Customer Reviews for

Indulgence in Death (In Death Series #31)

Average Rating 4
( 720 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(377)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(86)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Readers will enjoy this exciting entry in this great series

NYPSD Homicide Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her husband Roarke go to Ireland on a needed vacation; their first in quite a while. When they return to New York City, Eve finds her unit struggling with an apparent serial killer (or more) who changes his or her weapon of choi...
NYPSD Homicide Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her husband Roarke go to Ireland on a needed vacation; their first in quite a while. When they return to New York City, Eve finds her unit struggling with an apparent serial killer (or more) who changes his or her weapon of choice; always using something that seems arcane.

First the predator murdered chauffeur Jamal Houston sitting in his limo at La Guardia with a crossbow. That is followed with the killing of prostitute Ava Crampton at Coney Island's House of Horrors using a bayonet. Soon afterward celebrity chef Luc Delaflote falls to a harpoon. Finally, a bullwhip around her neck strangled Adrianne Jonas to death. Even as they become targets, Eve, her top assistant Detective Delia Peabody and Roarke find clues that frighten them with the apparent psychopathic implications.

The long running Dallas-Roarke futuristic police procedural (see Kindred in Death and Fantasy in Death) is made fresh by the killer(s) who will remind readers of Leopold and Loeb (see the movie Compulsion) though the implication has been used in other novels. The story line is fast-paced and loaded with action as the inquiry turns macabre and twp cops and their civilian ally become the prey of deadly predators. Sub-genre fans will enjoy this exciting entry.

posted by harstan on September 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

not my favorite

I own them all. I anxiously await the new book. This was almost a rehash of an earlier plot. I love the mystery, but also enjoy the personal interaction. I kept waiting for the barbecue,,it never happened. I was not impressed with this offereing. I am waiting for...
I own them all. I anxiously await the new book. This was almost a rehash of an earlier plot. I love the mystery, but also enjoy the personal interaction. I kept waiting for the barbecue,,it never happened. I was not impressed with this offereing. I am waiting for the next one.

posted by debpowva on November 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 732 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Readers will enjoy this exciting entry in this great series

    NYPSD Homicide Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her husband Roarke go to Ireland on a needed vacation; their first in quite a while. When they return to New York City, Eve finds her unit struggling with an apparent serial killer (or more) who changes his or her weapon of choice; always using something that seems arcane.

    First the predator murdered chauffeur Jamal Houston sitting in his limo at La Guardia with a crossbow. That is followed with the killing of prostitute Ava Crampton at Coney Island's House of Horrors using a bayonet. Soon afterward celebrity chef Luc Delaflote falls to a harpoon. Finally, a bullwhip around her neck strangled Adrianne Jonas to death. Even as they become targets, Eve, her top assistant Detective Delia Peabody and Roarke find clues that frighten them with the apparent psychopathic implications.

    The long running Dallas-Roarke futuristic police procedural (see Kindred in Death and Fantasy in Death) is made fresh by the killer(s) who will remind readers of Leopold and Loeb (see the movie Compulsion) though the implication has been used in other novels. The story line is fast-paced and loaded with action as the inquiry turns macabre and twp cops and their civilian ally become the prey of deadly predators. Sub-genre fans will enjoy this exciting entry.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    not my favorite

    I own them all. I anxiously await the new book. This was almost a rehash of an earlier plot. I love the mystery, but also enjoy the personal interaction. I kept waiting for the barbecue,,it never happened. I was not impressed with this offereing. I am waiting for the next one.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Indulgence in Death is the 31st novel in the IN DEATH series

    Fresh from vacationing in Ireland as well as other romantic climes, Eve is back and ready for duty, and boy does duty call. She is given a couple of random murders that typically wouldn't set off any alarms, but there's a connection she's sure of it, now she just has to prove it and hope she can do it in time to stop more
    Ms. Robb aka Nora Roberts is as prolific as an author can be with literally thousands of novels under her belt over the years and in this particular series this is her 31st installation of the many faces and stories of Eve Dallas and Roarke. Romance and mystery are Ms Robb's middle name, or they should be, in this case for Eve Dallas Ms. Robb doesn't disappoint her fans as the story line is as inventive and out side the box as you'd expect with this science fiction/futuristic series, and yet with all the toys that these people get to use she also conveys believability in her scenes, so much so that her readers will find themselves wondering where their flying cars and fancy wrist units are when the last page is turned. Her characters are just as out there as the plot and go from the mundane to the "frosty" and those in between, but what her readers will find across the board are how imperative they all are to the fulfillment of the tale. Her fans will find all their friends from past novels in residence in this one so have no fear you will be able to catch up on them. Her villains however are quite exceptional in this one as you find out relatively early on who is suspected and the greatest part of the plot is devoted to catching him/her/them. As always in one of Ms. Robbs/Roberts novels you will come to expect a certain familiarity in her dialogue and you will find that in this one as well. Her romance between Eve and Roarke is on going and yet with each novel they go forward in their understanding and acceptance of each other and in each novel we learn a little more about our couple get a little better insight into what makes them tick and why they work so well as a romantic couple. And the love scenes are also as you'd come to expect "on the sizzle burner".
    So keep up with you friends in the late 21st century and read the latest in J D Robb's In Death series, "Indulgence In Death", you won't be sorry you did.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    Overpriced

