Customer Reviews for

Inheritance (Inheritance Cycle Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3962 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3057)

4 Star

(473)

3 Star

(191)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(152)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

182 out of 236 people found this review helpful.

FINALLY!!!!!!!

I for one will be happy to re-read the series to freshen up my memory.Isn't that what books are for anyways? I'd rather he took his time finishing it then didn't finish it at all. After Harry Potter ended I only had this series to fall back on. While I'm sad that it's ...
I for one will be happy to re-read the series to freshen up my memory.Isn't that what books are for anyways? I'd rather he took his time finishing it then didn't finish it at all. After Harry Potter ended I only had this series to fall back on. While I'm sad that it's the last I'm uber excited too. I'm counting down the days until I get that freshly printed book in my hands and get to smell the fragrance of literature....AHHH!

posted by Booksniffer13 on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

I must say I was more than a little bit disappointed by the last book in this otherwise good series. Paolini has not seemed to grow as an author at all. He seems to cling to the same patterns and words; he seems very much to be a person who has not experienced much of t...
I must say I was more than a little bit disappointed by the last book in this otherwise good series. Paolini has not seemed to grow as an author at all. He seems to cling to the same patterns and words; he seems very much to be a person who has not experienced much of the world and of life itself, and that shows in his writing. When Eragon was young and just beginning his life as a Rider, Paolini's own naivety lent itself to Eragon's personality; however, one would expect the character to grow and experience more of a personal life over the years. Alas, I'm not certain Paolini has the ability to allow that to happen, and he certainly didn't prove otherwise in this final chapter of Eragon's saga. There are many good battle scenes, a few intrigues, and lots of good description here, but the story just falls a little flat.

posted by 7383741 on November 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3998 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 200
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    Why four stars?

    I can not WAIIT to read this book. Christopher Paolini is one of my favorite authors! His last book, Brisingr, was one of my all time favorites! I have looked forward to this for a long time and am dying to get the book between my two own hands. But why four stars? Because it took so long to finish!!! :) I will be proud to own this, bound in Hardcover, as soon as I can!

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    hmm..

    I'm kind of iffy on this one, the third one wasn't as good as the first two but we'll see.

    7 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    YES! YES!! YES!!!

    I'm sooo excited this is finally out! I just reread the series a few months ago and was left with an inescapable craving to know the conclusion to the series! And now, here it is! It really says something about a fantasy series when a young fourth grader starts reading Eragon and at sixteen, has a near panic attack when she sees the words "Inheritance Cycle Series #4" and "Pre-order" right next to each other. This is one AMAZING series, and I can't wait to see how it ends!

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Thank you Christopher :)

    I love this series and I'm glad to have finally found out what happened! :) This is probably my favorite book in the series, although my memory of the other books is a little fuzzy so I can't be completely sure about that.
    The only thing I didn't like about Inheritance was the very ending. I wish something different had happened, although I guess the characters did the only thing they could. Still, it made me sad.
    If Christopher ever decides to write another book in the series (which he sort of hinted that he might), I will definitely read it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Seriously Jaw-Droppingly AMAZING!!!!!!

    Okay, I have read a lot of books in the past but this one blows each and every one from my mind. I was in a trance, in Eragon and Saphira's world, as I turned each page. I literally could not keep my hands off the book; I would memorize scales just so I could read it while practicing music. I bravely tackled the first Eragon book as a third grader and am SO glad I did. Reading Inheritance as a seventh grader helped me with some of my writing techniques as well. My heart broke when the book ended, but Christopher Paolini writes so beautifully that I kept myself from chucking the book across my room when it did end. Hats off to you, Mr. Paolini, for an unforgettable and thrillimg adventure.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Do yourself a favor - don't waste your time

    I truly enjoyed the first three books of this series, and was so glad to FINALLY have the fourth and last one. I started to read it, and I found myself taking forever to finish even two chapters at a time. This book was entirely too long. I think at least 300 pages could have been shaved off, and would have been all the better for it. Honestly, I just hated all of the chapters in Roran's point of view - I could not stand his character. And I was excited to find out what would happen to all of the characters....and the end came....and I was beyond unsatisfied with the author's conclusion to his series. Big let down is all I'm saying. I will definitely not be re-reading this series again.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Best book ever!!!

