Customer Reviews for

Indian Captive: The Story of Mary Jemison

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Want to read a book that will stick to your hands? Came to the right one.

This book is the story of Mary Jeminson and her life with the Indians. Indian Captive is about a girl named Molly who is taken away from her family. She traveled with the Indians day and night, and finally was in her new home Seneca town. There she lived with the Indian...
This book is the story of Mary Jeminson and her life with the Indians. Indian Captive is about a girl named Molly who is taken away from her family. She traveled with the Indians day and night, and finally was in her new home Seneca town. There she lived with the Indians. Learned their language, learned their lessons and much more. My favorite part of this book is when Molly feels like the Indians are her new family. I recomend this book to anyone who likes to sit for the whole evening and read. Is she going to like the Indians? Want to know? Read the book.

posted by 19tj on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is the WORST BOOK EVER!!!

It is very disturbing to me that Mary Jemison could love the very people who slaughtered her family. I find this book disgusting. Some may call it a tale of acceptance, I call it just plain BAD!!!

posted by Anonymous on December 16, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    oustanding indian book!!!! a must read

    this book tells much of the beliefs and customes of the seneca. the story of mary shurly tells many of the prisoners storys. please take this for note. not all indians did this. many did, but only to replace loved one who died or were captured and killed. please dont hold this against anyone.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2000

    THE BEST BOOK OUT

    This book is a must read. Its my favorite. I have probably read it 50 times and it never gets old. Every woman, no matter what your age, should read this book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2000

    Outstanding book!!!!!!!

    This book is really AMAZING!!!!!! I couldn´t put it down. I´ve read it over a dozen times and I still find it interesting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    This book was sooooo awesome!

    I could never put this book down. I got it for my birthday and thought, 'Oh goodie, a book.' But, when I started to read it, I fell in love with it. That book is awesome!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    Great Book!

    This was a wonderful book! The description and plot was great! The author did a lot od research to write this book. She has about 5 pages in the front describing her work and a page of bibliographies in the back. The story keep you awake all nght reading! This is a must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    A sweet suprise

    Had to read for school.... I LOVED IT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    Really enjoyable reading!

    What an interesting journey this young girl takes. You will enjoy the way the story unfolds and the lessons that Molly learns along the way. I enjoyed how accurately the story seem to reflect the time period and the Indian culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Pretty darn good!

    I had to read it for YASA ( a book club for girls) and i really enjoyed it! If you like adventure and challenge this the book for U!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Comment 18

    You suck this book rules

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Indan Captive

    I really enjoyed reading the book. It is an eninteresting book to read. I like it because it adventerus book. I highly recamend it for people who read book adverturus book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    TOTAL BOOOKKKK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Mmmmm

    RrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Write in journal if you have toooooo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!

    It was my favorite book by far, it has my two favorite things, realityish stuff, and INDIANS!!!! I loved learning about the seneca indians and their lifestyle, and how they coped with the wars and settlers taking their land, that stuff always made me angry. I'd say great read for ages 9- I'm not sure. This book is GREAT although I'd strongly advise reading the free sample first, but I think you'd get sucked in anyway, I couldn't put it down!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Best book ever look Best book for all religions more than 100 pages

    This book is about mollys hard journey to her new home i paid but its defentily worth it for all ages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Super good book

    This is a very interesting book! Children will love it... I know I did! I'm reading it to my younger siblings and they enjoy it very much, always wanting more! It shows the way the Indians live and how hard it is for white people to live with them. I like how it has a happy ending too! (Well, semi happy)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Best book writen!

    I got my (paper back) copy when I was in fivth grade and I truly regret not reading it right away. Molly is so nice and when i finally did finish reading it I was so proud of myself. Very well written and I recomend it to everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    This book moves you

    I have never heard a bad word about this book. It wil be in my hart forever and ever( ellie )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Omg great book

    My teacher gonna but this for our class library. Btw, nice book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Timeless Story for All Ages

    I loved this book when I was a child, and I still love it. The themes and emotions pour through in vivid descriptions no matter what age you are. I loved it when I was 8, and I love it now at 23.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Great early American historical fiction

    Indian Captive is one of my favorite Newbery Honor Awards book especially while studying early American history. It is a glimpse into the life of the Seneca Indian tribe during the mid to late 1700s.


    In this classic Newbery Honor Award book, Lois Lenski authentically reconstructs the fascinating story of Mary Jemison's capture, flight, and early years with the Seneca Indians. Lenski has brought her special talents for research, for writing, and for drawing to this true American story of a white girl's life among Native Americans.


    The real Mary Jemison, at the age of 80, told her memories of her experiences in detail to James Everett Seaver, M.D., and the book was first published at Canandaigua, NY in 1824. She was one of a few Indian captives who refused to return the "pale face" world. Mary Jemison, aka 'Little-Woman-of-Great-Courage,' lived to be 91 and was buried in the Seneca churchyard at South Buffalo, and later re-buried at Letchworth Park in her beloved Genesee Valley. Her descendants still live on the Indian reservations in western New York.


    Click HERE for more information on Indian Captive and Lois Lenski.


    I received a complimentary copy of Indian Captive from Open Road Media and NetGalley for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    A really nice book

    A great read that will teach kids how life was in Mollys time. When there were indians and it was the norm for white people to live in giant plots of land. Its a book that teachers can read to their students or you can just read it on your own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3