Customer Reviews for

Inexcusable

Average Rating 3.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

Chris Lynch¿s book Inexcusable is a powerful novel about some of the choices that males may need to make in modern day high school. Keir is a senior who lives with his widowed father Ray. Throughout his life he has always been told by his loved ones what a good guy he i...
Chris Lynch¿s book Inexcusable is a powerful novel about some of the choices that males may need to make in modern day high school. Keir is a senior who lives with his widowed father Ray. Throughout his life he has always been told by his loved ones what a good guy he is. Then an event changes his life. In a football game he blocks a guy from the other team and somehow cripples him. Now he is named Killer Keir. His popularity is rising now and with it he begins to make very poor choices. He goes to parties where there is drinking and drug use, he vandalizes the school, and plays a horrible prank on the school¿s soccer team. He lives in denial of it all, justifying himself as a good guy who would never do those things. However, these choices lead up to this one event that is indeed inexcusable.

This is a very good book that really puts the importance of good friends and making wise choices into perspective. This is a great read for both genders because many boys will be able to relate to Keir in some way, and girls will probably know someone exactly like Keir. This book does contain some language. However, it is no different than what you would hear if you actually walked into a high school.

I highly recommend this book to anyone in high school. It captures your attention right away and you won¿t be able to put it down. It doesn¿t take that long to read and is well worth your time.

posted by 911972 on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Boy book....

I am a 22 year old girl who first off knows very little about football which is what the majority of this book it about. When you read the back preview, it makes you think the book is going to be all about the rape of a young girl by a supposed good guy..However, the fi...
I am a 22 year old girl who first off knows very little about football which is what the majority of this book it about. When you read the back preview, it makes you think the book is going to be all about the rape of a young girl by a supposed good guy..However, the first half of the book is about how he crippled a guy during none other than a football game! I really wish the characters were more developed. I mean you basically know that Keir is a "good guy", Gigi is beautiful, Keir's sisters are smart and live 3 hours away, and Ray drinks and plays risk with Keir. The only interesting parts of this book were extremely brief! This book was just not for me...maybe because I like more of a thrill or maybe because I am a chick! Sorry Lynch!

posted by Screekmore0122 on June 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    INEXCUSABLE - Chris Lynch

    This book was on my summer reading list, but I read it just because I wanted to. It was heart-wrenching. I didn't know what to think of it. It was slow at times, but after everything was spilled out onto the table, I really don't think I lost concentration even once. This book was amazing. It's terrible, but amazing. There's a cliff-hanger, but we can all figure out what happens next... Read it. It's good, and it teaches something you'll never foget.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    its amazing

    it really maKES you think about the one you love. about making sure you truely know the ones you love. it catches your attention and its hard to put down. you want to see what happens next and how things turn out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    Great Book!

    This great book attracted my eyes, by just seeing the reviews about it. I could not put this book down, i took reading into another level by reading this phenominal book. I recommend this book to anybody that likes sports and has a girl/guy in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    Inexcusable or Misunderstanding?

    Inexcusable by Chris Lynch is a pretty good book. It's a story about a guy name Keir Sarafian who considers himself a good guy. In the very beginning of the book, I was extremely confused. There was a big argument going on and it was hard to follow. Yes I read the summary but I still had no clue what was going on. After that first chapter you're finally into the storyline. It starts at the beginning and it gets easier to follow. There are a few slow parts in the story but once you get passed them it is a good book. When I first started reading the book it didn't really sound interesting. I mean yeah the first chapter was good but it somewhat had trouble keeping my attention. As I contiued to read it, I got more hooked on the story and didn't want to put it down. At one point, Keir tries to get his sisters that are in college to come to his graduation. They tell him they can't make it and make up an excuse saying they have to study for exams. It disappoints Keir but he accepts it. Then he and his friend/the girl he's madly in love with, Gigi Boudakian, decide to visit his sisters at their college. When he gets to the college he discovers from his sisters' roomate, that they were done their exams. One of them was on a date and the other was out with friends. It was one of those "oh, snap" moments and it makes you think what Keir is going to do. In my opinion, Keir should have done more than he actually did in reaction to this news. In the very beginning of the story you would most likely assume that it was a mistake or a misunderstanding, the situation between Keir and Gigi, but as you read the ending you finally understand what is going on and realize that it really was inexcusable. This story makes you think about the one you love and if they love you back the same way. It's an emotional story that's why I like it. I recommend it if you want an easy read or you want to read a book that makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    inexcusable summer reading review