    I has soooo exited when the 4th book came out. I was literally counting the days till it came out. I was reading till 11 each night reading. After 4 days of intense reading i read the last chapter then didnt believe it was true ans read it again .and cried. Its not realley sad but it wasnt happy. It just wasnt right. Im not going to say anything else or ill ruin in. But ive read the series like twice and been on the internet trying to get a clue to what happens after the ending. But STILL!!!! He sould have least made a epilouge or make small book on what happens.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Amazing Series

    I just finished the final book of this series last night. I stayed up way too late some nights reading this series, sometimes until two or three in the morning, knowing I had to get up for work in a couple of hours. Christopher Paolini is a truly talented writer! He has created a world so real and sunstantial that it makes you feel like you are actually there, as if you were fighting along side the Varden, or flying through the clouds on Saphira's back with Eragon! I hope I get to revisit Alaglaesia some day! I thoroughly enjoyed reading these books, and if you have not yet, I think you will too!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Complete waste of time and money

    I have always enjoyed Mr Paolini's books, but his one was a real let down.I fill like he rushed to finish the novel with anticlimactic ending, leaving a lot of the story unanswered.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Inheritance

    I can honestly say I am displeased with the ending of the book, I mean I waited three years for what I think is a let down. However on a whole definitely on of the best series I have read.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    I'm dissapointed

    This book is great, maybe even the greatest. But the ending makes me very sad

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Well written ending to the series

    Overall, this last book was by far better written than the previous books. You can definitely see how the author has grown and matured in his writing style over the course of these four books. Eragon seemed almost too convenient, but as the author grew, so did his characters and writing style. Glad to have read this series, but Inheritance is by far my favorite. I spent many a night unable to put the book down. Truly the climax to a great story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    FANTASTIC BUT IM DISAPPOINTED

    SPOILER ALERT!!!!! Cuz Eragon and Arya nvr got together or at least kissed. Arya got a dragon named Firenze. He and Saphira met and were madly in love and mated 10 minutes later. It would of been cool to hav Eragon+Arya and Saphira+Firenze, but noooooooooo Arya had to b queen and Eragon had to leave Ala...(cant spell it) 4ever. THEY COULD OF AT LEAST KISSED OR SOMETHING!!! but other than that outstanding book.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    This book completes it all!

    I for one LOVE this book. I wish Paolini would write one more book so I could see what happens to Arya and Eragon and Roran.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    In my opinion, Inheritance has been the best book of the series.

    In my opinion, Inheritance has been the best book of the series. It has so many secrets and mysteries unveiled, I couldn't stop reading. I am both happy and sad after completing this book, because I want the series to go on. It was more adventurous and action packed than all of the other books, and I loved it. I recommend this book to everyone who needs a book to read, and anyone who likes to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Book suggestions based on age.

    This was a wonderful series. I deffidently suggest reading the whole series. If you like this series you should read:
    9-11 years old:
    •All the Warriors or Seekers series
    •Percy Jackson and the Olympians and the Heroes of Olympus series
    12-14
    •Hunger games trilogy
    •Matched trilogy
    These are all good series and Ive read them. I suggest if you havent, read the Harry Potter series. Its the best ever.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Best Book Series Ever

    OMG - it is so good, i was so sad when i finished this book because i loved the series THIS IS A MUST READ!!!! Wish there was another one in the series :( Didn't want it 2 end

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Omg.

    Oh My God freaking amazing book really sad at end but I loved it!! Please Continue Christopher Paolini!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Amazing

    I love this book!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    High hopes dashed:(

    This book was a bit of a letdown. I had hoped for so many questions to be answered, and most all weren't. The book seemed rushed and full of so much information, but no real answered questions;It was sometimes difficult to grasp what is going on. Nothing on Angela and her story, Nasuada and Murtaugh, Arya and Eragon, the Woman and girl that Eragon met, Tenga the hermit, etc. The book ended and i was questioning whether or not I had missed something; no real closure. Would I read another book by Paolini? Defintely, I just hope he does as he said in his thank you letter at the end of the book, stating he plans to return to Iheritance cycle. Maybe he will then answer our many, many questions. I ended the book on a disappointing note, I wish it were better. The book was an ok read, nothing spectacular.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3998 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 200