Customer Reviews for

Indigo

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    This book wat ok.

    The main characters in Indigo are Martha Glimmer and her two best friends named Trevor and Eli McGrill. The conflict is that they are trying to get away from Oak Grove because they hate it there and the McGrill boys want to find their mother that they haven¿t seen since they were babies. But they don¿t know she died in a storm in Ocean City a few years ago. Another conflict in Indigo is when Martha, Trevor, and Eli leave Oak Grove they find out that a storm is coming and hurry back to save the town. When they get to Oak Grove half of the town was filled with water and everyone was on top of their roofs. They had to save Oak Grove from being under water all the way. The resolution is that Trevor and Eli were like fish because their mom was a mermaid and they could swim fast and can breath under water. The town¿s people put up a wall to keep out the water if there was ever another flood but they were wrong they just made it worse putting up the wall. So the boys went to the wall and started wrestling with the biggest rock under the wall, then the wall tipped over and all the water was slowly draining out like a bathtub. The moral of the book is that when something bad happens something can end up good, just like before the flood when Martha hated a woman that came over every day to help them after her mom died. Then after the flood the woman never came back, she went on top of the hill and never came back to Oak Grove.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Great for Children

    I'm writing a review on the short 84 page book Indigo by Alice Hoffman. I believe that Indidgo is a very good book, I would recommend it for people who like the immagination and for a younger reader. I also believe that Indigo has alot to teach children about family and how people stick together even when bad times come. Indigo is a story about mermaids and humans, combined. I believe it is a very east read but it is a little bit far fetched and I think for the 8-13 year old group of kids it would be an outstanding match. Thank You

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    No...

    This book was horrible. It is predictable and low-level (not to mention uninteresting). One with a brain can easily decipher the whole book by the first three pages. 'He had flippers for feet and drank salt water and everyone called him Trout.' are just a few of the many obvious give-aways of the whole thing. Anyone that knows, oh I dont know... what a fish looks like, would most likely question 'Gee, People don't have flippers or drink salt water or have gills... could they possibly be... fish?' Dont waste your hard-earned money on this garbage.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Fairly Good

    I know I've put four stars for my star rating, but I would rather give 3 and 1/2 ones. It was, yes, a little predictable, but I liked this book because it reminds me of the ocean and because many can relate to feeling strange, like a deformed puzzle piece. Trout, Eel, and Martha all feel strange and out of place in their tiny inland town. I would recommend this to all ages- there's nothing bad for kids in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Great book...

    In this book, Indigo, Hoffman writes very well. This book has a heartwarming story, its funny,thrilling,absorbing, and so much more. This book is one of Hoffman's best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Not the best

    It had a good storyline but it was both rushed and predictable. Things needed to be spanned out and more in depth. And they just moved away leaving her behind? Come on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was very short, and I believe Alice could have written a longer novel and interested more children. It was not very detailed and everything whiped by you, so you never knews what just heppened. Every character was 2 dementional and some even less. NO one had any feeling, and it felt more like an outline then a full book. There were so many missing parts, and question in the end. I would have enjoyed this book much more if it had been longer, but the plot was okay, but not great, recieving only 3 stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    Great book

    it was really great i loved it. i would let any one borrow it to read it i loved green angle and aquamarine also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    I love it

    I think this was a very good book. I read it for my my booklcub meeting and loved it. I also read Aquamarine and found that very interesting to. I hope that there will be sequiles

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    Indigo-Its review

    I love this book it is very interesting and I can really cop with Martha,to feel so alone. This book reminds me of myself,always wanting to go to the beach,exploring,never giving up. I love this book and hope some day I find a friend like Trout. If I could say one bad thing about the book it would be.......Nothing.I love this book and hope I get to read other books by Alice Hoffman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    this was a great book

    this book ws really nice. It really gets you thinking. it's kind of sad. but it's really nice. I reccomend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!

    It Is Such a Good Book, It Truly Enchanted Me!!! YOU MUST GET THIS IT IS SO GREAT!!!! I Mean,They Are 'Humans' That Got Rescued From The Sea, And Then They Find Themselves To Be Water Sprites!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    indigo

    I think that the book indigo was good but the book wasn't that long at all. It was very interseting! I would recomend it to someone that like's action books. It kinda get¿s broning at the end but in the beginning it is very interesting it talk¿s alot about he boys lives. It¿s kinda a sad book also too because of how the boys and there friend runaway and the boys friend martha mom died when she was only like 4 years old. But like i said the biik was like action kinda type toward the end. Because the two boys are trying to save pople in the rain storm. The book is about 2 main book is about the 2 boys and they runaway because there parents mess up there room and they get very mad so they runaway with there friend martha. Martha wanted to runaway in the first place because she was so upset about how mom dieing she¿s had to live with it her whole life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2002

    Modern fairytale

    Not very much to this book. The story has few surprises and you can see everything coming at you like a semitruck. Trevor and Eli (trout and eel as nicknames) yearn to see the sea. Martha Glimmer, a friend, helps them. The journey they go on after the decision is a yawn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1