Customer Reviews for

Indivisible

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    This book is a MUST read if you enjoy suspense and romance all wrapped up in a wonderful novel. Police Chief Jonah Westfall, a 31 year old alcoholic is battling his own personal demons, when a pair of raccoons are found mutilated in Redford, Colorado.Tia Manning, a childhood friend with whom he has more than a passing history which causes friction between the two of them. And Piper who is the new girl at Sarge's bakery and she befriends Tia whom is also her landlord, I found her to be rather funny and charming, you can't help but love her. Then comes Liz Rainer who reopens the animal hospital and begins to help the Police Chief with the cult like activity which is going on in their small town. Liz starts to imagine a life with Jonah, but Jonah is not on the same page at all with Liz.With a rising drug threat and the gruesome act of the mutilation of the raccoons, Jonah knows things could escalate and destroy the tranquility of his small mountain town. And his never-ending conflict with Tia keeps getting in the way of the investigation, and he finds himself not able to keep his mind on his work to get to the bottom of this crime. I could not put the book down, it kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time I was reading it. This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. You can download chapter one here: http://j.mp/cmf2YR

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Kept me guessing

    Enjoyable read! Kristen kept me intrigued and guessing. I enjoyed each character and their stories of healing and forgivness. The mystery and romance are well balanced throughout the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Some Things Are Not INDIVISIBLE

    This is the first book that I have read of Kristen Heittzmann. I really liked reading a mystery and having a Christian side to it. Police Chief Jonah Westfall has experienced some things in life, but you are not quite sure what they are until later in the book. He is also dealing with a bazaar crime of mutilated animals that are sewn together. I was sure I had figured out this mystery, but there was a little twist and at the end and I ended up being wrong. I had figured it partially, but not totally. Jonah seems to be liked by all of the women, but there is only one woman for him. Can Jonah have her? Will the animal cruelty cause harm? I suggest reading this book. I couldn't wait to finish it.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    This book is a good read if you enjoy suspense and romance all wrapped up in a novel. Police Chief Jonah Westfall, a 31 year old alcoholic is battling his own personal demons, when a pair of raccoons are found mutilated in Redford, Colorado. Tia Manning, a childhood friend with whom he has more than a passing history which causes friction between the two of them. And Piper who is the new girl at Sarge's bakery, she befriends Tia whom is also her landlord, I found her to be rather funny and charming, you can't help but love her. Then comes Liz Rainer who reopens the animal hospital and begins to help the Police Chief with the cult like activity which is going on in their small town. Liz starts to imagine a life with Jonah, but Jonah is not on the same page at all with Liz.With a rising drug threat and the gruesome act of the mutilation of the raccoons, Jonah knows things could escalate and destroy the tranquility of his small mountain town. And his never-ending conflict with Tia keeps getting in the way of the investigation, and he finds himself not able to keep his mind on his work to get to the bottom of it. I could not put the book down. The deeper I got into reading the book, I was sitting on the edge of my seat with the suspense of who and why. This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. You can download and read chapter one here: http://j.mp/cmf2YR

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Gripping mystery with interesting characters

    Indivisible by Kristen Heitzman is a well-written mystery which centers around a handful of broken relationships, taking place in Redford, Colorado. As Police Chief Jonah Westfall begins investigating a series of drug and animal-cruelty crimes in his town, the reader simultaneously follows the path all of these relationships take. There is the tension between the angry, and ruggedly handsome Chief Westfall and Tia Manning, the candle-shop proprietor. While this tension is eventually resolved, I found myself being both frustrated with their miss-steps and rooting for them all the way. Then there is the relationship between the town's new veterinarian Liz Rainer and her sister Lucy; while their bond is obviously strong, I immediately thought it strange that Lucy seemed to waft in and out of Liz's environment and that Lucy never left the veterinary clinic even though she was apparently mobile. The initially antagonistic interaction between Piper, Tia's housemate, and Sarge, owner of the town bakery, centers around Sarge's failing health and Piper's emerging talents for both baking and running the bakery while Sarge is in the hospital. As Piper forges on with her goal of keeping her job at the bakery, helping Sarge, and updating the bakery menu, she begins a friendship with Miles Standish, a likable, appealing character who struggles with germaphobia.

