Customer Reviews for

Inexcusable

Average Rating 3.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

Chris Lynch¿s book Inexcusable is a powerful novel about some of the choices that males may need to make in modern day high school. Keir is a senior who lives with his widowed father Ray. Throughout his life he has always been told by his loved ones what a good guy he i...
Chris Lynch¿s book Inexcusable is a powerful novel about some of the choices that males may need to make in modern day high school. Keir is a senior who lives with his widowed father Ray. Throughout his life he has always been told by his loved ones what a good guy he is. Then an event changes his life. In a football game he blocks a guy from the other team and somehow cripples him. Now he is named Killer Keir. His popularity is rising now and with it he begins to make very poor choices. He goes to parties where there is drinking and drug use, he vandalizes the school, and plays a horrible prank on the school¿s soccer team. He lives in denial of it all, justifying himself as a good guy who would never do those things. However, these choices lead up to this one event that is indeed inexcusable.

This is a very good book that really puts the importance of good friends and making wise choices into perspective. This is a great read for both genders because many boys will be able to relate to Keir in some way, and girls will probably know someone exactly like Keir. This book does contain some language. However, it is no different than what you would hear if you actually walked into a high school.

I highly recommend this book to anyone in high school. It captures your attention right away and you won¿t be able to put it down. It doesn¿t take that long to read and is well worth your time.

posted by 911972 on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Boy book....

I am a 22 year old girl who first off knows very little about football which is what the majority of this book it about. When you read the back preview, it makes you think the book is going to be all about the rape of a young girl by a supposed good guy..However, the fi...
I am a 22 year old girl who first off knows very little about football which is what the majority of this book it about. When you read the back preview, it makes you think the book is going to be all about the rape of a young girl by a supposed good guy..However, the first half of the book is about how he crippled a guy during none other than a football game! I really wish the characters were more developed. I mean you basically know that Keir is a "good guy", Gigi is beautiful, Keir's sisters are smart and live 3 hours away, and Ray drinks and plays risk with Keir. The only interesting parts of this book were extremely brief! This book was just not for me...maybe because I like more of a thrill or maybe because I am a chick! Sorry Lynch!

posted by Screekmore0122 on June 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    Excellent Read

    Chris Lynch¿s book Inexcusable is a powerful novel about some of the choices that males may need to make in modern day high school. Keir is a senior who lives with his widowed father Ray. Throughout his life he has always been told by his loved ones what a good guy he is. Then an event changes his life. In a football game he blocks a guy from the other team and somehow cripples him. Now he is named Killer Keir. His popularity is rising now and with it he begins to make very poor choices. He goes to parties where there is drinking and drug use, he vandalizes the school, and plays a horrible prank on the school¿s soccer team. He lives in denial of it all, justifying himself as a good guy who would never do those things. However, these choices lead up to this one event that is indeed inexcusable. <BR/><BR/>This is a very good book that really puts the importance of good friends and making wise choices into perspective. This is a great read for both genders because many boys will be able to relate to Keir in some way, and girls will probably know someone exactly like Keir. This book does contain some language. However, it is no different than what you would hear if you actually walked into a high school. <BR/><BR/>I highly recommend this book to anyone in high school. It captures your attention right away and you won¿t be able to put it down. It doesn¿t take that long to read and is well worth your time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    Boy book....

    I am a 22 year old girl who first off knows very little about football which is what the majority of this book it about. When you read the back preview, it makes you think the book is going to be all about the rape of a young girl by a supposed good guy..However, the first half of the book is about how he crippled a guy during none other than a football game! I really wish the characters were more developed. I mean you basically know that Keir is a "good guy", Gigi is beautiful, Keir's sisters are smart and live 3 hours away, and Ray drinks and plays risk with Keir. The only interesting parts of this book were extremely brief! This book was just not for me...maybe because I like more of a thrill or maybe because I am a chick! Sorry Lynch!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    INEXCUSABLE - Chris Lynch

    This book was on my summer reading list, but I read it just because I wanted to. It was heart-wrenching. I didn't know what to think of it. It was slow at times, but after everything was spilled out onto the table, I really don't think I lost concentration even once. This book was amazing. It's terrible, but amazing. There's a cliff-hanger, but we can all figure out what happens next... Read it. It's good, and it teaches something you'll never foget.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    its amazing

    it really maKES you think about the one you love. about making sure you truely know the ones you love. it catches your attention and its hard to put down. you want to see what happens next and how things turn out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cana Rensberger for TeensReadToo.com

