Customer Reviews for

Infinite Jest

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

I Once Was Lost

I used to think that I'd read all the greatest books of today, and I may have been right. But from the first page to the last this stunning literary masterpiece captured my mind and held it in the vice grips of deep inner doubt, causing me to question my lifestyle, ins...
I used to think that I'd read all the greatest books of today, and I may have been right. But from the first page to the last this stunning literary masterpiece captured my mind and held it in the vice grips of deep inner doubt, causing me to question my lifestyle, inspiring change. This book is a mental catalyst, a lightning strike in the primordial ooze of the sub conscious. Read it, he knows where you live.

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Thick

This book is thick. By that, I mean it does not really flow the way most stories do. The narrative tends to jump around in both location and time without any real cohesivness. While the author does have a great sense of humor (I laughed out loud a few times), the scatte...
This book is thick. By that, I mean it does not really flow the way most stories do. The narrative tends to jump around in both location and time without any real cohesivness. While the author does have a great sense of humor (I laughed out loud a few times), the scattered progression of the book makes it difficult to really get into.

I really want to finish reading this book because 1. I started it, and 2. it does have a great sense of humor, but I often find myself opting for other activities because I am just not that engrossed in the story. It does not make me want to read it.

After about 100 pages I am putting this book on hiatus and purchasing something new. I may still go back to it someday, but if you're looking for an engrossing tale with characters to whom you can relate, I'd try something different.

posted by MartialText on January 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2001

    I Once Was Lost

    I used to think that I'd read all the greatest books of today, and I may have been right. But from the first page to the last this stunning literary masterpiece captured my mind and held it in the vice grips of deep inner doubt, causing me to question my lifestyle, inspiring change. This book is a mental catalyst, a lightning strike in the primordial ooze of the sub conscious. Read it, he knows where you live.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thick

    This book is thick. By that, I mean it does not really flow the way most stories do. The narrative tends to jump around in both location and time without any real cohesivness. While the author does have a great sense of humor (I laughed out loud a few times), the scattered progression of the book makes it difficult to really get into.

    I really want to finish reading this book because 1. I started it, and 2. it does have a great sense of humor, but I often find myself opting for other activities because I am just not that engrossed in the story. It does not make me want to read it.

    After about 100 pages I am putting this book on hiatus and purchasing something new. I may still go back to it someday, but if you're looking for an engrossing tale with characters to whom you can relate, I'd try something different.

    13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    utterly brilliant

    how can people claim to have trouble reading this or that it is boring, I found myself holding off trips to the bathroom and food just to get through single, lucid paragraphs that contained everything from amazing tennis writing (granted I play) and shockingly insightful looks into addiction, freedom, will, and possibility. maybe its my generation (Im 23) and its hook with postmodern sensibilities, but something about this novel truly redefines for me what storytelling can be. whatever cerebral lightweight called this Iowa Finishing School writing is probably correct, keep in mind that place also has given us Flannery OConnor and boasts Kurt Vonneget as an instructor. keep Iowa writers coming I say

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    voice of a generation

    This is the real thing. Validates the vibrancy of art and literature in these modern times in a voice simultaneously full of hope and cynicism. He plays with the reader like Pynchon or Gaddis, but is not mean spirited about it. And I laughed out loud in public places while reading this beautiful book.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    This is one of those rare novels to savor. Rather than reading

    This is one of those rare novels to savor. Rather than reading to
    advance through the plot, one needs to linger on the superb descriptive
    writing, the unexpected metaphors, the brilliance of language, the
    spot-on dialogue, the surreal moments, and the command of structure. If
    this isn't enough, it is often laugh out loud funny. I will agree that
    this is not the novel for everyone - it is long, it is non-sequential,
    and it could be accused of being pedantic. It is also terrifically
    rewarding; and I don't use the word loosely, a work of and from a
    genius. I purchased the book for my Nook and never were the advantages
    of an eReader better expressed. The print copy is bulky and heavy and
    David Foster Wallace uses the unconventional technique of using
    footnotes - easily accessed via the electronic links.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2000

