Customer Reviews for

Inhuman

Average Rating 3.5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Love it!

Right from the first page I was entranced with this book!
I read Inhuman after reading this author's first book, Dimensions of Genisis. I am still totally in love with her first book, but this second book is definately just as good! I have two boys (4.5 & 2.5yrs) who...
Right from the first page I was entranced with this book!
I read Inhuman after reading this author's first book, Dimensions of Genisis. I am still totally in love with her first book, but this second book is definately just as good! I have two boys (4.5 & 2.5yrs) who are very time consuming to say the least. I was so totally engrossed in this book that I read it in two days! I stayed up 4 hours past my usual bedtime to get this finished....at 2 am! I just could not put it down once I started. It is a creative, well written page turner that, I found, is different from others. The characters have lots of depth and you can actually "feel" how they feel as their worlds swirl into chaos.
I would definately reccomend this book! Please, Read It! You won't regret it....my only problem is when the next book is released I think I will leave the kids with my husband and take off for 2 days so nobody gets neglected :)
Seriously tho. Take the chance :-)

posted by WildRoseAB on November 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Very mediocre

...and even that is probably being generous. It's a fun idea: broke student hires herself out as a medschool lab rat, is discovered to have inhuman DNA, is persecuted by a covert and brutal government organization, and sets out to escape them and learn the truth about ...
...and even that is probably being generous. It's a fun idea: broke student hires herself out as a medschool lab rat, is discovered to have inhuman DNA, is persecuted by a covert and brutal government organization, and sets out to escape them and learn the truth about herself. Unfortunarely, the main characters are under developed and two dimensional, and the emotions don't feel real.

posted by 18118369 on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Love it!

    Right from the first page I was entranced with this book!
    I read Inhuman after reading this author's first book, Dimensions of Genisis. I am still totally in love with her first book, but this second book is definately just as good! I have two boys (4.5 & 2.5yrs) who are very time consuming to say the least. I was so totally engrossed in this book that I read it in two days! I stayed up 4 hours past my usual bedtime to get this finished....at 2 am! I just could not put it down once I started. It is a creative, well written page turner that, I found, is different from others. The characters have lots of depth and you can actually "feel" how they feel as their worlds swirl into chaos.
    I would definately reccomend this book! Please, Read It! You won't regret it....my only problem is when the next book is released I think I will leave the kids with my husband and take off for 2 days so nobody gets neglected :)
    Seriously tho. Take the chance :-)

    34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    Intriguing and emotional

    Cassia always thought she was normal except for the unique star birthmark in the center of her chest. She's a college student and to help pay for her tuition she becomes a temporary guinea pig for the medical students which she hates but deals with for the paycheck. Between school and barely having enough money to eat, things finally start looking up when she meets hunky Keanu, a fellow student, and falls in love. Then things take a dark turn when she suddenly finds herself locked away in a secret government facility because.Cassia doesn't have human DNA. She's treated horribly and just when she's lost hope of ever escaping she finds out she's pregnant. Now more than ever she has to escape before they can do any harm to her baby. And with the help of the man she loves she finally escapes. On the run now and finding that she needs answers to who or what she is she goes home where the grandmother who raised her might have the answers she's looking for.

    This was an emotional book but I thought it was really good. And even though the ending left me with mixed feelings of trepidation and hope the story was intriguing and moved smoothly.

    15 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Very mediocre

    ...and even that is probably being generous. It's a fun idea: broke student hires herself out as a medschool lab rat, is discovered to have inhuman DNA, is persecuted by a covert and brutal government organization, and sets out to escape them and learn the truth about herself. Unfortunarely, the main characters are under developed and two dimensional, and the emotions don't feel real.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    Inhuman is probably one of the best books I have read in a while. This story is about a girl named Cassia who finds out she is not human. She is imprisoned and is treated horribly until one of the guys that helps imprison her comes to her rescue. From the very first chapter of the story, it will make you want to read more. I read this book in one day and I do not regret reading it. I highly, highly, highly suggest everyone gets this book. I couldn't believe it was free! I just wish there was a sequel! Even though it is approximately 430 pages, it seemed to go by so fast! Hope to find a sequel soon.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Good

    I liked the story line of the book. I liked the characters. There were minor errors where a word was missing in a sentence but it's easily fixable to just add a word while you're reading. I wasn't thrilled of the ending because I don't feel as if the story wrapped up nicely, just kind of left you hanging. I would recommend it to others just to see their thoughts on it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    I just couldn't get into this book. The transitions between chap

    I just couldn't get into this book. The transitions between chapters were horrible and amateurish, which didn't help.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Best book ever

    This is one of the best books I ever read. I read this book in a day. It was well writen and had a great story line.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Luv it

    I had to read this book 24/7 tryin to make sure i didnt skip any details

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Overall good read.

