Customer Reviews for

Industrial Magic (Women of the Otherworld Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(151)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome magical book of the Women of the Otherworld series,Loved it.

    "Industrial magic" is the fourth book in Kelley Armstrong's "Women of the Otherworld" series, and you are highly likely to enjoy it a lot, specially if you read the others before. "Bitten", "Stolen" and "Dime store magic" Which introduce you to a world where magic and the supernatural are just part of everyday life. "Industrial magic" just takes you further into it...this series has demons, deities, vampires, werewolves, witches, sorcerers, shaman, druids, necromancers, clairvoyants, and much more. The supernatural world lies just under the surface of the known world and definitely has a nasty bite. With "Industrial Magic", we are once again treated to a delightful adventure that will suck you in and not let go until the end.

    I really enjoyed this book. I wasn't sure I would, as Paige was not my favorite character, but she really grew on me in "Dime Store Magic", and continued to grow on me in this one, and i love how the werewolves get involved in this book as well.
    It was fast paced and action packed. A great addition to the "Women of the Otherworld" series. If you like the paranormal, and action, with some romance, then this series is for you, including this book.
    I enjoyed the relationship with Paige and Lucas, its very touching, and believable. He is very sweet and considerate, a perfect match for Paige.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    And the greatness continues!!

    INDUSTRIAL MAGIC, by Kelley Armstrong, is the fourth book in the Women of the Otherworld series. Paige is once again the narrator and she is on a case with Lucas revolving around the death's of supernatural teens who are linked to the Cabals.

    After skipping around the series for a bit I decided to read the rest of the books in order. I picked up where I left off with Paige, Lucas, and Savannah. The actual casework was very interesting and I liked only knowing as much as they did throughout. Armstrong definitely 'threw stones' at her characters and made them work to solve the murders. They didn't have an easy time finding the murderer and time ran out for many children who had been attacked. The revelation of the villian was a bit frightening and I applaud Armstrong for the detailed detective work she outlined for our protagonists.

    Coupled with an awesome plot, Armstrong brought back some of my favorite characters and introduced a couple of new ones. Elena, Clay, and Jeremy eventually joined in the fray (yummy Clay!) and I was so glad to read them again! We are introduced to Benecio Cortez, Lucas's father, and also a celebrity necromancer Jamie Vegas. I liked getting to know the rocky relationship between Lucas and Benecio and I actually hoped for the best between them. Jamie was fabulous! She is sassy, saracastic, and brutally honest. I look forward to seeing more of her in the future books.

    Overall, this was a fantastic installment to the series. I look forward to reading Haunted next which is focused on Savannah's mother, Eve Levine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    (Source: I own a copy of this book.) This is book 4 in the &lsqu

    (Source: I own a copy of this book.)
    This is book 4 in the ‘women of the otherworld’ series, and kicks off a few weeks after the end of book 3.
    We once again join Paige and Lucas, and this time they’re almost, kind-of… working with Lucas’ father Benicio and the Cortez Cabal!
    It seems that several teens of employees of the Cabal *like a mafia family) have been killed, and the cabal are looking to find out who is behind it. Lucas is busy with one case, but Paige isn’t, and when she finds out that one of the victims was a young run-away witch, she can’t help but offer to lend a hand.

    Things aren’t easy though when half the witnesses seem to be dead, and every lead seems to finish in a dead end. There’s plenty of intrigue though with necromancers, werewolves, and vampires dropping in to liven up the party.

    Who is killing the Cabal kids though? And why?

    I enjoyed this book, quite a lot more than ‘Dime Store Magic’, it just flowed better, and held my attention better too.
    The story starts with Paige failing in an attempt to form her own coven. She’s been improving her powers using the spell books for the tertiary spells that she acquired in ‘Dime Store Magic’, but nobody else seems interested in joining her, and so she’s currently coven-less, and working on her own.
    The main story in the book is about the murders of cabal employees’ kids, but this develops into something even bigger as the story progresses. I wasn’t overly sure about Paige and Lucas working with his father’s Cabal, I was worried that there was a trick in there somewhere, but obviously sometimes you need to take risks.

    The secondary characters in this book were so much fun! We once again meet Elena, Jeremy, and Clayton from ‘Bitten’, and also have some vampires, and a necromancer thrown into the mix. Each character had their own ideas and intentions, but blended well with the rest of the storyline. There’s not much from Savanna in this instalment, which seems to be a good thing, and we get to see a little more development in Paige and Lucas’ relationship.

    Overall; a great addition to the series.
    8 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic book!

