BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Infinity (Chronicles of Nick Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 863 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(486)

4 Star

(206)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

great

Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained all the way through.

posted by KIs5 on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

This is a tough one.

Let me first start by saying that I am an avid Dark-Hunter fan. Kenyon's novels truly make me.....feel. The stories of Zarak and Acheron nearly tore my heart out while Ravyn's (my first introduction into this world) had me laughing out loud more times than I can remem...
Let me first start by saying that I am an avid Dark-Hunter fan. Kenyon's novels truly make me.....feel. The stories of Zarak and Acheron nearly tore my heart out while Ravyn's (my first introduction into this world) had me laughing out loud more times than I can remember.

With that said, this book I would classify as a bit odd and very incomplete. I got the impression that Kenyon was just setting the theme or background of the overall arc to Nick's story. Kinda like a history lesson. You are reading what has happened; are familiar with the characters, but there's no evoking of any emotional response.

So, for this reason, I'm reserving judgment. And I suggest to the fans to be patient. Read this book only as a prelude to the "real" story that is coming, and anticipate an arc worthy of Nick and of Kenyon's talent.

posted by story-addict on May 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 872 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    This is a tough one.

    Let me first start by saying that I am an avid Dark-Hunter fan. Kenyon's novels truly make me.....feel. The stories of Zarak and Acheron nearly tore my heart out while Ravyn's (my first introduction into this world) had me laughing out loud more times than I can remember.

    With that said, this book I would classify as a bit odd and very incomplete. I got the impression that Kenyon was just setting the theme or background of the overall arc to Nick's story. Kinda like a history lesson. You are reading what has happened; are familiar with the characters, but there's no evoking of any emotional response.

    So, for this reason, I'm reserving judgment. And I suggest to the fans to be patient. Read this book only as a prelude to the "real" story that is coming, and anticipate an arc worthy of Nick and of Kenyon's talent.

    37 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained all the way through.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Addition to the Series!

    So it says Chronicles of Nick Series #1, and I get it, but to me it just picks up the Dark/Dream/Were-Hunter story as it leaves off from Bad Moon Rising.

    I LOVE that we are getting a history now and seeing Kyrian before Amanda, but the most important piece is finally getting a story through Nick's eyes so we can care about him as much as all the characters do.

    After all the Sherrilyn Kenyon books I have read, I think this one was her best writing yet.

    You can start with this book if you really want to, but you will enjoy it so much more if you start at the beginning with Julian's story in Fantasy Lover.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Mundie Mom's Review: Another Great Summer Escape (for YA Fantasy Readers)

    (This rating is actually 3.5 stars but I rounded up. It was a very good read.)

    Let me admit a bias right off the bat. I didn't read any of Sherilynn's Dark Hunter series and I realized from perusing her website that ooops, this was a prequel series. Now on her website, it states that you do not have to read the books sequentially, here: http://www.sherrilynkenyon.com/series.ph... This was fortunate for me because, as you know, I stick to pretty much YA fantasy and don't venture often into grown-up paranormal romance.

    Having admitted that bias, I have to say that the voice of the protagonist, Nick, captured my heart from the very first page. Sherilynn wrote this snarky, beaten down, broken boy in such a way that his words and actions tugged at this Mundie Mom's heart. And I know it's far-fetched to imagine a Mundie Mom liking a broken, snarky male protagonist. Nick's own description of himself as a "kid born standing up and talking back" (p. 421) says it all perfectly.

    What took me by surprise was how the world unfolded. One minute, Nick's in school, where his only demons are the school bullies who try to involve him in troublesome pursuits and the next minute -- whoa! zombies are actually invading the school. It was a sudden plunge into a world Nick only believed existed in video games. Because Sherilynn presented everything through Nick's eyes, I felt his world being turned upside down. And I felt his quick grasp on this new reality as he realizes zombies, demons and vampires are all real. In fact, they are all after him.

    Other characters are introduced at a fairly fast pace. I believe that if I had read the other books, I may have understood their personalties faster and grasped their influence on Nick a little bit more. But, I credit Sherilynn's excellent writing for allowing me to keep them straight as well as begin to see how they will tie into Nick's future.

    My favorite of these secondary characters is Bubba, the owner of the largest gun store in town. Bubba is a one-of-a-kind man, who delivers some of the best lines in the book: "There is always infinity, strap on your big-boy pants, hiking boots and go." (p. 410).

