Customer Reviews for

Infinite Sacrifice

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I'm a details person, what can I say? I love the tiny details of

I'm a details person, what can I say? I love the tiny details of a story that make it complete. Infinite Sacrifice is about all those small details, so I was in heaven!

When L.E. Waters contacted me for a review, I was supremely intrigued by the blurb. Reincarnation wi...
I'm a details person, what can I say? I love the tiny details of a story that make it complete. Infinite Sacrifice is about all those small details, so I was in heaven!

When L.E. Waters contacted me for a review, I was supremely intrigued by the blurb. Reincarnation will always fascinate me, then she succinctly pointed out out that one life involves vikings. Now, they are Dane's not Norwegian, but vikings are vikings so I was even more interested. With that said, I was mildly hesitant only because I wasn't sure how all the lives were going to be combined into one soul without confusion (that's what I get for reading reviews prior to reading a book, I usually read them after I've read the story because I don't like going into a book with preconceived notions). I was wrong to be hesitant, so very wrong!

I was quickly entranced by the writing style as I partook in this unique, fascinating adventure. L.E. Waters captures scenery and dialogue with such ease that it's easy to picture in your head, everything rolls naturally. No stilting, no rushing, no forcing. There are a lot of details to take in as we visit four of Lazrina's (soul name) lives, but I found those details to be easy to keep track of (see, preconceived notion that it would be confusing). It wasn't confusing in the least, but then again, I pride myself on having an eye for those kind of details. Any small details, really. Also, L.E. Waters graciously supplies a chart at the end of each life to help the reader keep track of who was who within those four lives. It also helps that we visit each life one after the other without unnecessary spacing. It helps keep the people, or rather their souls, fresh in the readers mind. It also helps that each soul has at least one thing that helps identify them with each new life. You'll see once you read the book.

The concept was well-crafted, tightly woven together so there weren't any gaping holes. Everything fit together perfectly, like matching puzzle pieces. I cannot even imagine how much time went into Infinite Sacrifice, between the researched history and piecing together the lives of not only one person, but the supporting characters as well. It's really four mini stories rolled into a bigger story where everything ties together to make a compelling tale about the lessons a soul learns throughout their existence. I loved piecing together the tiny pieces to figure out who was positive, negative or neutral, but all influencing Lazrina's soul.

One of the best parts is that L.E. Waters delivers history in a factual sense. She didn't romanticize it, which I greatly appreciated. She wrote about the ways of each life, never masking the ugly with pretty words to disguise the harsh facts. If you betrayed a law, you were killed. If you were a slave, you were owned, with few (if any) sympathizing with you. If you were a female, you had no power, often judged by who you married, owned by the man you married. The harsh realities of history were in your face, and I liked that!

If you enjoy history, read Infinite Sacrifice. If you enjoy reincarnation, read Infinite Sacrifice. If you want a unique, one-of-a-kind story, read Infinite Sacrifice. Or how about you just read Infinite Sacrifice? It's an absolutely amazing story! And, lucky for us, Infinite Devotion (the second book) is already out!

posted by ByTheBeachReads on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short

First thing i noticed was as i turned the pages is ur missing a page at every new chapter....very annnoying. Love the take and views on heaven though. I have met many ppl over the years who believes this is what life and heaven truely are. With the sole eception of ho...
First thing i noticed was as i turned the pages is ur missing a page at every new chapter....very annnoying. Love the take and views on heaven though. I have met many ppl over the years who believes this is what life and heaven truely are. With the sole eception of how short it is its a good read. Will get second book.

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    I'm a details person, what can I say? I love the tiny details of

    I'm a details person, what can I say? I love the tiny details of a story that make it complete. Infinite Sacrifice is about all those small details, so I was in heaven!

