Customer Reviews for

Indelible

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Romance, Suspense, Action, and a little bit of creepy!

    Natalie has a gift; or is it a curse? Her eidetic memory allows her to capture emotion into her sculptures like no one else. But when Trevor McDaniel, a search and rescue volunteer, recovers her nephew, Cody, from the jaws of a mountain lion and the toddler is left in the care of Natalie, and she wonders, with this “gift”, if she’s fit to take care of Cody by herself. Trevor’s strong protector quality drives him to take Cody under his wing and meanwhile, a budding romance forms between him and Natalie. Trevor struggles with breaking free from his own past, and tries to compensate by helping Cody face his fears. A psychotic stalker is somewhere in their midst, deep in the shadows. First blackmailing Trevor, then threatening closer and closer to home, putting helpless victims at risk until it finally goes too far. Can they face their own fears and work together to put this twisted man’s actions to an end before it’s too late? I was excited to read this book, as it is a sequel to Kristen Heitzmann’s previous novel, Indivisible. It was great to see characters from that book make reappearances in this book. But, for this reason, some of the parts may be a bit confusing for someone who has never read this book’s prequel. Kristen is one of my favorite authors for several reasons: her plot lines are complex, her writing is unique and visual, she always creates likable characters, and the way she writes dialogue is natural and believable. She is a master at making the reader feel exactly what the characters are feeling. Each of her stories features a tough and athletic hero, and an elegant and artsy heroine. This book is no exception. The only problem I have with her books is that she makes characters drink wine. This is a very controversial subject, which is why it’s not usually mentioned in Christian books. I personally don’t like that she does this, as I don’t drink at all. I do like, however, how the story is kicked off with a bang, the action starting on the very first page and pulling me in right away. The rest of the story was not a letdown either, it held my attention all the way though. One thing that separates Kristen Heitzmann from other authors is her ability to get you inside of an emotionally disturbed person’s head. Her writing from this perspective is downright creepy and really sets the mood. Not for the faint-hearted! If you love romance, suspense, and psychological thrillers, you’ll love Kristen Heitzmann!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating Psychological Thriller

    Indelible by Kristen Heitzmann is the story of gifted sculptor Natalie Reeve and adventure outfitter Trevor MacDaniel. Their paths first cross when Trevor rescues Natalie¿s nephew from a mountain lion attack. Later it turns out that Natalie has just opened an art studio next to Trevor¿s outfitter shop. While Natalie worries about her nephew¿s injuries, Trevor is receiving mysterious photos from an anonymous stalker. The pictures become increasingly disturbing, and Trevor and Chief of Police Jonah Westfall race to solve this riddle. Trevor has his own issues to resolve as well. What makes this book unique is that Natalie is not just gifted, but troubled. She has an eidetic memory, and sometimes suffers from visual overload. She uses clay to work through her problems, resulting in troublingly honest sculptures that she does not show to anyone. Heitzmann does an excellent job with her characters, showing how difficult it is for Natalie to admit that her eidetic memory causes problems for her, and how Trevor struggles with a secret from his past. Her portrayals make the characters fascintating. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group Blogging for Books program for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "Indelible", by Kristen Heitzmann

    "Indelible", is the perfect title for this latest novel, by Kristen Heitzmann. The story opens with the search for an elderly couple, interrupted by the tracking of a Mountain Lion with a toddler in it's jaws. Trevor MacDaniel and Whit, his long time friend and Outdoorsman partner find themselves going after and eventually freeing the toddler from certain death.
    Then there's Natalie, a gifted sculptor with what could be described and a curse as everything she looks at ends up building in her mind, not allowing her to concentrate on anything else until she releases the images by sculpting them. Then there's another character who just happens to be blind and a wonderful artist to boot. Sounds like an interesting group, but there's more to the story than that. There is also some evil demons in the mix. Trevor is being stalked by just one of those demons and it may have to do with something from his past.
    Wonderfully written and a great story, "Indelible", will take the reader on a roller coaster of emotions. There's adventure, mystery, drama and even a love story brewing in the story. Heitzmann certainly knows how to keep the reader glued to the pages of this intriguing story. As each page is turned you will not be able to put this book down. Why? Because with each turn of the page the story sucks you in even deeper. Can you figure out what is going to happen next? Only the reader will be able to answer that question.
    Bravo to Kristen Heitzmann and to "Indelible".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Indelible by Kristen Heitzmann

    Hello, there! I've recently gotten a book from the wonderful people at Waterbrook Publishing (note: I recieved this book for free and I am under no legal obligation to give this book a good review) The book, "Indelible" by Kristen Heitzmann was a riveting book. The book begins with a dangerous mission of a park ranger out to rescue a toddler from a mountain lion. When he succeeds, it begins a long chain of events that include the meeting of a Natalie Reeve. They work together throughout the novel. This book was quite entertaining and I'd give it a good four out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Indelible is Incredible!!

    Trevor, a search and rescue volunteer, rescues a toddler from the jaws of a mountain lion because of his need to save people from a dramatic experience from his childhood. Natalie, a very talented sculptor with eidetic memory, is new to this small mountain town and trying to make it on her own without having to rely so much on her brother. Trevor and Natalie find their lives entwined as something evil threatens the peace of their small community and Trevor and Natalie are both challenged in ways they never imagined.

