Customer Reviews for

Indian Captive: The Story of Mary Jemison

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Want to read a book that will stick to your hands? Came to the right one.

This book is the story of Mary Jeminson and her life with the Indians. Indian Captive is about a girl named Molly who is taken away from her family. She traveled with the Indians day and night, and finally was in her new home Seneca town. There she lived with the Indian...
This book is the story of Mary Jeminson and her life with the Indians. Indian Captive is about a girl named Molly who is taken away from her family. She traveled with the Indians day and night, and finally was in her new home Seneca town. There she lived with the Indians. Learned their language, learned their lessons and much more. My favorite part of this book is when Molly feels like the Indians are her new family. I recomend this book to anyone who likes to sit for the whole evening and read. Is she going to like the Indians? Want to know? Read the book.

posted by 19tj on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is the WORST BOOK EVER!!!

It is very disturbing to me that Mary Jemison could love the very people who slaughtered her family. I find this book disgusting. Some may call it a tale of acceptance, I call it just plain BAD!!!

posted by Anonymous on December 16, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    its ok...

    This book was about a girl named Mary Jemison, but everyone calls her Molly, and her adventure with the Indians and what they were like. She discovers how to cook like them, eat like them, and sew like them. She makes good friends on the way. My favorite character in this book was the Indian story teller because I really liked the stories he told. I did not really like the book because it was a little bit boring but I did like some parts. My favorite part was when the story teller came. My least favorite part was when Mary was just walking and walking. I really did not like the beginning of the story because I did not understand what was going on. It was not a bad book, but if you¿re like me and you like books that get to the point straight away and do not like super super long books that detail a lot, then you probably wouldn¿t like this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Do Not Read This Book

    This is a really bad book because I believe it is long and drawn out and lacks excitement, so I disliked it a lot.
    It is about a girl who gets taken away from her home to live with the Indians. The main character in the book is Molly. Will she ever get back to her family or stay with the Indians? Well, you will have to read the book to find out, even though I don't recommend this book to anyone because it is so bad. In fact, I say, do not read this book ever because it is so long and drawn out and if you do you will regret it. So just live with the fact that you don't know whether she goes home or not.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Indian Captive is a book I will always remember

    The Indian Captive is a book I will always remember. Molly Jemison, an average girl on the Pennsylvania home-front, is taken captive by the indians. Soon she finds out that she has been adopted by an American Indian woman called Earth Woman. Molly makes many friends in her fight to freedom and she soon finds out that she can feel just as at home with the indians as she did with her birth family. If you want to know if she will ever go back with her native people read this book NOW!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Want to read a book that will stick to your hands? Came to the right one.

    This book is the story of Mary Jeminson and her life with the Indians. Indian Captive is about a girl named Molly who is taken away from her family. She traveled with the Indians day and night, and finally was in her new home Seneca town. There she lived with the Indians. Learned their language, learned their lessons and much more. My favorite part of this book is when Molly feels like the Indians are her new family. I recomend this book to anyone who likes to sit for the whole evening and read. Is she going to like the Indians? Want to know? Read the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    oustanding indian book!!!! a must read

    this book tells much of the beliefs and customes of the seneca. the story of mary shurly tells many of the prisoners storys. please take this for note. not all indians did this. many did, but only to replace loved one who died or were captured and killed. please dont hold this against anyone.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    This is the WORST BOOK EVER!!!

    It is very disturbing to me that Mary Jemison could love the very people who slaughtered her family. I find this book disgusting. Some may call it a tale of acceptance, I call it just plain BAD!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2000

    THE BEST BOOK OUT

    This book is a must read. Its my favorite. I have probably read it 50 times and it never gets old. Every woman, no matter what your age, should read this book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great exciting story

    Indian Captive is an amazing true story and is very touching. Indian Captive is about a girl that gets captured by the Indians and has to walk a long way before she reaches the Indian village Seneca town. She learns to plant, cook, and make clothes in the Indian way and she even learns to speak Indian and a lot more. My favourite part was when Molly the girl makes friends with Turkey Feather because that was just like how I make friends at new schools. If you like learning about Native American Indian cultures you will never put this book down. Even if you're not interested in Indians , give this book a try. Will Molly be able to stay with the Indians or will she run away?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book makes you excited at every chapter, making you want to read more.

    It is a story about a girl named Mary Jemison, (but she is always called Molly) getting kidnapped by Indians. By living with the Indians, she learns lots of things about nature and faces a new life.
    My favourite part of the story is when Molly makes friends with a girl the same age as her called Beaver Girl.
    I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read about what kind of life Indians lead.
    If you want to find out if Molly ever went back to the white people again, go read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2000

    Outstanding book!!!!!!!

    This book is really AMAZING!!!!!! I couldn´t put it down. I´ve read it over a dozen times and I still find it interesting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    This book was sooooo awesome!

    I could never put this book down. I got it for my birthday and thought, 'Oh goodie, a book.' But, when I started to read it, I fell in love with it. That book is awesome!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    Great Book!

    This was a wonderful book! The description and plot was great! The author did a lot od research to write this book. She has about 5 pages in the front describing her work and a page of bibliographies in the back. The story keep you awake all nght reading! This is a must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Pretty darn good!

    I had to read it for YASA ( a book club for girls) and i really enjoyed it! If you like adventure and challenge this the book for U!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Comment 18

    You suck this book rules

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    To bad

    This is a good story, to bad the pictures are so small. To review before mine. You need to learn to spell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Indan Captive

    I really enjoyed reading the book. It is an eninteresting book to read. I like it because it adventerus book. I highly recamend it for people who read book adverturus book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    TOTAL BOOOKKKK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Mmmmm

    RrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Write in journal if you have toooooo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Started reading

    I started reading this book for a book report never finish becuz its sssssssoooooooooooooo boring dont read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Miles

    I agree with some other people. It sucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!

    It was my favorite book by far, it has my two favorite things, realityish stuff, and INDIANS!!!! I loved learning about the seneca indians and their lifestyle, and how they coped with the wars and settlers taking their land, that stuff always made me angry. I'd say great read for ages 9- I'm not sure. This book is GREAT although I'd strongly advise reading the free sample first, but I think you'd get sucked in anyway, I couldn't put it down!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4