Customer Reviews for

The Indian in the Cupboard

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The Indian in the Cupboard

This book is about a boy named Omri and he an Indian and a cupboard for his birthday. Some of the characters in the story are Omri, Patrick, and Omri's two brothers. Omri puts the Indian in the cupboard overnight and then in the morning he heard something in the cupboar...
This book is about a boy named Omri and he an Indian and a cupboard for his birthday. Some of the characters in the story are Omri, Patrick, and Omri's two brothers. Omri puts the Indian in the cupboard overnight and then in the morning he heard something in the cupboard and he opened it and he saw the Indian alive. Omri keeps it to himself that his Indian came alive overnight in the cupboard. He builds Little Bear a longhouse to live in. He takes little bear and his horse outside for a ride. Little bear gets hurt outside and then Omri goes inside and he brings the chief alive so he can help Little Bear. Then the chief dies and then little bear takes charge of being chief. Omri didn't want to tell anyone about his cupboard turning plastic toys into real toys. His friend Patrick who gave him the toy and one day he slipped out that he was real. Patrick didn't believe him that he was real and then Patrick wanted to go to Omri's house and see himself. Omri took him to his house to see. When Patrick saw it he wanted one then. Omri didn't want him to have one because he was afraid that Patrick would tell everyone. Omri had to go downstairs for his mom. When he came back up Patrick had made a cowboy real. There is a good ending to the book but ill let you read the book so you can see what the ending is. Now you know some things about the book The Indian in the Cupboard. If you chose this book I hope my review as been helpful to you.

posted by caleb_h_WV on October 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Indian In the Cupboard

It starts out with an Indian locked in a magic cupboard. The Indian came to life. I did not like this book because it did not make sense. This is a suspenseful book. This book was very boring. It did not make much sense to me.

posted by fred91 on March 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    The Indian in the Cupboard

    This book is about a boy named Omri and he an Indian and a cupboard for his birthday. Some of the characters in the story are Omri, Patrick, and Omri's two brothers. Omri puts the Indian in the cupboard overnight and then in the morning he heard something in the cupboard and he opened it and he saw the Indian alive. Omri keeps it to himself that his Indian came alive overnight in the cupboard. He builds Little Bear a longhouse to live in. He takes little bear and his horse outside for a ride. Little bear gets hurt outside and then Omri goes inside and he brings the chief alive so he can help Little Bear. Then the chief dies and then little bear takes charge of being chief. Omri didn't want to tell anyone about his cupboard turning plastic toys into real toys. His friend Patrick who gave him the toy and one day he slipped out that he was real. Patrick didn't believe him that he was real and then Patrick wanted to go to Omri's house and see himself. Omri took him to his house to see. When Patrick saw it he wanted one then. Omri didn't want him to have one because he was afraid that Patrick would tell everyone. Omri had to go downstairs for his mom. When he came back up Patrick had made a cowboy real. There is a good ending to the book but ill let you read the book so you can see what the ending is. Now you know some things about the book The Indian in the Cupboard. If you chose this book I hope my review as been helpful to you.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    A Good Book. I Would Like To Read The Rest In The Series.

    The Indian In The Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks, was a good book. Yes, it was small for a book for a teenager like myelf to read, but it was still very good. It had a lot of emotion and tension, and proof that everyone is important and special in their own way. I want to find the publishers or Lynne Reid Banks, or whoever decided to have the British to American words dictionary. I hate it when you read a book with British people, and you can't understand any of it. This is a good book to read if you need to do a report for school. Overall, I think anybody between the ages of nine and fourteen would like this.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Highly recommended - You should check it out :)

    Indian in the Cupboard Book Review

    The main idea of this book is that a boy (Omri) gets a plastic Indian from his friend (Patrick) and a cupboard from his older brother (Gillon), for his birthday. Omri puts the Indian in the cupboard and he comes to life. Omri ends up taking care of the Indian and it becomes a great adventure for him.
    Lynn Reid Banks possesses the rare ability to blend the drama of everyday life with an utterly believable fantasy in this book. It's amazing how the indian comes to life from being locked in a cupboard. The cupboard is of everyday life and the living minature indian is apart of the utterly believable fantasy.
    This book is a really good book. I highly recommend this book for anyone who likes adventure books or to anyone who likes to read in general. I rate this book a four star book. =)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Indian and the cupboard.

    It is an out standing book.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Read this book

    The is a great book. I read it as a kid and now I get to read to my children and they love it to.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!

