BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Independence Day (Frank Bascombe Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Boring, dense, incoherent and humorless.

    Another Pulitzer Prize-winning disappointment. I forced myself through this book 25 pages at a time thinking that at some point it would become less jabbery and irritating. Wrong. I have never read a book where virtually all of the characters had such rambling, bizarre conversations with each other. That might have been tolerable had the book been spiced with a little action, but at most five things of any consequence happened over 450 pages. A little humor also would have helped, but if there was any of that, it was so dark I missed it. At least it was less depressing than Edgar Sawtelle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    Thought wascthe sci fi book of the movie but saved by the blurb

    Remembered startedcto read it and bogged down by second chapter hard cover but borrowed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Amazing

    I loved this book. It is extremely intellectually stimulating and truly relateable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2007

    Love the book.

    I just discovered this book, it was recommended by our local used book store owner. Sometimes laugh out loud funny, sharp, witty but with heart. Perhaps I too am in my existence period, no matter, this was a joy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    Plain-speakingly brilliant

    In always compelling and refreshingly straightforward and plain-speaking prose, Richard Ford 'via Frank Bascombe' gives his readers some of the most insightful and sharply observed commentary on late-twentieth-century American man 'and suburban America -- and America! -- in general' that I've ever read. I'm mystified by the readers who didn't like this book, except to note that one is a high school student and another doesn't know how to spell . . . That Ford successfully sustains an engaging first-person narrative for an entire novel is nothing short of brilliant. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    A weekend you may forget

    Richard Ford's Independance Day is a powerful and interesting novel with compelling characters and interesting settings, thrilling plot, and connections can be made on almost every page. Independance Day is the sequel to Sportswriter, another one of Ford's novels. Frank Boscombe used to be a sports writer but now works in the real estate business. Frank is divorced from his wife, who now has, married another guy named Charley O'Dell. He has also been apart from his son Paul, a bad, juvenile kid. Paul gets in mroe trouble so Frank decides to schedule a father-son trip to the Baseball and Basketball Hall of Fames. Ford does not use alot of dialogue, but he focuses more on description. He also uses chapters but in each chapter there is a bunch of pages. This book was very slow moving and was very boring at times but I would recommend this book to people that have alot of patience and time on their hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Ford is no Mark Twain

    Independence Day began as a somewhat philosophical, interesting, and humorous book. It soon went downhill. Although I felt it held a great deal of promise, I was eventually let down by the aimlessness of Ford¿s writing. The well-timed humor which I had quickly grown accustomed to seemed to erode that or the pretentiousness of the author procured a strong dislike which led me to feeling I wished that the book would miraculously end. I say this from the self-described perspective of an average reader. Perhaps the strongest criticism I can offer is one which (to a degree) confirms a quote from a review included on the back cover. If memory serves, it was from ¿The (London) Times¿ and deemed that ¿Independence Day¿ essentially characterizes America in the twentieth century. Although this may be accurate in some respects, it hardly made for good reading. To his credit, Ford was exceptional at articulating an image ¿ his detail was fantastic. It did, however, tend to appear pointless not in its description but rather in its developing a story. Of the number of books which I have read over the past few years, I have been able to attain at least something worthwhile from each. From Ford¿s work, I felt utter dejection in having devoted time to this book and a sense of animosity for the author because of it. Similar to the garbage which Hollywood has tended to dole out, it seems quite sad that ¿Independence Day¿ was worthy of a Pulitzer Prize.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Bore Fest

    The book was boring and pointless, unless you were going through the 'existence period' yourself. Ford pressed his own philosphies on you at every possible moment, and is very democratic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1