Customer Reviews for

Indiscretion

Average Rating 3.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

This is the type of book that once you pick up, you can't put ba

This is the type of book that once you pick up, you can't put back down because you are instantly enchanted by the story. I was immediately intrigued after reading just the Prologue and was certainly not disappointed with the rest of the novel. The main characters in th...
This is the type of book that once you pick up, you can't put back down because you are instantly enchanted by the story. I was immediately intrigued after reading just the Prologue and was certainly not disappointed with the rest of the novel. The main characters in the novel - Walter, Claire, Harry and Maddy - they are very realistic written. Each have their distinct personalities, unique quirks, and personal flaws. The characters are written in such a way that the reader feels instantly at ease with them, almost as if we've known them ourselves for years. They easily endear themselves to the reader and we let our guards down for them, definitely not knowing where the story or their lives will lead us. It all starts so innocent and enchanting during a lazy summer in the Hamptons. Things soon turn from idyllic to something much deeper and darker with secrets abounding.

The heart of the novel takes place in the East Hamptons, where our four main characters meet for the first time and become entwined in a strange game of sorts. The writing of the book is simply incredible. It's lyrical and enchanting - completely enthralling the reader into the midst of the story and not letting go until we're out of breath and the story is suddenly over. This book is definitely one that demands to be read in one sitting, with the pages being devoured and the reader begging for more. After reading this complicated and sophisticated novel, one will be thinking and talking about it for a long time to come. It's the type of book that sticks with you long after you finished the last page. I will definitely be reading more of this author's works and I highly recommend this book for lovers of deeply layered fiction and twisted story lines.

Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

posted by StephWard on February 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it

Very strange writing pattern. Didnt finish it. Disappointed that I spent the $2.00.

posted by 12140805 on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the type of book that once you pick up, you can't put ba

    This is the type of book that once you pick up, you can't put back down because you are instantly enchanted by the story. I was immediately intrigued after reading just the Prologue and was certainly not disappointed with the rest of the novel. The main characters in the novel - Walter, Claire, Harry and Maddy - they are very realistic written. Each have their distinct personalities, unique quirks, and personal flaws. The characters are written in such a way that the reader feels instantly at ease with them, almost as if we've known them ourselves for years. They easily endear themselves to the reader and we let our guards down for them, definitely not knowing where the story or their lives will lead us. It all starts so innocent and enchanting during a lazy summer in the Hamptons. Things soon turn from idyllic to something much deeper and darker with secrets abounding.

    The heart of the novel takes place in the East Hamptons, where our four main characters meet for the first time and become entwined in a strange game of sorts. The writing of the book is simply incredible. It's lyrical and enchanting - completely enthralling the reader into the midst of the story and not letting go until we're out of breath and the story is suddenly over. This book is definitely one that demands to be read in one sitting, with the pages being devoured and the reader begging for more. After reading this complicated and sophisticated novel, one will be thinking and talking about it for a long time to come. It's the type of book that sticks with you long after you finished the last page. I will definitely be reading more of this author's works and I highly recommend this book for lovers of deeply layered fiction and twisted story lines.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    32 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant first novel.  Each character is indelibly sketched and

    Brilliant first novel.  Each character is indelibly sketched and I couldn't put it down....no spoilers in this review, but the plot twist is really well done.  A beautifully written portrait of very believable people.  You will care about what happens to each of them.

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Not worth it

    Very strange writing pattern. Didnt finish it. Disappointed that I spent the $2.00.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Dear "?"

    One day you will "wise up" and just read a book if it interests you and stop trolling for, and complaining about, your dreaded "plot spoilers"!

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    I saw this was the Nook daily find and was looking for something

    I saw this was the Nook daily find and was looking for something to keep my occupied during a sleepless night (I am a night shift RN). I figured with a title like indiscretion it would be a quick read without much plot. I was wrong. It was excellently written. I found myself drawn to and empathizing with each of the main characters, which is difficult to do. Plot twists were somewhat predictable, however, I had to keep reading just to see how the author had each character react to the situations.
    Finished the book in a matter of hours and was pleasantly surprised.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    ?

