Customer Reviews for

The Informationist (Vanessa Michael Munroe Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 285 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!!!!!

Taylor Stevens' "The Informationist" is an absolute must read. If I had to compare the writing style to other remarkable authors I'd have to say, "Wilbur Smith meets Stieg Larsson." Taylor brings the story to life with the vivid details and precise depiction of a land a...
Taylor Stevens' "The Informationist" is an absolute must read. If I had to compare the writing style to other remarkable authors I'd have to say, "Wilbur Smith meets Stieg Larsson." Taylor brings the story to life with the vivid details and precise depiction of a land and people foreign to most. And for those who have firsthand knowledge of the inner politics, land, and peoples of Africa, you won't be disappointed in the true to life descriptions. I was reading through this so fast I was trying to make myself slow down so it would last longer. However, being the page-turner it is that didn't work, so I just read it twice. I have no doubt Taylor Stevens is going to be a household name. I'm looking forward to more Vanessa Michael Munroe attitude and adventure. You will not regret buying a copy for yourself and another to pass on to a friend.
"To my fellow childhood survivors -- you know who you are." Thank you Taylor!

posted by ZomBeeBonita on February 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious! -- 1/2 a star!

The heroine, Michael, is a mish mash of Mati Hari & the Terminator! Why are former Special Forces & SEAL members afraid of her? Who knows! Could it be here "special" knife training whereby she was raped repeatedly for years; naturally her confidant and mentor was unawar...
The heroine, Michael, is a mish mash of Mati Hari & the Terminator! Why are former Special Forces & SEAL members afraid of her? Who knows! Could it be here "special" knife training whereby she was raped repeatedly for years; naturally her confidant and mentor was unaware of the situation. Now there's a great analogy -- getting raped leads to martial arts expertise! Really, The Informationist is a lurid, underdeveloped, and implausible novel. Remember: Having the ability to write a good term paper can lead to a life of international intrique & the ability to stare down mercenaries and criminals of every sort. Warning: this novel is NOTHING like The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo! Avoid at all cost!

posted by JimBobTex on March 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 286 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Hilarious! -- 1/2 a star!

    The heroine, Michael, is a mish mash of Mati Hari & the Terminator! Why are former Special Forces & SEAL members afraid of her? Who knows! Could it be here "special" knife training whereby she was raped repeatedly for years; naturally her confidant and mentor was unaware of the situation. Now there's a great analogy -- getting raped leads to martial arts expertise! Really, The Informationist is a lurid, underdeveloped, and implausible novel. Remember: Having the ability to write a good term paper can lead to a life of international intrique & the ability to stare down mercenaries and criminals of every sort. Warning: this novel is NOTHING like The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo! Avoid at all cost!

    14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!!!!!

    Taylor Stevens' "The Informationist" is an absolute must read. If I had to compare the writing style to other remarkable authors I'd have to say, "Wilbur Smith meets Stieg Larsson." Taylor brings the story to life with the vivid details and precise depiction of a land and people foreign to most. And for those who have firsthand knowledge of the inner politics, land, and peoples of Africa, you won't be disappointed in the true to life descriptions. I was reading through this so fast I was trying to make myself slow down so it would last longer. However, being the page-turner it is that didn't work, so I just read it twice. I have no doubt Taylor Stevens is going to be a household name. I'm looking forward to more Vanessa Michael Munroe attitude and adventure. You will not regret buying a copy for yourself and another to pass on to a friend.
    "To my fellow childhood survivors -- you know who you are." Thank you Taylor!

