Customer Reviews for

Indigo

Average Rating 5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    The Perfect Blend of Romance and History

    I thoroughly enjoyed Galen and La Petite Indigo as they fought against the institution of slavery and fell in love. Ms. Bev always does an amazing job intertwining love stories and history resulting in an a story that you will want to read again and again. This novel will always be a favorite for me.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Forever fan

    A must have if u luv romance, african history all rolled up into one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    Indigo : A romantic, historical novel about the struggle of African-Americans and the Underground Railroad

    This is only my third novel by Beverly Jenkins. And she has yet to disappoint! I've read Night Song, Vivid and now Indigo. I enjoyed the heated romance between Hester and Galen. The chemistry between Galen and Hester was so charged, they couldn't help but fall for each other. Their story just leapt off the pages. Galen was so used to being able to get any woman he wanted and he was so undone when Hester constantly told him 'No', he just couldn't help but fall in love with her and her innocence. It was wonderful to read about how much they were able to love each other. Considering the times they were living in with slavery and many arranged marriages taking place, and especially considering the 'Road' work they both did, yet with all of that taking place around them, they were able to find true love. When I first heard about the Black Daniel and Hester in Vivid, I thought now that's a story I would love to read. And now that I have, all I can say is WOW! It was a real page turner. It had me LOL and crying at the same time. And at times I laughed so hard I cried. I also enjoyed many of the other characters in the story, especially Raymond LeVeq and his brothers. I enjoyed the comraderie and the loyalty they shared with Galen, which extended to Hester once she became part of his life. Hope to read more about some of these characters in future novels. My only problem with the story was that like all books it had to come to an end, and as good as the ending was, it just ended way too soon for me. Thanks for sharing Beverly Jenkins.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Great book

    I was not sure at first i would like the book because slavery is such a sore spot with me. I loved it. I stayed captivated.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Awesome

    I am a new fan of Beverly Jenkins but I, now, understand why so many people love her work. Indigo was the first book that I read by this author, and I've just read it for the third time. If you love a little bit of history with your romance then you will love Beverly Jenkins' Indigo.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2007

    Indigo : A romantic, historical novel about the struggle of African-Americans and the Underground Railroad

    This is only my third novel by Beverly Jenkins. And she has yet to disappoint! I've read Night Song, Vivid and now Indigo. I enjoyed the heated romance between Hester and Galen. The chemistry between Galen and Hester was so charged, they couldn't help but fall for each other. Their story just leapt off the pages. Galen was so used to being able to get any woman he wanted and he was so undone when Hester constantly told him 'No', he just couldn't help but fall in love with her and her innocence. One of my favorite parts is when Galen returns to Whittaker and offers Hester and her two guests a ride when their wagon gets stuck in the mud. I LOL at Hester's feelings about getting a ride from him 'of all people'. When they all sat in Galen's carriage and he commented on the interior, my heart just melted. It was wonderful to read about how much they were able to love each other considering the times they were living in with slavery and many arranged marriages taking place, and especially considering the 'Road' work they both did, however, they were able to find true love. When I first heard about the Black Daniel and Hester in Vivid, I thought now that's a story I would love to read. And now that I have, all I can say is WOW! It was a real page turner. It had me LOL and crying at the same time. And at times I laughed so hard I cried. I also enjoyed many of the other characters in the story, especially Raymond LeVeq and his brothers. I enjoyed the comraderie and the loyalty they shared with Galen, which extended to Hester once she became part of his life. Hope to read more about some of these characters in future novels. My only problem with the story was that like all books it had to come to an end, and as good as the ending was, it just ended way too soon for me. Thanks for sharing Beverly Jenkins.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    I Searched for this Book 4 6 years...It's that Good

    I first read this book a while ago. I rented it from the Library, and the only reason i returned it is because stealing is bad. This is a great read for all those who love a good story and for African-american romantics who like to learn morea about the underground railroad and some of the things that were going on in that time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A great love story, intimate but not vulgar.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Great Historical, Romance, Fiction Book

    This author is wonderful. All of her books are well-written and the passion scenes are not too over the top.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    A must have

    A great to have in any collection of romance

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I have read this book 4 times. I truly love Beverl Jenkins books but this is by far the best one yet. I just love the unconditional love Galon has for Hester. Please keep them coming. I thinkI have read all of her books and have not been disappointed yet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The BOOK THAT STARTED IT ALL!!

    My sister gave me this book to read and when she did my desire to write again woke from the grave. This is the story of all romance novels. It has everything one could ask for and some. What a read what a story and to think it continues with Edge of Dawn, Edge of Midnight, and Black Lace, then it gives you connections to some of Ms. Jenkins other reads. My, my, my...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Best Book Ever!!!

    I love this BOOK!!! It touch my heart! Its a must read. I really hope see let it go to Nook Book!! I'm still buying the hard book, because my sister took her book back!! It's a must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    NUMBER 1 FAN

    I HAVE ALMOST ALL OF BEVERLY JENKINS BOOKS THE ONLY BOOKS I DO NOT HAVE IS VIVD INDO CAPTURED BLESSING AND JOSEPHINE. I HAVE READ ALL THE BOOKS MORE THAN TWICE. I HAVE ENJOYED READING HER BOOKS AND TRY TO GET EVERY LAST BOOKS SHE PUBLISHED. I HOPE THAT THE PEOPLE THAT HAVE POSTED THIER COMMENTS HAVE THE PLEASURE OF READING ALL OF HER BOOKS. BECASUE I DO BELIEVE THAT YOU WELL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. THE BOOK THAT I HAVE RECOMMENDED ARE THE BOOKS I HAVE. I ENJOYED READING BEFORE DAWN AND TOPAZ THE MOST. HOPE THAT BEVERLY WILL CONTINUE HER STORY LINE OF LE VEQ BROTHERS.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    Must read this book!!!!

    I must agree with the other reviewers of Beverly Jenkins novels. She does not just give a romance story but she education and enlighten readers and keeps you wanting more. I first read 'Topaz' by Mrs. Jenkins and search for all other novels by her. I have collected all of Mrs. Jenkins books and anticipate the next. After reading, 'Through the Storm', I did not think that I could ever love another book as much as I love that book. However, I finally got a copy of 'Indigo' and read it twice within the same month. I could not stop talking about 'Indigo' and dare others to read the book and not fall in love with the story line, the characters, and Mrs. Jenkins writing styles.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Jaw dropping

    Bev jenkins nvr dissappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Loved it!

    Ms. Jenkins does not fail to please. There is always a distinct edge to each book, and I always learn about the history of my people while enjoying the history entwined in a romance theme.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    JaKai

    This is a really good story. The characters well developed and believeable. Loved it!!

    JaKai

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Wonderful

    I have become a great fan of beverly jenkins after reading this book. I love the way she blends romance with historical facts. Her characters are positive African Americans. Now I look forward to reading more of her great books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Excellent Novel from Beverly Jenkins

    I loved this book from beginning to end. Not only is there smoldering chemistry between Hester and Galon, Ms. Jenkins provides great historical information about African American history. Excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5