    I truly enjoyed every page of this book. It had me glued to it from the beginning and at the end I was flipping the page trying to find more... anything! I wanted it to keep going. I did feel that there were some minor plot lines that were left unanswered -- they were minor but still enough to annoy me. Other than that... I can find nothing to complain about this book. The characters were all original and fun. My poor husband and mom were probably so excited for me to be finished so that I'd stop talking to them about it and maybe wash some dishes for my family. Yeah, it was one of those books for me. I loved it!

    I received this complimentary copy of Indelible from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    A MUST READ! INDELIBLE BY KRISTEN HEITZMANN...

    INDELIBLE by Kristen Heitzman is an interesting psychological and romantic/suspense novel set in the
    Westfall c ommunity. It is well written with depth and details.The characters are engaging,charming and daring. It has mystery,drama,a little romance,faith, a daring rescue,mysterious happenings, epidetic memory(when a person can transfer faces and emotions of people onto sculpture,danger,a damaged soul,and helping the innocent.When Natalie meets revor,he has just saved her young nephrew from a Cougar attack.They become attracted to each other.Natalie has epidetic which Trevor finds interesting.Trevor has a damaged past,he would like to forget. There is danger in the community while a damaged soul try to connect to Trevor,he believes is his archangel. This is a fast paced story that will capture your heart and your attention from the first page to the last. This is a faith based story but is not a preachy story. A must read for any romantic suspense,inspriational,and contemporary romance readers. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher.Details can be found at Waterbrook and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    INDELIBLE (REVIEW)

    "INDELIBLE" BY KRISTEN HEITZMANN

    Daring rescues, mysterious happenings, and a potential for romance. Kristen Heitzmann's novel is a prize.

    Trevor McDaniel soon finds himself in a fight to save the innocent and helpless of the Westfall community from a disturbed and damaged soul.

    A great read! One you won't want to miss!

    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Great intense read!

    Indelible by Kristen Heitzman is a great read! The main character, Natalie, has an eidetic memory which enables her to transfer the faces and emotions of people she sees to a sculpture with uncanny accuracy. Then there is Fleur who is blind but is able to paint beautiful prints. Trevor was once a gold medalists skier but lost his ability to compete due to a freak accident. Now Trevor owns an outfitters store next to Natalie's art gallery. Both Natalie and Trevor are thrown together when Trevor, ever the hero, rescues her nephew from the jaws of a cougar (literally). The author brings all these lively characters together realistically when Trevor begins receiving weird photos from a supposed stalker.

    From the first few pages, I was hooked. I love a little romance mixed with suspense and drama. This book definitely has this. It is not a light read, very intense. The only disappointment I found was that it did hint to a past life of Trevor's that was definitely not Christian. I realize that it was in his past but the author did not really portray him as being extremely sorrow for it. Sometimes as Christians we do tend to treat sin lightly but it is just the opposite.

    I received this book free from the publisher through Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Better Than I Expected

    'Indelible' kept me up late into the night and reading longer than I should have. Because 'Indelible' had some of the same characters as 'Indivisible', and since I haven't read 'Indivisible' yet, I didn't know any of the background story. Kristen Heitzmann did a great job filling in most of the background story, and I also found out some things from someone who read 'Indivisible', so I didn't feel like I was missing much. From page two on, 'Indelible' held my attention and I didn't want to put the book down. Initially I thought I wouldn't completely like this book - it was slightly weird and I didn't completely understand everything. When I was almost finished, however, what I thought didn't make sense, finally did. I found the pages in between the chapters quite confusing. They showed what the 'troubled soul' thought, did, and the reasons for him doing what he did. There was also a little bit of romance between Trevor and Natalie, which made 'Indelible' all the more captivating. The characters were very well written and made me think how I might feel if I was in their shoes. My favorite characters were: Natalie, Fleur, & Trevor. The suspense at the beginning of 'Indelible' stayed throughout. I didn't want to stop reading this book and I hope Kristen Heitzmann writes a sequel featuring the same characters! I recommend 'Indelible' to all those who enjoy reading suspense novels mixed with a little romance. * I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest opinion. I was not required to write a positive review. *

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    A good read...

    I would describe this book as a good read, not a great one, but a good one. I loved the storyline or plot of the book:

    "Rescuing a toddler from the jaws of a mountain lion, Trevor MacDaniel, a high-county outfitter, sets in motion events he can't foresee. His act of bravery entwines his life with gifted sculptor Natalie Reeve - and attracts a grim admirer."

    There were times during the rescue that were stressful to me as a mom, I can't imagine what it would be like if my toddler were in that situation. Heitzmann draws you in and enables you to feel the feelings that the characters are going through.

    Who could ever imagine though how Natale and Trevor's lives would entangle as they do? From complete strangers emerges a true friendship that usually takes years to cultivate. They have their rocky patches along the way, but what relationship doesn't?

    There are definitely some surprises along the way, and with the bit of mystery added to the romance, I was hooked from the beginning. So hooked, in fact, that I read the entire book to find out the outcome, even though there were times I wanted to abandon it.

    Rarely do I enjoy reading books that flip back and forth between 2 entirely different scenes. One drawback to this book, in my opinion, is that at the beginning of each chapter there is a page telling the story of the "grim admirer". It never mentions the persons name, or gives great details about them, just tells the thoughts and actions of the admirer. To me, the pages were an unnecessary rode bump in my story reading. I skimmed those pages, looking for useful info I may need to continue along in the story, but never received any. I would have been fine just jumping straight in to the chapter reading and skipping the others all-together.

    It is for the above mentioned reason, that I only give this book a 4 star rating. If you are looking for a storyline that will draw you in, I recommend this book...my only advice, is skip the unneeded pages!

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group and was not required to post a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1