    When L.E. Waters contacted me for a review, I was supremely intrigued by the blurb. Reincarnation will always fascinate me, then she succinctly pointed out out that one life involves vikings. Now, they are Dane's not Norwegian, but vikings are vikings so I was even more interested. With that said, I was mildly hesitant only because I wasn't sure how all the lives were going to be combined into one soul without confusion (that's what I get for reading reviews prior to reading a book, I usually read them after I've read the story because I don't like going into a book with preconceived notions). I was wrong to be hesitant, so very wrong!

    I was quickly entranced by the writing style as I partook in this unique, fascinating adventure. L.E. Waters captures scenery and dialogue with such ease that it's easy to picture in your head, everything rolls naturally. No stilting, no rushing, no forcing. There are a lot of details to take in as we visit four of Lazrina's (soul name) lives, but I found those details to be easy to keep track of (see, preconceived notion that it would be confusing). It wasn't confusing in the least, but then again, I pride myself on having an eye for those kind of details. Any small details, really. Also, L.E. Waters graciously supplies a chart at the end of each life to help the reader keep track of who was who within those four lives. It also helps that we visit each life one after the other without unnecessary spacing. It helps keep the people, or rather their souls, fresh in the readers mind. It also helps that each soul has at least one thing that helps identify them with each new life. You'll see once you read the book.

    The concept was well-crafted, tightly woven together so there weren't any gaping holes. Everything fit together perfectly, like matching puzzle pieces. I cannot even imagine how much time went into Infinite Sacrifice, between the researched history and piecing together the lives of not only one person, but the supporting characters as well. It's really four mini stories rolled into a bigger story where everything ties together to make a compelling tale about the lessons a soul learns throughout their existence. I loved piecing together the tiny pieces to figure out who was positive, negative or neutral, but all influencing Lazrina's soul.

    One of the best parts is that L.E. Waters delivers history in a factual sense. She didn't romanticize it, which I greatly appreciated. She wrote about the ways of each life, never masking the ugly with pretty words to disguise the harsh facts. If you betrayed a law, you were killed. If you were a slave, you were owned, with few (if any) sympathizing with you. If you were a female, you had no power, often judged by who you married, owned by the man you married. The harsh realities of history were in your face, and I liked that!

    If you enjoy history, read Infinite Sacrifice. If you enjoy reincarnation, read Infinite Sacrifice. If you want a unique, one-of-a-kind story, read Infinite Sacrifice. Or how about you just read Infinite Sacrifice? It's an absolutely amazing story! And, lucky for us, Infinite Devotion (the second book) is already out!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Can't wait to start reading the Sequel!! Brought to you by OBS

    Can't wait to start reading the Sequel!!

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Angie

    This was an amazing journey that I literally couldn’t put down. I wasn’t sure about reading a book about Angels and heaven. I’m wary of things that are too “preachy” but this book is probably the furthest thing from that. I started reading at 9:00 pm and didn’t put the book down til I was finished at 4:00 am.

    Maya has arrived at the pearly gates to discover that she’s not anywhere NEAR where she thought she was. She meets her spirit guide who explains to her that she’s got a couple things she needs to do first. Like understand what her lessons to learn have been and truly understand them.

    To see the journey of a soul through time and continents was beautiful. Through a series of 4 short stories we discover that Maya’s soul has been a priest, a slave, a mother and a well-to-do wife. Her soul has learned painful lessons on love and sacrifice from every experience and made her who she is now, but is she done? What more could she possibly need to know before reuniting with the ones she loves in eternal bliss? We saw 4 incarnations of her soul and know that there are at least 5 as she is now Maya, but we learn nothing of her life as Maya.

    Waters has spent countless hours researching the eras she writes about. The writing was amazing. I was transported throughout the world and had vivid images of the settings of all the stories. I was moved to tears in more than one story. In the end I didn’t feel preached to at all, but I did have a completely different perspective on what the afterlife might be like. I have to read Infinite Devotion (book #2) immediately!

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Terrific historical fiction

    Never have I been one to prefer historical fiction, but this fantastic series has opened my eyes to the possibilities! Not only is it well written but its like a collection of short stories with a crew of wonderfully developed characters that follow it throughout. I never thought I'd enjoy this book as much as I did, but do yourself a favor and invest in this story. It's well worth it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    AWESOME! Not the overused version, like great and awesome power.

