BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Inhale

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Romance, Elementals, and Whales!

I love whales. But I have NEVER read a book, fiction at that, where love, mystical beings, and whales come together. This book set a pace that I furiously tried to follow. You'll love the characters. You'll love the plot. And you'll love the author. I recommend this boo...
I love whales. But I have NEVER read a book, fiction at that, where love, mystical beings, and whales come together. This book set a pace that I furiously tried to follow. You'll love the characters. You'll love the plot. And you'll love the author. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys even just one of the elements mentioned in the title. TEN THOUSAND FISTS by DISTURBED. Because there should be 10,000 fists raised in praise for this book.

FYI for those that said no, I agree, I got a finger sticking up for you.

posted by Buddha_Cannon on July 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

L

I wish bn would ban and fine these posters that feel the overwhelming need to write long mini books in their reviews and reveal plot points and give away everything. They need to be stopped. Once again i cannot get a book because thanks to these jerks that love to ruin ...
I wish bn would ban and fine these posters that feel the overwhelming need to write long mini books in their reviews and reveal plot points and give away everything. They need to be stopped. Once again i cannot get a book because thanks to these jerks that love to ruin it for others there is no need to get the book. Thanks to all who ruined another book for me. May you rot in hell.

posted by 8888649 on October 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ***This book was given to me as a gift from the author and was n

    ***This book was given to me as a gift from the author and was not purchased through Barnes and Noble***

    Something strange happens to Zoe Morgan. After a dream in which she imagines a beautiful stranger rescuing her, she believes that a whale named Lily is calling for her help. She heads to Australia, hoping to find Lily. Gavin Cassidy, the beautiful stranger, is a Sentinel. Sentinels are protectors of the Dreaming, a place where Wydlings(humans) dream. They possess equal parts of each elemental power: Earth, Aire, Fyre and Waeter(no I'm not misspelling them, that's the way it is LOL.) The Fyre elementals have found a way into the Dreaming and have been stealing the Wyldlings fire. Fyres are able to steal fire by frightening the dreaming Wyldlings.

    The story switches between the Dreaming and Realis(reality.) Zoe thinks that the Dreaming is just her subconscious trying to sort through her unresolved issues. She meets with Perfect(her name for Gavin) in the Dreaming. Zoe is Gavin's muse and is able to give him something that he has been missing. He knows that he cannot tell her that he exists in Realis, for she may already be in danger from their meetings. She doesn't realize is that she has a bigger part to play in order to save the Dreaming from the Fyres.

    Will Zoe find the closure she is looking for with Lily?
    Will Gavin live up to his responsibilities as a Sentinel?

    My thoughts....

    Okay, you have an insanely hot rock star with tattoos, a lip ring and perfect, just rolled out of bed, hair. Then you have some smokin' hot Fyre elementals and not to mention whales. Where can you go wrong?!? This book was sexy, spunky and all around AWESOME!! I wanna make out with it and yell at it at the same time! This was only my second time reading about powers involving the elements and let me tell you, it was the better of the two.

    Kendall created a spectacular paranormal experience with this book. This book concentrates more on the paranormal, but there is a great amount of romance....hot STEAMY romance!! Holy cow, you will need to fan yourself! I need to take a second to shine some light on a character that deserves some praise. Adriene is Zoe's best friend and crew mate. I would say she's the comic relief of the story. I hope Kendall doesn't kill me for putting this quote, but it made my day. "Did you see him looking at you? Like he wanted to devour you? That boy is hungry, and you're a f*** sandwich with a side of chips." ~Adriene

    Kendall also donates the proceeds of her book sales to programs that educate people about whales and the challenges they face. I cannot being to tell you how awesome that is!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Inhale by Kendall Grey

    Inhale is the first in the Just Breathe trilogy, and Kendall Grey really pulled me into her world of the Dreaming: a place of dreams and so much more. The characters were honest and well rounded. There was a secondary character we meet halfway through the novel that raised the question of who's side he is truly on, and that really intrigued me. Kendall's use of imagery was easy to visualize, and there were times that I could swear I heard the ocean waves lapping lazily along a beach. The story flowed smoothly and at a relatively quick pace, the further into the novel, the more intense it became, keeping me turning pages long into the night. Most of the book takes place in a dream-like state that felt completely realistic and added to the fantastical, unique storyline. I loved that the romance surrounding Zoe and Gavin was entwined with danger, it was an added bonus of tension and intrigue. I honestly would have liked a little more information about the Sentinels, Elementals and Wyldlings: their history and how they are created. But despite that little exception to my enjoyment of Inhale, this book kept me completely interested from beginning to end.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    Dr. Zoe Morgan is a researcher for Cetacean Research Network or

