Customer Reviews for

The Informationist (Vanessa Michael Munroe Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!!!!!

Taylor Stevens' "The Informationist" is an absolute must read. If I had to compare the writing style to other remarkable authors I'd have to say, "Wilbur Smith meets Stieg Larsson." Taylor brings the story to life with the vivid details and precise depiction of a land a...
Taylor Stevens' "The Informationist" is an absolute must read. If I had to compare the writing style to other remarkable authors I'd have to say, "Wilbur Smith meets Stieg Larsson." Taylor brings the story to life with the vivid details and precise depiction of a land and people foreign to most. And for those who have firsthand knowledge of the inner politics, land, and peoples of Africa, you won't be disappointed in the true to life descriptions. I was reading through this so fast I was trying to make myself slow down so it would last longer. However, being the page-turner it is that didn't work, so I just read it twice. I have no doubt Taylor Stevens is going to be a household name. I'm looking forward to more Vanessa Michael Munroe attitude and adventure. You will not regret buying a copy for yourself and another to pass on to a friend.
"To my fellow childhood survivors -- you know who you are." Thank you Taylor!

posted by ZomBeeBonita on February 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious! -- 1/2 a star!

The heroine, Michael, is a mish mash of Mati Hari & the Terminator! Why are former Special Forces & SEAL members afraid of her? Who knows! Could it be here "special" knife training whereby she was raped repeatedly for years; naturally her confidant and mentor was unawar...
The heroine, Michael, is a mish mash of Mati Hari & the Terminator! Why are former Special Forces & SEAL members afraid of her? Who knows! Could it be here "special" knife training whereby she was raped repeatedly for years; naturally her confidant and mentor was unaware of the situation. Now there's a great analogy -- getting raped leads to martial arts expertise! Really, The Informationist is a lurid, underdeveloped, and implausible novel. Remember: Having the ability to write a good term paper can lead to a life of international intrique & the ability to stare down mercenaries and criminals of every sort. Warning: this novel is NOTHING like The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo! Avoid at all cost!

posted by JimBobTex on March 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    A good read!

    Strong character development and exciting plot plot. Highly recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Informationist is a great read

    I am ashamed to admit I picked up The Informationist only after finding I had nothing else to read. I had read no reviews - or even the jacket cover. I spent the first few pages confused - as confused as Munroe's "targets" - but soon was unable to put it down.

    Stevens' writing allows the reader to gradually and almost subconsciously understand the characters, surroundings and plotlines, without the clumsy explanatory dialogue or detailed background information I have found so annoying in other books. The story is fast-paced and action-packed. But what really intrigued me were the characters.

    Vanessa Michael Munroe is a cultural chameleon, linguistic savant and unrivaled information gatherer and analyst with a tortured and violent past and a self-acknowledged tentative hold on sanity - a complex and richly developed character I came to care for deeply. The secondary characters are equally dimensional and I found myself quite invested in their fates - any one of them could support an entire book of his own.

    I hope Stevens continues to write stories like this one that keep me thinking long after the last page is turned.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Good read

    For those who enjoy a good adventure in less than known surrounding, this is a gran d adventure with a satisfying number of plot twists. The heroine is somewhat larger than life, but I can't wait to see how she developes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Action-packed

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    New favorite

    Dowloaded the sample of this book and was immediately hooked. Fast paced, exciting plot and characters that completely engross the reader. Have now read all books in the series and will be waiting impatiently for number 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Good book.

    All three Taylor Stevens books were good quick reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Recommended for those who love action

    I highly recommend this book; be careful as you'll find yourself reading at 2AM when you have to work the next day. Great character development while giving you a fast moving plot line. Have started reading The Innocent the next in the series, starting out a little slower, but again, woth the read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    action packed

    Action packed adventure with a flawed heroine. Fascinating view of life in Equatorial Guinea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Good story line

    This book combines mystery with intrigue to bring the reader into the story. The novelist must have researched the locale of this story very well to layout the heroine through the twisted journey for her assignment. The ending has some twists as well. I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    highly recommended; very involved

    It was an "I can't put it down" type of book. Lots of action, lots of twists and turns in the plot. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Good writing

    Glad I took a chance on new author! Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    I know there's the inevitable comparison to a girl with a famous

    I know there's the inevitable comparison to a girl with a famous tattoo, but it really does stand on its own. I had a difficult time putting this book down. I immediately got the next Michael Vanessa Munroe novel, The Innocent, and liked it even more - I did NOT put that one down until it was finished.

    What makes these books even more interesting is the author's own background. Ms. Stevens is an author worth looking into.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Better than expected

    I liked this book. Different plot. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Kept me wanting more

    Starts out a little slow, but overall very exciting and a great ending! I would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Great read

    This was a fast paced, suspenseful book. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    Interest was in another world and place

    Struggle of young girl to fight for her life and how she eventually trusted in her love.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    Must Read

    Great read! I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    For Fans of Stieg

    An action-packed thriller written much in the style of Stieg Larsson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Good book ... but ...

    If I'd never read the Millennium Trilogy, I'd have very few negatives to say about this book. Michael is essentially a better adjusted version of Lisbeth Salander. In a lot of ways I enjoyed this book better than The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest. It's got more varied locales, a more exciting plot with fewer down time, and a better developed cast of secondary characters.

    It's a very good book and definitely worth reading if you like action thrillers with great female leads. But I had to subtract stars for being an obvious knock off (even though it's a really, really well-written one).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5