    Inexcusable, written by Chris Lynch, starts off with Keir Sarafian in a bedroom with his upset and angry friend Gigi Boudakian, whom he just so happens to love. He tells the reader that whatever the situation looks like is not the truth. By recalling multiple memories of his senior year leading up to this one fateful event, Keir tries to defend himself as a "good boy". Such memories include him paralyzing an opponent during a football game, playing an on going game of risk with his drunken father, prom night, and finally the night following his high school graduation. Throughout the entire novel, Keir questions himself as well as the situations he and his family seem to always find themselves in, all the while trying to prove to Gigi that he in fact did not rape her, or did anything wrong at all for that matter.
    Keir Sarafian is a lost and lonely teenage boy who is in love with his best friend. Keir tries to likes to be liked, and therefore seems to get lost in peer pressure. He has always heard throughout his life that he is a "good boy" and in his mind has done a very good job at defending that title, when in reality he is looking back on his senior year through foggy eyes. His best friend Gigi Boudakian, however, never has a problem keeping Keir grounded. She is in love with a boy who left her at home while he went to study in the military, and finds a lot of comfort in her close guy friend. While others call Keir Killer and Killeeer because of his football incident, she sees right through his confused eyes and sees a soft and kind young boy. Another main person in Keir's life is his father, Ray. Ray and Keir have the house to themselves because Keir's two older sisters are already in college, and he lost his mother at a very young age. Keir and Ray love to drink a lot of beer, eat a lot of meat and "manly" food, and play an ongoing game of Risk. Ray seems like the perfect father in Keir's life, though in reality he is a depressed widower that is only looking for an outlet in life, and finds that through booze and a friendship with his son.
    "I hate it when people I love let me down. It's like, the worst thing there is." (p. 128) - Keir Sarafian
    This quotation is such an important part of the story because it shows just how lost and confused Keir really can be. He knows that he hates it when other people that he is close to are rude to him, or lie to him, or hurt him in any way really. Yet he hurts Gigi in an inexcusable way by raping her the night after their graduation. In a way, Keir is really letting Gigi down, because she trusts him enough to take care of her and be a friend when she is upset, yet he "mistakes" her muffled moans for help as her accepting what is going on.
    I strongly disagree with how Keir lives his life towards the end of his senior year. For example, he says that he can remember watching a video of a boy who looked a lot like him hazing fellow soccer players, yet he refuses to believe that the guy on the tape that is dressed exactly like him and looks like him could actually be him, because he is too good of a guy to do bad things. Many times throughout the novel Keir seems to be too drunk or on too many drugs to actually remember what is going on in his life. I don't think that that is any kind of way for anyone to live their life, never mind a teenager who still has so much more of life to look forward too. I found the ending to the novel to be a very unusual concept because although Keir spends the ent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    Inexcusable

    Inexcusable is a great book that touches on a subject that some people consider touchy... i think it is good to be talked about though. the only thing i would not recommend though is for it to be forced to be read in schools. its a great book and all just some kids dont like to read about it. even for me its really hard to just say the word rape. overall, great book, great characters. very realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Real life teenager problems.

    The main character is a good guy in the story.He is an football player in his last year of high school.In this book the main character goes through social, family and sports problems. Its basically explain a kid named Kier in an teenager life style going into adulthood.He lives with his dad Ray.His father is an widower who raises his son and two daughters which are in college by himself. As Kier goes into adulthood he has important decisions to make in life. His sisters isn't there for him like he would like them to be ,but he learns how to deal with this.Him and his dad has an really good relationship with each other.His dad was more like an best friend then a father towards him. There was a twist to this story. He started getting involve with peer pressure. First, he do stupid pranks to the school. Then, secondly he go to parties and do drugs. He is in love with this girl named GiGi. They both went to prom together. He listen to all her problems about her boyfriend. With these feelings he has to he keep them from hurting there friendship. Would a good kid like Kier do the inexcusable....?<BR/><BR/> This was a good book to read for teenagers. These are everyday tasks you go through during highschool. You have to always make desicions and choices and there would always be peer pressure.To be corrected not just teenagers but be exact most likely boys.<BR/><BR/> I recommend this book to highschool students. Right in the beginning the of book it caughts your attention. It's not a long book to read so it doesn't take to much time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    slow start, but interesting read.

    Inexcusable is a well written and shows the other side of a story that is touchy for some. I wouldn¿t say that I loved this book, but it was a very interesting read. It was kind of slow to get into, but after I was done I ended up liking it. It is the other side of the book ¿Speak¿ by Laurie Anderson. While reading you get really frustrated with the boy telling the story and want to go into the book to shake him to make him come to his senses. There are parts that also make you worry about this boy and wonder if something is wrong with him. While I was reading it I wondered if some teenage boys actually think like this boy and think that when they do wrong they really don¿t think that they did. Another thing that I liked about this book is that it doesn¿t go into gross details and doesn¿t have bad language. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    Inexcusable is Venial

    December20, 2006 Inexcusable is Venial Chris Lynch wrote the book, Inexcusable. The book is about a boy named Keir. Keir thinks he is a virtuous person. Throughout this book he talks about why he is a righteous person. Keir recalls the events leading up to that fateful night with his life long love Gigi Boudakian. Keir is a good brother a good friend and a good teammate. Keir is on the foot ball team. He wants to be a kicker in college. In one of his games, Keir hits a guy so hard that it nearly kills him because that¿s what his couch teaches him to do and in so doing that gets the nick name Killer. Keir and Gigi were childhood friends, while they are the main characters in this novel, there are some other characters that have key affects to this story. Keir has two sisters named Fran and Mary. Mary is older than Keir, she is in College and she loves her brother. In this book she and her sister Fran, who is also older than Keir and loves him too, do something that makes Keir mad because they lie to him. Carl is Gigi¿s boy friend, who is in military school. His role in this book is that he does something that makes Gigi mad, which results in her ending up with Keir. Ray Sarafian is Keir¿s father. He lives alone with Keir because his wife died. Once Keir leaves for college, he will be alone. He and Keir get along really well. He helps his son a couple of times in this book. Rollo is Keir¿s Uncle, he is a limousine driver. He takes Keir on a limo trip for his graduation party to Quarterback Ken `s house and then takes him to the college that Keir will be going to. Quarterback Ken is the quarterback for Keir¿s team and he also is his friend. Cory and Bam are brother¿s who also play on Keir¿s team and are also his friend¿s. Over all I thought Inexcusable was a good book. A t first I thought the book was a little confusing to understand what¿s going on, but by the end of the book I understood everything. I thought that the story line was good. I thought that the Author did a good job in making the character¿s come to life. Out of a rating of one through ten, ten being the highest and 1 being the lowest, I would give this book a seven out of ten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1