    As Chief Westfall tries to both find out who is leaving pairs of mutilated animals around the town, and also pin down a potential drug-trafficking ring, we see that this group of people manages to gradually solve the most difficult mystery of all - that of how to let the past go, forgive old mistakes, and choose love instead of anger and bitterness. Indivisible is not only a very good book with a gripping plot, it also tells good stories about likable characters and the way they solve their challenges.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Review of Kristen Heitzmann's Indivisible

    In Kristen Heitzmann's Indivisible, Police Chief Jonah Westfall struggles with his own personal issues even as he faces a series of animal mutilations which threaten the tranquility of the small mountain town of Redford, Colorado. Westfall must deal with more than these awful occurrences, however. As the town has grown in stature, it has gained its own rising drug problem. There is also Westfall's long and difficult relationship with his childhood friend, Tia Manning. Despite all of his personal difficulties, he must focus on solving the animal mutilations before the unknown perpetrator escalates their crimes. Love and insanity have produced a formidable foe for Westfall, and he must overcome his own personal issues in order to save the town that is his home.

    Heitzmann's latest book, Indivisible, is an extremely engaging and terrifying mystery, not only because of the grotesque acts involved but also the depth of madness that is its origin. While many similar books might feature a criminal that is a caricature, Heitzmann's is one who is well rounded, providing a glimpse into a love that has been contorted over time. In fact, each of the characters must work to redefine their own concept of love so that their own lives can be filled with healthy relationships, not ones that have been weighed down by their own personal baggage. Of course, God's love is what truly defines a healthy love for others, and it enables Heitzmann's characters to love as well. As they realize this, their own lives become less twisted by misconceptions, allowing them to find truly fulfilling lives. Thus, Indivisible is more than a mystery; it is also a character drama that provides a unique insight into love, along with its true origin, the Creator.

    I was provided with a free copy of this book for review. All of the opinions in this review are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    Keep Reading...entertaining and suspenseful

    MY REVIEW: Indivisible touches the many problems people have in their lives and the secrets they may be hiding. We all have something we necessarily may not want to share with the world. Kristen Heitzmann writes about the families in small town Redford. As in most small towns their is gossip and innuendo, stares and guilt. Characters Tia and Jonah must deal with their past before they can ever have a future. Heitzmann touches on the many secrets families may have (abuse, addiction, affairs, betrayal). It keeps you looking for more. Indivisible began a little slow for my taste. However, once I got into it I found it to be an intriguing story from a small town much like my own. A little bit of a love story and a little bit of a mystery made for a very good read. It definitely picks up the pace after the first chapter or so. Piper the quirky young baker is my favorite character. She is young and naive and cares about her friends and those who are unique. If you read the book you will see what I mean by unique. It takes a special person to reach out to someone who is bullied and stands out as odd. Piper is working to succeed at her own and overcome the many obstacles from her family , boss, and the Redford crazies along the way. Jonah Westfall chief of police is investigating a string of unexplained animal cruelty. The mystery behind this cruelty will lead him down an interesting road that is much unexpected and keep you looking for more clues to why someone would perform such hideous acts. He is full of masculinity and a man of distinction. No wonder so many women have their eye on him. Makes for an entertaining journey as he tries to rekindle his lost romance with Tia. I would gladly recommend Invisible to anyone looking for an engaging entertaining mystery romance. . About the Author: Kristen Heitzmann wrote her first novel while homeschooling her four kids. This grew into a fie book historical series. Since then she has written historical , contemporary romantic, and psychological suspense novels. "I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review" Thanks for taking the time to read my review on this great book. Receiving this free book did not influence my opinion in any way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    A twist, a trun, and a source of hope

    Indivisible, by Kristen Heitzmann, is an intriguing adventure into the world of severed connections and secrets. Turns and twists on every side add to the thrilling suspense of the plot, weaving in along the way the truth that Christ is the only solution to all of our issues. Make sure you have the time to give to this book before you pick it up - it is a page turning read and you will not want to stop until you have devoured the entire book!

