BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Influencer: The Power to Change Anything

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

New techniques for changing behavior

This book is a joy, and, as the authors no doubt intended, an inspiration. Often, those who try to create change over the long term give up and become resigned to the way things are. Into this stable situation come five authors ¿ Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, David Ma...
This book is a joy, and, as the authors no doubt intended, an inspiration. Often, those who try to create change over the long term give up and become resigned to the way things are. Into this stable situation come five authors ¿ Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, David Maxfield, Ron McMillan and Al Switzler ¿ full of optimism, examples and, best of all, practical techniques you can use right away to create change. It would be easy to say the book is too optimistic, or that it claims too much is possible, but some of its examples show the success of sweeping, ambitious changes. Instead of clinging to a dour but ¿realistic¿ view of the world, they invite you to re-examine your influence strategies and analyze your environment for new clues, whether you are trying to change yourself or your employees. The social possibilities are exciting. We recommend this book to anyone who is trying to create social change, and especially people who are open-minded and at ease with new ideas.

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting but I didn't really learn much

I enjoyed reading this book and its easy to see the theory behind how to become an INFLUENCER but I didn't really grasp from the book a check-list of how to go about changing behavior. The author gave some fantastic examples in the book but they were large-scale 'e.g.,...
I enjoyed reading this book and its easy to see the theory behind how to become an INFLUENCER but I didn't really grasp from the book a check-list of how to go about changing behavior. The author gave some fantastic examples in the book but they were large-scale 'e.g., eradicating the Guinea worm in Africa, etc.'. What about about those of us who go to work every day in corporate America. Again, as I said, I enjoyed the book and I see 'the Forest' but I did not learn how to see 'the trees'.

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    New techniques for changing behavior

    This book is a joy, and, as the authors no doubt intended, an inspiration. Often, those who try to create change over the long term give up and become resigned to the way things are. Into this stable situation come five authors ¿ Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, David Maxfield, Ron McMillan and Al Switzler ¿ full of optimism, examples and, best of all, practical techniques you can use right away to create change. It would be easy to say the book is too optimistic, or that it claims too much is possible, but some of its examples show the success of sweeping, ambitious changes. Instead of clinging to a dour but ¿realistic¿ view of the world, they invite you to re-examine your influence strategies and analyze your environment for new clues, whether you are trying to change yourself or your employees. The social possibilities are exciting. We recommend this book to anyone who is trying to create social change, and especially people who are open-minded and at ease with new ideas.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Solid research but short on actionability

    Since I own Crucial Confrontations and Crucial Conversations both written by Patterson and his colleagues, I was really looking forward to reading this book and putting its advice into action. The book is well researched, well written and easy to read, however I didn't find it very actionable. I quickly understood the message but need more direction on how to apply all this new knowledge. Their other books are great at providing examples and scripts of how to apply the knowledge. I missed that in this book. I would say that the information in the book is useful in understanding how situations develop and people move into positions of influence, but I was expecting something I could use right-away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Filled with Proven Methods by Experts Around the World

    Reading Influencer: The Power to Change Anything is akin to watching an enjoyable movie filled with captivating characters and riveting plots. It uses the most powerful tool in the world for persuading people; and literally cracks the code for changing human behavior. On the day I received my copy, I experienced the perfect storm with my family. I was going to give them my I-am-king-of-this-castle speech until I read chapter three which was entitled: Change the Way You Change Minds. <BR/><BR/>Besides, the last time I gave that speech; I had to move into a new castle. When it comes to altering behaviors, the authors feel you need to help others answer only two questions: Can they do it? Is it worth it? I encourage you to purchase Influencer because you can do it, and it is worth it!<BR/>Reggie Johnson, Success-Tapes.Com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Interesting but I didn't really learn much

