Customer Reviews for

The Infection

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

More Than Just a Zombie Book

The zombie genre is all the rage today, which is a mixed blessing. The good news for readers is that there are a ton of zombie-themed books out there to choose from. The bad news for authors is that they really have to step up their game and do something unique to stand...
The zombie genre is all the rage today, which is a mixed blessing. The good news for readers is that there are a ton of zombie-themed books out there to choose from. The bad news for authors is that they really have to step up their game and do something unique to stand out from the crowd. And that's what DiLouie manages to pull off with this novel about a ragtag band of apocalypse survivors. Something unique. Without giving too much away, The Infection begins like many other books in this genre -- a big chunk of humanity suddenly becomes "infected," which in this case means mindless and homicidal, and is hell-bent on destroying or infecting the rest of humanity. But it doesn't take long for DiLouie to spin the story in creative directions that really keep you guessing what will happen next right up till the hugely climactic end of the novel. Not the least of these plot twists is when DiLouie pits the survivors against not only uber-violent zombies, but also against a collection of bizarre and terrifyingly inhuman infection-induced creatures that would make even H.P. Lovecraft pee his pants a little. If anybody ever makes a movie out of this book, I'll be the first one in line, if only to see how they bring some of these creatures to life. Plot twists aside, where this novel truly shines is with the characters. In DiLouie's other zombie book, Tooth And Nail, the range of primary characters was somewhat restricted by the subject material, which centered mostly around the military. In this book, we have a few soldiers, but also a cop, a teacher, a housewife, a reverend, and a geek, all fighting for survival side by side. And by the end of the book, you know them all inside and out, thanks to a series of masterfully executed flashbacks that manage to tell you who these people are -- and how they came together -- without ever breaking the stride of the main narrative. I'm going to close by quoting what I had to say at the end of my review of Tooth and Nail, because it applies equally well to The Infection ... "Based on its premise alone, one should realize that this novel is not for the squeamish. But in case you don't, let me repeat: this novel is not for the squeamish. It is highly graphic throughout, on a par with any R-rated movie you'd watch in this genre. At times, you will wish you were wearing a hazard suit while reading it, and you may feel the urge to go take a shower from time to time. But that's just because the author is doing it right. After all, there shouldn't be anything pink and fluffy about the apocalypse."

posted by RandyCT on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Eh.

Disappointing. Poor character development; by the end of the book, they still felt like strangers. The "abominations" weren't necessary. I feel they took away from what could have been a decent story. Sometimes less really is more. The grammatical errors irked me. I for...
Disappointing. Poor character development; by the end of the book, they still felt like strangers. The "abominations" weren't necessary. I feel they took away from what could have been a decent story. Sometimes less really is more. The grammatical errors irked me. I forced myself to finish this book.

posted by 11587474 on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    More Than Just a Zombie Book

    The zombie genre is all the rage today, which is a mixed blessing. The good news for readers is that there are a ton of zombie-themed books out there to choose from. The bad news for authors is that they really have to step up their game and do something unique to stand out from the crowd. And that's what DiLouie manages to pull off with this novel about a ragtag band of apocalypse survivors. Something unique. Without giving too much away, The Infection begins like many other books in this genre -- a big chunk of humanity suddenly becomes "infected," which in this case means mindless and homicidal, and is hell-bent on destroying or infecting the rest of humanity. But it doesn't take long for DiLouie to spin the story in creative directions that really keep you guessing what will happen next right up till the hugely climactic end of the novel. Not the least of these plot twists is when DiLouie pits the survivors against not only uber-violent zombies, but also against a collection of bizarre and terrifyingly inhuman infection-induced creatures that would make even H.P. Lovecraft pee his pants a little. If anybody ever makes a movie out of this book, I'll be the first one in line, if only to see how they bring some of these creatures to life. Plot twists aside, where this novel truly shines is with the characters. In DiLouie's other zombie book, Tooth And Nail, the range of primary characters was somewhat restricted by the subject material, which centered mostly around the military. In this book, we have a few soldiers, but also a cop, a teacher, a housewife, a reverend, and a geek, all fighting for survival side by side. And by the end of the book, you know them all inside and out, thanks to a series of masterfully executed flashbacks that manage to tell you who these people are -- and how they came together -- without ever breaking the stride of the main narrative. I'm going to close by quoting what I had to say at the end of my review of Tooth and Nail, because it applies equally well to The Infection ... "Based on its premise alone, one should realize that this novel is not for the squeamish. But in case you don't, let me repeat: this novel is not for the squeamish. It is highly graphic throughout, on a par with any R-rated movie you'd watch in this genre. At times, you will wish you were wearing a hazard suit while reading it, and you may feel the urge to go take a shower from time to time. But that's just because the author is doing it right. After all, there shouldn't be anything pink and fluffy about the apocalypse."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    THIS is a MUST READ!

