Customer Reviews for

The Informationist (Vanessa Michael Munroe Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 282 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!!!!!

Taylor Stevens' "The Informationist" is an absolute must read. If I had to compare the writing style to other remarkable authors I'd have to say, "Wilbur Smith meets Stieg Larsson." Taylor brings the story to life with the vivid details and precise depiction of a land a...
Taylor Stevens' "The Informationist" is an absolute must read. If I had to compare the writing style to other remarkable authors I'd have to say, "Wilbur Smith meets Stieg Larsson." Taylor brings the story to life with the vivid details and precise depiction of a land and people foreign to most. And for those who have firsthand knowledge of the inner politics, land, and peoples of Africa, you won't be disappointed in the true to life descriptions. I was reading through this so fast I was trying to make myself slow down so it would last longer. However, being the page-turner it is that didn't work, so I just read it twice. I have no doubt Taylor Stevens is going to be a household name. I'm looking forward to more Vanessa Michael Munroe attitude and adventure. You will not regret buying a copy for yourself and another to pass on to a friend.
"To my fellow childhood survivors -- you know who you are." Thank you Taylor!

posted by ZomBeeBonita on February 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious! -- 1/2 a star!

The heroine, Michael, is a mish mash of Mati Hari & the Terminator! Why are former Special Forces & SEAL members afraid of her? Who knows! Could it be here "special" knife training whereby she was raped repeatedly for years; naturally her confidant and mentor was unawar...
The heroine, Michael, is a mish mash of Mati Hari & the Terminator! Why are former Special Forces & SEAL members afraid of her? Who knows! Could it be here "special" knife training whereby she was raped repeatedly for years; naturally her confidant and mentor was unaware of the situation. Now there's a great analogy -- getting raped leads to martial arts expertise! Really, The Informationist is a lurid, underdeveloped, and implausible novel. Remember: Having the ability to write a good term paper can lead to a life of international intrique & the ability to stare down mercenaries and criminals of every sort. Warning: this novel is NOTHING like The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo! Avoid at all cost!

posted by JimBobTex on March 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!!!!!

    Taylor Stevens' "The Informationist" is an absolute must read. If I had to compare the writing style to other remarkable authors I'd have to say, "Wilbur Smith meets Stieg Larsson." Taylor brings the story to life with the vivid details and precise depiction of a land and people foreign to most. And for those who have firsthand knowledge of the inner politics, land, and peoples of Africa, you won't be disappointed in the true to life descriptions. I was reading through this so fast I was trying to make myself slow down so it would last longer. However, being the page-turner it is that didn't work, so I just read it twice. I have no doubt Taylor Stevens is going to be a household name. I'm looking forward to more Vanessa Michael Munroe attitude and adventure. You will not regret buying a copy for yourself and another to pass on to a friend.
    "To my fellow childhood survivors -- you know who you are." Thank you Taylor!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can't Get Enough

    Every reader who craves action and adventure will love this book. It is nonstop from cover to cover. The heroine, Vanessa, who goes by as many names as she has personae, is a kick-ass force of nature. She can be as fierce and deadly as a black mamba snake or as elegant and smooth as a high paid call girl on the make. She is multilingual, highly intelligent and lethal. Her preferred job is collecting highly sensitive, often obscure, yet very valuable information, which she sells to high paying clients around the world. She receives an unusual request to attempt to find an industrialist's daughter who has been missing in Africa for four years. All attempts to find her so far have come up short. The girl's father believes Vanessa is his last hope to find his daughter. Vanessa hasn't been back to her homeland of central Africa for years because of the memories of the people, alive and dead, which she left there long ago. Those memories will revive in her the rage and darkness which have been her hell and her salvation through numerous life threatening forays. Although preferring to work alone, her employer saddles her with a companion, who while highly skilled in his own right, is hardly a match for Vanessa's savage world. All the juju that she can call up will be needed to fight her enemies both past and present as she cuts her way deeper and deeper into the mystery that is awaiting in Africa. This book provided for review by the well read folks of Crown Publishers.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Great read

    First book in a long time that had my total attention! I loved it! I will start The Innocent right away!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    Mesmerising and Intense, a MUST read for fans of fiction everywhere!

    Taylor Stevens, in her first published work, mesmerises. At once well constructed and defined, as well as thought provoking and entertaining; The Inofrmationist left me longing for more. Her prose breathes intensity and life into her heroine which left this reader feeling a remarkable camaraderie with her champion of the vulnerable.

    Taylor Stevens is one to watch...if this book is any indication as to her future in fiction, I am decidedly excited to read what follows. What has this reader even more interested (if that were possible)is her personal biography, which can be found on her facebook page. One can only hope, at some point, that Miss Stevens sets aside her fiction and gives us a bit more of her own journey...but not until the saga of Vanessa Michael Munroe is played out to the end.

