Customer Reviews for

Infinity (Chronicles of Nick Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 860 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(483)

4 Star

(206)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

great

Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained all the way through.

posted by KIs5 on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

This is a tough one.

Let me first start by saying that I am an avid Dark-Hunter fan. Kenyon's novels truly make me.....feel. The stories of Zarak and Acheron nearly tore my heart out while Ravyn's (my first introduction into this world) had me laughing out loud more times than I can remem...
Let me first start by saying that I am an avid Dark-Hunter fan. Kenyon's novels truly make me.....feel. The stories of Zarak and Acheron nearly tore my heart out while Ravyn's (my first introduction into this world) had me laughing out loud more times than I can remember.

With that said, this book I would classify as a bit odd and very incomplete. I got the impression that Kenyon was just setting the theme or background of the overall arc to Nick's story. Kinda like a history lesson. You are reading what has happened; are familiar with the characters, but there's no evoking of any emotional response.

So, for this reason, I'm reserving judgment. And I suggest to the fans to be patient. Read this book only as a prelude to the "real" story that is coming, and anticipate an arc worthy of Nick and of Kenyon's talent.

posted by story-addict on May 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Not Recommended (Borrow or Rent First)

    For someone who has never read the "Dark Hunters" series or any other books by Sherrilyn Kenyon, I must say that this book was a real disappointment to buy. The reviews seemed good and the summary of the book seemed interesting, which led to me buying it in the first place...bad idea.
    First of all, the book reads too much like some anime episode; there are many characters whose pasts and backgrounds are pushed onto the reader. It was annoying and confusing to figure out which character's perspective the book took, since one moment it would be from Nick's thoughts and POV and then the next, with no warning, it would be from a different character's...then it would switch back (also with no warning).
    The humor in the book made me grimace and shake my head. It was like reading a fanfic on Fanfiction; there was too much "push" to be funny and many charac. do not take anything seriously for very long. Practically everyone was dripping in sarcasm; completely the same and overused. Also, the use of chat-speak in the book did not make me impressed; in my opinion, only fanfic writers use "WTH?" in their stories.
    Characters you think will be important are suddenly pushed into the background and hardly seen. Nekoda, for example, seems to be an extremely important plot device in the beginning, until she's not seen throughout the entire book, and if not for Nick's CONSTANT remembering of her, you would forget she even existed.
    Overall: The storyline (if there is one) is interesting and original. However, unless you enjoy reading something like "Infinity: Episode 1" then I suggest borrowing it from a friend, getting a sample from your Nook, or ordering it from a library before buying it because it started out fine but it's later in the book that things become irritating.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    Jumbled..

    This book is all over the place. Nothing has detail or any real story line. It may have been written for a younger audience, but it would take a scientist to figure out this mess.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Horrible

    I was extreamly dissapointed in this book. From what the reviews said i had expected it to be amazing, but i swear the author has the mentality of a three year old. I will not be purchasing the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Not for me

    I really didn't like this book. It was cringingly predictable and I badly written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Not worth it

    Even if this book were free dont waste your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    Horrible

    This book may be more suited for younger viewers (elementary school kids whose parents won't mind if they read books with gory scenes and lots of language), but overall it was poorly written. The book jumps around a lot without explanation of how the characters got there. The fighting scenes are also poorly written with very vague description of what is happening and poor discription of the surroundings.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    I am so let down...

    As a dark hunter fan from the beginning this was a major let down. Seriously Swine Flu epidemic 1918?? You have got to be kidding me. There were way too many inconsistancies in this book for me to enjoy...I really didnt mind the whole "teen" thing but dont insult their intelligence. The kids are smarter than this book gave them or us credit for. I feel like the last few books have been so rushed that the quality of writting has been lost. IF you compare the 1st few books Julian, Kyrian & Talon to those of Fury, Fang & Aimee and now Nick the difference is unbearable. I really hate to say all of this. She is one of my most favorite authors. I have met her the last couple of times thru here and love her as a person. But really hope things go back to the way they were originally written for me to stay. Dev's book will make it or break it for me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    What. What?

    What is this about?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    This was listed as a children book in editorial review

    It is not and the themes are adult disfuntional and forget teen and young adult cassification too. Comic book but grafic novel fits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    How did they get that many reviews out

    Freebies for five stars? page counter

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    HORRID and offensive

    Absolutely hated this book. His mother is a stripper and we are supposed to feel so sorry for her that society disapproves of it?
    The excuses for her career choices are so illogical. She eats rancid meat? Um...don't strippers make good money? If she is barely making it on stripper money why is she still doing it? LOL Can't she find a better line of work where she doesn't degrade women, her son, and her self making so little money while still eating rancid meat?
    The bad thing is this book is aimed for teens.
    Beyond terrible story. Didn't even finish it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Book 1?

    If you're going to turn out a 216 page novella as book 1 in a series, you could give a bit of warning that the synopsis (which I'm assuming is for the entire series) isn't what the book is about. 216 pages of demonstrating your main character's social awkwardness and insecurity was a bit much. Additionally, when you do introduce plot elements they seemed awkward and ill fitting against the rest of the content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Where's the rest of the book?

    I read the sample, bought the book and it doesn't show more than sample. What do I do now?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    Boring and poorly written

    I am a huge dark hunter series fan, but this book was horrible. Kenyon is one of my favorite authors, but I thought this book was poorly written. I didn't like how it was written more like a teen book, not even a good one at that. The story line was lacking any emotion or any sense of reality. (and by that I mean, at least with her other paranormal books I'm not sitting there thinking "this is so lame") It didn't tie along with any of her other books in the series as far as paranormal stuff and I thought it was extremely boring. It would have been A LOT better if she had written Nicks book all in one and had it be like Acheron's with large sections of his life divided.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3