    There are some dark parts to this book and it is not overly religious by any standard. And yes, the word 'hell' is in the book twice as a curse word. However, the story is very well-written, interesting, suspenseful, and, it has a good wrap-up at the end.

    The characters in this book are realistic, identifiable, and well-developed. Piper, Sarge, Sue Donelly, the supporting characters to Tia and Jonah, were very much a part of the overall story, and you get deep character development with them all. Miles, Liz, and Lucy, the more mysterious characters, you find out more at the very end. My only thoughts against this book are that if you are extremely sensitive to gruesomeness, then either skim those sections like i did, or perhaps this wouldn't be a good read for you. Otherwise, it is intriguing and ultimately does point to Christ as the only solution, in spite of the fact that there are the 2 curse words and non-Christian characters. For anyone who has ever felt hopeless, this book can be a source that points to hope.

    This book was provided for review by WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing, Irresistible and Exceptional

    "Indivisible", by Kristen Heitzmann was riveting. Heitzmann's breathtaking imagery, deep characters, and intriguing plot made this a book I couldn't put down. I especially appreciated the appropriate quotations at the beginning of each chapter...great literary touch.

    This story is set in a small mountain town, where everyone has an inescapable history. Some characters have moved to this town to forget their past, others have been unable to leave because of it. We see glimpses of a painful story between Police Chief, Jonah Westfall and candle-maker/prayerline counselor, Tia Manning. The tension between the two is palpable, yet the reasons for it are slow to unfold.

    In the midst of their personal struggles, a mysterious and sickening crime occurs...repeatedly. As Chief Westfall tries to understand the motivation behind the act and hopefully catch the person responsible, his time and energy are pulled in many directions, leaving him with little strength to maintain his fragile sobriety.

    A powerful story of life...how we can most hurt the ones we should treasure, how the actions of others can irrevocably affect our lives, and how some people can overcome while others give in to darkness.

    Thanks to Waterbrook/Multnomah for providing this book for review.

    ~Karina Harris; author of "Second Chance", a Summers Saga novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Decent Read!

    I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    Kristen Heitzmann does a fairly decent job with Indivisible. She made me feel like I was with the main character, Jonah, every step of the way as he fights crime and his personal fights.

    The suspense and thrills along the way made me want to read more. There are many authors that cannot do that the correct way. It is about a man's thoughts and feelings which were good considered the author is a woman.

    Some parts for uncalled for, so just to warn you guys there are parts of the book containing animal cruelty, and yeah, it was kinda totally gross. Just to give you a heads up....

    Overall, it was a good book about finding yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    Pleasant surprise!

    Every once in a while I am extremely grateful for these Advanced Reader's copies of books because they bring to my attention an author I was unfamiliar with. This is one of those times I want to give a big Thank You to WaterBrook Multnomah for the free book!. Actually, it may be more correct to say that the program finally got me off the fence about reading an author whose name I was familiar with but whose work I was not. Indivisible by Kristen Heitzmann was a very pleasant surprise, a book in my "go-to" genre of Christian suspense, but a step above.


