Customer Reviews for

Infamous

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

"When the legend becomes fact, print the legend."

In 2010 history professor Alison Carter is the expert on the feud between legendary Marshal Silas Quinn and notorious outlaw James "Kid" Gallagher of the brutal Kelly Gang; the Kid kidnapped and murdered the lawman's wife, Melody. In 1898 in the Red Rock Saloon in Jubi...
In 2010 history professor Alison Carter is the expert on the feud between legendary Marshal Silas Quinn and notorious outlaw James "Kid" Gallagher of the brutal Kelly Gang; the Kid kidnapped and murdered the lawman's wife, Melody. In 1898 in the Red Rock Saloon in Jubilation, Arizona Quinn and the Kelly Gang faced off. Alison knows she has come a long way from growing up the daughter of an alcoholic as now she is the consultant to the Hollywood film Quinn.

Having served in the Bush senior's Gulf War, A. J. Gallagher came home suffering from post traumatic stress disorder. For several years he depended on alcohol to numb the ghosts of war. Sober, he wants to exorcize the ghost of his great-grandfather The Kid. However, the Kid refuses to go to hell; instead demanding his descendent clear his name as he insists the legend is false since he and his beloved Melody ran away to Alaska to escape from abusive Quinn. A.J. confronts Alison, but though his evidence is the word of mouth from a spirit, the veteran and the professor are attracted to each other. When deadly felons go after his woman, A.J. vows to keep her safe.

This is a great paranormal romance mindful of Who Shot Liberty Valance and Robert Wuhl's presentation in Assume the Position on "When the legend becomes fact, print the legend." Fast-paced, the story line is at its best when the focus is on the Kid challenging A.J. to sell the facts to the so called expert while A.J. wants to sell himself to his beloved expert. When the plot takes a suspense spin, it loses some of the charm and underlying insight that the winners write the history to make them heroes and their adversaries' villains.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is a Brockmann?

Two-thirds of the way through Infamous and I'm still questioning if Suzanne Brockmann actually wrote this book. It is totally unlike the previous books that I have read -- and I don't mean this in a good way. I somehow feel cheated that I was hooked into buying a book b...
Two-thirds of the way through Infamous and I'm still questioning if Suzanne Brockmann actually wrote this book. It is totally unlike the previous books that I have read -- and I don't mean this in a good way. I somehow feel cheated that I was hooked into buying a book based on the author's past performance. Ir will make me more hesitant to automatically buy her books in the future.

posted by samattie on August 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read

    This book was amazingly entertaining and powerful. I hated when I had to put it down because I wanted to read straight through. The characters were dimensional and captivating, there were endless twists and action, humor, heroism, tender moments, danger, friendship - just a really wonderful array of things you hope to find in a book. Jamie, the lovable old ghost (in a handsome young body, lol), AJ the great grandson who's just adorably charming and fiercely loyal and loving, and Alison, strong, stubborn, funny and a danger magnet. I mean the stuff that comes at her later on makes you wonder just what the heck she's gotten herself into.
    I liked the instant connection they had, history repeating itself, when it's right, it's right. And that AJ had the most awkward of times explaining how he knew the things he did and the problems it presented throughout, I got a good chuckle when the roles reversed there. I did have times when I wanted to whack Alison for being darn near overzealous at times and seemingly insensitive to the man AJ loved, but I think part of why she fought that so hard was her own past. This made all the more difficult by his vulnerability, when a guy is as good as this one, how can you resist? AJ's extended family was also amusing and warm. And the bad guys? Were about as bad as you could get. Even the FEDs were funny and sweet, I liked how that was thrown in there. The goodbye was both heartbreaking and tender and I was so happy with the ending. All in all, an incredible read that I'm sure I'll make again and again. Try this one, you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Best

    I agree with another review. It's hard to believe Suzanne Brockman wrote this. I love her stories about Seals and her Troubleshooters series. This is completly different. I don't mean that in a bad way. This is funny, sad, puts together two great love stories. I don't normally enjoy anything that has paranormal leanings, but......how could you not like Jamie? He was one of the great heros of romance books. A.J. wasn't bad either. He was all too human, which made you like him even more. I understood Alison's reluctanse to believe what A.J. was telling her. In other words, this is well worth the time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    This book has everything:really great romance, suspense, and a b

    This book has everything:really great romance, suspense, and a bit of paranormal activity for good measure! AJ and Allison are characters you want together, although there are serious obstacles in their lives. I thoroughly loved this book and I'll be looking for more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    great

    Love Suzanne Brockman's books. This one was an old one I had been looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    A great comfortable read.

    Throughly enjoyed thsi book and will all from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    Amazing read...loved it

    This was the first romance book I have ever read. I could not put it down. I absolutely loved it! I love how it takes you from modern day to the 1800's. Must read!! very thrilling, exciting, emotional, embracing!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Infamous is an amazingly intense, superbly written example of romantic suspense by the queen of suspense herself Suzanne Brockmann.

    History Professor Allison Carter hired to consult on the filming of a movie about the life of an American West legend Silas Quinn isn't prepared to have that legend's name tarnished. A J Gallagher is going to do just that, you see his great-grandfather Jamie Gallagher was the villain to Silas's hero, except according to AJ the story is backwards. Allison and A J have some major sparks flying, but she's not going to let that get in the way of the truth, and the truth is hard to take especially when sexy AJ claims to see Jaimie's ghost. But specters are the least of this couple's worries when bodies start showing up, the question is will they become one of them.
    Suzanne Brockman takes a rest from her Troubleshooter's series to give us a whopper of a stand-a-lone. Her story line is quite unique giving a ghost a starring role in her novel, a novel that's not a paranormal tale, but rather a wonderful contemporary romantic suspense that just so happens to have a ghost on board as one of the main characters. Her dialogue is all you'd expect on the set of a motion picture from the tough talking troublesome male hero to the all demanding Diva. Speaking of divas and heroes, her characters are a combination film professionals, film stars, film extras, set employees and those all important bad guys and they all are a necessary part of the telling of the story, from the villains who are some of the most notorious you'll ever see to the one liners we only see for an instant. Her hero and heroine are exceptional studies in humanity, both with skeletons in their closets and both afraid of them falling out, both tortured by their own personal demons, both afraid to step out of their comfort zone, that is until one or both of them is put in danger which brings the tiger out in them to defend their mate. They are sensational examples of love is blind and yet the readers will see in them something that must bring them together when so many things conspire to keep them apart. This duo really earns their happy ever after. The romance will have you scratching your head one minute, laughing the next and sitting on the edge of your seat one minute after that. The love scenes are emotionally charged and very physical and yet the author gives her audience that sense of rightness about it too.
    So if you like your romance served up with a healthy dose of suspense, a roller coaster emotional thriller set in a contemporary scene, let this be the one you choose. Suzanne Brockmann is a quintessential genius in the genre of romantic suspense and she will not disappoint any reader with this exceptional example of her skills. It's the perfect end of summer read, the perfect novel to sink your teeth in as you see the kids off to the bus for the first day of school. So treat yourself to a novel you won't soon forget and give Infamous a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    A really great read!

    I really enjoyed this book. Suzanne Brockmann is the queen of Romantic Suspense and she doesn't disappoint. Her characters are the star, they are rich, likable and flawed. It's a modern day romance, with all the glitz of a Hollywood movie production crossed with the wild, wild west.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3