BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Inheritance (Inheritance Cycle Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3972 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3067)

4 Star

(473)

3 Star

(191)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(152)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

183 out of 239 people found this review helpful.

FINALLY!!!!!!!

I for one will be happy to re-read the series to freshen up my memory.Isn't that what books are for anyways? I'd rather he took his time finishing it then didn't finish it at all. After Harry Potter ended I only had this series to fall back on. While I'm sad that it's ...
I for one will be happy to re-read the series to freshen up my memory.Isn't that what books are for anyways? I'd rather he took his time finishing it then didn't finish it at all. After Harry Potter ended I only had this series to fall back on. While I'm sad that it's the last I'm uber excited too. I'm counting down the days until I get that freshly printed book in my hands and get to smell the fragrance of literature....AHHH!

posted by Booksniffer13 on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

I must say I was more than a little bit disappointed by the last book in this otherwise good series. Paolini has not seemed to grow as an author at all. He seems to cling to the same patterns and words; he seems very much to be a person who has not experienced much of t...
I must say I was more than a little bit disappointed by the last book in this otherwise good series. Paolini has not seemed to grow as an author at all. He seems to cling to the same patterns and words; he seems very much to be a person who has not experienced much of the world and of life itself, and that shows in his writing. When Eragon was young and just beginning his life as a Rider, Paolini's own naivety lent itself to Eragon's personality; however, one would expect the character to grow and experience more of a personal life over the years. Alas, I'm not certain Paolini has the ability to allow that to happen, and he certainly didn't prove otherwise in this final chapter of Eragon's saga. There are many good battle scenes, a few intrigues, and lots of good description here, but the story just falls a little flat.

posted by 7383741 on November 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4010 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 201
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    FINALLY!!!!!!!

    I for one will be happy to re-read the series to freshen up my memory.Isn't that what books are for anyways? I'd rather he took his time finishing it then didn't finish it at all. After Harry Potter ended I only had this series to fall back on. While I'm sad that it's the last I'm uber excited too. I'm counting down the days until I get that freshly printed book in my hands and get to smell the fragrance of literature....AHHH!

    183 out of 239 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Christopher Paolini is an accomplished writer, and this is an engaging series. The protagonist Eragon is a well rounded character that has matured through the books as has the author. Unlike infallible characters like Harry Potter, Eragon has weaknesses, and strengths. The writing is reminiscent of Tolkein without the unnecessarily verbose asides about trees, flowers, and sunsets. This series sits on my bookshelf in a prominent place as one of my favorite fantasy series. It sits proudly, and rightfully along side the Chronicles of Narnia, The Lord of the Rings, The Wheel of Time, and Harry Potter. It is at par in my opinion with any of the aforementioned series. Buy it. You will love it, and never regret it.

    91 out of 123 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Another fantastic book coming...

    I loved reading the last few books! They sure have a story that will keep you entertained for hours. I am so excited to read the next one!!

    49 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome book series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book series is amazing from begining to end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    35 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Just OK

    I must say I was more than a little bit disappointed by the last book in this otherwise good series. Paolini has not seemed to grow as an author at all. He seems to cling to the same patterns and words; he seems very much to be a person who has not experienced much of the world and of life itself, and that shows in his writing. When Eragon was young and just beginning his life as a Rider, Paolini's own naivety lent itself to Eragon's personality; however, one would expect the character to grow and experience more of a personal life over the years. Alas, I'm not certain Paolini has the ability to allow that to happen, and he certainly didn't prove otherwise in this final chapter of Eragon's saga. There are many good battle scenes, a few intrigues, and lots of good description here, but the story just falls a little flat.

    34 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    I'll bet it is worth the wait.

    I am most certainly excited. Despite the painfully long wait, I am sure it will make up in the amazing detail and adventure Christopher wishes us to see and experience. No matter how many times I have read this series, it always manages to take my breath away. Inheritance is bound to be worlds away from anything I have read before.

    33 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Hands Down, Four of the Top Books Ever Written

    The Inheritance Cycle Series... I'm more than excited to dig into this last book of the series; however I'm almost just as sad that they're ending. These books are the most amazing, enticing books I've ever read. They, at the very least, are equal to the Harry Potter series if not superior. I've already re-read these books a couple times upon hearing the upcoming release of the fourth book and I could not be looking forward to it anymore. If you haven't read the series, now's your chance! I will admit the timing of the releases for these books was disheartening, however, start the series now and you won't have to wait for the fourth for years like some of us... :) I highly recommend these books to everyone, they're worth the read.

    32 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    A Sad Farewell

    This is the moment I've been dreading from the start. The instant Eragon first came to discover that mysterious blue stone we've all come to love and admire, I knew I had never (nor do I believe I ever shall) read such a fantastic novel. I am...disheartened, to say the least, as this adventure comes to a close. I am left in wonder and in tears because of the turning of the final page. And to you specificially, Christopher Paolini, I tip my hat and bid your masterpiece a sad farewell. I hope for many great things from your future literature, and I silently await the day that the epic of Eragon Brommson and Saphira Firetongue returns once again to fill our minds with wonder and our hearts with mearth. May your days be long, and you be filled with happiness.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Hurry Up!!!!!!