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Exceptionally Dull Book

    The cover says that The Informationist is "A Thriller." That's a huge overstatement as I wasn't thrilled except to close the book when I finished it. The story is simply not interesting. Sure, there is some mystery there, but the main character is hardly believable. The bad guys in Equatorial Guinea are cardboard characters, and the various others simply not credible for being whom they are supposed to be. It seems that the author just creates one jam after another for the main character to get out of, and none of these jams are really very believable. The constant flipping of who is on her side seems highly contrived. Dull is the most succinct definition for this novel.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    Ridiculous

    This book is nothing like Steig Larsson's. If I could have given it less than one star, I would have. The character is drawn with no redeeming value, her unfeeling blood lust is macabre. She is morally bankrupt and the people who help her do so for no apparent reason. The geography is confusing, the characters one-note. The plot is poor at best. The author pushes her knowledge of the area in a pedantic way, but we are given too much of the weirdness and not enough of the background of a complex setting. There were basic mistakes in comparisons and descriptions (electric engine). I want my money back, and compensation for my time. It was just awful.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can't Get Enough

    Every reader who craves action and adventure will love this book. It is nonstop from cover to cover. The heroine, Vanessa, who goes by as many names as she has personae, is a kick-ass force of nature. She can be as fierce and deadly as a black mamba snake or as elegant and smooth as a high paid call girl on the make. She is multilingual, highly intelligent and lethal. Her preferred job is collecting highly sensitive, often obscure, yet very valuable information, which she sells to high paying clients around the world. She receives an unusual request to attempt to find an industrialist's daughter who has been missing in Africa for four years. All attempts to find her so far have come up short. The girl's father believes Vanessa is his last hope to find his daughter. Vanessa hasn't been back to her homeland of central Africa for years because of the memories of the people, alive and dead, which she left there long ago. Those memories will revive in her the rage and darkness which have been her hell and her salvation through numerous life threatening forays. Although preferring to work alone, her employer saddles her with a companion, who while highly skilled in his own right, is hardly a match for Vanessa's savage world. All the juju that she can call up will be needed to fight her enemies both past and present as she cuts her way deeper and deeper into the mystery that is awaiting in Africa. This book provided for review by the well read folks of Crown Publishers.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Great read

    First book in a long time that had my total attention! I loved it! I will start The Innocent right away!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    Mesmerising and Intense, a MUST read for fans of fiction everywhere!

    Taylor Stevens, in her first published work, mesmerises. At once well constructed and defined, as well as thought provoking and entertaining; The Inofrmationist left me longing for more. Her prose breathes intensity and life into her heroine which left this reader feeling a remarkable camaraderie with her champion of the vulnerable.

    Taylor Stevens is one to watch...if this book is any indication as to her future in fiction, I am decidedly excited to read what follows. What has this reader even more interested (if that were possible)is her personal biography, which can be found on her facebook page. One can only hope, at some point, that Miss Stevens sets aside her fiction and gives us a bit more of her own journey...but not until the saga of Vanessa Michael Munroe is played out to the end.

    While ANY appreciator of good writing, framing unique situations, will be enrapt; readers of the thriller genre, most specifically, fans of the late great Steig Larsson, will find this book a welcome respite from the hole he left behind. Thank God Stevens is here to fill it.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    A good read!

    Strong character development and exciting plot plot. Highly recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was so good that I stayed up all night finishing it and had to call in sick to work the following day. It's not to be missed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    OK

    Lizbeth Salander has nothing to worry about. This was an OK book, but in my opinion Lizbeth still holds the corner on the market when it comes to heroines. The book would have been a lot better if the author had included a map. I spent a lot of time with my World Atlas just following the geography Anne Smith

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Have your tissue ready!

