Customer Reviews for

Indignation

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An odd, but engaging book

    I had never read Philip Roth prior to reading Indignation and was pleased with this novel, though I found it an odd piece of writing. In spite of his youth and "seriousness," Messner is an engaging character, if a bit histrionic at moments.

    The "I am dead" revelation was a it surprising. Maybe more astute readers than I would have seen it coming, but I did not. I don't see what it did to help the novel along. It only served to minimize the sense of foreboding that Roth had been developing up to that point.

    It's certainly worth reading, though. And I am likely going to try another Philip Roth novel very soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    A perfect novel

    As funny and bitting as anything he has ever done, with a distinctly sad aftertaste. This easily the best of his four short novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    Don't

    One of the worst books I've ever read I am sorry to say, depressing, listened to it in the audio version and the narrator did a good job which was the only thing that kept me tuned in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Maybe It's Just Me

    I have enjoyed some of Philip Roth's writing but I often find it a little too much and this novel fits that category. I found the novel hard to put down but at the same time I found all of the characters to be more parodies of themselves than believable. I would caution readers to consider this novel more a stury of an odd teenager than a representation of the times or the life of a Jewish teen from Newark in the 50's. That is not to imply there was no anti-semitism but I think Marcus had many unlikeable traits that were the cause of his problems, not the fact that he was Jewish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Indignation by Philip Roth

    A stark reminder of the prejudice alive and doing well in the US post WWII. I felt the desperation of the young men of the time to escape entrapment in yet another conflict, and how university leaders maintained the status quo. The description of the "panty raid" grounded the Jewish issue in the conservative morals or our country at the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Profound and Powerful Work of Art

    While I have always loved Philip Roth, I was not prepared for the emotional impact of this brilliant novel. What starts off as a fascinating character study of a teenage boy coming of age in the 1950's under the shadow of the Korean war, becomes a razor sharp dissection of the cultural milieu of that era and, sadly, its parallels in our own. As I began reading the penultimate chapter, I had a visceral reaction. The hair on my arms stood on end, and I literally gasped. I had to read it more than once as the emotional weight of Roth's story hit me like a ton of bricks. The end is both dark and jarring. This is a novel I won't soon forget. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Indignation

    Heard a lot of great things about the author, but was unimpressed. Book was very "ok".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Whose Indignation?

    A reader might be indignant to have purchased this book, only to be disappointed by what is a very uninvolving tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Provocative, Entertaining and a bit Bleak

    I found this book to be an interesting character study of a college youth in the 1950's. I found that the plot in this short novel to be compelling. But don't expect to be cheered up by end of this sobering novel. But if you can handle the truth, I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1