    Keir is a good guy. He's about to graduate from high school and follow his older sisters to college. The reader will admire the closeness of his family: the father, a widower who has raised his three children alone; the son who adores his older sisters. Yes, Keir is a good guy. <BR/><BR/>When an opposing football player is gravely injured as a result of Keir's perfect tackle, we believe Keir. It's not his fault. He's a good guy. Right? <BR/><BR/>The reader will wonder, along with Keir, if it was really possible that he's been a part of the vandalism of a local monument. And surely Keir, a spring soccer player himself, would never have contributed to the football teams' severe hazing of his teammates after the soccer banquet. <BR/><BR/>When his sister's aren't able to attend his graduation, the reader empathizes with his feelings of betrayal. We understand his need to let loose on the night of his graduation and feel concern as he faces troubling choices. We feel hopeful when Gigi, the girl of his dreams, leans on him when her boyfriend stands her up. Just like Keir's sisters. <BR/><BR/>The evening becomes a kaleidoscope of emotions, which result in risky behavior, a three-hour limo ride across the state line, a visit to his college, and a night with Gigi. Keir's a good boy. He would never commit the inexcusable...would he? <BR/><BR/>I read this book all the way through in one sitting. It was riveting. INEXCUSABLE by Chris Lynch is a glimpse into a boy walking a blurred line into manhood. This is a must read for any young man who has ever been, or ever expects to be, in love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Did he do It?

    Did he get her pregnant?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    The end

    The ending of this book is just so disappointing! Its anT unfinished book that needed more of a detail or a thrill to interest me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    Great Book!

    This great book attracted my eyes, by just seeing the reviews about it. I could not put this book down, i took reading into another level by reading this phenominal book. I recommend this book to anybody that likes sports and has a girl/guy in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    Highly Recommeneded - great read!

    This book truely realistic and takes you into the perspective of Kier Safarian. This book is powerful and keep you flipping pages until you finished reading it. A must check-out book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's Troubling How Some Guys Just Don't Get It

    Keir Sarafian saw himself as a good person. Gigi Boudakian also saw him as a good person, but the night of their high school graduation her feelings changed. Having Keir tell things from his point of view was interesting. I noticed how he called himself a good guy as if that made it okay when he made bad choices. He also saw quite a few things that happened in his life as inexcusable, but what he did - his own inexcusable act - he denied as if he truly believed it never happened. I didn't like the way characters took the Lord's name in vain at times, but, other than that, this was a good read. It took a while before I really got into the story, but then the more I read the more I couldn't wait to get to the page that helped me to understand why Keir really believed he didn't do what Gigi insisted he did. Parents: The rape is tastefully written. There's also a bit of profanity and alcohol & drug use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    INEXCUSABLE

    Keir Sarafian is a good guy. After all, he has "Character Witness". He has two respectable and lolay sisters that care bout him and love him to pieces. keir thinks he's not a monster. Ray, keirs dad, and widowed for years would do anything for his kids. So how could Keir not be a good guy???? "the way it looks is not he way it is".
    This is a story of a boy who seems to make honorable decisions throughout the book. He says no to drugs, does not participate in unsportsman-like conduct or hazing. his whole highschool year was brought down from being good with scholoriships from his famous wich turned out bad tackel to a complete close out with the question of the perception of a rape he supposedly committed?? Was this an all out to do because of the mistake of Gigi made by not saying no, so she blamed him for her mistake or for the fact that he did it? It speaks the truth, lies and the perception of both to different people. Inexcusable is a great read and i would recomind this to young male adults and also teen age boys entering late adolescents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    Inexcusable or Misunderstanding?

    Inexcusable by Chris Lynch is a pretty good book. It's a story about a guy name Keir Sarafian who considers himself a good guy. In the very beginning of the book, I was extremely confused. There was a big argument going on and it was hard to follow. Yes I read the summary but I still had no clue what was going on. After that first chapter you're finally into the storyline. It starts at the beginning and it gets easier to follow. There are a few slow parts in the story but once you get passed them it is a good book. When I first started reading the book it didn't really sound interesting. I mean yeah the first chapter was good but it somewhat had trouble keeping my attention. As I contiued to read it, I got more hooked on the story and didn't want to put it down. At one point, Keir tries to get his sisters that are in college to come to his graduation. They tell him they can't make it and make up an excuse saying they have to study for exams. It disappoints Keir but he accepts it. Then he and his friend/the girl he's madly in love with, Gigi Boudakian, decide to visit his sisters at their college. When he gets to the college he discovers from his sisters' roomate, that they were done their exams. One of them was on a date and the other was out with friends. It was one of those "oh, snap" moments and it makes you think what Keir is going to do. In my opinion, Keir should have done more than he actually did in reaction to this news. In the very beginning of the story you would most likely assume that it was a mistake or a misunderstanding, the situation between Keir and Gigi, but as you read the ending you finally understand what is going on and realize that it really was inexcusable. This story makes you think about the one you love and if they love you back the same way. It's an emotional story that's why I like it. I recommend it if you want an easy read or you want to read a book that makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    inexcusable summer reading review

