Customer Reviews for

Infinity (Chronicles of Nick Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 858 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(483)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

great

Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained all the way through.

posted by KIs5 on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

This is a tough one.

Let me first start by saying that I am an avid Dark-Hunter fan. Kenyon's novels truly make me.....feel. The stories of Zarak and Acheron nearly tore my heart out while Ravyn's (my first introduction into this world) had me laughing out loud more times than I can remem...
Let me first start by saying that I am an avid Dark-Hunter fan. Kenyon's novels truly make me.....feel. The stories of Zarak and Acheron nearly tore my heart out while Ravyn's (my first introduction into this world) had me laughing out loud more times than I can remember.

With that said, this book I would classify as a bit odd and very incomplete. I got the impression that Kenyon was just setting the theme or background of the overall arc to Nick's story. Kinda like a history lesson. You are reading what has happened; are familiar with the characters, but there's no evoking of any emotional response.

So, for this reason, I'm reserving judgment. And I suggest to the fans to be patient. Read this book only as a prelude to the "real" story that is coming, and anticipate an arc worthy of Nick and of Kenyon's talent.

posted by story-addict on May 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Addition to the Series!

    So it says Chronicles of Nick Series #1, and I get it, but to me it just picks up the Dark/Dream/Were-Hunter story as it leaves off from Bad Moon Rising.

    I LOVE that we are getting a history now and seeing Kyrian before Amanda, but the most important piece is finally getting a story through Nick's eyes so we can care about him as much as all the characters do.

    After all the Sherrilyn Kenyon books I have read, I think this one was her best writing yet.

    You can start with this book if you really want to, but you will enjoy it so much more if you start at the beginning with Julian's story in Fantasy Lover.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Mundie Mom's Review: Another Great Summer Escape (for YA Fantasy Readers)

    (This rating is actually 3.5 stars but I rounded up. It was a very good read.)

    Let me admit a bias right off the bat. I didn't read any of Sherilynn's Dark Hunter series and I realized from perusing her website that ooops, this was a prequel series. Now on her website, it states that you do not have to read the books sequentially, here: http://www.sherrilynkenyon.com/series.ph... This was fortunate for me because, as you know, I stick to pretty much YA fantasy and don't venture often into grown-up paranormal romance.

    Having admitted that bias, I have to say that the voice of the protagonist, Nick, captured my heart from the very first page. Sherilynn wrote this snarky, beaten down, broken boy in such a way that his words and actions tugged at this Mundie Mom's heart. And I know it's far-fetched to imagine a Mundie Mom liking a broken, snarky male protagonist. Nick's own description of himself as a "kid born standing up and talking back" (p. 421) says it all perfectly.

    What took me by surprise was how the world unfolded. One minute, Nick's in school, where his only demons are the school bullies who try to involve him in troublesome pursuits and the next minute -- whoa! zombies are actually invading the school. It was a sudden plunge into a world Nick only believed existed in video games. Because Sherilynn presented everything through Nick's eyes, I felt his world being turned upside down. And I felt his quick grasp on this new reality as he realizes zombies, demons and vampires are all real. In fact, they are all after him.

    Other characters are introduced at a fairly fast pace. I believe that if I had read the other books, I may have understood their personalties faster and grasped their influence on Nick a little bit more. But, I credit Sherilynn's excellent writing for allowing me to keep them straight as well as begin to see how they will tie into Nick's future.

    My favorite of these secondary characters is Bubba, the owner of the largest gun store in town. Bubba is a one-of-a-kind man, who delivers some of the best lines in the book: "There is always infinity, strap on your big-boy pants, hiking boots and go." (p. 410).