    Thanks to stephward and his plot spoiler, another book ruined. No reason to buy when plot spoilers tell everything. Bn, one day you will wise up and see that these ppl are costing you sales.

    3 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    INDISCRETION is a page-turning novel of an age-old story, freshl

    INDISCRETION is a page-turning novel of an age-old story, freshly told. Writing a spoiler-free review is a challenge, but here goes. The characters are interesting and flawed and could be your friends or neighbors, (or yourself, but, hopefully, not). The reader feels like a fly on the wall watching the beautiful and troubled story unfold. The author's writing style is smart and lyrical evoking a strong connection with the characters and their loves, loneliness, heartbreak, joy and anger. It's worth mentioning another reader's review that this is NOT romance,chick-lit or mommy porn, but a thought-provoking novel I could not put down. Recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    This book was wonderful. I might be in the minority, but I didn

    This book was wonderful. I might be in the minority, but I didn't see the ending coming. The characters were so well written, I felt as if I knew them I had to race through it b/c I couldn't wait to see where it was headed, and now that its over I think I'll go back and read it again. Wonderful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Quite honestly...absolutely terrible. "Every story has a n

    Quite honestly...absolutely terrible. "Every story has a narrator. Someone who writes it down after it's all over. Why am I the narrator of this story? I am because it is the story of my life—and of the people I love most. . . ." Horrible way to manage a novel. Steph had trouble putting it down.....I had no such qualms.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Beautifully, elegantly written novel; you savor each page, despi

    Beautifully, elegantly written novel; you savor each page, despite the knowledge that this story's inevitable end will be a bad one.  i suspect that the people who found this book "boring," etc., were looking for a pop music type of read, which this is not. Complex characters, and a world peopled by the east coast wealthy and elite.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Question..........

    SHOULD I BUY THIS BOOK ?? PLEASE REPLY TO MAIRA :)

    1 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Heartbreaking

    Life has enough sadness in it. This book is depressing. Should have stopped before the end .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Quick, enjoyable read

    Quick, enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Speechless

    This story and the consequences of the characters' actions just shook me. Very unsettling and quite frankly a miserable ending. I appreciated the realistic approach... and that not all lives/stories end happily...but good grief. I needed to erase this from my mind once I was done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    I loved this book! Once I started reading it I could not put it

    I loved this book! Once I started reading it I could not put it down. Simply riveting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Harry and Maddy are a happily married middle-aged couple with a

    Harry and Maddy are a happily married middle-aged couple with a young son who has health issues. Harry is a famous author, Maddy the party hostess and friend everyone adores. They have a social circle that includes Walter, a lonely man who is our narrator. A beautiful young woman named Claire enters their lives and they take her under their wing, and all is well until their happy little world is shattered by an indiscretion.
     Most of these type of  novels are about the woman wronged, but I found this look at adultery from the male perspective intriguing. Walter, the friend, is the narrator and given that this takes place mostly on a summer place in the Hamptons and is about an obsessive love affair, it echoes The Great Gatsby. The characters are interesting, especially Maddy, and the plot keeps the reader invested in the story. The last few chapters are incredibly sad  and devastating, and I found myself impressed with Dubrow's ability to move the reader so deeply in his debut novel. There are some explicit (and well written) sex scenes, so if that offends you, this book may not be for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Kind of Boring

    This book was kind of boring and I never really got into it. The characters were under developed and you never really connected to any of them. The story dragged and it was kind of predictable. Don't really recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Depressing

    Sorry, this was such a depressing end! I know life is not all happy endings but the entire last half was sad, haunting and depressing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Disappointed...

    I am disappointed ... writing style was so simple and superficial ... too many details which were not a must ... 2 stars for it... I would not recommend this book to a friend ....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Better than I expected

    Better than I expected. Author's narrator tells a good story with the voice of a trusted friend. Glad I tried this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4