BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Inheritance

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Claiming an Inheritance Sometimes is Costly!

    McKenna Ashford has spent most of her life trying to be a mother to her younger brother, Robert. After a series of disasters, McKenna and Robert journey to Copper Creek, Colorado to be near their cousin, Janie Talbot. McKenna's hopes for a bright future are suddenly crushed by the death of Janie and her husband. Per Janie's request, McKenna agrees to care for Emma, Janie's daughter, and inherits their homestead. As she begins life in Copper Creek, she encounters the intriguing and somewhat dangerous U.S. Marshal Wyatt Caradon. Trying to keep her distance from Marshal Caradon, moonlighting as an entrepreneur, parenting a rebellious brother, and keeping the farm together proves to be more than McKenna can handle. When it seems everything has fallen apart and McKenna is about to lose a precious treasure, will she have the strength and faith to do what is necessary?

    The Inheritance carries on Tamera Alexander's tradition of integrating history, romance, and the personal issues of her characters. This is the second book I've read by Alexander and I find that in her stories, it seems the plot is coming to a close when she suddenly throws in an unexpected element or situation that tests the character's resolve and keeps the story moving. I thought the plot flowed well and the characters were authentic. It was interesting how Alexander incorporated the Chinese culture of the time and area with her story. I felt like Alexander used the book to advance awareness of the pain and maladies caused by the Chinese practice of binding young girls' feet. Overall, The Inheritance is an entertaining read and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical romances.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Recommended for historical romance readers

    This well written story set in Colorado keeps the reader involved as McKenna struggles to make the best of a very difficult situation. Her struggles to raise her rebellious brother are realistic. As she learns to trust and accept help from others, McKenna grows into a woman worthy of the admiration of a man of faith like the lawman Wyatt.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    I Loved This Book

    This book arrived in the mail at 2:00 pm and with interruptions for dinner and incoming phone calls, I finally finished it at 2:30 a.m. twelve and a half hours later. I couldn't stay away from it for long. The story line was believable, the characters interesting, and in general it made for a compelling read. At my current age, I do not stay with a book until its through due to my eyes and fatigue. However, this book was an exception to the norm. The title of "The Inheritance" is vague and left open to conjecture. I actually felt there were several inheritances involved. This is not the usual frontier type romance as a pivotal part concerns the heroine's unlikely friendship with an immigrant woman from China who had bound feet (an old custom now outlawed). All in all, this made for an enjoyable read. I recommend it so highly, I immediately loaned it to my best friend. When I get it back, I plan to reread it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    I love this book I couldn't put it down.

    This is the first book of Tameras that i have read. But it wont be the last. I hope to find a #2 that goes into the brothers life of finding love. I could read several more books with these people in it. Great book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    Great Book!:D

    This was my first time reading a Christian book(I am a Christian) and it was wonderful. I'm a teenager, and read teenager-ish books. This book taught me books can be different. It was uplifting and taught me plenty of lessons. I love Tamera Alexander and her books, and I would definitely recommend this book!XD

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    A wonderful, uplifting novel.

    I was delighted to read this novel! It has become one of my favorites. It is set in Copper Creek, Colorado. McKenna Ashford and her younger rebellious brother move to Colorado hoping to give them a new start and tame her brother's bad habits. It is a novel filled with romance and love. It is an uplifting novel that shows a person that when things are bad you need to be strong and carry on because things will turn around. Their path to a new life is challenging but they meet some wonderful people that will aid them in their journey. I highly recommend this uplifting novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    highly recommend

    a religious book that was enjoyable and had a good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Love love love

    I love love love this book. The way this author writes is amazing. I was so deeply touched by what McKenna has to go thru. This was a first for me by this author. It won't be the last!!!!!
    HappyReading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Great story

    Tamera Alexander writes excellent stories. They are all full of humbling experiences with timeless threads of history,discovery, romance, and faith. I have enjoyed all her stories so far and look forward towards more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Great read

    I am a big tamera alexander fan and enjoyed this book just as much as her other ones.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Second Chances Bring perfect Love

    Tamera Alexander has an unmatched skill at taking her readers on journeys into the west and history. From the first sentence to the last, she draws the reader into her story world, with characters that are real, scenery you can almost touch, love that moves your heart, and faith that makes you envious. The Inheritance is a journey back into the settling west, and a trip into your very own heart.

    McKenna Ashford moves to Copper Creek, Colorado seeking a fresh start for herself and her brother, Robert. U.S. Marshal Wyatt Caradon is content to live on the trail bringing fugitives to justice. A chance meeting between the two of them on McKenna's best friend's ranch changes the course of both of their lives forever. Can two independent souls learn to trust and rely upon each other and allow love to grow in unexpected ways? What if they have to lose everything to gain the world?

