after "Indivisible" to keep current with past characters. I really found the main characters struggle with reading faces with ease, but the need to expel those images very intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Great Read

    I loved reading this book. The suspense and mystery were thoroughly engaging and the way the relationship between Trevor and Natalie unraveled was intense. I loved seeing how the characters changed as the story progressed and I wished that I could join them in their small town.

    In some ways, the book felt a bit like a Ted Dekker novel mixed with a Christian romance novel; it had the best of both worlds. This book would appeal to male and female readers alike because it combines the love story with mystery and action. I think I¿ll probably end up passing this one onto my husband!


    Disclaimer:

    I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "Indelible", by Kristen Heitzmann

    "Indelible", is the perfect title for this latest novel, by Kristen Heitzmann. The story opens with the search for an elderly couple, interrupted by the tracking of a Mountain Lion with a toddler in it's jaws. Trevor MacDaniel and Whit, his long time friend and Outdoorsman partner find themselves going after and eventually freeing the toddler from certain death.
    Then there's Natalie, a gifted sculptor with what could be described and a curse as everything she looks at ends up building in her mind, not allowing her to concentrate on anything else until she releases the images by sculpting them. Then there's another character who just happens to be blind and a wonderful artist to boot. Sounds like an interesting group, but there's more to the story than that. There is also some evil demons in the mix. Trevor is being stalked by just one of those demons and it may have to do with something from his past.
    Wonderfully written and a great story, "Indelible", will take the reader on a roller coaster of emotions. There's adventure, mystery, drama and even a love story brewing in the story. Heitzmann certainly knows how to keep the reader glued to the pages of this intriguing story. As each page is turned you will not be able to put this book down. Why? Because with each turn of the page the story sucks you in even deeper. Can you figure out what is going to happen next? Only the reader will be able to answer that question.
    Bravo to Kristen Heitzmann and to "Indelible".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    Indelible by Kristen Heitzmann

    It was alright... Not really the type of story I'm into. If you're into stories about family, being happy with yourself, and some love this would be for you. The main people are Trevor and Natalie they pretty much came over their problems and then fell in love with each other. Short review I know but it took me forever to read because I wasn't really into the story.
    Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for giving me a free copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Indelible by Kristen Heitzmann

    Hello, there! I've recently gotten a book from the wonderful people at Waterbrook Publishing (note: I recieved this book for free and I am under no legal obligation to give this book a good review) The book, "Indelible" by Kristen Heitzmann was a riveting book. The book begins with a dangerous mission of a park ranger out to rescue a toddler from a mountain lion. When he succeeds, it begins a long chain of events that include the meeting of a Natalie Reeve. They work together throughout the novel. This book was quite entertaining and I'd give it a good four out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    Great Book by Heitzmann

    Indelible is a book written by Kristen Heitzmann. And it a amazing. Although i believe that it not the first book in its' series it reads just as well by itself without the other ones. The story starts off with a bang and never stops. A close call with a mountain lion, a strangly gifted protaganist, and a slightly strange stalker who reads one of my favorite books, Paradise Lost.

    Add that with a former star athlete and a cute little kid named Cody you have the recipe for a great thriller, love story, or crime novel. It realy is all of that in one.

    The protral of the antagonist is very intresting as well. All throughout the book we, the readers, are given small pictures of the story through the stalkers eyes. These snipets are small but they greatly inhance the supence and keep the story rolling to a great finish. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Indelible is Incredible!!

    Trevor, a search and rescue volunteer, rescues a toddler from the jaws of a mountain lion because of his need to save people from a dramatic experience from his childhood. Natalie, a very talented sculptor with eidetic memory, is new to this small mountain town and trying to make it on her own without having to rely so much on her brother. Trevor and Natalie find their lives entwined as something evil threatens the peace of their small community and Trevor and Natalie are both challenged in ways they never imagined.

    I truly enjoyed every page of this book. It had me glued to it from the beginning and at the end I was flipping the page trying to find more... anything! I wanted it to keep going. I did feel that there were some minor plot lines that were left unanswered -- they were minor but still enough to annoy me. Other than that... I can find nothing to complain about this book. The characters were all original and fun. My poor husband and mom were probably so excited for me to be finished so that I'd stop talking to them about it and maybe wash some dishes for my family. Yeah, it was one of those books for me. I loved it!

    I received this complimentary copy of Indelible from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    :)

    Indelible is one of those books that you can't put down till you get enough of it. It's one of those books that you have to think over at night because it's SO addicting. Indelible intertwines Christianity, adventure, suspense, and romance. It's a great read and I think lots of people will love this book! Trevor MacDaniel and Natalie Reeve are the main characters in the book. Trevor saves a tod from a mountain lion and because of that he gets to meet Natalie a sculptor. From there lots of thing happen that endanger Trevor and Natalie and gives the reader a story. A great book worth reading!

    I received this free book from Water brook publishing in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    A MUST READ! INDELIBLE BY KRISTEN HEITZMANN...

    INDELIBLE by Kristen Heitzman is an interesting psychological and romantic/suspense novel set in the
    Westfall c ommunity. It is well written with depth and details.The characters are engaging,charming and daring. It has mystery,drama,a little romance,faith, a daring rescue,mysterious happenings, epidetic memory(when a person can transfer faces and emotions of people onto sculpture,danger,a damaged soul,and helping the innocent.When Natalie meets revor,he has just saved her young nephrew from a Cougar attack.They become attracted to each other.Natalie has epidetic which Trevor finds interesting.Trevor has a damaged past,he would like to forget. There is danger in the community while a damaged soul try to connect to Trevor,he believes is his archangel. This is a fast paced story that will capture your heart and your attention from the first page to the last. This is a faith based story but is not a preachy story. A must read for any romantic suspense,inspriational,and contemporary romance readers. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher.Details can be found at Waterbrook and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    INDELIBLE (REVIEW)

    "INDELIBLE" BY KRISTEN HEITZMANN

    Daring rescues, mysterious happenings, and a potential for romance. Kristen Heitzmann's novel is a prize.

    Trevor McDaniel soon finds himself in a fight to save the innocent and helpless of the Westfall community from a disturbed and damaged soul.

    A great read! One you won't want to miss!

    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Great intense read!

    Indelible by Kristen Heitzman is a great read! The main character, Natalie, has an eidetic memory which enables her to transfer the faces and emotions of people she sees to a sculpture with uncanny accuracy. Then there is Fleur who is blind but is able to paint beautiful prints. Trevor was once a gold medalists skier but lost his ability to compete due to a freak accident. Now Trevor owns an outfitters store next to Natalie's art gallery. Both Natalie and Trevor are thrown together when Trevor, ever the hero, rescues her nephew from the jaws of a cougar (literally). The author brings all these lively characters together realistically when Trevor begins receiving weird photos from a supposed stalker.

    From the first few pages, I was hooked. I love a little romance mixed with suspense and drama. This book definitely has this. It is not a light read, very intense. The only disappointment I found was that it did hint to a past life of Trevor's that was definitely not Christian. I realize that it was in his past but the author did not really portray him as being extremely sorrow for it. Sometimes as Christians we do tend to treat sin lightly but it is just the opposite.

    I received this book free from the publisher through Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2