    Craig DiLouie takes us on a roller coaster ride of high tension action in his latest novel. The Infection is a great read that grips you from the first page and never lets go. This book is one of the best I have read in the genre and you will not be dissapointed! Get it NOW!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Left 4 Dead w/out the XBOX360

    After reading the overview I bought this book because it sounded like the plot of the Left 4 Dead video games, and it seems to me that's what the author was going for... -group of survivors from different backgrounds -chapters are broken down by 'battles': Hospital, Bridge... -mutations in the infected(Bosses), making them harder to kill Like a lot of reviews have stated, this is not a zombie book. The antagonists in the story are infected but not dead. Besides that small detail, this book falls in line with the rest of the novels in the zombie apocalypse genre. Every fan of this genre will tell you that they know the 'Zombie Apocalypse' is complete fiction, but even the most dedicated zombie fan will laugh out loud at some of the ridiculous mutations this book contains. Despite that, this book is a solid read and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoyed playing Left 4 Dead, or watching Dawn of the Dead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Doubleshot Reviews book review

    Let me start out by saying, Craig DiLouie's The Infection is not a zombie book. The creatures that the survivors in this tale encounter are not dead (unless I totally missed the dying part and if I did someone please set me straight and my apologies to, Mr DiLouie) The majority of the world's population became infected, went into coma's for 3 days and when they woke up they were vicious man eating abominations. But don't let that little piece of information take you away from considering this gem of a story.

    DiLouie created a vivid world of mayhem and destruction. A environment made of nightmares that I sometimes had a hard time believing anyone would WANT to survive let alone be able to. The Infection's characters were very well developed. Flashbacks are used to give the background of each individual character and the author did a wonderful job creating a past and present that I could not only envision, but one that actually had me truly caring about most of the characters and what happened to them. The descriptive elements of The Infection were intense. I would not say they were overly graphic, but they definitely left little to the imagination.

    I would have to say that, honestly, the only aspect of The Infection that I did not particularly care for was that the Infected mutated into various creatures. I just don't get the obsession people seem to have with mutated creatures. It is a personal preference and while it detracts a bit from the story for me, I know that a lot of readers do enjoy a grotesque transformation of a species.

    Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable and entertaining read that I would definitely recommend to add to your shelves.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am usually not a big fan of this type of book, but I thoroughl

    I am usually not a big fan of this type of book, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.   I read the entire book in a little over a day.  It is not just another zombie/apocalypse story.    It is a brillant, creative and terrifying book.  There are tons of action, great characters, and unexpected twists in the plot.    I give this book 5 stars.   I can’t wait to start the second book in this series…..The Killing Floor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Not your typical zombie

    Different take on viruses. Loved this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Eh.

    Disappointing. Poor character development; by the end of the book, they still felt like strangers. The "abominations" weren't necessary. I feel they took away from what could have been a decent story. Sometimes less really is more. The grammatical errors irked me. I forced myself to finish this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Best book ever

    I think anybody with an active imagination and believes anything could happen and likes intense books would love this! I think that the book was right on the edge of being almost real. The main charcters Ethan,Anne,Wendy,Sarge,Tod

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Ok

    I just couldn't get into it. Nothing great or original about the story line. Needs to be proofread. By the way, when your refering to ammunition, it's "ordnance", not "ordinance". Big difference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Interesting twist

    This book has an interesting twist and decent character development. If you like zombie genre it's worth the read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Greatz

    Cool story bro, tell it again signed
    -herpaderp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    great read

    i enjoyed this zombie thriller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Not just another zombie story

    This is a fantastic read. There are tons of zombie books out there but this is far more than zombies. There are tons of crazy monsters, too. The characters are great, lots of gore and action and plenty of suspense. I read this in one setting and it keeps you ramped up from beginning to end. I can't wait to read the sequel! Much kudos!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    This book was terrible poorly imagined,and written

    This book was terrible poorly imagined,and written. Only gave it 1 star because the system won't let you post without a star rating . Would love my 4.99 back

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Jeez people its horrible

    Its not even a frickin zombie book cuz there not dead but infected n itstarts out horrible shesh u guys say it good but its not

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Wow!

    This is a really good book. The plot and characters are well-thought out and rivetting. There is a second novel, but with its ending this one can stand alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Well worth reading

    I liked this book for a few reasons. It's well written, especially for the zombie genre, and presents the point of view of military survivors, which is often missing from the zombie apocalypse. I also find the explanation for the "zombification" of humanity a little lacking in most zombie fiction. I know a zombie invasion isn't plausible, but I do like it when authors bother to develop a decent premise for the collapse. DiLouie goes well beyond the "they died and they're back!" explanation in a very satisfying way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    C Decent

    Not spectacular, but solid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    One for the Zombie Lovers.

    Good story, satisfying characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    great zombie book

    I enjoyed reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4