Customer Reviews for

The Initiation and The Captive (Part 1) (Secret Circle Series #1-2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 494 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(303)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!

it was so exciting and emotional. the book is romantic but in a very wierd way. i love how the author introduces the characters in such a mysterious way.

posted by bookluverVP on May 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

1992? Twilight?

So this was published in 1992? And it's almost exactly like Twilight which wasn't published until 2005? I think Mrs. Meyer has some explaining to do. If you liked Twilight, then you will probably like this.

posted by TayMac on December 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 303 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    it was so exciting and emotional. the book is romantic but in a very wierd way. i love how the author introduces the characters in such a mysterious way.

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cassie Beale for TeensReadToo.com

    L. J. Smith exceeds herself with the reissue of THE SECRET CIRCLE. <BR/><BR/>Though some of her older books, especially THE VAMPIRE DIARIES, are a delight to read, THE SECRET CIRCLE is leagues ahead in not only writing skill but in plot and characterization, as well. <BR/><BR/>The main character, Cassie (who coincidentally shares a first name with this reviewer), is likeable and easy to relate to as a plain, shy, sixteen-year-old girl. <BR/><BR/>After moving to New Salem to live with her mother and estranged grandmother, Cassie finds herself included in her new school's intimidating secret club. Once she is initiated as a witch, Cassie soon finds out that the beautiful boy she fell in love with over the summer is part of the coven, too. <BR/><BR/>Cassie must sacrifice true love in order to protect her adopted "sister," Diana, but what else will she have to sacrifice? And what does the club's rebel member, Faye, have to do with the cursed crystal skull and the mysterious deaths in New Salem? <BR/><BR/>Ending with a breathtaking cliffhanger, L. J. Smith's THE SECRET CIRCLE will leave you begging for more.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it

    The secret circle books are amazing! The main character, Cassie, is likeable and easy to relate to as a plain, shy, sixteen-year-old girl.. I loved reading this book. it has a story line that will keep you entertained for hours.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A quick and easy read that captures your full attention.

    I enjoyed this book because it did not take too much thought and it was fast paced. I bought the book for my tween daughter and decided to read it first and I am glad I did. The book captured my attention from the very beginning. It was a nice easy read and I will probably buy another one....

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME! Could not put it down!

    Lucky for me I had the second book ready to go because I read the first book in 1 day. It was so good I kept reaching for it whenever I had a spare moment.
    Really this is a great read.
    I wish I had read it in the 90's when they were out and I was younger- LOL.
    Personally, I feel L.J. Smith's books are better than the Twiglight Series. And they were written before Twilight. Hmmmm...Maybe S.Meyer read L.J Smith when she was younger...

    **Make sure you have the second book ready because it is originally a trilogy. So each of the 2 Secret Circle books has 1 1/2 of the original books from the trilogy in them:o)

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing!

    I loved these books! I loved they way she wrote the characters, I felt like I knew them. I couldn't put it down. I loved the secrecy of cassie and adam, and the trust between cassie and diana. It was an amazing book, I just wish she would write more about them. The series was way to short.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Awesome book

    Awesome book and tv series the cw needs to bring it back

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Love it

    I seen the show on cw and they cancel it . I was sad . I wish they would being it back . I did injoy this show

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    OMG I LOVE THIS BOOK AND THE TV SERIES

    This book is epic and it shows what they decided to do with the tv series.....

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Thriller

    Love it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BEYOND WORDS CAN DESCRIBE -- ABSOLUTELY BREATHTAKING!

    Cassie is like any other girl who starts a new school. Feeling out of place; being made fun of & picked on; & at times getting into trouble (not by her fault either). It's not until she meets the most beautiful & popular girl in the school, Diana, & is welcomed by most of the members of her so-called club. Well this club isn't like any other, all the members are descendants of witches, even the boys, hence the Secret Circle.

    Even though Cassie is now fitting in she's still a little unhappy, because she cannot stop thinking about the boy (Adam) she met over the summer. The one who she has this inexplicable connection to & she develops this yearning desire for him. She doesn't know when or how she'll ever see him again. Then one night the coven has a meeting, she gets a surprise by a certain member who has been away for awhile.

    When Adam doesn't immediately go to Cassie, instead to Diana, she comes to the realization that Adam is taken. Diana & Adam are together. What is a girl to do? Does Cassie sacrifice possiblity the love of her life or the relationship with the one person who saved her from being an ultimate outcast? Well I'll let you discover what happens next, but I promise you this, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

    In every single story L.J. Smith writes, you are sucked into the world she's describing. You fall madly in love with the characters & the story line. To the point that you're unable to stop reading, thinking, & even dreaming about them. She has all the right components of every book i love to read. From romance, action-adventure, drama, & a life lession you take with you.

    If you're a huge Stephenie Meyer's Fan or Twilight Fan, you will fall in love with L.J. Smith & her several books. The stories are completely different, but it has the same passion, action, & descriptive writing. You will have the same intense infactuation to them, as I have. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book along with all the other books L.J. Smith has written.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Awesome!

    I read this trilogy back in high school. I absolutely loved it. I am now adding them to my personal digital library as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK. A MUST READ FOR EVERYONE!!!!

    Where do I begin, I loved this series. The author grabs you from the first chapter and just keeps on going until the end. The characters are easy to relate to and the books have twists and turns in them that at first you think you have figured out only to find out that you are wrong and they end even better than you expect. This is a definate read that will keep you on your toes until the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Positive :-)

    It was an amazing books it was thrilling but also had romance and it really kept me wanting more when i was done. I even went to make sure there wasn't a third one. I would suggest any one to read it, some many not like but i give it two thumbs up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Love L.J. Smith

    I discovered L.J. Smith in the late 90's amd instantly fell in love with her books. I read and reread The Secret Circle, The Forbidden Game, and Vampire Diaries through jr high and high school. Even now, as an adult I still read them! These familiar tales are still page turners for me, 10+ years later! I can't put them down! I highly recommend anything L.J. Smith writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    LOOOOOOVVE IIIIIITTTT!

    This is a good book . I cant believe that they canceled the show i am a fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Looooooove it

    Too bad the show was cancelled i was a dedicated fan!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My fave teens book. Smith is an awesome writer with great creati

    My fave teens book. Smith is an awesome writer with great creativity and emotion. I have the old set of books and the pages are yellow and the cover is torn from being read time and time again... i come to this series every time i need to &quot;get away&quot; you can trully fall in love with the characters. Great books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    L.J Smith is one of the best authors and my personal favorite. Secret Circle is full of romance, betrayal, true friendship, and witchcraft. I recommend this book to everyone who loves paranormal stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    witchery is always fun

    i luved this book. if you like love triangle mess things you'll love this. if you love blackmailing and treachery its also good. her books just seem to catch you then you cant stop reading till it's done.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 303 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16