    This is a wonderful book, fast paced, I didn't want to put it down. Kelley Armstrong is now right up there as one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can't get enough of Kelley Armstrong!

    i have never disliked ANY of her books. always very entertaining and even 11 books into the Otherworld series, she still finds ways to surprise you with the plits. deffinetly reccomend this and all her other books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Plot twisting

    A great addition to Kelley's novels. Twisting plots and a few "didn't see that coming..." events thrown in as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Paige and Lucas are back

    A great 4th installment to Kelley Armstrong's "Women of the Other World" series. Lucas and Paige are back and so are a few of the other characters that we had a chance to meet in Stolen. Lucas takes Paige home to meet his father and end up staying to solve a murder mystery. As usual, things are never as straight forward as that and chaos ensues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    I love all the books in this series

    All the characters and the plot line are enjoyable and easy to read. I will continue with this series and can't wait for the next book. It is a great paranormal romantic series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My Favorite Novels in This Series

    I love Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series, which are mostly first person Urban Fantasies written from a female point of view. That said, I certainly have my favorites, and the two novels centering on Paige Winterbourne and Luis Cortes definitely rank for me as the ones I loved the most. I could understand others having others, the novels are all good reads, I just happen to like Paige, and the themes of a "cabal" of male sorcerers organized in something resembling a corporation and the relatively less powerful female witches in opposition. Paige is a witch--Luis, the romantic interest is a sorcerer. The first novel involving them was "Dime Store Magic" which should be read before this one. I find both books a fun, engrossing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Industrial Magic

    This book is fantastic! It's a great follow up to Dime Store Magic. Definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining....

    Industrial Magic, the fourth book in the Women of the Otherworld series, is a fun read. The witch Paige and her sorcerer boyfriend Cortez are back and in Miami hunting down the supernatural who is killing off the Cabal children. This book has action, some light romance and plenty of mystery as the killer is uncovered. With stories filled with characters like witches, vampires, werewolves and necromancers.....Kelley Armstrong never fails to entertain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    All the supernaturals you could ask for and more!

    If you want to read this series - start with book one. This is the forth in the series and while you can read it as a stand alone - it makes much more sense in chronological order. I read it first then decided I liked it, re-read it after finishing books 1-3, then decided I loved it. Not an easy read - but definately worth it if you can keep up. If you like supernaturals - you'll really get a kick out of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Kelley Armstrong's 'Industrial Magic'

    This is the fourth book in the series 'Women of the Otherworld'. I was quite fond of 'Industrial Magic'. It was the best of the books with Paige as the lead. It was a real page turner. I felt sorry for some of the characters. It could be quite depressing for some people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2005

    this is a great book

    this book is listed as the 3rd book in the series it is the 4th book the first is bitten ,stolen , dime store magic then this book but over all the book is great and a real good read keep you guessing and looking for the next clue hope you enjoy this book and the rest as much as i have

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    Loved the variety of supernaturals.

    Very good reading from start to finish. Employed so much variety and distinction with the supernaturals. The characters are really taking on a life of their own and becoming very substantial - witches, vamps, weres, ghosts. Definitly, something for everyone. I really like the droll 'Cassandra' (vamp). I'd like to read more about her in the future. Also, looking very forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Industrial Magic

    Starting life over after being exiled from her Coven hasn't been easy for Paige Winterbourne, but with the help of Savannah, her ward, and Lucas Cortez, her significant other, she is coping rather well until Lucas' father sends her a message, timed so that Lucas won't be there when she gets it. As far fetched as it might seem in the world of Cabal/Coven politics, Bennicio Cortez needs Paige's help. The Cabals and the witches are ancient enemies, you see, and Lucas has shunned his family. When Cabal children begin turning up dead, politics and family feuds are set aside. Delving into the darkest parts of the paranormal world is dangerous and complicated, but those are risks Paige and Lucas willingly take in this exciting, funny, and suprisingly warm hearted novel. ............... ***** All the Women of the Underworld books have been phenomenal, and this is the best yet. The return of Elena and Clay (Bitten, Stolen) comes in the exact right way; and even though they are supporting cast this go round, their roles are not underplayed in any way. Seeing more of Lucas' family adds flavor and depth to this world as well. However, it must be said that Lucas is one of the best romantic heroes ever created, managing to be alpha in a subtle fashion that makes full use of his dry wit. *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Great read - buy it - tell your friends about it

    Excellent book, finished it in 2 days, need to see more of Lucas's personality. Liked the possiblity of Paige's and Lucas's dreams coming true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2004

    Another great book by Kelly Armstrong

    I loved Kelly Armstrong's newest Paige Winterbourne book Industrial Magic. The characters are varied and interesting with unexpected twists and turns. I read the entire book in one setting. Looking forward to next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A winner

    In Portland, Oregon, powerful witch Paige Winterbourne splits from her mother¿s ultraconservative American Coven of Witches following her matriarch¿s death. Feeling the group is to self centered to understand society as a whole, she begins to form a new coven................................. Meanwhile, someone is killing the teenage offspring of the Cortez Cabal. Leader Benicio Cortez is concerned and his own law enforcement team has not been able to stop the serial killer, always arriving just too late in spite of modern technology enhanced by paranormal powers. He asks his son and cabal heir Lucas and the lad¿s girlfriend Paige to stop a murderer before others innocents die............................. The latest Underworld tale is a superb horror fantasy that hooks the audience the moment a beleaguered teen makes the cell phone call in an Atlanta park until the final confrontation with a supernatural serial slayer. The story line moves quickly, but what makes the tale so good just like its predecessors like DIME STORE MAGIC is that the paranormal seems so normal, a way of life. Paige is a terrific heroine and Lucas is a perfect partner for her in many ways; together they make a dream team that the audience will appreciate as they face off against an evil doer.................................. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15