    As McKenna and Wyatt journey into a beautiful love story, the reader travels with them. Readers will hope to return to Copper Creek in future books. I highly recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet. Sassy. Simply wonderful.

    Review by Gigi Hoffman

    McKenna Ashford moves to Colorado, hoping to make a new start for herself and her rebellious younger brother. But when she arrives at her cousin's doorstep, things are nothing like she hoped they'd be. McKenna struggles to be a parent to her brother, figure out the 'surprise' she's left with, and still make ends meet. Throw in rugged U.S. Marshal Wyatt Caradon, who has memories from his own past, some very interesting and well-done minor characters, and you've got Tamera Alexander's The Inheritance.

    Sweet. Sassy. Simply wonderful. That's The Inheritance in a nutshell. I love historical romances with sassy heroines, and this book did not disappoint. The main character, McKenna Ashford, grabbed my attention right away. I was pulled into the story through the struggles, surprises, and genuine love. It leaves you feeling warm, fuzzy, and happy. If you like historical romances, don't miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Our True Inheritance

    This was my first Tamera Alexander novel but not the last. This talented writer has won this reader over as surely as she shows us how much our spiritual inheritance is worth.
    Her characters are so real they become friends you don't want to say good-bye to. In addition, her attention to detail is remarkable. I highly recommend this book for your personal collection and for gift giving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    Challenge to Faith

    Rarely am I touched as deeply by the underlying message of a book as I am with Tamera Alexander's The Inheritance. Privileged to read this several months before it came out in print, I'm still daily affected by the impact of the heroine's journey-one I've been on for several years now. As I read about McKenna's struggle to learn the balance in her relationship with her wayward brother, I was reminded over and over that as much as I love my children, God loves them even more. And because of His overwhelming, unfathomable love, I can trust Him to do what's best for them. But as McKenna learns, that kind of trust doesn't come easily or without sacrifice. It affects her growing feelings for the U.S. Marshal who shows up on her doorstep, offering his help on the farm she's recently inherited. He challenges her faith and that makes her take another look at what it means to be totally surrendered to God. The setting lends itself well to the story, the romance is well written, but the message and the daily prayer that has become Wyatt and McKenna's lifeline is powerful. I highly recommend this book, but be prepared to be challenged in your relationship with Jesus Christ. It will change you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This was my first Tamera Alexander novel and I found the story gripping from the first page. Tamera Alexander knows how to draw you into the story. Her characters are very real, very compelling and right away we care what happens to them. I love books where children are involved and maybe that is why this book is very special to me. I could relate with MaKenna's trials and sufferings of mother love with her teen-aged brother and with her niece. I enjoyed becoming friends with Mei Chin. And seeing the many relationships develop. Highly Recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect Read on a Rainy Day ...

    I thoroughly enjoyed "The Inheritance". There were so many angles to the "inheritance" concept and it was great to read a well-written, well-researched book that encourages the reader (me) to sit back and also take note of the inheritance I have received through my walk of faith in Christ Jesus. Learning brokenness, faith, and rest through troubled times ... an inheritance I can certainly stand to receive!

    Tamera Alexander's writing style was pleasant reading. I was pleased with the storyline, the relationships drew me in and made putting the book down difficult, and I loved the balance she obtained by McKenna's severe independance yet desperate need for DEPENDANCE. Wyatt is the perfect hero and is a great picture of a Godly leader.

    If I had to critique anything, I'd say it was too short. And, I don't mean that patronizingly. I would have loved to have the book a little thicker and a little longer so Tamera Alexander could have spread the story even further =0)

    Totally worth the money to add this to your library! Great for a rainy day, a hot cup of coffee, and a moment to escape into history and romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Memorable Historical Christian Romance

    The Inheritance is a delightful, inspiring historical romance with a great redemptive message. Tamera Alexander paints a beautiful picture of what it looks like to entrust your life to God in difficult circumstances. The theme of trust carries into the relationship between McKenna and Wyatt-both people with a past that could stymie their future happiness, but because of their faith in God, are able to find their way to each other in the midst of serious life challenges. The author's sensitive and insightful writing style has a warmth and vitality that will bring smiles and tears as you are along for the enjoyable journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    A good read

    Sweet. Sassy. Simply wonderful. That's The Inheritance in a nutshell. I love historical romances with sassy heroines, and this book did not disappoint. The main character, McKenna Ashford, grabbed my attention right away. I was pulled into the story through the struggles, surprises, and genuine love. It leaves you feeling warm, fuzzy, and happy. Don't miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    Good, Clean, Christian Romance!

    Nice, escapism book! Well written, not overly foofoo...one of my new favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3