    When will the suspense end?!?!?!!!!!!!???????? I need to read this book for my personal survival!!!!! SOMEONE MAKE THIS GOSH DARN BOOK COME OUT FASTER!!!!!!!! IM DYING!!! jk but really, how long does it take to write a stupid book?

    20 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    OMG OMG OMG OMG

    i have been waiting for this forever!!!!! thank you christopher paolini!!!!!!

    20 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Absolutely fantastic


    I loved this book. As the final chapter to the Eragon series, it did the whole series justice. There were a few things I wish he would have explained in further detail, such as the history of the dauthdaert and more details of Angela's past, but overall, it was fantastic. A real page turner.

    I was sad to say goodbye to the story and the characters. I hope Paolini continues to write fantastic stories like this one. Read it!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Not Anything New

    I finished this book a couple of days ago. I have to say, I did not particularly enjoy Inheritance. Having said this though, I feel that it lived up to the expectations I had based on the rest of the series. An avid fantasy fan, I was disappointed from the beginning at the obvious parallels that this series has to Star Wars and Lord of the Rings. This installment in particular was very predictable, and the lack of any suspense caused the novel to drag on. Paolini gets bogged down in descriptions of the landscape and the inner musings of characters that have little to do with advancing the plot. In my opinion, the 800+ page length was too long and could easily have been cut down. I mainly finished this book because I was curious to see what happened in the end, but given that that was my motivation, the ending was quite disappointing. The events after the climax drag and the ending seems contrived to leave everyone unhappy.

    13 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    I cannot wait!

    I have been waiting as calmly as I possibly could for this book to come out. I screamed when I saw it! I can't wait to see what the great Mr. Paolini has in store for us!! It is going to be epic, and if its not, I will be epically disappointed. So, no pressure or anything =)

    13 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    A beautiful bouquet of excellent plot, suspense, and a style of storytelling worthy of ancient Scops.

    Not a bad finale, if I do say so myself. The timing was excellent, the diction was peerless, and the numerous intricate details given over to describing Alagaesia help build a world that demands attention. The book is entrancing enough to make a reader constantly glancing at a bedside clock at midnight, thinking "five more minutes...five more minutes...."
    Despite a few quirks, slight disappointments,and some loose ends (no doubt to be addressed in future books written by Paoini), Inheritance ends the cycle with enough impetus to ingrain this series into our minds forever. So, sit back in a comfortable chair, because you probably won't be moving from it for the next few hours, and enjoy the long-anticipated end to a great series.

    Kudos, Paolini!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!

    i screamed when i saw this... i've reread the other books AGILLION times.. started to get mad becuz i didnt think he wud ever come out with the last one.. CANT WAIT.. so many good books coming out this year.

    11 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    This book was a huge disappointment to me, I¿ve maintained my tolerance for the delay of this book and the finale only to be let down. Through out this whole series we learn of Eragon¿s bond with his dragon Saphira and how it strengthen as time went on, but their was another bond that he had made and that one, to me was just as powerful. Unfortunately this books dispels it as if it was just as important as anything else. Now I wish I never started this series in the first place.

    10 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Freakin amazing!!

    This book brought the series to a wonderful conclusion. It had the epicness of all the other books combined, the end left a few things unresolved (i personally think he will write another book) but that IN NO WAY makes it less of an awesome read. I recomend this to all who can get there hands on a copy.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Cycle Concludes...

    It¿s been a while since I¿ve read any books in this series, so it was a little jarring to be so immersed in the culture of Alagaësia once more. Paolini led the exposition with a few action sequences (which he has gotten much better at writing, I might add), which is the perfect way to get the reader hooked. Paolini¿s narration style has always been a bit wordy, and in some cases it took me out of the story a bit. However, I found myself duly impressed with this book, something that has never happened to me before when it comes to this series: it surpasses by far the books before it in both quality of writing and plot. I was particularly pleased with the development of some of my favorite characters, as well as a partial glimpse, if not explanation, of some of the more mysterious aspects of the world that Paolini has created. I felt like Paolini was finally comfortable enough with the elements and rules of his world that he could finally focus his attention on bettering his story¿ it shouldn¿t have taken three books to get to that point, of course, but it¿s worth the wait, trust me. While the ending of the series rang hollow and left me feeling somewhat cheated out of the ending I felt I was promised at the beginning of the series, it leaves the books open for a sequel (or prequel), which leaves me hopeful. Overall, this book ranks first out of all the others; Paolini has finally found that balance between a good narrative and an engaging cast of characters. The rest of his books pale in comparison, which makes me excited for Paolini's future as a fantasy author.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    by excited reader

    i hav waited so long for this book to come out love the inheritance cycle started reading the series when i was in third grade :)

    8 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is going to be amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4010 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 201