Customer Reviews for

Independent Study (The Testing Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Buy it

This book is a must have! The first was the best, but if you started the series don't stop! And for me, the firstis always the best! I hope this helps!

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This is the second book in the trilogy. You can see my review of

This is the second book in the trilogy. You can see my review of the first book on my blog (KDH Reviews).

Sometimes, the second book in a trilogy isn’t as good as the first (or the third). Unfortunately, it feels like this might be the case for Independent Study. It wa...
This is the second book in the trilogy. You can see my review of the first book on my blog (KDH Reviews).

Sometimes, the second book in a trilogy isn’t as good as the first (or the third). Unfortunately, it feels like this might be the case for Independent Study. It was a bit disappointing to read it and it not live up to my expectations. I’m hoping that the third book will finish stronger and leave me satisfied about the trilogy.

For the majority of the book, I felt like there wasn’t enough happening. There were too many second book lulls. Yes, it was a quick read, but it wasn’t because I was so invested in the story and I just had to know what happened next. It was more like the book was just simple and easy to read. It wasn’t special, but it wasn’t completely disappointing.

The story does pick up some around the 80% mark and sets us up for the final book in the trilogy. So, while the second book wasn’t as exciting as the first, I’m still pretty excited to read the third book when I get the opportunity. And as far as recommending, I still say it’s worth checking out the trilogy, but be warned that the second book isn’t as good as the first.

Don't forget to check out my other reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

posted by KDH_Reviews on January 16, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Buy it

    This book is a must have! The first was the best, but if you started the series don't stop! And for me, the firstis always the best! I hope this helps!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the second book in the trilogy. You can see my review of

    This is the second book in the trilogy. You can see my review of the first book on my blog (KDH Reviews).

    Sometimes, the second book in a trilogy isn’t as good as the first (or the third). Unfortunately, it feels like this might be the case for Independent Study. It was a bit disappointing to read it and it not live up to my expectations. I’m hoping that the third book will finish stronger and leave me satisfied about the trilogy.

    For the majority of the book, I felt like there wasn’t enough happening. There were too many second book lulls. Yes, it was a quick read, but it wasn’t because I was so invested in the story and I just had to know what happened next. It was more like the book was just simple and easy to read. It wasn’t special, but it wasn’t completely disappointing.

    The story does pick up some around the 80% mark and sets us up for the final book in the trilogy. So, while the second book wasn’t as exciting as the first, I’m still pretty excited to read the third book when I get the opportunity. And as far as recommending, I still say it’s worth checking out the trilogy, but be warned that the second book isn’t as good as the first.

    Don't forget to check out my other reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    OMFG WHY ISN'T THE LAST BOOK OUT!!!!!!!????????

    OMFG WHY ISN'T THE LAST BOOK OUT!!!!!!!???????? OMG I am in LOVE with this book and this series!!! Like this had everything, from betrayal, too drama, too twist and tuns you NEVER saw coming, too action, too suspense, too romance, too mystery, too ARGH it just had everything I love!!!! Like I galloped through this book I just could NOT put it down!!! Like I couldn't sleep I was in such suspense!!!! Ok I need to calm down… Anyway it's a sure fire winner for dystopian future fans!! Like it's better then The Hunger Games, but just as good if not a little better than Divergent.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Amazing!!

    A great continuation of the first book. A must read series you will not be disappointed stay the series be ajar of the game when they make this into a movie because give it fiber years or so... It will catch on like every other good book series can't wait for the third book.... is it June yet? Joelle Charbonneau is top notch!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    would not load

    book would not load

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Amazing

    Literally could not put this book down! Finished in a day now I have to wait 6 months for the next...CANT WAIT!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Good read

    Great sequel and cliff hangar ending

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Oh my gosh

    This book has finally come out and i am sosso excited.
    The last book had everything a reader loves. Action mystery and romance. I have been waiting for a very long time for this book to come out and i cant wait to find out what happens!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Wtf

    Book wont load

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    2nd in the series kind of book

    story moves slowly forward. Not bad, but looking for the 3rd to see how it resolves out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    GREAT 2ND BOOK

    Good over all read not as much action as the 1st book. But the way this 2nd book ends has you saying, "I wish it was June already".

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    The second was so dynamic in plot and it never slowed down. It s

    The second was so dynamic in plot and it never slowed down. It starts fast and keeps on getting faster. Great book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Loved it

    Is it june yet. What a great book i couldnt put it down!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    I loved this book so much!! I cant wait for the third one to co

    I loved this book so much!! I cant wait for the third one to come out!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2014

    Good read. Enjoyed it.

    Good read. Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    It was an amazing book. The perfect read for anyone who loves Hunger Games or Divergent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    BEST TRILOGY EVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    BEST TRILOGY EVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    An absorbing, great read!

    This story, set in a futuristic America after global destruction is a well-written account of what might happen, The protagonist is portrayed as a brilliant mind whose ability to figure out problems keeps the reader tuned in to find out what challenges she will face next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    easy, quick, entertaining read

    very good series. Many compare it to Hunger Games and Divergent because it is a post-war society corumption rebuliding genre, but I feel the writting is better than Divergent and the character better developed. I feel the main characters moves are more thought out and less rash than Hunger Games. If you like the action and twists this class of books brings I would highly recommend. Thought school/college was hard? What if your wrong answers got you injured or killed. That's the setting for this story of students being groomed to be future leaders. Those in charge want you to be smart but not deviate from thier agenda. How do you change what is wrong? Who can you trust?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Wtf

    I couldn't read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3