    Great book, great concept, great tying the mini-stories together
    ... And this was just book 1!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    What a read

    So enjoyed every word. A book you want to go on forever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    A definite must read!

    Very intriguing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Wicked good

    I really, really enjoyed this book. I was certain at the end of each life that the the next life could not possibly be as good but was delighted to find that I was wrong. I loved this book and can't wait to read the next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Imaginative and sweeping in scope

    I was very impressed at the idea and the scope of the story. The idea that one reviews ones previous lives before going on to the next level enchanted me. The stories are very well written and effortlessly draw the reader in.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Loved it!

    This book is long, but according to the author of this book, so are our lives. Its a story about one womans soul and its many journeys. Intrresting to think that maybe this life now really isn't all there is..I love a book that makes me think. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Buy this now!

    Ive written reviews for all books in the series, which says a lot since I do not have the patience to write a review. I need the fourth book to come out NOW!
    Very interesting past life regression story filled with history and deep thoughts on life's big questions. Why are we here and have we been here before? This is a story though. My reaction was to think, but I mostly enjoyed it as a beautiful tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Interesting and enjoyable

    I enjoyed this book for a number of reasons, one of which is because it deals with two things I am really interested in: history and past lives. I feel it is well written but not over the top.
    I look forward to #2 in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Interesting and enjoyable

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    One of the Most Phenominal Books I've Ever read

    Ive loved to read for well over 40 yrs., so therefore I've read probably thousands of books.This is the very first time however,that I feel compelled to write a book review..Yes,this book is THAT good.It's a story in itself how this book even ended up on my Nook in the first place as it's not the Genre that I read,which I guess can be considered Hsitorical/fiction slash Fantasy.
    I was transported from the first page to another time and place,and despite having a house to clean,children to feed,and a gazzillion other things to do,I just couldn't put this book down and read it in 2 sittings,finishing in less than 24 hours.
    The story begins with the main character,Maya,dying.Once she gets to Heaven?,she meets her spirit guide,who takes her through not only one life review,but many many of them-making this several mesmerizing books within a book.I cant get into any more detail as I dont want to ruin this journey for you,and quite a journey it is,in fact several of them.
    The author has clearly done her homework,regarding the time periods,many of which I never knew anything about before having read this book,making me wish my history teacher had made those years come alive as E.L Waters did.
    I've also never bought a series of books before,until now.Immediately upon finishing this book,I bought and devoured the 2nd one in the series,again in under 24 hours,and Ive just begun reading book 3.There's so much more to say,so I'll continue on for my review of book 2.Until then,if you love to read great books,I personally guarentee,you will love this book.We have for sure,not heard the last from E.L Waters..There is not a doubt in my mind that if Oprah reads this book,it will for sure be chosen for her book club,as there is so much to talk about,and lessons to be learned and wrapped up in a beautiful bow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Adventure

    Things that make you go hummmm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    One of the best books

    Such a wonderful free book on nook. Cryed and laughed. Highly recommend this!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Splendid!

    I very rarely am pleasantly surprised by the free books offered on my Nook. Usually, I'm under whelmed and left wanting more. However, that is not the case with Infinite Sacrifice.

    The premise of the book is intriguing. I was immediately hooked into the story. With each life I found myself seeking out the common characters with enthusiasm. Beyond the unique premise is an equally unique format. The sections are essentially short stories the author ties together through reappearing characters and themes.

    Each story is beautifully written and as historically accurate as any fictional story can be. The author uses vivid details to immerse the reader into each life's setting. Yet despite so many shifting settings and characters, the author's writing style and voice is consistent; lending to seamless continuity.

    I am not a professional reviewer. I am just an avid reader who was so impressed by this book I felt it necessary to write this review. I highly recommend you delve into this book. Even if at some point this book is no longer free - it's worth paying for!

    Now I am off to buy the second book. I have many lives to read and lessons to learn...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2