Customer Reviews for

The Indian in the Cupboard

Average Rating 4.5
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

The Indian in the Cupboard

This book is about a boy named Omri and he an Indian and a cupboard for his birthday. Some of the characters in the story are Omri, Patrick, and Omri's two brothers. Omri puts the Indian in the cupboard overnight and then in the morning he heard something in the cupboar...
This book is about a boy named Omri and he an Indian and a cupboard for his birthday. Some of the characters in the story are Omri, Patrick, and Omri's two brothers. Omri puts the Indian in the cupboard overnight and then in the morning he heard something in the cupboard and he opened it and he saw the Indian alive. Omri keeps it to himself that his Indian came alive overnight in the cupboard. He builds Little Bear a longhouse to live in. He takes little bear and his horse outside for a ride. Little bear gets hurt outside and then Omri goes inside and he brings the chief alive so he can help Little Bear. Then the chief dies and then little bear takes charge of being chief. Omri didn't want to tell anyone about his cupboard turning plastic toys into real toys. His friend Patrick who gave him the toy and one day he slipped out that he was real. Patrick didn't believe him that he was real and then Patrick wanted to go to Omri's house and see himself. Omri took him to his house to see. When Patrick saw it he wanted one then. Omri didn't want him to have one because he was afraid that Patrick would tell everyone. Omri had to go downstairs for his mom. When he came back up Patrick had made a cowboy real. There is a good ending to the book but ill let you read the book so you can see what the ending is. Now you know some things about the book The Indian in the Cupboard. If you chose this book I hope my review as been helpful to you.

posted by caleb_h_WV on October 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Indian In the Cupboard

It starts out with an Indian locked in a magic cupboard. The Indian came to life. I did not like this book because it did not make sense. This is a suspenseful book. This book was very boring. It did not make much sense to me.

posted by fred91 on March 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    A Good Book. I Would Like To Read The Rest In The Series.

    The Indian In The Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks, was a good book. Yes, it was small for a book for a teenager like myelf to read, but it was still very good. It had a lot of emotion and tension, and proof that everyone is important and special in their own way. I want to find the publishers or Lynne Reid Banks, or whoever decided to have the British to American words dictionary. I hate it when you read a book with British people, and you can't understand any of it. This is a good book to read if you need to do a report for school. Overall, I think anybody between the ages of nine and fourteen would like this.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Highly recommended - You should check it out :)

    Indian in the Cupboard Book Review

    The main idea of this book is that a boy (Omri) gets a plastic Indian from his friend (Patrick) and a cupboard from his older brother (Gillon), for his birthday. Omri puts the Indian in the cupboard and he comes to life. Omri ends up taking care of the Indian and it becomes a great adventure for him.
    Lynn Reid Banks possesses the rare ability to blend the drama of everyday life with an utterly believable fantasy in this book. It's amazing how the indian comes to life from being locked in a cupboard. The cupboard is of everyday life and the living minature indian is apart of the utterly believable fantasy.
    This book is a really good book. I highly recommend this book for anyone who likes adventure books or to anyone who likes to read in general. I rate this book a four star book. =)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    I have never read this book but it seems good.

    I cant open my tuna

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What A book

    This is one of the best books I ever read. The pictures are the best and I loved reading it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2001

    Good book

    This book was very good. And if I had a cupboard like that I would do the same thing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    The journeys of Orime and Little BearI

    I liked the story because of the expressions they used and of the bravery Little Bear showed. Also Little Bear was a very smart Indian. Omri was a boy that wasn't very happy when he saw the gift Patrick brought him. I liked the story a lot. I thank the auther for writing this story for kids to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Danirn

    I gtg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Miss maes review

    This book is amazing! It may be my favorate book of the school year! (i am going into the forth grade) i could not stop reading it! Can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Funny

    Great book for school but has bad language in the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Fired up the imagination

    I really enjoyed re-reading this book from my childhood. It reminded me of why I loved reading as a kid, it sparked my imagination. I definitely recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    In my school reading groups our 2 nd book

    I read this with seven other people in reading groups at my school it was the second book we read cant wait to read The Indian In The Cupboard Returns.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Read

    F

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    My 9 year old loved this book

    I have a budding book enthusiast, and am always on the lookout for books that we both can enjoy because I read to him each day as well as him reading on his own. This book was very enjoyable for both of us. Wasn't sure how he would like it because his favorites are true life adventure and comedy right now, but he didn't want to put it down. There is a sequel that we will be picking up soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    Book Review