    The book The Indian in the Cupboard by Brock Cole is a great book that takes place in the 1930s. Here are some events from the story. For Omri's birthday he got a cupboard with a key that can bring plastic to life. Omri brought a plastic Indian to life named Little Bear. Little Bear wanted to make a longhouse so Omri got him some supplies to make it. Once he makes it Omri's best friend Patrick finds out about Little Bear and gets really jealous so he found a plastic cowboy and brought it to life and his name was Boone. One day Omri decided to bring Little Bear and Boone to school, he gave them both to Patrick and he put them in his pocket but he tripped and thought he had killed Little Bear and Boone. Omri took them after that and went to art class and Boone drew a picture so small that the art teacher was amazed and she thought Omri had drawn it. Late at night Omri and Patrick decided to watch a movie about cowboys and Indians, the cowboys were winning a fight so Little Bear got so mad and shot Boone with an arrow. In the morning Little Bear was complaining because he really wanted a wife, so they went to the shop and bought a plastic Indian to bring to life, but when Omri got home he could not find the magic key and he found out it was under the floor boards because his dad had changed the floor boards. Omri sends down Little Bear to get the key but there is a rat! Down there! The Indian in the Cupboard has some positives and some negatives. One positive is that Omri brings a plastic Indian to life, that is positive because that makes the book very exciting. Another positive is that Omri's friend Patrick really wants to bring a toy to life so he puts a cowboy in the cupboard, I liked that because Little Bear would now have a friend his size. One last positive is that they could not ell anybody about Little Bear or Boone. One negative thing in the book is that the brought a toy doctor to life to help Little Bear get healed, but they did not show the doctor that many times. I also didn't like that Patrick told the principal about the toys because it ruined their secret. Lastly I think they should have made Little Bears wife speak more because she only spoke once or twice. The writing style of the author is very interesting. This book is very easy to read. The author (Brock Cole) uses 1st person. 1st person makes the book better because if the author told the story then you might not understand Omri's feelings that well. Most of the words in this book are very easy to read. All of the topics that Brock Cole writes are very clear. This book has some recommendations and some not recommendations. I would recommend this book because it is very interesting how Omri brings a plastic Indian to life. I also like how Patrick brings a cowboy to life and it becomes friends with Little Bear. I would also not recommend this book because the whole book is pretty much in Omri's house. Here are some similar novels to this book. They are actually all in the same series, the 2nd book in the series is called The Return of the Indian, the 3rd book in the series is called The Secret of the Indian, the 4th book in the series is called The Mystery of the Cupboard, and lastly the 5th book The Key to the Indian. The Indian in the Cupboard was a great book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    blah blah blah

    i looooooooved this book so much and i also love chocolate , but the book was ok, i guess, even thogh i gave it 5 stars it deserves 100

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    This is my favorate book

    I like the book and the movie of the indian in the cuboard

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Omg

    This is for my book report

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    I have never read this book but it seems good.

    I cant open my tuna

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    This was one of the best books ive ever read

    Truly a clasdic shoyld be remebered by all

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Indian In the Cupboard

    It starts out with an Indian locked in a magic cupboard. The Indian came to life. I did not like this book because it did not make sense. This is a suspenseful book. This book was very boring. It did not make much sense to me.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    different than the movie

    there was cussin' in the movie but not in the book. And the movie had l

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    best book

    "The Indian in the cupboard "is a really good book I wish ever one could read it. There are lots of good books out there and this is one of them. If you get the chance to read this book you should read it. It's not a hard book to read. If you get in to the book you will not be able to put it down or at lest I couldn't. The book is field with action and sorrow.

    Omri (the mane character) has a lot of problems in the story of how he feels how little bear (the Indian) treats him. One of the times is when little bear starts to tack the head dress from the old dead Indian Omri feels that it is wrong to take the head dress from the Indian. Though out the story similar events happen to Omri. The only happiness is when he first makes little bear come to life.

    The next reason I liked this book is. The fights that went on inn the book .one was the fight between Boone (the cowboy) and little bear (the Indian) the two was shooting at one another all over the room. The other fight was the verbal fight between Patrick and Omir

    I hope if you get to read this book you will I hope it helped you.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Wow the best !!"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!¿"!!!!!-

    I loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    FAVORITE BOOK!!!

    This was my favorite book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Cool

    It is a awesome book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My children were blessed!

    I am a mother who herself is an avid reader, but also loves to read to her children. They just loved this series. It takes some imagination, but what else do children have?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    i like the book

    mmy teacher is reading it and so far i like the book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    by aj

    the nest book in the wrold

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9