    Dr. Zoe Morgan is a researcher for Cetacean Research Network or CRN, who is flying to Queensland Australia to work with the whales there, she's working toward a promotion. Zoe has been having vivid dreams since arriving at Hervey Bay. She meets a hot guy who she calls Perfect and nothing in her real and dream life will ever be the same again. Gavin Cassiday is front man for musical group called Just Breathe. He's suppose to be working on writing songs for the group but is coming up blank with writer's block. He's also a Sentinel that has lost control of his Water and only feels his Fire which attracts Fire Elementals such as Scarlet. Yileen is Gavin's mentor knows that Gavin is out of balance and needs to find the one who can help Gavin regain his control over his element. Gavin meets his Muse and finds that creative inspiration he's been lacking. He is stunned by the depth of feelings he has for his Muse in dreamsense but he's sure that he can't meet her in realis. Zoe wants to find Lily to apologize to her for not protecting her calf. When Zoe and Adriene go to a pub for a night out, Zoe is drawn by singer's voice and music. She's stunned to discover that Perfect is real and not just a dream. Zoe's internal music and Gavin's music blend together in harmony like no other. Scarlet wants Gavin back and will do anything to make it happen. She's furious that Gavin's attention is elsewhere. Scarlet is a Fire Elemental with a plan to destroy dreamsense and take over Fire Sentinel's position for herself. Will Zoe find Lily? Will Gavin and his Muse meet for real? What is Yileen's plans? Will Scarlet's plans succeed? Your answers await you in Inhale.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 stars! WOW! That was pretty amazing. Definitely a unique and

    4.5 stars!
    WOW! That was pretty amazing. Definitely a unique and captivating story.

    Inhale is the first book in the Just Breathe trilogy written by Kendall Grey.

    The Review:
    This book was very imaginative! Everything about the story sends the reader on a creative journey through what I can only describe as a fantastical tale of dreams and reality and all that lays in between. I have to admit that in the beginning, I almost put the book down from sheer confusion. I didn't understand what was going on and I couldn't wrap my head around the two separate worlds the author was trying to convey. But after the first 80 or so pages, I got into the rhythm and fell in love with this story! And just a note, there is a glossary at the end of the book that has definitions for all the terms used in this book, which I wish I'd known about before diving in. My suggestion, read that glossary first.

    Now, as for the story itself, like I said, very creative, imaginative, original and packed full of action. There really wasn't a dull moment on any of the pages. The author does a terrific job leading the reader from Realis, (the waking world) to The Dreaming, (a parallel world where humans to go dream). The descriptions were visually striking and eloquently illustrated. I also adored the whale aspect of this story and you don't have to be a whale enthusiast to understand its importance. I think the content will enlighten and educate as well as entertain.

    The character's were well designed and riveting. I quickly become immersed in the different types. Archelementals, Elementals, Sentinels, Human Wyldlings and Animals and then their different specialties. Aer, Fyre, Erthe and Wæter. It was fascinating!

    Zoe and Gavin were beguiling together and their complicated romance, scorching! I loved that though they had a destiny, they both had exciting but normal lives outside The Dreaming. It lead a bit of normalcy to the aberrant.

    There were many amazing characters in this story but I want to hit on a note for three of my favorites other then the mains (Zoe and Gavin). I admired Yileen. His friendship with Gavin, the way he insinuated himself quietly into Zoe's world and his calming demeanor was a welcome relief from the intensity of the other Elementals. Sinnder, I hope we get more of him in the next book because I think he's got more going on and definitely has ulterior motives for his all the things he's doing. Scarlet?!? That Fyre needs a cold shower... literally! Ugg!

    The Wrap Up:
    Getting past the confusion of the world building (which I think can be circumvented by reading the glossary first), this book was pretty spectacular. It was definitely a thrilling escape from the normal every day book. I loved the story. I loved the characters, their exciting journey and the romance. I loved all the inspired and ingenious ideas I was introduced to and I can't wait to dig into book two, Exhale and then on to book three, Just Breathe when it comes out in August. There was plenty of room left for the story to continue with unanswered questions and a hint of things to come. What a mind-blowing fantasy to become immersed in.

    NOTE: I read this as a R2R with The Knights of the Round Table at Goodreads. As always, a special thank you to the mods and author for allowing me to participate.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Most people have different standards for free books than they do

    Most people have different standards for free books than they do books for which they pay. I often see reviews which state “not bad for a free book”, and I think that's fair. I'm more willing to forgive a book for a few plot or grammatical errors if I didn't have to blow my whole book allowance on it. I read Inhale as a free book and find it has a better story and higher quality writing than others for which I've paid. Whichever scale you want to use, you won't be disappointed in Inhale.

