BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Inheritance (Inheritance Cycle Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3970 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3064)

4 Star

(474)

3 Star

(191)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(152)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

183 out of 239 people found this review helpful.

FINALLY!!!!!!!

I for one will be happy to re-read the series to freshen up my memory.Isn't that what books are for anyways? I'd rather he took his time finishing it then didn't finish it at all. After Harry Potter ended I only had this series to fall back on. While I'm sad that it's ...
I for one will be happy to re-read the series to freshen up my memory.Isn't that what books are for anyways? I'd rather he took his time finishing it then didn't finish it at all. After Harry Potter ended I only had this series to fall back on. While I'm sad that it's the last I'm uber excited too. I'm counting down the days until I get that freshly printed book in my hands and get to smell the fragrance of literature....AHHH!

posted by Booksniffer13 on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

I must say I was more than a little bit disappointed by the last book in this otherwise good series. Paolini has not seemed to grow as an author at all. He seems to cling to the same patterns and words; he seems very much to be a person who has not experienced much of t...
I must say I was more than a little bit disappointed by the last book in this otherwise good series. Paolini has not seemed to grow as an author at all. He seems to cling to the same patterns and words; he seems very much to be a person who has not experienced much of the world and of life itself, and that shows in his writing. When Eragon was young and just beginning his life as a Rider, Paolini's own naivety lent itself to Eragon's personality; however, one would expect the character to grow and experience more of a personal life over the years. Alas, I'm not certain Paolini has the ability to allow that to happen, and he certainly didn't prove otherwise in this final chapter of Eragon's saga. There are many good battle scenes, a few intrigues, and lots of good description here, but the story just falls a little flat.

posted by 7383741 on November 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Just OK

    I must say I was more than a little bit disappointed by the last book in this otherwise good series. Paolini has not seemed to grow as an author at all. He seems to cling to the same patterns and words; he seems very much to be a person who has not experienced much of the world and of life itself, and that shows in his writing. When Eragon was young and just beginning his life as a Rider, Paolini's own naivety lent itself to Eragon's personality; however, one would expect the character to grow and experience more of a personal life over the years. Alas, I'm not certain Paolini has the ability to allow that to happen, and he certainly didn't prove otherwise in this final chapter of Eragon's saga. There are many good battle scenes, a few intrigues, and lots of good description here, but the story just falls a little flat.

    33 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Not Anything New

    I finished this book a couple of days ago. I have to say, I did not particularly enjoy Inheritance. Having said this though, I feel that it lived up to the expectations I had based on the rest of the series. An avid fantasy fan, I was disappointed from the beginning at the obvious parallels that this series has to Star Wars and Lord of the Rings. This installment in particular was very predictable, and the lack of any suspense caused the novel to drag on. Paolini gets bogged down in descriptions of the landscape and the inner musings of characters that have little to do with advancing the plot. In my opinion, the 800+ page length was too long and could easily have been cut down. I mainly finished this book because I was curious to see what happened in the end, but given that that was my motivation, the ending was quite disappointing. The events after the climax drag and the ending seems contrived to leave everyone unhappy.

    13 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    High hopes dashed:(

    This book was a bit of a letdown. I had hoped for so many questions to be answered, and most all weren't. The book seemed rushed and full of so much information, but no real answered questions;It was sometimes difficult to grasp what is going on. Nothing on Angela and her story, Nasuada and Murtaugh, Arya and Eragon, the Woman and girl that Eragon met, Tenga the hermit, etc. The book ended and i was questioning whether or not I had missed something; no real closure. Would I read another book by Paolini? Defintely, I just hope he does as he said in his thank you letter at the end of the book, stating he plans to return to Iheritance cycle. Maybe he will then answer our many, many questions. I ended the book on a disappointing note, I wish it were better. The book was an ok read, nothing spectacular.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Disappointing

    I thought it was a huge disappointment. Extremely predictable and so many loose ends.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Vastly dissappointing

    Eragon, the first of the four book series, was the only one in the series that was really worth the time it took to read. I loved Eragon! But in this volume, obscure use of rare words and meandering descriptions of no importance to the story threatened to put me to sleep often. It was as if the author's primary focus was to impress the reader with his vast and obscure vocabulary. I loved the first book - that is the only reason that I continued to read - especially when the third book failed to conclude the storyline. I have to admit, I hated the ending. Entirely anti-climatic and drawn out as far as possible. It was supposed to be a tear-jerker, but failed horribly. Just frustrating.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Disappointed. The other books were way better.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    I am a fan of the series, so I was really disappointed when I re

    I am a fan of the series, so I was really disappointed when I read the final book. There were no surprises, I wasn't happy with who turned out to be the next rider and the final battle fell flat for me. I feel the author was rushed to finish this book, so he left out a lot of intricate details that could have filled the story out more. I liked the third book much more than this one. I won't reread this one again anytime soon.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Kind of a let down

    I really enjoyed the first 3 books and was hoping for a happy ending for all. Overall -long drawn out and a little boring. I found myself skipping lots of pages to see if if it got better. I dont think it did and was not happy with the ending at all.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    The ending needs help

    The ending is horrid! Its like he suddenly lost all intrest in this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Lets just say: "Not my favorite book!"

    I hope it not just me but i really hoped that Aria and Eragon's relationship would actually develop into something more serious. There were alot of loose ends and no real end to this book. I expected an epic ending and instead of getting an ending it deserved it got just a simple, plain, and unanswered ending. There were somethings i did like that i would have never expected. But unfortunately there was to much disapointment. Sorry Chistopher but we expected more!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    A little disappointed....

    Is that it?!!!! This was the last book, I was expecting so much more!! What happens with the new dragons? How do the Urgals measure up as Riders? So many questions left unanswered...still a fan of the series but this one was not my fav.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Took to long

    This is a great series but I have lost interest because I have found other books to read and now I don't want to finish it since I forgot everything.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Amazing

    Amazing

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Very slow

    The book focused too much on the Varden capturing different cities than Eragon and Galbatorics. Most of the fighting wasn't needed

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Skipped most

    I'll be honest, I skipped over half this book and I do not feel that I missed anything. Although he wants desperately to be, the author is not Tolkien. Maybe one day but not yet. The ending was awful. I think the author must have never been in love. Everyone who should be together and happy, are separated and miserable. I hate when authors end a series with sadness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Extremely dull....

    Hard to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    SO BORING!!!

    This book is so boring and takes me forever to even finish ome page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    No offense but this book couldn't hold my attention compared to

    No offense but this book couldn't hold my attention compared to his other books I know lots of die hard fans will say its the best but I think the others are still better. I couldn't even finish it and I later returned it, I had my friend tell me the ending, which was very anticlimactic by the way. It could of been, "An offer you can't refuse."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Boring

    In the 3rd book I lost intrest in it so much it took me a year and a half to finish!!!!!!! I read about 3, 500 page books a week so I dont plan on getting the 4th.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Worth reading to finish the series

    This book fell prey to the plodding, pedestrian writing that unfortunately marked the previous volume of the series. Paolini gets lost in 'character developments' that only serve to prolong the story, not enhance it, adding strange bits of 'humorous insight' at seemingly inappropriate times, only serving to undermine his characters. When he actually focuses on moving the story forward, the book reads fairly well. Given his age at inception, one would have expected Paolini's writing style to mature, but unfortunately, it has devolved and wading through all the drivel to get to the meat of the story can be painful...That being said, it was worth reading to finish the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5