BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Indemnity Only (V. I. Warshawski Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Indemnity Only, by Sara Paretsky, is downright my favorite book

    Indemnity Only, by Sara Paretsky, is downright my favorite book of all time. Indemnity Only is a very likeable murder mystery novel that forces the reader to buy the entire V.I. Warshawski series. One special characteristic about this book is whenever the answer to the murder seems to be obvious, the author turns everything around in a completely different direction. When Sara Paretsky does this, it intrigues the reader to continue on with the book until the issues are resolved in the end. There's nothing better than a fast- paced book that you can’t put down!
    This book starts out with a visit from a peculiar man on an eerie Chicago night asking V.I. Warshawski, a private investigator, to find his daughter. It turns out that the man gave himself and his missing daughter, Anita, fake names. In the end, V.I.’s client, whose real name is Andrew McGraw, sends her on a wild goose chase to find his daughter. Throughout the novel, V.I. has to find a missing girl, dig deep into an insurance company, and most of all, solve a murder.
    All in all, in my opinion, Indemnity Only is the best book ever written. Anybody who reads this book could agree that Sara Paretsky did a fantastic job in creating a mystery that is irresistible to put down. To get an idea of how superior this book is to others, picture the best book you've ever read – this novel is five times better. From a bold, know-it-all V.I Warshawski to an ignorant John Thayer, Indemnity Only is a phenomenal novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    My First Sara Paretsky Book

    My curiosity got the better of me and I finally broke down and got this, the first in the V. I. Warshawski series. This book is set in the 80's so V. I. Warshawski's detective work is slowed by the lack of having a cell phone and other technology. This probably makes things more interesting. It is refreshing to read about a woman detective and I have her other books on my wish list for the future.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast Moving Murder Mystery

    Because of the author's note in the front of this book, I wasn't sure if I'd like the series or not. However, when I want to try out a new author, I always start with the first book in the series to get acquainted with the main character. It was great! I'm a more conservative type of reader--I don't care for a lot of drinking, sex, or swearing in the books I read. I believe a good book can be just that--a good book without all the other stuff. Anyway, even though there is some sexual connotations and the main character is a drinker, I like her attitude of finding out the truth and not just accepting on the surface what appears to be true. The book moves and is hard to lay aside. She's threatened and finds herself in lots of trouble with the bad guys and the cops, but continues to pursue the clues until she figures out who "dun it". I enjoyed it so much, I keep going back to the used book store or Barnes & Noble to find each additional book. Keep up the good work Ms. Paretsky.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Good

    Good book but could be better. It was a bit slow for me and somewhat predictable. I will still read the series but I won't be as "on fire" for the next one as I would be for the really great books. S. Clanahan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2013

    I go in spells with the writing of Sara Paretsky. I have follow

    I go in spells with the writing of Sara Paretsky. I have followed the V I Warshawski series, a little, by reading the novels in no determinate order. What do I find impossible? Vic has no concept of money, she spends freely and I wonder where her source of money appears. She eats smoked salmon and eats fancy named desserts. Vic is not the average private detective living from case to case. I guess I am used to Janet Evanovich or Laura Lippman's type of female detective. I do appreciate Paretsky's description of Chicago, and the love of the city for the Cubs. But Paretsky misses in the creation of the labor boss and the police department. Still the story is interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Enjoyable read, particularly to the 606 and 312 fan

    Well written and enjoyable with only a few exceptions. Especially fun for Chcagocentrics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    A good read!

    Sara Paretsky is a talented writer. I heard about this series through a friend and wanted to start with #1. I enjoyed it very much - it was a real page turner from the beginning. I liked it so much that as soon as I finished, I ordered #2 & #3!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    First of the series

    I went backwards to this book in the series after I decided to try and look for a new author/series to read. I enjoyed the latest one, so I thought I would start at the beginning. Good in that time warp kind of way- much like the John Sanford/Lucas Davenport series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fairly good mystery

    This was not her best book but still a interesting mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Looking forward to the rest of this series!

    I loved this book; sassy, smart-talking V.I. digs into the disappearance of a young woman after a mysterious client hires her. I liked the storyline and Paretsky's clean, sharp prose. I would definately recommend this book and if you like it, you may also enjoy Sue Grafton, Ross McDonald, Raymond Chandler, Marcia Muller and the early books of Robert B. Parker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it...

    I liked this first V.I. Warshawski book. I found it entertaining, and I think I would like V.I. if she were a real person! Getting ready to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great beginning

    I'm always glad to read series that starts off great. And the V.I. Warshawski character is just what I look for.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2