Customer Reviews for

An Infamous Army (Alastair Trilogy Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This is the best novel I have ever read. It has everything war, romance etc.... I love the romance between Bab and Charles. Let me say one thing I grew up in a war (Beirut-Lebanon)and every emotion that people experience in this book is for real. Giving parties, dancing...
This is the best novel I have ever read. It has everything war, romance etc.... I love the romance between Bab and Charles. Let me say one thing I grew up in a war (Beirut-Lebanon)and every emotion that people experience in this book is for real. Giving parties, dancing, falling in love at first sight, horrors of war, people without limbs etc.........It's all real. I just couldn't put the book down. Thanks God I have been living in USA for the past 17 years, but you never forget those crazy days. I give 5 stars although the book deserves million stars. Her description of Waterloo is sooooooooo correct which amazes me.I have read so many books about Waterloo that hers is the best......Georgette Heyer is the best I wish she wrote more books :(

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good if you're a Regency scholar

Bolstered by the stellar reviews and my own penchant for regency-era fiction, I purchased this book.

It's nearly unreadable. Beginning from the first chapter, the reader is dropped in the middle of a room with the characters discussing 19th century politics and intr...
Bolstered by the stellar reviews and my own penchant for regency-era fiction, I purchased this book.

It's nearly unreadable. Beginning from the first chapter, the reader is dropped in the middle of a room with the characters discussing 19th century politics and intrigue with little understanding who is who. Realistic? Certainly. Reader friendly? No, unless you are very, very familiar with the historical happenings of the time. I trudged through a few more chapters, hoping that I would decipher the characters better as the plot progressed, but alas even then, I couldn't name the protagonist.

posted by Indy25 on May 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is the best novel I have ever read. It has everything war, romance etc.... I love the romance between Bab and Charles. Let me say one thing I grew up in a war (Beirut-Lebanon)and every emotion that people experience in this book is for real. Giving parties, dancing, falling in love at first sight, horrors of war, people without limbs etc.........It's all real. I just couldn't put the book down. Thanks God I have been living in USA for the past 17 years, but you never forget those crazy days. I give 5 stars although the book deserves million stars. Her description of Waterloo is sooooooooo correct which amazes me.I have read so many books about Waterloo that hers is the best......Georgette Heyer is the best I wish she wrote more books :(

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    An Amazing, Sympathetic Read...

    While Georgette Heyer is best know for her charming and amusing Regency Era romances, as well as her English country house mysteries, she wrote four excellent historical novels. The best of these is "An Infamous Army", which details life in Brussels before Waterloo. Here the frivolous mixes with the tragic, partys prepare you for battle., and relationships come at a price.
    In "An Infamous Army" she presents us with a well researched, character driven plot that brings to life the horror of war. The characters are sometimes sympathetic, sometimes not but always realistic, And while Lady Barbara is the heroine, I hope that most will agree with me that the most sympathetic is the voice of reason in the plot, Judith, Lady Worth.
    If you are a fan of history, or just of good writing, I think you will enjoy "An Infamous Army"

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Greatest Description of Waterloo since Vanity Fair

    While there is a rather fluffy romance in the foreground, the background is historically accurate and the carefree life in Brussels the days just before Waterloo and the actual battle are in stark contrast to each other. The reader feels both the panic and horror of war. The battles from Quatre Bras to Hugenot to Waterloo are so good, you picture yourself THERE! Georgette Heyer's gift for making scenes LIVE, is no more apparent than in these chapters. Great for history buffs as well as romance readers!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Marvelous book!

    I read that the description of the battle of Waterloo is so accurate that it is studied at West Point and other military schools. This is besides the wonderful characters she brings to life to draw you in to the emotions and atmosphere surrounding the battle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2000

    One of Georgette Heyers best works

    Georgette Heyer is a true master of Regency stories. In 'An Infamous Army' she once again excels in character studies, bringing back characters we have met in 'Regency Buck' and 'The Devils Cub' They are a true delight. We are swept away into the whirl-wind of activety taking place in Brussells. we Travel through the days leading up to the battle of waterloo with Wellington as he organized the Infamous Army. We meet many of the officers who lead their brigades into battle. Heyers works are very well researched, this book is my favorite. The love story is touching , a head strong young widow and a dashing, gallant, handsome young officer meet and the fireworks are not all on the battlefield. I am so glad to find Georgette Heyers books on the book shelves , new copies that have never been read, are a real treat. Most of my copies are dog eared and verrrry old. I hope to find 'An Infamous Army' in a paperback, brand new. I highly recommend reading work by this wonderful writer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Spiritpaw

    Hi

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1