    I downloaded this book for an upcoming trip. I thought I would read the first chapter before the trip and I was hooked! I finished the entire book in 3 days. It was well written, from the heart, and Conor's mission is incredible. What a remarkable journey. I loved the ending. ... a real story of inspiration and love!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Excellent

    Have read this and the 2nd in the series. Can't wait for the 3rd to be released. Love the protaganist, Munroe.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Laura Croft meets Nikita meets the Dragon Tatoo

    If my book club had not chosen this as a monthly selection I probably would have never discovered it--on the surface, not my kind of thing--but I am SO glad I jumped in! Tough, lean, descriptive prose--nothing is superflous--and a herione, that yes, is WAY over the top, but that's the biggest part of the fun. Munroe is a woman that, let's face it, many of us fantasize about being: sexy, lethal, brilliant, world-weary, fearless: a female Bryonic hero. Set in exotic locales in Africa and the Middle East, the novel sets a fast, involving pace from the beginning and doesn't let up. Some warning, however, in that the violence comes quickly and brutually--especially at the end. But the novel leaves you breathless.

    Stevens knows how to write in a cinematic fashion--you can picture this on screen thru every page: Angelina Jolie awaits, undoubtedly.

    While I found the follow up novel, "The Innocent" much less interesting and more dragging, this one won me over and I look forward to Stevens' third Munroe book. It's a wild over the top ride; take it and have some fun.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Highly Recommend - MUST READ

    If your tired of the same old thrillers and mysterys, you have to try this book. I bought it as a whim and couldn't put it down. I have a bad habit of skimming over some of the writing in books and this one I did not. I read ever word afraid I would miss something. The characters are real and loved the descriptive way Taylor describes the country and cultures. Her next book will be out in Dec and I cannot wait.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Informationist is a great read

    I am ashamed to admit I picked up The Informationist only after finding I had nothing else to read. I had read no reviews - or even the jacket cover. I spent the first few pages confused - as confused as Munroe's "targets" - but soon was unable to put it down.

    Stevens' writing allows the reader to gradually and almost subconsciously understand the characters, surroundings and plotlines, without the clumsy explanatory dialogue or detailed background information I have found so annoying in other books. The story is fast-paced and action-packed. But what really intrigued me were the characters.

    Vanessa Michael Munroe is a cultural chameleon, linguistic savant and unrivaled information gatherer and analyst with a tortured and violent past and a self-acknowledged tentative hold on sanity - a complex and richly developed character I came to care for deeply. The secondary characters are equally dimensional and I found myself quite invested in their fates - any one of them could support an entire book of his own.

    I hope Stevens continues to write stories like this one that keep me thinking long after the last page is turned.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    A heroine like no other

    I was hesitant to get this based on the description, but was hooked by page 5. Ms. Stevens created an incredible heroine and I do hope it's not the last time we will see "Michael". The setting was new and though the plot complicated, it seemed completely believable. The action scenes were vivid and brutally realistic. If you want to escape with a thriller and a touch of romance, you will not be disappointed by The Informationist!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Seriously good read. The denouement/explanation of what the hell

    Seriously good read. The denouement/explanation of what the hell is going on was a little confusing, but I think that may have just been mental fatigue on my part.

    Vanessa Michael Monroe is a kick-ass character, both figuratively and literally. She's not exactly likable in the traditional sense, but you can't really help but root for her as you get to know her. She's not endearing and she's pretty vengeful, but she has a strong sense of loyalty and curiousity (that hunt for information and knowledge) that are appealing traits.

    I won't get into the plot. This is a thriller and follows most of your usual thriller plot directions. But the execution was great and the characters really make this particular thriller pop.

    I saw a cover blurb that said this was like a combination of Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander and Robert Ludlum's Jason Bourn books and I think that's kind of spot on. Except these are better than Larsson's books because Stevens doesn't go off on fifty page tangents about financial and political journalism ;-)

    Definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Good read

    For those who enjoy a good adventure in less than known surrounding, this is a gran d adventure with a satisfying number of plot twists. The heroine is somewhat larger than life, but I can't wait to see how she developes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Action-packed

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Interesting Character and Location

    I enjoyed this book for a thriller read. It's about a woman lost in Africa and another woman who looks for her. Vanessa has several interesting skills, is very smart and is not deterred by danger. Interesting location, Cameroon. No a Jason Bourne, but a good read. I'll be looking for another book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 286 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15