    Inexcusable, written by Chris Lynch, starts off with Keir Sarafian in a bedroom with his upset and angry friend Gigi Boudakian, whom he just so happens to love. He tells the reader that whatever the situation looks like is not the truth. By recalling multiple memories of his senior year leading up to this one fateful event, Keir tries to defend himself as a "good boy". Such memories include him paralyzing an opponent during a football game, playing an on going game of risk with his drunken father, prom night, and finally the night following his high school graduation. Throughout the entire novel, Keir questions himself as well as the situations he and his family seem to always find themselves in, all the while trying to prove to Gigi that he in fact did not rape her, or did anything wrong at all for that matter.
    Keir Sarafian is a lost and lonely teenage boy who is in love with his best friend. Keir tries to likes to be liked, and therefore seems to get lost in peer pressure. He has always heard throughout his life that he is a "good boy" and in his mind has done a very good job at defending that title, when in reality he is looking back on his senior year through foggy eyes. His best friend Gigi Boudakian, however, never has a problem keeping Keir grounded. She is in love with a boy who left her at home while he went to study in the military, and finds a lot of comfort in her close guy friend. While others call Keir Killer and Killeeer because of his football incident, she sees right through his confused eyes and sees a soft and kind young boy. Another main person in Keir's life is his father, Ray. Ray and Keir have the house to themselves because Keir's two older sisters are already in college, and he lost his mother at a very young age. Keir and Ray love to drink a lot of beer, eat a lot of meat and "manly" food, and play an ongoing game of Risk. Ray seems like the perfect father in Keir's life, though in reality he is a depressed widower that is only looking for an outlet in life, and finds that through booze and a friendship with his son.
    "I hate it when people I love let me down. It's like, the worst thing there is." (p. 128) - Keir Sarafian
    This quotation is such an important part of the story because it shows just how lost and confused Keir really can be. He knows that he hates it when other people that he is close to are rude to him, or lie to him, or hurt him in any way really. Yet he hurts Gigi in an inexcusable way by raping her the night after their graduation. In a way, Keir is really letting Gigi down, because she trusts him enough to take care of her and be a friend when she is upset, yet he "mistakes" her muffled moans for help as her accepting what is going on.
    I strongly disagree with how Keir lives his life towards the end of his senior year. For example, he says that he can remember watching a video of a boy who looked a lot like him hazing fellow soccer players, yet he refuses to believe that the guy on the tape that is dressed exactly like him and looks like him could actually be him, because he is too good of a guy to do bad things. Many times throughout the novel Keir seems to be too drunk or on too many drugs to actually remember what is going on in his life. I don't think that that is any kind of way for anyone to live their life, never mind a teenager who still has so much more of life to look forward too. I found the ending to the novel to be a very unusual concept because although Keir spends the ent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    Inexcusable