    I enjoyed this book. It kept me reading. I would reccomend this book to any person who likes paranormal or fantasy books. The end makes me hope there is another book. You want to know what happens. This is worth trying...a great free book!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    great read, would highly recommend it. well worth your time.

    great read, would highly recommend it. well worth your time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Simply a good read

    Well worth your time. I got caught up right away in the story. 450 pages.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Great book

    This book was wonderfull. The story line was gripping. The truth about how our world can judge a person for being diffrent is almost brutal but also compleatly true. We as a people judge people by how they look and dress and what god they believe in. This book makes you think what if something like this did happen would we turn our backs and let it happen or would we stand and fight for our right and everyones right to be free

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Interesting read

    Not a bad read but could use a bit of work. If there is another book, I would read it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Caution

    Wonderful book! Definately needs a warning the main char is raped, abused, an dehuminised by a govt facility. NOT FOR CHILDREN. It is NOT descriptive in the rape or love making, but definately not something you want a child to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Romance more than mystery, both fall flat.

    I went back and forth on what I thought of this story until I realized that I was struggling with two different aspects of the book: Originality (creativity) and Mechanics (grammar, style, technique, etc.). The originality of the idea of this story is a solid 4 stars, maybe even a 4.5. On the other hand, the Mechanics of this story is barely worthy of 2 stars.

    A young Native American woman is undergoing testing to help her raise money for college. One of the tests is a DNA test, unbeknownst to our heroine, and results in her being abducted by a super secret, government (sort of) agency because she has inhuman DNA! She then must find a way to escape from her captors and find out the truth about herself before her time runs out.

    So, our heroine is super naive to the realities of the world, because she was raised on the reservation, and is not human. And she never suspected, in spite of the fact that she has a perfect star in the middle of her chest.

    Cassia is so naive, she borders on stupid sometimes. She falls head over heels in love with Keanu after a "chance" encounter and one date the following day. She falls so in love with him, she sleeps with him (sans protection) after having known him for maybe 48 hours. If she knew him longer, I was unaware of it because there was very little mention of time.

    I don't really remember ANY mention of dates or months or time except for Cassia's birthday. How long was she trapped, and tortured, and raped while in the secret facility? The timeline gets further muddled after Cassia becomes pregnant and it becomes apparent that Cassia's condition is maturing faster than normal.

    And about the baby daddy: Is it the hot love interest, Keanu? Or is it the sickeningly vile Agent Myers? She was with Keanu only the once before she was taken and then Myers raped her nightly. Once they know she's pregnant, he quits, but Keanu comes back and makes love to her again.

    Wait, what? He works for the enemy, lied to her from the very beginning, works for the people who let Myers rape her, she's been raped NIGHTLY, and yet he comes back and says some sweet words and she falls for him again? Nevermind the fact she's probably sore and emotional because of the pregnancy, but she's been broken down physically, mentally, and emotionally by Myers, yet she's all in love with Keanu again after a matter of moments?

    The rest is more of the same: flat characters, naive mistakes, very quick plot-line that has no sense of time and just seems to meander along til we get close to the finish line.

    This book reads like a romance novel, but there is no romance! The characters have the emotional depth of romance characters, but we don't get the graphic, steamy love scenes. We're always just a little short of the payoff of a romance novel.

    So we have a romance novel that's been marketed like a supernatural mystery, and there is very little mystery, not quite enough romance, and very, very little supernatural anything.

    Overall, it was a fun, quick read, and for an almost free book, I would probably still recommend it... as long as you could get it for less than $5.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Great Story Line

    The author really draws you into loving the main character and feeling what she is experiencing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Based on Actual Legend

    Interesting book based on as actual Hopi legend regarding the arrival of a apeople that will usher in a new age of peace.
    It's a pretty good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Eh, so so

    This author has great creativity, but needs to work on chapter transitions. Simply put, the constant "cliff-hanger" or foreboding chapter endings were distracting and took away from the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    decent

    i will be very interested to read a sequel and see if the many loose ends get tied up. left with many questions at the end but overall a highly enjoyable book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    A nice surprise

    A short book filled with a good tale. Sci fi, action, conspiracy, some adult scenes and romance. I would have given it a different title but it did catch my eye. Didnt notice any typos. Recommended ages 18 and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9