    I enjoyed reading this book and its easy to see the theory behind how to become an INFLUENCER but I didn't really grasp from the book a check-list of how to go about changing behavior. The author gave some fantastic examples in the book but they were large-scale 'e.g., eradicating the Guinea worm in Africa, etc.'. What about about those of us who go to work every day in corporate America. Again, as I said, I enjoyed the book and I see 'the Forest' but I did not learn how to see 'the trees'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    Of the many books I have read and reviewed, this book hits the core of how behavior has so much effect on enfluencing actions and receiving the desired results. I have purchased several of the books and given them to upcoming leaders in local government positions as well as some established leaders of organizations. The feedback has been unanimous-great read fantastic insight on what really makes a difference. Some call it behavior modification. I see it as personal onion peeling in the mirror. The examples in the book are extremely significant. Read it you will like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good, not great

    Good book. I thought it was going to teach more. The book gives a lot of examples of events that were influenced, instead of teaching you how to influence, plus most of the examples were more just common sense and natural progression than influence. Interesting read though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    We All Want To Make The World A Better Place

    This book is the first step in bringing about a change in your life that you can live with. I highly recommend it. I'd also suggest that you buy another book called "When God Stopped Keeping Score." It's an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. Given the chance, it too will change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    Yes, I read this one twice! Point? Anything can change for the better! This Author Shows the Way! Outstanding! Congratulations! Time Well Spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    Will unseat Tipping Point and Good to Great as bestseller

    WOW! This is an extraordinary book. Inspiring and compelling this will be a landmark book on influence. Written with enticing style this soon to be bestseller is worth every minute. i could not put it down. Profound insights that I will revisit throughout my career. The best practice examples alone are worth the read. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    An Intriguing Read

    Overall, a well-written and engaging book on a topic that could have been delivered in a very dry and distant manner. The authors employ a wide variety of examples to illustrate principles of influence, from weight loss to developing-country issues to corporate scenarios, giving the book widespread appeal. The stories chosen follow powerful 'influencers' around the globe as they successfully change human behavior, including eradicating the guinea worm in Africa, curbing the spread of AIDS in Thailand, and reforming convicted gangsters in California. A variety of corporate and health care scenarios are also shared. The stories are poignant and attention-grabbing. The anecdotal style kept my interest and made abstract concepts accessible and applicable. I found myself thinking about the examples hours after I¿d put down the book. And the authors' appropriate use of humor inspired several out-loud chuckles as I was reading. Overall, this book is hands-down the best and most thorough book I have ever encountered on influence. Persuasive. I would use their model for my company in a heartbeat. Only I¿d want to hire them to come in and do all the hard work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    Influencer is a MAJOR Influence!

    Not only did I enjoy reading Influencer, but I am also reading it through a second time. This book is extremely easy to understand for people like me that don't usually read or comprehend books about business, communications, etc. Complex ideas are broken down into clear, defined steps that I have already applied in various areas of my life. Thank-you VitalSmarts for providing your research to the masses and helping me recognize that I can be an influencer everyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    Influencer is THE Roadmap for Change

    I was both fascinated and inspired with Influencer. I consider the concepts and strategies in the book to be a well-charted road map to succeeding at change. After reading and re-reading the book, I have already begun to see practical application in my life. One of the profound ideas that I have taken to heart includes targeting just a handful of behaviors 'what the authors refer to as Vital Behaviors'. The idea that by changing just two or three bad habits or behaviors can make all the difference in whether you succeed at change is reassuring¿if not inspiring. This concept makes challenges that once seemed intimidating and unattainable now manageable and achievable. And, the six source model is literally a researched formula for succeeding at changing those vital behaviors. It makes so much sense that problems cannot be solved with one influence effort alone, 'I don¿t know why this concept didn¿t occur to me before' but that by using several motivational and enabling forces you can actually succeed where you¿ve been falling short time and time again. The inspiration came by way of reading the moving case studies of people who are targeting both vital behaviors and applying them to the six sources of influence to solve some of the world¿s most devastating problems. These case studies propelled me through the book and showed me, literally, that any effort¿even enormously devastating problems¿can be solved. Influencer leaves you with nothing to chance and everything to gain when it comes to making important and necessary changes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3