    *An inseparable bond.
    An insatiable force.
    Battling his own personal demons, Police Chief Jonah Westfall knows the dark side of life and has committed himself to eradicating it. When a pair of raccoons are found mutilated in Redford, Colorado, Jonah investigates the gruesome act, knowing the strange event could escalate and destroy the tranquility of his small mountain town. With a rising drug threat and never-ending conflict with Tia Manning, a formidable childhood friend with whom he has more than a passing history, Jonah fights for answers-and his fragile sobriety.
    But he can't penetrate every wound or secret-especially one fueled by a love and guilt teetering on madness.
    From best-selling author Kristen Heitzmann comes a spellbinding tale of severed connections and the consequences of life lived alone.*


    Heitzmann does a masterful job bridging the gap between those books that are pure, escapist fun and those that edify. On the surface this is a great mystery with characters you feel you get to know and want to know better, with a healthy dose of romance thrown in the mix. But you don't have to search deep to see how the interactions among these characters reflect not only one another's, but our own lives, in multiple ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    More of a relational book than a thriller!

    Just the cover of the book made me question if I should be reading this book at bedtime..it just looked like a thriller.

    Jonah Westfall, the police chief has a mystery to solve involving some mutilated animals. Is there a serial killer on the loose? The little town problems seems to be escalating with big town problems. As if his job is not enough, his personal life seems to be having its own share of problems as well. Tia Manning, a local candle-maker is wanting a new life that makes a difference. Her past haunts her to thinking she is not capable of doing the right thing. Liz, a local veterinarian seems to have a crush on Jonah but is battling leaving her sister alone. The little town has so many dilemmas and must lean on one another time and time again.

    This book is not something I would have picked up from the bookstore. It just looked and sounded too scary. However, I was pleasantly surprised - it was more of a relational book than a thriller.

    There were a couple of "bad" words in the book therefore I could not recommend the book because of my stance on using foul language. It also would not be recommended for younger eyes, just for the fact of the type of drama that is suggested.

    This book could be easily read over the weekend.

    Overall, the book is very well written and kept me engaged. I would not mind reading more of Kristen Heitzmann.

    Blessings to you! You are loved!

    Note: I was sent complimentary copy for review purposes only. This review has not been monetarily compensated. The review was my honest opinion and views and not influenced by the sponsor in any way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    A suspenseful love story with a hint of God

    I have to say, I really enjoyed reading this book. I read it in 2 days, I just couldn't put it down! Heitzmann's writing style is somewhat dramatic and at times could be seen as over the top, but I thought it was well written and enjoyable. The characters are all very well developed and their individual stories work seamlessly into the story. And while there is a hint of evil throughout the plot line, the focus is on the characters and the relationships they develop.

    An underlying theme throughout the book is also the character's relationship with God. Done in a very unassuming manner, it allows the reader to follow the faith journey of several of the characters.

    Indivisible is quite suspenseful and just when you think you have it all figured out, an unforeseen twist takes you back to square one. It is truly a page turner. Perfect for the dog days of summer ahead of us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    My Thoughts about Indivisible

    Though I seldom find the time I want to curl up with a good book, I am always looking out for a new author to love. I tend to find myself judging books by their covers, as shallow as that may be. Take Indivisible, for instance. The cover of this recently released book has a sewing needle and red thread. The seamstress in me was instantly drawn to that. Even after reading the synopsis and noting that the needle was most likely not used for sewing garments, I was still hooked. I had not read anything by Kristen Heitzmann before, and I was anxious to see what her books were all about.

    I had a hard time getting through the first chapter of the book. I found it to be really wordy. I like when authors are really descriptive so that I can get a good mental image of the story. However, I think there were just too many adjectives in this first chapter and the beginning plot got a bit lost. Plus, there were many what I would consider big words-- ones I had to stop and think about what they meant. I have a fairly large vocabulary, so I don't find this happening too often when I read fiction. I think that took a little away from the whole essence of the story.

    I continued reading, and the book definitely got a lot less wordy, which I was thankful for. There were brief moments of wordiness throughout the reminder of the book, but nothing major. I began to meet different characters and wondered how I would see them intertwine as the book progressed... or if they would actually intertwine at all.

    Seeing the characters come together definitely held my interest. I enjoyed how Kristen would reveal just enough about a character to keep us interested, but leave enough hanging to make you want to keep reading. I found myself pulling for the characters and wanting certain events to transpire for them. I always really enjoy when a book can draw me in like this.