    While ANY appreciator of good writing, framing unique situations, will be enrapt; readers of the thriller genre, most specifically, fans of the late great Steig Larsson, will find this book a welcome respite from the hole he left behind. Thank God Stevens is here to fill it.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was so good that I stayed up all night finishing it and had to call in sick to work the following day. It's not to be missed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Have your tissue ready!

    I downloaded this book for an upcoming trip. I thought I would read the first chapter before the trip and I was hooked! I finished the entire book in 3 days. It was well written, from the heart, and Conor's mission is incredible. What a remarkable journey. I loved the ending. ... a real story of inspiration and love!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Excellent

    Have read this and the 2nd in the series. Can't wait for the 3rd to be released. Love the protaganist, Munroe.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Laura Croft meets Nikita meets the Dragon Tatoo

    If my book club had not chosen this as a monthly selection I probably would have never discovered it--on the surface, not my kind of thing--but I am SO glad I jumped in! Tough, lean, descriptive prose--nothing is superflous--and a herione, that yes, is WAY over the top, but that's the biggest part of the fun. Munroe is a woman that, let's face it, many of us fantasize about being: sexy, lethal, brilliant, world-weary, fearless: a female Bryonic hero. Set in exotic locales in Africa and the Middle East, the novel sets a fast, involving pace from the beginning and doesn't let up. Some warning, however, in that the violence comes quickly and brutually--especially at the end. But the novel leaves you breathless.

    Stevens knows how to write in a cinematic fashion--you can picture this on screen thru every page: Angelina Jolie awaits, undoubtedly.

    While I found the follow up novel, "The Innocent" much less interesting and more dragging, this one won me over and I look forward to Stevens' third Munroe book. It's a wild over the top ride; take it and have some fun.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Highly Recommend - MUST READ

    If your tired of the same old thrillers and mysterys, you have to try this book. I bought it as a whim and couldn't put it down. I have a bad habit of skimming over some of the writing in books and this one I did not. I read ever word afraid I would miss something. The characters are real and loved the descriptive way Taylor describes the country and cultures. Her next book will be out in Dec and I cannot wait.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    A heroine like no other

    I was hesitant to get this based on the description, but was hooked by page 5. Ms. Stevens created an incredible heroine and I do hope it's not the last time we will see "Michael". The setting was new and though the plot complicated, it seemed completely believable. The action scenes were vivid and brutally realistic. If you want to escape with a thriller and a touch of romance, you will not be disappointed by The Informationist!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Great series

    An action-packed series. I loved it and started looking right away for more books by Ms. Stevens, but couldn't find any. She has a winning star in Vanessa Michael Munroe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    lmc

    I loved this booked. Michael is wonder woman. Lot's of action and great twists. I have already ordered the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Love this series!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this series. Taylor Steven's writing style was fluid, captivating and gave me enough information to envision places I've never been. Great plot with surprising twists. Interesting characters -- people you cared about. I couldn't put the books down and went straight from one to the next. Can't wait for another book from Taylor Stevens. Write fast, please!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Highly Recommend - Extraordinary writer

    A woman who is tough as nails. Though she has been through some of life's harshest cruelties, (Vanessa) Michael Munroe has survived against the odds and come out stronger, wiser, and found a niche in life where she fits in.

    The novel itself is dazzling! Not only is there an excellent plot, the writing is excellent as well. There is action, adventure, thrills, mystery, and the truth of a woman's heart and mind as only a woman knows.

    If you enjoy reading James Patterson novels, you are going to absolutely love Taylor Stevens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    A protagonist who could teach Steig Lawson's Lisbeth a thing ot tow.

    I troughly enjoyed this fast-paced debut thriller by Taylor Stevens. Although her protagonist, Vanessa "Michael" Munroe, reminds one of Steig Lawson's Lisbeth Salander, I believe that she is definately more believeable and not afraid to use her femininity. Stevens adroitly reveals Munroe's backgroud and demons; beautifully incorporates the African scenery; and brillanly produces an ending one did not see coming. Can't wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Wow! I loved this book!

    The main character, Essa/Michael, is amazingly developed and complete. I love her strength, mentally, emotionally, and physically. Her weaknesses are believable, her fury understandable. I can't wait to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    ?

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    I found "The Informationist" to be an excellent read!

    I found "The Informationist" to be an excellent read! I usually stick to my tried and true list of authors, but since I commute on public transportation to work and go through a lot of novels that way, I am also always on the lookout for new talent. Taylor Stevens is one of my new tried and true authors! The title character, Vanessa Michael Monroe, is a compelling and interesting heroine. If you like action, adventure and suspense, you will enjoy this novel. I also found the descriptions of the locations excellent. I really felt I was in Africa with all the heat, dust and danger. I found this to be excellent work for a first-time novelist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Gripping read with a highly unusual heroine. Eat your heart out, James Bond!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    A great adventure

    Couldn't put the book down....a great adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6