Customer Reviews for

Inhuman

Average Rating 3.5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Love it!

Right from the first page I was entranced with this book!
I read Inhuman after reading this author's first book, Dimensions of Genisis. I am still totally in love with her first book, but this second book is definately just as good! I have two boys (4.5 & 2.5yrs) who...
Right from the first page I was entranced with this book!
I read Inhuman after reading this author's first book, Dimensions of Genisis. I am still totally in love with her first book, but this second book is definately just as good! I have two boys (4.5 & 2.5yrs) who are very time consuming to say the least. I was so totally engrossed in this book that I read it in two days! I stayed up 4 hours past my usual bedtime to get this finished....at 2 am! I just could not put it down once I started. It is a creative, well written page turner that, I found, is different from others. The characters have lots of depth and you can actually "feel" how they feel as their worlds swirl into chaos.
I would definately reccomend this book! Please, Read It! You won't regret it....my only problem is when the next book is released I think I will leave the kids with my husband and take off for 2 days so nobody gets neglected :)
Seriously tho. Take the chance :-)

posted by WildRoseAB on November 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Very mediocre

...and even that is probably being generous. It's a fun idea: broke student hires herself out as a medschool lab rat, is discovered to have inhuman DNA, is persecuted by a covert and brutal government organization, and sets out to escape them and learn the truth about ...
...and even that is probably being generous. It's a fun idea: broke student hires herself out as a medschool lab rat, is discovered to have inhuman DNA, is persecuted by a covert and brutal government organization, and sets out to escape them and learn the truth about herself. Unfortunarely, the main characters are under developed and two dimensional, and the emotions don't feel real.

posted by 18118369 on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Very mediocre

    ...and even that is probably being generous. It's a fun idea: broke student hires herself out as a medschool lab rat, is discovered to have inhuman DNA, is persecuted by a covert and brutal government organization, and sets out to escape them and learn the truth about herself. Unfortunarely, the main characters are under developed and two dimensional, and the emotions don't feel real.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    I just couldn't get into this book. The transitions between chap

    I just couldn't get into this book. The transitions between chapters were horrible and amateurish, which didn't help.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Romance more than mystery, both fall flat.

    I went back and forth on what I thought of this story until I realized that I was struggling with two different aspects of the book: Originality (creativity) and Mechanics (grammar, style, technique, etc.). The originality of the idea of this story is a solid 4 stars, maybe even a 4.5. On the other hand, the Mechanics of this story is barely worthy of 2 stars.

    A young Native American woman is undergoing testing to help her raise money for college. One of the tests is a DNA test, unbeknownst to our heroine, and results in her being abducted by a super secret, government (sort of) agency because she has inhuman DNA! She then must find a way to escape from her captors and find out the truth about herself before her time runs out.

    So, our heroine is super naive to the realities of the world, because she was raised on the reservation, and is not human. And she never suspected, in spite of the fact that she has a perfect star in the middle of her chest.

    Cassia is so naive, she borders on stupid sometimes. She falls head over heels in love with Keanu after a "chance" encounter and one date the following day. She falls so in love with him, she sleeps with him (sans protection) after having known him for maybe 48 hours. If she knew him longer, I was unaware of it because there was very little mention of time.

    I don't really remember ANY mention of dates or months or time except for Cassia's birthday. How long was she trapped, and tortured, and raped while in the secret facility? The timeline gets further muddled after Cassia becomes pregnant and it becomes apparent that Cassia's condition is maturing faster than normal.

    And about the baby daddy: Is it the hot love interest, Keanu? Or is it the sickeningly vile Agent Myers? She was with Keanu only the once before she was taken and then Myers raped her nightly. Once they know she's pregnant, he quits, but Keanu comes back and makes love to her again.

    Wait, what? He works for the enemy, lied to her from the very beginning, works for the people who let Myers rape her, she's been raped NIGHTLY, and yet he comes back and says some sweet words and she falls for him again? Nevermind the fact she's probably sore and emotional because of the pregnancy, but she's been broken down physically, mentally, and emotionally by Myers, yet she's all in love with Keanu again after a matter of moments?

    The rest is more of the same: flat characters, naive mistakes, very quick plot-line that has no sense of time and just seems to meander along til we get close to the finish line.

    This book reads like a romance novel, but there is no romance! The characters have the emotional depth of romance characters, but we don't get the graphic, steamy love scenes. We're always just a little short of the payoff of a romance novel.

    So we have a romance novel that's been marketed like a supernatural mystery, and there is very little mystery, not quite enough romance, and very, very little supernatural anything.

    Overall, it was a fun, quick read, and for an almost free book, I would probably still recommend it... as long as you could get it for less than $5.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Eh, so so

    This author has great creativity, but needs to work on chapter transitions. Simply put, the constant "cliff-hanger" or foreboding chapter endings were distracting and took away from the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Good story, TERRIBLE PUNCTUATION

    The story idea is good, the writing style fun, and the characters believable, but the glaring punctuation errors and incorrect word choices ("el dente"? Is that a Spanish tooth bandit?) ruined it for me by page 50. Periods and commas are used almost interchangeably. Fix all that up and I'll happily give it another try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    What did i just read?

    This book introduces characters and ideas but then leaves them very vague. Often, characters will have contradicting reactions. The author has a great talent for describing things, but without a clear point to the story, I'm left with more questions than answer. Not even sure if i would read a sequel just to get my answers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    It was too slow for me

    I don't like it, I'm planning on not ever reading this book and deleting it.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Not bad

    She pissed me off at how dumb she act and sge a very slow thinker. All in all, the book was predictable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1