    So good it gave me the Howling Fantoids

    This seminal work by DFW should not be passed up based on its length. Infinite Jest more than delivers. DFW inter-weaves several narratives expertly. There's more here than you would expect. Don't be intimidated by its length, you won't be disappointed.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Infinitely entertaining

    My brain is getting a workout reading this vast verbal amusement park. A perfect NOOK read because it is over 1000 pgs long and for me requires frequent ' look-ups'.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2005

    amazing... when i could get through it

    I feel like I need a dumbed down version of the book- there are parts of it that are truly amazing and had me laughing out loud of up half the night thinking- and the parts of it that I just read time again, completely lost. I think I'll stick to his short stories.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Dense and Great

    Well, that only took 7 months...Dave Eggers comments in the foreword sum up this book best: "This book is like a spaceship with no recognizable components, no rivets or bolts, no entry points, no way to take it apart. It is very shiny, and it has no discernible flaws."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    Infinite thoughts

    Mr. Wallace's text is not Gravity's Rainbow or Ulysses, but it is a testament to writing and storytelling, something often ignored these days. Infinite Jest is an attempt at an epic, one that reaches very close to achieving it. But ultimately, it never fully gets off the ground. Still, there are portions that are beautifully written and Wallace should be acknowledged for his skill

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    A terrific novel!

    Don't be daunted by the reviews, the vocabulary, or the structure of the book. Do plan to read it twice (at least). Under the bleak and chilly surface, Infinite Jest is a warm story, told with compassion for the characters. It's very funny. It's hopeful but not sappy. And it's complex enough that the second reading seems to make the story fresh, as you put things together and pick up clues you'd missed the first time. I'd wanted to read it years ago, but waited because I'd heard it was a freak show and a hot mess. Finally I was too curious to resist. Don't make my mistake! You might love this book as I do now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Tennis Anyone?

    Risking accusations of heresy fromDFW diehards, I think that this book would dampen anyone's enthusiasm for tennis (or avant garde film, for that matter). On a mmore positive note, it will increase your respect for editors because DFW either didn't have one or the poor fellow was bored senseless.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Infinite Jest

    I just finished this book last night, and I was very pleased that I read this huge book. It is a huge book and a very difficult read but it is not impossible to read. The most important thing to be when you're reading this book is to be patient. At times you will ask yourself, "Is there a point to this?" I have asked myself this question but those sections that seem out of place are sometimes the best in the book. I would defiantly recommend this book. Overall there are four words/ phrases to describe this book: tennis, drugs, Quebecois separatists in wheelchairs, and movies. Enjoy!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2005

    What can I say?

    I loved it. I'm a fan of Mr. Wallace's other works too, but this one is by far my favorite. Well worth the time it took me to read it. And I don't think it's near as hard as everyone makes it out to be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    Exceptional

    One of the best books I've ever read.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    This book is a long one, it was sitting on my bookshelf for almo

    This book is a long one, it was sitting on my bookshelf for almost a year before I worked up enough courage to read it. There are many points where I began to feel dumb or things that seem like a waste of time to read but overall this book is amazing. DFW is a genius as evident by this masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    I can't believe it, but after two years (off and on, obviously)

    I can't believe it, but after two years (off and on, obviously) and 1100+ pages, I really want to start over!  What an amazing book!  absolutely recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    There is no doubt that the book is well written and DFW has a un

    There is no doubt that the book is well written and DFW has a unique literary voice. That being said, the story is long and pointless with no cohesive plot and absolutely nothing in the way of a resolution. There were interesting parts and there were funny parts, but this is in no way a page turner. The story itself felt like a run on sentence about 3 subjects I had no idea I couldn't care less about until now. I finished it only because I started it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    The 90's Personified

    This book is everything the 90's ever was or wanted to be. The twisting plot takes place in a dystopian near-future where each year has advertising rights sold on it. To keep track of all the characters would drive anyone crazy. To keep track of every plot point would take longer than actually reading the book. This book is smart, funny, angsty, and witty. It reflects the time it was written in and it holds up as one of the greatest novels of the 20th century.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The Jest is on You

    I read about 300 pages before I realized the jest was on the reader for trying to slog through this ridiculous book. In other words, don't bother.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9