Customer Reviews for

Independence

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    Loved this series. I will miss Caleb and Maggie.

    Loved this series. I will miss Caleb and Maggie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    A perfect ending to a series. I am sure everyone thinks that whe

    A perfect ending to a series. I am sure everyone thinks that when they read a book if it is good you want more- but I am happy with the resolutions. I can use my imagination to figure out what the future holds for the sweetest damn couple in YA! Now to find some more Shelly Crane to feed my author crush!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Great sequel.

    Great sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Worth reading

    I really liked this series I was just a little taken aback at the end. It wasn't a bad ending really but there is this whose social issue that basically pushed the whole story along. The main character basically seems to have been made a visionary because the society was out of control and I felt this was a very strong theme through the first three books and then this book ended with like some line about how oh we have some work to do. It was a good series and a good book I just couldn't believe it. Still worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ok, so it¿s taken me a few days to be able to write this review.

    Ok, so it’s taken me a few days to be able to write this review. I had to work through all the emotions and tears first. I already miss Caleb & Maggie & all the other Jacobsons so much!! I really don’t want this to be the end, even though I have to say I’m amazed at how beautiful this final book turned out to be. Caleb & Maggie went through so much but their love only seemed to grow stronger the whole time. It makes my heart feel full and warm just to read their story. The entire Jacobson clan is an amazing, loving family. This series has a special place in my heart. It brought out so many emotions, both happy and sad at times. (And intense anger when it came to the Watsons) I think I’m having a bit of withdrawals myself now that I have finished it. But don’t worry, when the withdrawals get too bad, I will just go and read it again. And again. And again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    This book focuses a lot more on Caleb and Maggie as a couple and

    This book focuses a lot more on Caleb and Maggie as a couple and their places in their families rather than the rest of the Virtuoso.  We still get some action as far as danger and threats and Maggie’s gift, but the bulk of the plot is based on the wedding and the future.

    I particularly liked the message(s) woven within the story.  Life keeps moving no matter what is happening in your own world, and friendships, no matter how strong, evolve and grow (sometimes apart) over time as we get older.  Another theme in the story is sex.  It’s unavoidable, but the good thing about it is that it’s AFTER marriage, which isn’t always observed in this day and age, but is still a powerful sentiment.  It’s also in no way explicit so it’s not like you’re reading smut in a YA book.

    Other than the overall themes and focus, I really enjoyed this ending to the series.  The author gives us closure, direction, and satisfaction.  Everything that the first three books hinted to and built up to is addressed and tied up with a nice little bow.  The only exception is how Maggie changes the council of the Virtuoso.  It’s  mentioned, but we don’t actually see any more progression of that plot line, but I’m ok with that as I’d rather see the progression of their and their families’ lives – and that’s exactly what we’re provided with.

    Continuing with everything I’ve come to expect from the series, Independence is an exciting, fun, and sweet finale to the Significance series.  It’s a bittersweet ending, as it’s a great story, but I’m still sad to see it end at all.  If you’ve enjoyed the previous books, you will love this cap to the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Awesome   I have read these book so many times I never get tired

    Awesome   I have read these book so many times I never get tired of it.
    Definitely must reads!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Loved it!

    Gonna miss Caleb and Maggie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I rated this 4.5 stars I cannot believe that I'm getting cho

    I rated this 4.5 stars




    I cannot believe that I'm getting choked up over a book right now. I have to explain it to you because this is so emotional for me. I only started reading a year and a half ago. Significance, the first book in the series, was my first indie and I fell in love with the series. I love the characters and I will really miss Maggie and Caleb. I can barely type this right now because my eyes are blurred from tears. I'll admit, I procrastinated while reading this book. It's so bittersweet and I didn't wan't it to end. I wanted to savor every second of Caleb and Maggie that I could. I felt like I knew these characters. Shelly created a fantastic world with the race of the Aces. 




    This is only my second time completing a series. I've avoided finishing the last book in a few series because of this very reason. But they aren't as close to my heart as this series. GAH I'm such a baby. STOP CRYING, REN!! You're being ridiculous. It started out with a BANG! I kept thinking "Oh hells to the no, Shelly did not just do that." Everything is right in the world again. Yes, this book lived up to my expectations and the only reason I rated it 4 1/2 stars instead of 5 was because of the predictability. I can't tell you why since it's a huge part of the story. Shelly Crane always delivers a happily ever after. Thank God because I would have been an emotional wreck...more than I already am. I can't tell you how highly I recommend this series. You will fall in love! OMG I can't believe it's over. I need a tub of chocolate chip cookie dough ice-cream. Oh, and how could I forget?! Caleb and Maggie FINALLY get married!! So cute! I can't wait for everyone to read this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    It gets harder to write reviews about books that are in series.

    It gets harder to write reviews about books that are in series. Especially without spoilers. I decided not to do a whole review for that reason. So the main question that I asked myself in writing this short review is "What did I like the most in this series conclusion?"