    The only part of the plot I didn't particularly enjoy was the description of the mutilated animals. I knew this theme would be present in the book, I just didn't know to what extent. I understand that this was a key part of the plot and how it tied everything together. However, I didn't enjoy reading the gory details. I just don't have much of a stomach for that kind of thing.

    Overall, I enjoyed Kristen's writing. She definitely has a gift fir character development and drawing the reader in. I now will look forward to exploring some of Kristen's earlier works and getting to know her writings even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    An Inseparable Bond... An Insatiable Force...

    Battling his own personal demons, Police
    chief Jonah Westfall has experienced the dark
    side of life and is committed to eradicating it.
    When a pair of raccoons are found mutilated in
    Redford, Colorado, Jonah investigates the
    gruesome act, seeking to unmask the perpetrator
    before the crime escalates and destroys the
    tranquility of his small mountain town. Jonah
    fights for answers - and his fragile sobriety - amid
    a rising drug threat and never-ending conflict
    with Tia Manning, a formidable childhood friend
    with whom he has more than a passing
    history.

    My Thoughts
    Despite the fact that I pretty well had it
    figured out 'who done it' halfway through the
    book, I did enjoy it. Ms. Heitzmann wrote the
    characters in a way that I really felt that I
    connected with them and was there. This book
    does have Christian undertones which was a nice
    change of pace from most books where the main
    characters are hitting it 'hot and heavy'. I have
    never read anything else by this author but will
    definitely have her on my list of must reads. Over
    all I did enjoy this book and I think you will too!

    This book was provided to me for review by
    WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    A GOOD SUSPENSE NOVEL

    I enjoyed the book. In the beginning of the book, the characters pasts were uncovered and I was left guessing throughout the book. As I continued reading the plot thickened and there were tiny hints to who the killer was. There were many twists and turns and I was able to guess who the killer was near the end. The writing style was excellent and there was a lot of suspense. This is the first novel that I had read written by the author and will not be the last. There were some parts that could make you squeamish, and if dead animals do not bother you,then this is a great suspense book.

    This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Indivisible is outstanding!

    I really enjoyed this book. There was just enough intrigue, just enough mystery to keep you guessing, just enough romance, and certainly just enough about Christian living (without sounding preachy). I loved how the author described the characters in such a way that you knew them. I love how she dramatized the relationships weaving God into the everyday living. It's hard to describe everything I loved about this book. The struggles the characters in this book face are real. Alcoholism, selfishness, anger, unforgiveness. The author did a wonderful job of sharing their situations but also sharing how they relied on God to bring them through. This book definitely goes on my HIGHLY RECOMMEND list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    A great read!

    I wasn't sure what to expect. From what I read about her, I had a feeling her books would be really good. I was not disappointed. I enjoyed this book, and thought the plot was very good. I did get confused a few times because it goes between 4-5 characters. However, once I was able to remember the different ones, it was easy to keep straight. I am looking forward to reading more of her books in the future.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining romantic police procedural

    In Redford, Colorado, the first animal mutilations were a couple of raccoons; other ghastly remains soon follow. Disturbed by the grisly sights, police chief Jonah Westfall investigates because he knows how quickly these gruesome horrors can worsen to include human mutilation. At the same time he is concerned over the rising drug trafficking that seems to have swamped the area.

    Jonah has his own personal issues starting with his father's legacy and his own history that requires abstemiousness. He also hopes to feel worthy enough to one day ask Tia Manning to share a future with him; if he has one. However, first he must end the animal mutilations that are becoming more frequent and frenzied.

    This is an entertaining romantic police procedural due to the efforts of Jonah to solve the case and deserve in his mind the love of Tia, who already has given her heart to him. The culprit is not concealed so the suspense is somewhat muted and the perpetrator's motive seems over the top of the Rocky Mountains. Still the coupling of Jonah and Tia make for a wonderful Colorado romantic suspense.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2