    Inexcusable
    By Chris Lynch


    In Your senior year of high school, it is supposed to be a memorable one, and full of great memories. Keir, however, was not able to experience this kind of life. One night, Keir was accused of raping his girlfriend Gigi. Keir is hooked on every drug possible, and just cannot control his habit. The nickname he got "killer" was from accidentally paralyzing his quarterback. It is a nightmare for Keir.
    The main character in the book is Keir, a sixteen year old in high school. Keirs hobbys are football, partying, and doing drugs. Doing drugs is giving Keir angry thoughts, and sometimes depression. Football gives him pleasure because he can release his anger on the opponent and actually not get in trouble for his acts. Although, paralyzing his teammate, changes every thought he has about football. Then you have Keir's father Ray. Ray does not seem to care much about Keirs life. In the book, he does not seem like much of a father figure, which may be the reason Keir is all messed up.
    Finally, the one who got paralyzed from Keirs hit, Ken. Ken was the star quarterback for the team, and a very positive person. When he went down, his life flashed before his eyes. Ken has changed since the incident, and says he has mixed emotions about whether or not he can forgive Keir.
    There was a very important passage in the book that I think really stood as a life lesson. Keir, the narrator, says "Take this from me. Life is not all about drugs and booze. It took me years to finally realize that my life was going absolutely nowhere. IF your like me, then knock off what you're doing now, before its too late." I really respect this passage, because it shows that he has learned from his mistakes. It shows he is maturing.
    I chose this passage because I believe it really serves as a life lesson. It's really a message to people who might have issues of their own, and understand that there is hope, and that you can change. Keir seems to be proud of himself, because he knew what kind of struggle he has been going through. He really shows a lot of character.
    In the book, I disagree with the fact that Ray, his father, will not help him through this tough time. Ray can see it in his eyes that Kier needs someone, and Ray will not. That I cannot agree with one bit. I can honestly say there are no errors in the book. Keir tells it how it is, and tells the truth and really explains his uphill battle. This book really reflects a person I know very well (not saying who). He is in jail for the same kind of thing. It is my hope that in the end, he will persevere the same way that Keir did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Inexcusable Review

    There was this good guy named Keir and he does good things. He understands no means no and he couldn't have done anything because he understands and he's a good guy. Well, this was how it all started. He's a football player and a loyal friend to Gigi Boudakian. Gig has a boyfriend but Keir loves her and they are like best friends. One day, Keir cripples his opponent in one of his games and now he's being called Killer all around school. He hated it but learned to get over it. He plays risks with his dad all the time and loves it. he has two sisters: Fran and Mary which they have already graduated and went to Norfolk University. Keir's graduation is coming and he decides to ride in a limo with his brother Rollo instead of going to the graduation party. Rollo drives by the graduation party and Gigi joins him in the limo. They have a few drinks and then they join the party. Keir gets invited to a room with Ken, the quarterback. They give him pills and they try to get him to take them and drink. But, he refuses and leaves. He sees Gigi crying while she's on the phone but goes back to the limo. Gigi's boyfriend, Carl couldn't make it to the party so she joins Keir in the limo. They decide to go see Keir's sisters which were supposed to be studying for their exams. But instead they were doing something else which broke Keir's heart. They leave and sit by the street resting then Keir realizes something. He had a key to the campuses guest house. They go there and Gig gets raped by Keir. Keir made a mistake and he would never do anything to hurt her but he indeed did something unforgivable, awful and inexcusable. Well, this was how the story went and hopefully he had learned his lesson from doing that to her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting take on a story that is usually told from a different perspective

    From Inexcusable:

    "I am a good guy.
    Good guys don't do bad things. Good guys understand that no means no, and so I could not have done this because I understand, and I love Gigi Boudakian....

    The way it looks is not the way it is."

    It's best not to say too much about Inexcusable, but I hope you've got some idea of the subject matter from the cover art, title, and quotation.

    "I am a good guy."

    "The way it looks is not the way it is."

    Keir (pronounced KEER, from what I could gather) repeats these phrases again and again as he tells his story. In fact, Keir repeats himself a lot--but never needlessly. The narrative voice created by Lynch is perfect; this book is worth reading for the writing alone.

    Keir weaves a massive web of self-deception around every aspect of his life. Watching that begin to fall away is disorienting; deep down, he knows the truth of his actions, although he never completely stops lying to himself. This is an interesting take on a story that is usually told from the female perspective, and it leaves the reader with much to think about. Highly recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    Inexcusable

    Inexcusable is a great book that touches on a subject that some people consider touchy... i think it is good to be talked about though. the only thing i would not recommend though is for it to be forced to be read in schools. its a great book and all just some kids dont like to read about it. even for me its really hard to just say the word rape. overall, great book, great characters. very realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    loved this book

    read it in one sitting and recommend it to everyone who wants an interesting take on a serious problem. i totally loved the way the author portrayed the main character, completely in denial about what he was doing. so many teens live like that, or choose to when they choose make choices that harm others. really intense from page one to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    this book.....

    really great just when you think that something is going to happen between gigi and keir something else happens. her character totally flips on him. although it wasnt right for her to just say bye kier it was a really amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hated it!

    There are so many people with inexcusable behavior in this book that I don't know where to begin! There are many better books about bullying. This book almost seemed to excuse Keir's behavior. There was so much blame to go around to the adults in his life and community. That was probably the point, but I wanted a stronger ending. I felt like, although he finally saw himself for who he is at the end of the book, the consequences weren't enough and I don't know that the change is lasting. It's a better read for adults than for teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3