    Why is the ebook still 12.99 when the paperback is out? With no printing costs and little overhead, the ebook should be cheaper than the paperback not more.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    One of her best

    Although I enjoy the In Death series, I'm the first to admit not all of them are top quality. This one is an exception. Indulgence in Death revisits a theme Robb has addressed before: the games of the idle and the spoiled. This time around it's a twist on the idea of hunting humans for sport -- not a novel idea but a good solid one for Eve Dallas. Since Robb usually has to balance three elements -- romance, science fiction and police procedural -- in these books, often one element will be slighted at the expense of the others. But this book balances well; better use of droids and other high-tech concepts, plenty of romance with Roarke (who is frankly becoming her second police partner) and a solid, believable investigation. Often we will see Eve Dallas pull a case theory out of thin air; rarely are we treated to the painstaking insights into her reasoning that fill this book. This time I don't have to take her conclusions on faith; I can follow her every step of the way. This could make for a plodding plot, but Robb easily infuses just enough suspense and character development to make it flow. We can follow Eve as she uncovers villainy that spans whole continents, but we never get ahead of her. Part of the fun is knowing early on who the murderer is, while watching Eve build a solid case against the perps. As is frequently the case, we wrap up with a classic police bust, but in this one we get a most satisfying and surprising twist. Indulgence in Death is one of Robb's better excursions, and will go on my re-reading list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    Extremely Disappointing

    Having read all 30-plus entries of the series I know for certain that Nora Roberts/J.D. Robb is capable of much better than this hot mess. Best part: Eve and Roarke in Ireland. Worst part: The rest of the book! What is going on here? Last two or three books have been progressively disappointing. Stop the madness!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Great book

    Like nora roberts' books like this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Spectacular!

    Very glad a friend gave me the first book in this series to read. That was back in 2006... been addicted ever since. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Lover of JD Robb

    I read every JD Robb book as soon as they come out and am never disappointed. You won't be either. Give them a try and you will be hooked!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Highly recommend

    The In Death series was recommended by a friend this past fall, and I have been reading the books one after the other - and it's been a wonderful journey. Eve and Roarke's love and devotion become stronger in each book. The growth in the two characters (who were denied love when they were children) as they learn the meaning of love and family and friends always brings laughter and tears. The mysteries are spellbinding - and the build up to Eve nailing the killers in each book is always gripping. Indulgence in Death opens with a vacation in Ireland with Roarke's regained long lost family and has the 2 characters indulging in life's simple pleasures - as well as assisting in solving a murder. Returning home Eve becomes the main target of two very spoiled, wealthy heirs "indulging" themselves in several thrill kills. As always, the secondary characters - Peabody, McNab, Feeney, Dr. Mira, Baxter, Trueheart, Commander Whitney and many others provide support and laugh out loud moments. Simply a great series - well worth the time and money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    * a dud

    a dud not worth the paper it is printed on

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love the personal, ho hum on the other stuff

    I love this series and anxiously wait for the next installments, as I did with this one. The beginning was a joy. I don't believe any of the others in the series has ever started with such a protracted amount of time with Eve and Roarke on personal time. The trip to Ireland was rich, with Eve continuing to show her evolvement in better understanding relationships...the gift to Roarke, the beginning of a deeper relationship with Sinead (the other most important woman in Roarke's life), etc. Then we move to the actual murder investigation, which felt similar...not necessarily to that in Seduction In Death (and it did) but...been there, done that. In any profession, one is going to continue to develop and move forward. Are we to expect that Eve is going to continue doing her job the same way, day after day, with only the names and circumstances changing. I believe what we're experiencing is Eve's evolution PERSONALLY but not professionally and the investigations have a staleness about it. It's probably time to let her be promoted and deal with the issues in command. That takes on a whole new set of challenges, still providing us with intrigue and suspense. Let Eve grow up on her job. And, by the way, let Roarke get back to commanding a multi-billion enterprise. Lastly, didn't appreciate having to read about the cook out in the next installment (Possession In Death).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Great Read

    Your can't go wrong with J.D, Robb (Nora Roberts) books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Can't stop reading 'til the end

    JD Robb continues to capture the reader from start to finish as you see how Eve solves yet another homocide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Great entertaining writing.

    Mysteries is what she does, and this is different because it's set 40 years in the future. Very imaginative and when reading, you can put yourself in the time frame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Great series

    Love Nora Roberts/J D Robb period!

    Her In Death series is wonderful. I like to see what is happening with Eve, Roarke and all the other wonderful characters

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Its Robb,what more can I say?

    AMAZING READ...LOVE MY JD ROBB;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    loved it

    i love the relationship between eve and roarke ...cant wait to see what happens next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    great book, but.....

    I feel like she has her highs and lows. MOST of the books from the series are amazing but there are some that were just ok. I think I really keep reading because I cant wait for her to finally have eve get pregnant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 732 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37