    This book is another great summer escape. Just think of it Mundie Moms, you get to spend some time with Nick in New Orleans fighting off zombies. Sounds like a perfect way to spend a hot evening.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Not Recommended (Borrow or Rent First)

    For someone who has never read the "Dark Hunters" series or any other books by Sherrilyn Kenyon, I must say that this book was a real disappointment to buy. The reviews seemed good and the summary of the book seemed interesting, which led to me buying it in the first place...bad idea.
    First of all, the book reads too much like some anime episode; there are many characters whose pasts and backgrounds are pushed onto the reader. It was annoying and confusing to figure out which character's perspective the book took, since one moment it would be from Nick's thoughts and POV and then the next, with no warning, it would be from a different character's...then it would switch back (also with no warning).
    The humor in the book made me grimace and shake my head. It was like reading a fanfic on Fanfiction; there was too much "push" to be funny and many charac. do not take anything seriously for very long. Practically everyone was dripping in sarcasm; completely the same and overused. Also, the use of chat-speak in the book did not make me impressed; in my opinion, only fanfic writers use "WTH?" in their stories.
    Characters you think will be important are suddenly pushed into the background and hardly seen. Nekoda, for example, seems to be an extremely important plot device in the beginning, until she's not seen throughout the entire book, and if not for Nick's CONSTANT remembering of her, you would forget she even existed.
    Overall: The storyline (if there is one) is interesting and original. However, unless you enjoy reading something like "Infinity: Episode 1" then I suggest borrowing it from a friend, getting a sample from your Nook, or ordering it from a library before buying it because it started out fine but it's later in the book that things become irritating.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    Jumbled..

    This book is all over the place. Nothing has detail or any real story line. It may have been written for a younger audience, but it would take a scientist to figure out this mess.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Question for those who have read this...

    Is this book very simple, as most young adult books are? Does it read as if by the mind of a 14 year old, or is it just reading about a 14 year old? As in, did she still write it as she did all the other DH books or is it more childish, written for the younger mind? I love Nick, and was so excited to get his whole story, but I just don't know about it being a YA novel, when I'm so used to the adult dark hunter series. I would hate to have this ruin the entire series for me. Please mention this in your review if you have read this book. THANK YOU!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    I've been looking for years for a Teen - YA novel that didn't st

    I've been looking for years for a Teen - YA novel that didn't star a girl who falls in love. Nick has a heart of gold and loves his mother.
    The amount of characters in this book was astonishing, but the characters each have very unique and interesting personalities. 
    I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good but quick read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Surprised

    For anyone that doesn't know the character Nick is part of Kenyon's adult romance Dark-Hunter series. It will be very interesting to see where Nick came from and how he got introduced into the world of the Dark Hunters. Sorta surprised this is going to be a YA book though since the main series is adult romance.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Horrible

    I was extreamly dissapointed in this book. From what the reviews said i had expected it to be amazing, but i swear the author has the mentality of a three year old. I will not be purchasing the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Pages

    How many pages is it

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Not for me

    I really didn't like this book. It was cringingly predictable and I badly written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Amazing book!

    It was great i couldnt stop reading it untill i had finish it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it

    This is a book unlike the others she has written and if your not into the fantasy world don't read. I personally loved it and couldn't put it down, I have been looking forward to the next one since I read the last page and cant wait. It was awesome if your into fantasy and the "other side" of life this is a must read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book! This has to be my favorite book in the whole

    I loved this book! This has to be my favorite book in the whole series. It had action, humor, romance, monsters, and 
    above all it kept me hooked from the first page! I loved this book! In plan to read it again! I hop this review was
    helpful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Awesome.

    This was by far the best book I have read in a very long time. I was very excited to start this series because of where the story takes place, which is in new orleans about an hour from where I live, let me tell you I was not dissapointed. Nick is absolutely hilarous, witty along with an excellent sense of humor. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the characters they were very well thought out. I liked the crazy streak in the story as well, bubba. Very amusing and am looking happily foward to the rest of the books of this series. I highly recomnend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Not worth it

    Even if this book were free dont waste your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Oogie boogie

    Fantastic!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Paranormal adventure w/of the angst

    This is a good story. The main character is a teen, but it doesn't have all of the angst and emo I've seen in other books. So many supernatural creatures get caught up in the battle against the zombies. Nick is an interesting character and a good center for all of the madness. This is a good beginning for a fiction book series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Hannah

    I loved this book. It was great. I also read the two after this one. Im also single im 15.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 872 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44