BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Inherit the Wind

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    i loved this book so much!  i read it for my English class in ni

    i loved this book so much!  i read it for my English class in ninth grade and was honestly dreading it because i thought it sounded incredibly stupid and boring.  once i got into it, however- i loved it!  the characters were different and unique...  i loved them all.  the clear diversity between religion and evolution was clear and the topic of the book made me question how the world was made and whose side i would choose if i had to pick one... 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Good Read

    A great controversial play in the debate between religion and the origin of species. People with different beliefs learn to live together and learn to think for themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    KEEP YOUR EYES OPEN QUICK MINDS AT WORK

    First, I'll start with my recommendations. The Bill of Rights and The Bible of your faith. The Bill of Rights because if you want to live here and understand that this book is about more than MAN came from MONKEYS, read it through. Your Bible so you can follow the prosecution. Also, when the defense calls the Pros. Attr. he blows him away using the BILL of Rights as the base.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    Scopes Monkey Trial Review

    Normally, this is not the kind of book I would decide to read. However, my seventh grade teacher, who read it to my English class, made everything about it fun. He assigned us different characters. I recieved the part of E.K. Hornbeck, and now I LOVE this book. Whenever I get a chance, I pick up this book and start reading. This book is not hard to understand once you catch up on all the legal terms. I would definetely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    surprsingly so cool

    At first i really wasn`t feeling this book...but then i read it! wow this book was full of cooness. i absolutly liked it. at first u have no idea where it`s going, but then you see. anyway read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2004

    The Best Play of The Century

    Inherit the Wind is an enlightened commentary on religous blindedness. It takes very pointed look at that which is often held very dear but is made enjoyable by the satirical stylings of the writing. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2004

    the book of ages

    This book is a titan amognst mortals .It pulls you in and spits you out with a new found love for the american legal system& the origin of man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    Beautiful

    Man, the monologues in this book are AMAZING...I have read classics with these awefully long boring monologues about life and boring things, and it gets tiresome...but some of these words are so beautiful! I reccomend this to ANYBODY and EVERYBODY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    The Power of the Thinking Man

    Drummond: What do you think about that? Brady: I don't think about the things I don't think about Drummond: Do you think about the things you do think about? (one of my favorite lines) I am a die-hard fan of this book/trial. It really sweeps you away; as if you were in the courtroom yourself. Genius! My favorite book. It doesn't matter what you beleive; this book does not prove/disprove any theory but simply expresses that man has the power to think, and has the right to as well. this book also lead me to read the original transcript from the Scopes Trial...and Clarence Darrow is now my idol. Definately reccomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2003

    The Worlds Greatest book

    This is an amazing book. This is like the most get into book. This it probally the worlds greatest Trial book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2002

    A more than relastic tale

    'Inherit the Wind' is one of the best books I ever read. It teaches how everyone has a right to their ideas and express them anyway they want. This is an exceptional book everyone should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    The best....

    I had to read this book during summer school and at fist I thought it was going to be a really boring book but then I got really into the book and now I think is one of the best books that I've ever read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2001

    This book is Amazing

    This book is truly THE BEST book ever. It captivates you with the ingenius writing so much so that it is hard to get tired of. Everytime I read it, I'm still awed at the way this play is able to capture my attention because I'm always finiding something I missed before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2001

    THIS BOOK WAS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am a 14 year old freshman at Columbia High School in Atlanta. When my Biology teacher told me that I had to read this book, I thought it was going to be boring. This book was so interesting and good. We had to read it because we were learning about Evolution and were going to have a trial on Evolution vs. Creation. It was so good I could not stop reading it. I highly recommend this book even if you are not a 9th grade Biology student.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2000

    a MUST read book

    I have read this book thousands of times, but I still haven't lose a bit of interest. Why? Because it's so well-written, the language is beautiful. The way Mr. Jerome Lawrence and Mr. Robert E. Lee clash the teaching of the Bible with science is beyond the edge of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2000

    Greatest stories ever !

    this was the best book ive read in along time. the novel teaches us how the south acted in the 1920 and it taught us how to adjust to other peoples feeling and beliefs and not just to throw a guy in jail for believing in something and not just the bible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2000

    THE TEENNESSE BATTLE

    INHERIT THE WIND IS NOT TRUE OR HISTORICAL BUT IT COULD HAPPEN ANYTIME.INHERIT THE WIND IS THE BATTLE BETWEEN EVOLUTION AND CHRISTIANITY WHICH STILL RAGES ON IN OUR SOCIETY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2