    The Indian In The Cupboard<BR/><BR/><BR/>The Indian in the Cupboard is an awesome book. This is a book about fantasy. It is a about a boy who receives a cupboard for his birthday. The boy puts in a toy indian and it comes alive overnight. He also makes a horse and a cowboy to realife. My favorite part was when the cowboy and the Indian are fighting with guns. This book is the best book ever. I like this book because it is about magic. For example when the boy puts the toy Indian in the cupboard. Overnight the Indian turns real. Also there were some sad parts like when the cowboy cries. And or course some happy parts like when the cowboy and the Indian are friends. These are all the reasons why I like this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    a reviewer

    When I read the book The Indian in the Cupboard I thought it was well written by Lynne Reid Banks. If you like magical adventures, I think this is a great book for you. The Indian in the Cupboard is about a boy named Omri who has gotten a plastic Indian and a cupboard he did not want, but when he put the Indian in the cupboard and locked it, it was a start to a lot of new adventures for Omri. One adventure is when Omri¿s brother, Gillion, has a vicious rat escape from its cage and finds the Indian. Omri has to save the Indian. The book is very interesting and I would recommend it for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    evaluation of the indian and the cupboard

    The Indian and the cupboard was a good book I read and I liked Lynne Reid Banks Of how she uses the accents you make each character have its own style. Like Boon has a Texas accent. The Indians accent is really slow. I don¿t think it is fair that Patrick manipulates Omri by saying he will tell every one about the cupboard. I also like how Boone, the Indian, Omri and Patrick by fighting so much they became friends. I like how Lynne Reid banks uses the imagination to make fantasy come true, so you can feel you are in the story. But what I didn¿t like from the author was the ending, a rough ending. The whole story was very detailed but not the ending I think the ending came too early because it doesn¿t even say after the Indian went back what happened to him and his wife. I was not expecting this ending so early from the author Lynne Reid Banks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    What will happen next?

    The story The Indian in the Cupboard is a book that I really liked because of the different types of accents. For example, Boone's Texan accent is not the traditional one, and the Indian talks like an Indian. I also liked the concept of the book-- a cupboard that can turn plastic figures to life. I think it is a really good book because of the details and making the creatures seem so alive. Like when Boone and Little Bear fight, those paragraphs seem very real. Lynne Reid Banks is one of the authors that I most like about writing. Just that I think that she did a good job in the end. I like the ending because it makes me wonder what will happen in the future. What I like about the ending is Omri gives the key to the mom so he won't be tempted to use the a cupboard again. It is a good idea because there won't be problems again........ Or will there?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    Good fantasy story for children

    Obviously, this book is fantasy, but it is well written and makes an enjoyable read for middle school age children. It is a very interesting and imaginative story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2007

    Indian In The Cupboard

    I read this in my class (I'm in fifth grade) and my teacher used different voices for different characters. Well, the story and movie are way different but the book is great! It's sooo cool trying to visualize what it looks like. I liked the book and I want to read The Return Of The Indian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    Indian in the Cupboard

    I read a book called The Indian in the Cupboard. When I started reading the book I liked it. It¿s about this boy name Omri who got a birthday present from his friend Patrick. He gave him a plastic Indian and since Omri liked to play with plastic figures he will always play with Patrick. The story is about friendship, magic, and responsibility. For me the best part of the story is the magic that changed the plastic toy into a real Indian. Anything magic is cool because it amazes me and shocks me and I like that. I wish some kind of magic would happen to me. I would also do magic myself. Tricks and shows would be fun to perform. The key is the magic that turns plastic things into real ones maybe everyday things can be magic if you believe in it. This book is about friendship. Patrick and Omri are best friends and they share the adventure of having real toys. Little Bear and Boone become friends even though they are from different times and places. When Boone is hurt, Little Bear takes care of him like Omri takes care of them. My best friend and I share stuff and give presents to each other like Omri and Patrick. At the beginning of the story, Omri wasn¿t a responsible kid. Because Omri brought Little Bear to life, he learns to be responsible because he has to do everything for him. Omri thinks after a while that having two real people to care for is too much responsibility for a kid his age. When I baby sit, I am afraid to make a mistake that might hurt the baby. Kids should read this book because it is exciting. Girls would like this book more because girls like magic more than boys do. Boys might like the fighting between Little Bear and Boone. I liked this book so much it made me want to see the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2