    This story is a combination of rock star fantasy, save the world heroes, and elemental magic. It will especially appeal to those who love all things Aussie or who have a fondness for whales. It has hot dream sex scenes and the action keeps moving. There is love and emotion without getting too sappy although clearly the whole situation is not reality based. The end wraps up nicely leaving the reader satisfied while still dangling a few loose ends for the next book in the series. This isn't an obsessive read which keeps you up all night until you finish, but is a book you'll happily dive back into when you have a chance.

    Some book listings contain warnings about graphic language and sex and advise this book is not for readers under 18. Figures vary from study to study and from country to country, but anywhere from 25% to over 35% of teenagers have lost their virginity by the age of 16. So both sites are advising teenagers not to read about things many of them are already doing. I can't help but think the warning would only encourage the remaining virgins to check it out anyhow. All I can say is explicit terms were used and neither of the main characters had to declare their undying love or get engaged before they got busy. That smacks more of reality than a dream. While the author didn't shy away from sex, neither was it overly titillating.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. The story was unique, romantic and e

    I really enjoyed this book. The story was unique, romantic and edgy. I am looking forward to jump in into the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    I loved the book the ending was a little confusing because i did

    I loved the book the ending was a little confusing because i did not know there was a second book. lmao!!! over all great book you really need to pay attention and i had to re-read some parts twice to get it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    This was well written. I usually read a book in on sitting but just could not with this one. It had nothing to do with the 800+ pages it just was a little slow for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    I’ve never read an Urban Fantasy before. Yeah, yeah, yeah,

    I’ve never read an Urban Fantasy before. Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know, late to the party. I just didn’t know what they were. Until I picked up Kendall Grey’s Inhale. This book had everything I love: powers, fire, sex, cursing—what isn’t there to like?

    Inhale is the first of the Just Breathe trilogy and tells the story of two worlds: Realis, the world we see and hear and touch; and the Dreaming, our collective MMO dream space where human beings (called wyldlings) co-exist along with Elementals. The emotional state of wyldlings feed the Elementals—passion feeds fire, love brings water, strength and stability belong to earth, clear-headedness is air. Both worlds are kept in balance by a group of individuals called Sentinels. This is the world Ms. Grey has created. I was perfectly happy to stay in it.

    Until she gave us characters.

    Kendall Grey gave us two compelling, flawed characters in Gavin and Zoe—though I’m more of a Zoe fan (I guess I like sexy women with brains). Each of them have their own emotional arcs that both depend on and exist independent of the other, and happen both in Realis and the Dreaming.

    That’s actually the best part: Ms. Grey does a fantastic job of pulling into both worlds, of showing us one’s impact on the other, and providing the impetus for keeping it all in balance. It’s a whole story, complete in its reality and its fantastic elements.

    I wanted more from the emotional conclusion of this story before moving on to the sequel but, on the whole, Inhale had a lot going for it. Ms. Grey certainly delivered.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Story!

    What a wonderful and unique story! I’ve not yet read anything like this book, and it was a fun change to venture into the Dreaming (our dream-state). In fact, every night I go to bed I hope to find my own Gavin waiting there to rescue me! Ahem, no luck yet…

    This story is about Zoe, and she loves whales. She has such an affinity with them, its almost as if they speak to her. And even better, she’s just gotten a job in Australia tagging them along with her team. Perfect. But just before she’s to leave for there she starts having these crazy dreams. And in these dreams is a man. He doesn’t have a name, but hey, that’s partly what she likes about him. He’s hot, tattooed, pierced, and he is all man – and even better, he is totally into her. Am I the only one reaching for some warm milk to get to sleep a bit faster?

    Gavin is a Sentinel. Sentinels are tied to the elements of earth, air, water and fire. His job is to keep the elements balanced. But now Sentinels need to protect us regular humans (Wyldings) in our dreams. Because if you die there, you die in real life. Fyres (fire elementals) are finding their way into the Dreaming and are wreaking havoc in the worst way.

    Ok, so maybe I don’t need that milk afterall… Gavin’s next mission is Zoe. Everything about Zoe is a mystery to him (including her name!), but somehow she ties into the future safety of the world. Hey, no pressure here Gavin. Just go save the world with little to no information. Easy peasy!

