Customer Reviews for

Inferno

Average Rating 4
( 1950 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(836)

4 Star

(451)

3 Star

(339)

2 Star

(193)

1 Star

(131)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

114 out of 140 people found this review helpful.

A work of fun fiction.

Dan Brown catches a lot of grief for the historical accuracy of his novels, but that is exactly the reason why they are under fiction. Any smart author blends fact with fiction. For all of you who don't get that, do you ever wonder why the Flintstones wasn't considered ...
Dan Brown catches a lot of grief for the historical accuracy of his novels, but that is exactly the reason why they are under fiction. Any smart author blends fact with fiction. For all of you who don't get that, do you ever wonder why the Flintstones wasn't considered a reality show destined for The History Channel?

Sometimes things are just for fun.

posted by 8008557 on May 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

724 out of 768 people found this review helpful.

Books by Dan Brown never cease to mesmerize the audience with co

Books by Dan Brown never cease to mesmerize the audience with compelling stories. The fourth installment in the Robert Langdon series, Inferno is a masterpiece of fiction but it unfortunately follows the same plot format over and over again. For nonfiction however, I hi...
Books by Dan Brown never cease to mesmerize the audience with compelling stories. The fourth installment in the Robert Langdon series, Inferno is a masterpiece of fiction but it unfortunately follows the same plot format over and over again. For nonfiction however, I highly recommend books by Naheed Ali like Arthritis and You. --Scott Justesen

posted by Scott-D-Justesen on May 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Tedious

    One. Big. Yawn. Life's too short.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    I am afraid Dan is out of good ideas

    This story has a thin plot line with shallow characters. It is over the top fantastic (not in a good way)! Art history and architectural minutia are crammed everywhere. Dan, you had a great run, but this one misses the mark.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    So far I am disappointed with this read.  The plot is too simila

    So far I am disappointed with this read.  The plot is too similar to his other novels and I'm having a hard time staying awake when I am reading it.  Maybe Brown would fare better publishing his knowledge as an art history nonfiction book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Each one is a little worse

    I loved the Da Vinci Code. I read it in two days. Since then each one gets cheesier and less interesting. This one wasn't terrible, but it wasn't anything close to a page-turner. At the very least, he gave the book an actual ending and didn't use "the secret is in all of us" for the umpteenth time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Well I read Inferno last week. It took me a couple of days to re

    Well I read Inferno last week. It took me a couple of days to read it. I loved Dan Brown’s Angels and Demons and I liked The Divinci Code but this one I just could not stay attached it. Usually when I am so captivated by a book I will find a way to keep reading it by any means. I went on vacation last week and was able to put this book down for 5 days and not go crazy that I did not finish it. I was 75% done with it then too.




    I think it has to do with the amount of information Mr. Brown includes in the story which I feel is not really relevant. There are copious descriptions of paintings and occurrences which don’t really move the story forward. I felt myself going cross eyed with all the unnecessary filler stories.




    Don’t get me wrong, the book is great, it is fact paced and action packed, but I think I missed something. At the end (please don’t read forward if you have not read the book already!) the virus has been released and it seems to me as if they are perfectly ok with a third of the world’s population being infertile. Can someone please explain to me why or how this is ok? I understand the need to control the population growth in the world but shouldn’t a person have a chance to decide if they can have even their first  child? And you don’t know if you have been infected, you are just infertile. Maybe I should read the last few chapters again because to me it seems like this is not something to just leave hanging. She goes off with the leader of WHO to explain why the virus was released but no mention as to how to reverse it. hmm. I’m not sure I buy into this story.




    This might be the last Dan Brown/Robert Langdon for me. Sone authors get to a point in a series where they have exhausted all their good writing in the first few best sellers and I believe that is the case here. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    History book

    Not a very exciting book. Instead of a history and art lesson, try something more creative

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    A visiter's guide to the art of Florence!

    I did finish it, but the endless descriptions of the art treasures which mesmerized Professor Langdon got very trying. I would not recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Not a page turner

    I agree with the other reviews that it was more about the locations than the story I became quite upset half way through that i was not enjoying it since it has been several years since his last book i wanted love it. I am glad it is not just me that had to put it down several times and force myself back into it to get it over with. I am going back to H.G. Wells for awhile

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    I am extremely disappointed. I am half-way thru and may not fin

    I am extremely disappointed. I am half-way thru and may not finish. It is a bit James Bond-ish with The Provost character. Too many codes. Too simple codes. Amnesia for Langdon? All in all it impresses as an attempt to "fill" the pages with as many words and unnecessary descriptions as possible. I am sorry I paid the 15$. Not worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Not so good.

    Interesting plot, but slow and boring. Way too much historical description. I loved Brown's non-Langdon books. This one, not so much. If I wanted to read about historical facts, I would read some history books. Would probably have given 4 stars without all the history references.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The main plot of this book is very interesting. Kind of a let's

    The main plot of this book is very interesting. Kind of a let's save the world by doing evil acts thing. The execution was very poor in my mind though. I looked forward to this book for a long time because I skipped Lost Symbol. I started this right when I got it but it was a difficult read. I finished it but it took alot of energy and patience. I like Dan Brown but I could have done without the art history here. His books really went downhill after The Da Vinci Cody and Angels and Demons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Not his best

    I found the book tedious with exaggerated descriptions and too little plot. His other books made me a fan but this was a disappointment. I'm sure Brown did a lot of research for his previous books and this book seems to take that left-over information collected for them and try to roll it into a new book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Not uo Not up to par

    The story line dragged and was not up to par with what would be expected from a dan brown book. The story line was weak and did not hold my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Although the plot line was somewhat interesting, I continually l

    Although the plot line was somewhat interesting, I continually lost track of events because of the hundred of pages of travelogue type 
    descriptions of Florence, Venice, etc. in between the convoluted story line.  Book could have been hundreds of pages shorter and a much better 
    read.  Disappointing.  Not his best effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Too long and drawn out

    I thought it had too much detail that I, personally, was not interested in and not enough actual story. Skimmed through some pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Not so good.

    Not as good as Brown's other books. This one seems too contrived with too many plot twists. I was ready for the book to be over before I got to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    I usually love the Robert Langdon books, however, this was not o

    I usually love the Robert Langdon books, however, this was not one of them. This is not where near his best book, it may in fact be his worst.  There is way toomuch time spend on descriptions of places.  I'm an avid reader and I got very bogged down in this one. He had a great concept, but he did not follow through on its potential.  This book was actually just plain boring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    OK but not his best

    I was both drawn in and drained out by the never-ending detail of this novel. While Florence is now on my bucket list, I didn't need this level of description and repitition. I was dismayed at three glaring inaccuracies in the second half. I don't want to give away any plot developments, but will say that the description of one nation's flag was a very avoidable error.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    I have read all of Dan Brown's books. This one was the worst. It

    I have read all of Dan Brown's books. This one was the worst. It was hard to visualize his descriptions of the various locations and pieces of art. Some of it was pure overkill. The actual story could have been condensed to about 100 less pages. The big reveal read like a Scoobie Doo cartoon. All to convenient plot devices, like a poor action film. I expected better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Much like his other books...

    ... But perhaps too much like the others to warrant another book being written. To be honest, reading this book made me think Brown isn't trying as hard anymore now that he has a dedicated fanbase that will buy his books based solely on name recognition. Angels and Demons was by far his best novel, written early in his career, and each book thereafter became less and less inspired. They are merely copies of other books set in new locales. I truly hope he becomes an artist again and tries something new from here on out because his craft has stagnated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10