    Well, there are a few things that really made this book special for me. First, the wedding. We knew going in to the book that Maggie and Caleb would be getting married. No surprise there. However, there were a few things about the wedding that I hadn't anticipated, but was happy about. Second, I needed an HEA and I knew Shelly Crane would give it to me. Last, I loved seeing the supporting characters stories come together as well. 




    The only reason why I couldn't give this one a 5 is because I felt like the issue with Marcus was handled quickly and without a whole lot of drama. Don't get me wrong, I'm glad that situation resolved the way it did. I guess I just felt like that part of the story needed a bit more umph. 




    Overall, I absolutely adore this series. Shelly Crane is one of my favorite authors. She knows how to write about love and creates stories that are truly unique. If you've never read anything by Crane, I highly suggest do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Can i join

    My name is Hollysong. I would like to be dputy or second leader. I am a brown she with amber eyes. Can i join?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Independencestar

    Sure!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great ending

    Sometimes the last book in a series is rushed and sadly a disappointment , but not true in this case at all . This book was very sweet and it made you feel good reading it !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Maggie and Caleb are headed back home from London to help out a

    Maggie and Caleb are headed back home from London to help out a friend who has recently become the latest victim of Marcus and his sick idea of revenge. They should have known he wouldn’t stop just because he is human now. Maggie just wants a normal life again and to marry Caleb, her Significant. In order to get all that dreams of she must stop Marcus and protect her new (and recently expanded) family. But will a vision from the past become reality and destroy their future? Will Maggie risk it all to save her family?




    Just over a year ago I started this amazing journey reading Shelly's books. This series is definitely one I will cherish forever; along with its characters and this unique world Crane has created. And knowing it is coming to an end is breaking my heart. Only one word can truly sum up this series: bittersweet. On the bright side we do have the movie to look forward to. Right?




    Maggie…my sweet, precious Maggie. How you have grown over the course of the series. From the shy, sweet girl we met in Significance to the fiercely devoted woman you now are in Independence. Gosh, they grow up so quick *sniff sniff* One day they are young girls graduating high school and the next they are Visionary’s leading their clans into a glorious future. Seriously, how could you not love this girl’s development? Crane you struck gold when you gave us these characters. I don’t think anyone will be forgetting them anytime soon.
    Yes, I will not forget Caleb. How can I? I do believe that he is even more swoony than in the previous books. I mean come on people…we get his vows to Maggie…his adorable-beyond-anything-I-can-think-of vision!! It was all too much. I died of a swoon overload. That dude seriously knows how to make a woman weak in the knees. Now where is my Caleb darn you?




    If you are expecting a Guns-a-Blazing, full of action story to knock out this series then I will say you will be sadly disappointed. Not a lot of action happens in this one. There is some, it’s just not rampant throughout the story. But you know what? That’s ok with me. I was so happy with the way Crane told their story. Even more happy with how it ended. It could not have been more perfect. I was smitten as a kitten with every single word, thought, and feeling Crane poured into her book. It was absolute perfection. Have the tissues close by, they are a must. Oh my goodness, you will need them. And that is not even counting the ones you will need for the epilogue.




    Would I recommend this story? Most definitely. Who would I recommend this story to? Anyone who is head over heels in love with a fabulous romance; a romance that beats out any other stories out there. If I had the time I would be rereading this series again. Alas, there is only one of me and there are more books to read. Read it people. GO. READ. NOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    This was the perfect ending for this series. I have read and rer

    This was the perfect ending for this series. I have read and reread this series several times. This final book sums everything up nicely. I love how through everything  all of the different characters have to deal with the love of their family and that they have for each other pulls them all closer together. I bought it this morning and couldn't put it down. An overall great read and exactly what I was hoping for. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Wonderful Finale!

    I started reading Shelly Crane books based on all the wonderful reviews on various facebook book review sites. I have never been disappointed in that decision. This final book of The Significance Series was wonderful. Thank you to Shelly Crane for her amazing work and her work ethic. She got this book out EARLY even with moving to another city! I am in awe of her tenacity and dedication to her readers. If you are looking for a great, entertaining read please purchase this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Soooo goodd!

    I LOVE Shelly Crane!!! I've been looking forward to reading Independence for months!!! I read it in a day! I was alittle disappointed on how short it was....figured it would have been longer, but it was really good! Just sad that its the book to the series! :( I'm looking forward to reading her other books that she's working on : Wide Awake and Smash Into You!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    I could not wait to buy this book. I bought this book this morni

    I could not wait to buy this book. I bought this book this morning and have read it non-stop. Perfect ending to a wonderful series. Great job Shelly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    I absolutely love this entire series!

    This is a great read, but it's best to read the other 3 books first, i read a lot of books but i love this series, it's perfectly sweet witgout being gag wothy romantic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4