BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Infinity Beach

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    Book tells a great story about mankind's neverending search for another intelligent species.

    A great book for anyone who likes science fiction or mystery. Very thrilling and suspenseful.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Fun but formulaic

    I've read several of McDevitt's books and enjoy his mystery writing style. But like Ludlam's novels they are very similar to each other. The first is usually the best because you dont yet know the formula. Regardless, Infinity Beach is a good escape and can be enjoyed even by those who don't care for sci fi, because it's actually a who-done-it that happens to be set in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    An Odd But Interesting Story

    It's a strange novel, starting a bit slow and building to an intriguing ending. It's a good read for people who enjoy the occasional mystery. I find the central premise to be a bit of a stretch (that they haven't found so much as a bacteria of non-terrestrial origin in something like two million cubic light years) but the author uses it pretty well. About the only criticism I can level is that I found nearly all of the characters unlikable - it drives the story nicely but the only person I found to be interesting was Solly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2002

    Awsome to the end !

    This book is gripping all the way through. Mystery, sci-fi, murder, and a few 'little' surprises, it's got it all. I've read just about all of his books, and this is his best !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Engaging mystery

    Solid read. Kept me anxious and curious.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Lasan

    Yawn. Hi.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Definitely an interesting read

    Galactic stories of civilizations meeting for the first time are not new. This one ends with a benign meeting for once. On the way to the happy ending, the book is written almost as a detective story with ample clues that leave one with 'on the way' mysteries to solve. It is not new that once we know we are not alone in the universe some will feel vindicated and others will just have to forgo their entrenched uniqueness.
    This leads to many reasons not to reveal others existences, as is the case after the first meeting. The second meeting however, shows earthlings in a noble light and the visitors as forgiving and understanding. Would that we could show the same in our own age and world. A gently written book that kept my interest on several levels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    recommend

    Good story--different with a mystery to boot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Very Highly Recommend Great Read

    suspenseful, well paced with well developed characters and situations. A fine cautionary tale of first contact situations, and an erudite look at governmental bureaucracy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Outstanding

    Strangely this is the first book I've read by this author, but it won't be the last!! From cover to cover it was an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Very good story

    This was a little different from what I normally read but it was a very interesting story and a good example of things that can go wrong when people don't understand one another. The story keeps you interested till the end. Good work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Highly recommend this book.

    Once you pick up Infinity Beach, you do not want to put it down. It grabs you from the first page.
    Very well written with a little different twist on first contact.
    Look forward to reading more of Jack McDevitt books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    A sci-fi detective story.

    A bit of a slow starter, but well worth the patience. An interesting main character...determined and brave. This is really a detective story/mystery thriller set in the distant future. I would recommend Infinity Beach to lovers of both mysteries and science fiction.h

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Jamiyafaison@gmail.com

    Add me plz

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Pine star

    No i wont this is my territory!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Darkmoon

    Stay off Boulderclan territory or we attack. Got it?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    IMPOSTER ALERT IMPOSTER ALERT ALERT ALERT

    ITS A GIRL PRETENDING TO BE KYLE HE KNOW WHO IT IS IMPOSTER IMPOSTER IMPOSTER IMPOSTER

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Fog clan map

    First result is camp. Second result is the map. Third result are the bios. Fourth result is leaders den. Fith result is the med cat den. Sixth result is nursery. Seventh result is warriors den. Eighth result is apprenteces den. Ninth tenth and eleventh results r training ground. Twelth and thirteenth results are the forest.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Ryoko

    Hello

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Kiekehana

    Waits

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2