    This book is another great summer escape. Just think of it Mundie Moms, you get to spend some time with Nick in New Orleans fighting off zombies. Sounds like a perfect way to spend a hot evening.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Paranormal adventure w/of the angst

    This is a good story. The main character is a teen, but it doesn't have all of the angst and emo I've seen in other books. So many supernatural creatures get caught up in the battle against the zombies. Nick is an interesting character and a good center for all of the madness. This is a good beginning for a fiction book series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Infinity

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon
    Title of review: Infinity
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction
    The main idea of this book is that monsters exist, and there are creatures out there that will hunt and destroy them. The intended audience of this book is teens. Her purpose is to show you the life growing up of one of the characters in a previous series of hers. My position on this book is that it is intended to be fantasy tied into growing up as an out cast.
    Description and summary of main points
    Sherrilyn was born in Columbus, Georgia. She had a rough beginning to her writing books, but after awhile her writing finally took off. She is most famous for her Dark-Hunter series. I am judging this book by the characters, its plot, theme, and its setting. Some of the main points of the book are when nick saves the tourists from being mugged; even though his initial plan was helping the thugs do it (unbeknownst to him). "...This couldn't be happening. They were mugging two tourists? And I'm helping." Another main point is when he was attacked by the zombies in Kyrian's house. ".Did you know your housekeeper can handle a knife like a street fighter and has no qualms about hacking people up with in? ..." among other points

    Evaluation
    The plot of this story is simply this: Nick and his mother are living in an apartment in squalor. Nick is a social outcast at his school. Nick is mortally wounded and owes his life Kyrian. To pay off his debt Nick goes to work for him. It is while he is at work that he is first attacked by "zombies". ".Did you know your housekeeper can handle a knife like a street fighter and has no qualms about hacking people up with in? ...". Later he and his friends figure out how to cure the "zombies". Later a bokor obtained the computer program that made the "zombies". Then they capture Nick and force him to play the video game. Eventually they destroy the game and turn all the "zombies" to normal.

    Conclusion
    Infinity is a wonderful book. Monsters exist. They are out there, and if you're not careful, they just might find you.

    Your final review: four stars

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Maybe some people are misunderstanding?

    I found this to be an excellent beginning into the life of Nick. This book is supposed to give readers insight on how he became associated with Acheron and the dark-hunters. It's not his own dark-hunter book. If you look at Sherrilyn's website under The Chronicles of Nick you'll understand that she's writing about his life "prehunter" (which I believe will be between 2-3 books)that starts when he meets Acheron and Kyrian and then follows his life until he gets his own book as a dark-hunter. And yes, if you google it, there actually was a flu epidemic in 1918. Not sure if it was the swine flu, but a flu nontheless. I found this book to be intriguing. The secret about himself that everyone else seems to know except him. How everyone in his school is technically some kind of "other". I especially liked how he interacted with his mom. Typical teenager there! The only thing that became kind of confusing to me was when Ambrose came into the picture. I know he's supposed to be Nick in the future but the way it came into the story was kind of confusing to me. Other than that I thought it was very well written and I can't wait for the next!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Got me hooked


    Got me hooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    If you like Sherrilyn Kenyon fantasy, this book is for you. if y

    If you like Sherrilyn Kenyon fantasy, this book is for you. if you're here for romance only, you might not be interested. Most of the romance is strictly adolescent but this is still a good story  and an interesting spin-off to the Dark-hunter series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Great read

    I really like this novel, so I brought the second book in the series, and I will be read the others in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    This is a multi-layered complex tale as high school student, Nic

    This is a multi-layered complex tale as high school student, Nick, learns he is more than his classmates say he is. Different perspectives and some timelines are interwoven throughout the storyline.

    Not all the if the conflicts are resolved, but this is the first in a series.

    The poor grammar used occasionally early in some characters speech fades thankfully. Perhaps it is used for characterization or for flair, but there are other methods or character development which the author used prior to and afterwards, so it is annoying and confusing.

    A colorful and vast array of characters appear and interact throughout the plot. Dialogue and character interactions are interspersed with humor. Descriptions and scenery are varied and detailed.

    Overall, an enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    It's just fun!

