Customer Reviews for

Inheritance (Inheritance Cycle Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3947 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3047)

4 Star

(470)

3 Star

(191)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(150)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

182 out of 236 people found this review helpful.

FINALLY!!!!!!!

I for one will be happy to re-read the series to freshen up my memory.Isn't that what books are for anyways? I'd rather he took his time finishing it then didn't finish it at all. After Harry Potter ended I only had this series to fall back on. While I'm sad that it's ...
I for one will be happy to re-read the series to freshen up my memory.Isn't that what books are for anyways? I'd rather he took his time finishing it then didn't finish it at all. After Harry Potter ended I only had this series to fall back on. While I'm sad that it's the last I'm uber excited too. I'm counting down the days until I get that freshly printed book in my hands and get to smell the fragrance of literature....AHHH!

posted by Booksniffer13 on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

I must say I was more than a little bit disappointed by the last book in this otherwise good series. Paolini has not seemed to grow as an author at all. He seems to cling to the same patterns and words; he seems very much to be a person who has not experienced much of t...
I must say I was more than a little bit disappointed by the last book in this otherwise good series. Paolini has not seemed to grow as an author at all. He seems to cling to the same patterns and words; he seems very much to be a person who has not experienced much of the world and of life itself, and that shows in his writing. When Eragon was young and just beginning his life as a Rider, Paolini's own naivety lent itself to Eragon's personality; however, one would expect the character to grow and experience more of a personal life over the years. Alas, I'm not certain Paolini has the ability to allow that to happen, and he certainly didn't prove otherwise in this final chapter of Eragon's saga. There are many good battle scenes, a few intrigues, and lots of good description here, but the story just falls a little flat.

posted by 7383741 on November 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    This book was a huge disappointment to me, I¿ve maintained my tolerance for the delay of this book and the finale only to be let down. Through out this whole series we learn of Eragon¿s bond with his dragon Saphira and how it strengthen as time went on, but their was another bond that he had made and that one, to me was just as powerful. Unfortunately this books dispels it as if it was just as important as anything else. Now I wish I never started this series in the first place.

    10 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Do yourself a favor - don't waste your time

    I truly enjoyed the first three books of this series, and was so glad to FINALLY have the fourth and last one. I started to read it, and I found myself taking forever to finish even two chapters at a time. This book was entirely too long. I think at least 300 pages could have been shaved off, and would have been all the better for it. Honestly, I just hated all of the chapters in Roran's point of view - I could not stand his character. And I was excited to find out what would happen to all of the characters....and the end came....and I was beyond unsatisfied with the author's conclusion to his series. Big let down is all I'm saying. I will definitely not be re-reading this series again.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Complete waste of time and money

    I have always enjoyed Mr Paolini's books, but his one was a real let down.I fill like he rushed to finish the novel with anticlimactic ending, leaving a lot of the story unanswered.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    I'm disappointed

    If u want an honest review, read the the few that give this book one or two stars. I was really looking forward to reading it, but i am now disappointed I did. There are only maybe 3 or 4 chapters that add any real value to the story. The rest, ESPECIALLY the ending will leave you feeling very let down. There is not much to it except 200 or so pages. I wish there were cliff notes!

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    THIS BOOK WAS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooo........

    FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------and you thought i was a hater :D

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Inheritance

    The book was AMAZING!!!!!! Until the ending..........I can't believe it ended like that I was so mad! If you are reading Inheritance, book 4 of the Inheritance Cycle......I think you are better off making up your own ending unless you want your heart to break. (Lol) But seriously the ending of the cycle REALLY upset me. Why Christopher, Why!!!!!!!!!!! But all in all the book was great, but for me the ending could have been happier.... D:

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    I wish I didn't read this book... The first half was okay. But t

    I wish I didn't read this book... The first half was okay. But the ending was utterly terrible! If you really wish to have a happy ending to this series, do yourself a favor and don't read this book and just make one up and imagine it. It will end better this way, turst me. I wish I had.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Waste of time and money

    One of the worst books I've ever read! Too much unnecessay detail, information, swordplay, and even unnecessary chapters! Believe it or not but there was an entire chapter dedicated to Roran tricking some troops with having a cool demeanor and some magical waves around him!! To save my sanity I had to quit reading the book and just read the chapter summaries online... which was much more entertaining and much, much cheaper! I enjoyed the first three books but this one was terrible, terrible, TERRIBLE!!!!

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Bad ending

    It is a very exciting book. But he took so long to wright the book i forgot everything. Also it has a bad ending

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Boring

    I am surprised to see this book getting so many excellent reviews. I found this book to be nothing but hype. Will not recommend it to anyone. Zero stars by me.

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Not quite up to my expectations.

    I very much enjoyed the first three books. I feel that the fourth book so far has been a great letdown. I am having trouble finishing it I am finding it booring. I will try it again but don't hold out much hope for it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Click here

    I dont care wat da wite man say, a tomatah is a vegitable.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Juice

    MURTAGH IS MY FAVORITE CHARACTER YOU PINHEAD. And plus he is a good guy so that wouldn't happen. He just wants to be alone.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Faith

    I like the book alote

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Is this book really cool

    I hate this book it is a waste of money.DO NOT GET THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!""!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Not worth it

    This book is not a book i would tell friends to read. The writter goes on and on about details that are useless. If you skipped the first 400 pages you would not miss a thing due to it being details of the view or details of the ground. The ending was horribly done and the fighting was boring. The writter will probably add on to the story but i seriosly hope that he quits writting for good.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Retarted book

    This book doesnt make any sence. I almost got through the 1st chapter but i got bored from reading it. This author needs to stop writing horrible books aka the Eragon

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Sad Fan

    I loved the 1st three books & have read them over & over but was highly disappointed in this last one. Most disappointing was the character Eragon. He grew & changed tremendously in the first three but was disappointingly flat in this one. It was a huge waste of time. I would rather have waited indefinitely for an end worthy of the rest of the series. I found myself reading to get to the end rather than enjoying the journey as in the others.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Help

    How do u make it down load

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    I'm excited

    It has been so long since the past books have come out. I cant wait to read this one. These books are good not great. Harry Potter is great. Eragon is simply fun and interesting. Its insulting when people say eragon is superior to Harry Potter. Because its not,Harry Potter is and will always be superior to Eragon. That being said i cant wait to read inheritance.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8