    This book had some really fresh and fun ideas. I’ve not read any books that mainly take place in our sleeping mind. Everything felt so real. It helps that Zoe is a lucid dreamer and that there is a chemistry between our two main characters that could make the ocean boil. Oh yeah, talk about tension! But even aside from that the scenery was beyond gorgeous and it really felt like a place I’d like to dream about myself.

    There were times I was a bit confused about the elementals and who had what powers and certain beings having multiple powers… it became a bit much for me. The beginning had a lot of information and at times it was a lot to soak in. But once you got the hang of it and figure out the hierarchy of everything it was just like riding a bike. But all of that was totally worth it because in the Dreaming anything you think of can just be. I mean, you are dreaming afterall. Kind of makes regular life outside of your sleep not quite compare!

    ”Her sudden self-consciousness melted his heart. Did she have any idea what she did to him? Damn, she tore him down and tied him up inside. “

    This book had a lot of interesting aspects, not to mention a slow building romantic tension that will leave you hooked and waiting for the next book. To torture you even more, Gavin knows that Zoe is a real person out there in the world. Ahh! It was killing me! I was happy and sad and anxious all at once! I found myself racing to the next scene with them together, I couldn’t get enough.

    I definitely recommend this book. And even more awesome---- Kendall Grey will donate all profits from the sale of the JUST BREATHE trilogy to programs that educate people about whales and the challenges they face. So definitely put this on your “To Buy” list and help the whales <3

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Unique

    Worth reading...
    Over 800 pages...Free e-book
    This one was definitely unique. If you're into whales, this is a book you will love. This story was about elementals and people who protect humans against these elementals. The main female character is a marine biologist, or something like that, and the main male character is the lead singer of a rock band (tattoos, piercings, etc....yummy!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    I haven't read it yet.Can't wait to read it.

    I haven't read it yet.Can't wait to read it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Inhale, by Kendall Grey, is a truly original read. The concept f

    Inhale, by Kendall Grey, is a truly original read. The concept for the storyline, the ideas behind the collection of characters and the different world kept me engaged and happy to follow Grey's characters.

    The book on the whole was set at a sound pace. Although there were occasions when I did get frustrated with the amount of dream scenes within Inhale, these scenes were so very important; I just wanted things to speed up a little. This no doubt was my more romantic side, okay, maybe my more horny side talking!

    Okay, so since I've led us down the path of hotness, I loved the sex scenes. The passion between Zoe and Gavin was almost palpable. Grey certainly knows how to capture the heat; my Kindle almost caught on fire with the sizzle!

    Inhale, leads the reader on an exciting adventure and sets us up for the next instalment beautifully.

    If you are looking for a hot fantasy, with strong characters and a plot driven storyline, then be sure to treat yourself to copy of Inhale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    I bought this book during one the periods the author made it fre

    I bought this book during one the periods the author made it free on Amazon. I had been seeing lots of buzz about it on Goodreads, and thought &quot;heck, it's free, why not give it a shot?&quot; I have to be honest, the story didn't immediately suck me in. There is a lot of world building and back story that is given, and i was still confused. It is one of those books that drops you in, and starts using terminology like you know what they are talking about, and you learn as you go. Not usually my kind of thing.

    However, once i learned everything I needed to know, at about the half-way mark, I couldn't put it down. I devoured it in one marathon reading session, and used that handy kindle feature to purchase the second book, Exhale, as soon as I finished.

    Gavin and Zoe are from opposite worlds; he is a freaking rock star &amp; Guardian (you will learn about them as you read) and Zoe is a Marine Biologist. Not two people you would ever think to put together. But, through the Dreaming (the dream world) they meet and form a ... 'relationship'. I use that term loosely; they have crazy dream sex. :-) Unfortunately, Gavin is the only one that knows this is real. Zoe thinks she is just dreaming up a hot guy.

    And hot he is. He made my Book Boyfriend's of 2012 list. Which is a pretty big accomplishment. I am very picky. But he totally earned that spot, what with the saving the world, being a rock star hottie, writing songs about his woman, and did I mention he is an incredibly sexy good guy? I did? Well it is worth mentioning again.

    Do they meet in the real world? Will they even like each other in the real world? And what is going on with all the Elementals wrecking havoc on us poor normals? You want to find out. Trust me. I have become so obsessed with this series that I may harass tweet Miss Grey daily, with anticipation of the third and final book, Just Breathe.

    Plus, all the profits are being donated to the whales! You like whales, don't you?

    I am so glad I stuck this out, through my confusion, because it most definitely ended with a bang. And all of Exhale ... well, that is a whole other review :-).

    3 1/2 stars, just because it took me a little time to get into it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1