    Not the best book Kenyon has written. However, it was fun to read. It's light and funny. The descriptions of odors are great. You can actually create the smell in your mind. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Enjoyed the read

    If you are a fan of the Dark hunter series, you already know Nick. This gives you a nice view of Nick as a teenager, and introduces you to a possible future for Nick. I enjoyed it very much, even if it is considered YA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Ananimous

    Seems like a pretty good book. Is it????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Good book ... kept me interested.

    Good book ... kept me interested.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Anonymous

    It was a little bit better than okay it says gah like ten times a chapter and that totally sucks ( it was a 3.5 but i rounded up).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Umm..... ok then

    This book was weird, but entertaining, in a strange way. The author didnt go into that much depth with the whole dark hunters thing so you would have to read that series first (even though i didnt) and stuff. Nick Gautier (Go-shay) has a not so perfect life. He and his mom do what they can to scrape by with the little money she gets at her stripping job, Nick is teased and picked on for his clothes from the second hand store, and to top it off, his dad is a murderer and has been in jail for who knows how long. Great life i know. But it all changes when one of the people he thought was a friend pulled a gun on him. I wont say any more in case you havent read it yet. I liked the book, but it was a bit confusing when it switched characters like that. Ill give it four stars for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    he synopsis is somewhat misleading and relies on knowledge of th

    he synopsis is somewhat misleading and relies on knowledge of the Dark
    Hunter series. There’s that little bit popped in there about how the
    Dark-Hunters are “immortal vampire-slayers who risk everything to save
    humanity” – but there’s nothing in the book about them being
    vampire-slayers, or even that they’re trying to save humanity. In fact,
    they’re not really expanded on much at all in this particular book. So
    what is the book about? It’s about a young teen, Nick Gautier (who
    pronounces his name, Gautier, with an “sh” in it for some reason, but I
    just spent the whole book pronouncing it the French way – Go-tee-ay
    instead of Go-shay). He comes from a difficult background – his father
    is in prison for murder and his mother struggles to earn enough money to
    keep them going – but is a pupil at a prestigious school. Because of
    just how different he is to everyone else there, he is often bullied not
    only by his fellow pupils but also by the head teacher. His mum doesn’t
    pay any attention to his complaints and Nick is very frustrated by the
    existence he leads. Frustrated enough to lash out and agree to
    participate in something illegal at his friends’ prompting. This results
    in Nick getting shot and a mysterious stranger stepping in to save him
    from certain death. The mysterious stranger accepts Nick into his
    employ in exchange for paying his hospital bills (which his mother
    cannot afford). This throws Nick into a new world of supernatural
    creatures that he’d never even dreamt could actually exist. This first
    book deals with one supernatural creature in particular: zombies! Argh…
    brainssss… But these zombies are a little apart from the norm. Those
    who become zombies are still living. They’re no longer in control of
    their motor functions and seem to be actually hunting their targets
    rather than just going for the closest piece of human meat.
    Unfortunately for Nick, he’s one of those targeted. For someone who
    didn’t believe in the supernatural mere days earlier, he gets quite the
    wake-up call. There are some fabulous characters in here, such as Bubba
    and Mark the zombie hunters. They’re the bit of humour to bringer a bit
    of lighter laughter to a story that’s supposed to be fairly on the dark
    side. I liked them both and their rules for fighting zombies (shoot
    first; cover yourself in duck urine; etc.) For the most part, the novel
    was fairly tightly woven but there was one thing that was never really
    resolved: the game that induces living zombie-ism was only given to one
    person. It is hypothesised that someone else distributed the game to all
    the others who “changed”. But this is never expanded on. We never
    discover who distributed it beyond the original victim.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Summer is awsome

    This book is great, it is fairly interesting. It is a book i want to read. I always want to keep reading to see what happends. This book is not long thow it is only like 200 pages .
    Happy Reading:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    LUVED IT !!!!

    This book was so good and I could never put it down!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Great book Highly recommended!

    Infinity is an awesome book with great characters and twisting plot. I can't wait to read the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Read sample

    Read sample and thought it was hilarious. I loved all of the innapropriate humor incorporated in it. Its simply hilarious to read all of this stuff. Haha read the sample thn the book like me. Its great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11