Customer Reviews for

Ink (Paper Gods Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

4.5 Stars I really enjoyed this book. I like the setting and fee

4.5 Stars
I really enjoyed this book. I like the setting and feel that the author did a good job of immersing me into the book and bringing out the setting. I liked the plot and how the author brought everything together. I did like how Japanese culture and traditions p...
4.5 Stars
I really enjoyed this book. I like the setting and feel that the author did a good job of immersing me into the book and bringing out the setting. I liked the plot and how the author brought everything together. I did like how Japanese culture and traditions played a part of the book. I liked the idea of an American girl slowly immerses herself in Japanese culture. I liked how the author included the romance and then finally the supernatural. Not everything was explained in this book, but I was okay with that because it left me with anticipation for the next book. The supernatural wasn’t over done and flowed nicely with the book. Everything about the book was amazing and brought together smoothly.

Katie was a pretty good character. Her transition from sad and confused to strong and happy was fun to read about. She resisted moving to japan at first but then she settles in and accepted her new life. I didn’t like how caught up she got in Tomohiro and how he took over her thoughts. She was willing to give up a lot for this guy. But she balanced this out by being strong and self reliant. I liked how the book was from her point of view and the thoughts and feelings that made up this character.

Tomohiro was a contradicting character that I really like. He had these two sides to him and Katie never knew which one he was going to use at any given moment. He had a bad boy outer shell and a good boy center. He constantly used that outer shell as a weapon and as a defense mechanism.

I really loved the ending of this book. I got all prepared for one ending and then I was left with this surprise of a cliff hanger. The author was very masterful with the ending and left me wanting more. I will be looking for more books by this author and publisher.

posted by Book_Crazy02 on July 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great premise, great potential, but failure in delivery - this i

Great premise, great potential, but failure in delivery - this is what sums up everything I think about Ink.

I had huge hopes for this book because it is set in Japan - the land of the rising sun, anime, manga, cosplay, J-dorama, Kendo, samurai and everything weird to ...
Great premise, great potential, but failure in delivery - this is what sums up everything I think about Ink.

I had huge hopes for this book because it is set in Japan - the land of the rising sun, anime, manga, cosplay, J-dorama, Kendo, samurai and everything weird to normal folks. I confess that I'm an otaku, and I don't consider that as a negative thing. So when I received an ARC of Ink, I just couldn't contain my joy! I just had to read it! Then imagine that joy being sucked out little by little when I started reading the book.

The biggest thing which became a huge turn off for me in this book is the heroine. Let me be blunt and just say that Katie Greene is one annoying little prick of a stalker. I do not like her. I know I sound mean, but in all seriousness, never has a heroine ticked me off this way.

While I was reading the book, I groaned multiple times because of how annoying Katie was. Sure, she was this gaijin (outsider) and she's supposed to be broody and all unfamiliar. That's normal. Being thrown in a completely foreign environment makes a person vulnerable. I understand that perfectly. What I don't understand is why she just goes out of her way stalk Tomo. This is not something I could imagine a foreigner, who's all broody being in Japan, would do.

The irony is this: At the beginning, Katie laments being different, being a foreigner living and studying in Japan. She even wants to leave and looks forward to nothing but leaving Japan, but then, she goes out of her way to stalk a guy who looks and acts dangerous. Curiosity? I don't think so. Try annoying stalker-tendencies.

Second annoying thing about Katie: she's like a love-struck unicorn in heat (Yes, I can be colorful even when I'm saying something negative). They barely know each other and she suddenly says she can't live without him. Wow. Just wow. I didn't even know Insta-Love could be as instant as this. And let me just say that the forbidden-love plot device between Katie and Tomo was also another turn off.

Next, Tomo - broody, violent and mysterious hot guy. Basically, imagine a hot anime guy and you get him. Nothing fascinating about him really, except his cool powers. I also don't relate to him that much as a character at all because he's two-dimensional.

All in all, you know that feeling when there's great premise and a promising blurb in a well-packaged book, but then those things are all overshadowed by cliche and two-dimensional characters? This is exactly how I feel. I know that the premise is great. It has potential to be something really awesome! But then the characters are all very annoying and the premise is wasted. What a tragedy really.

posted by Dia_Pelaez on June 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Plot/Setting: After the death of her mom Katie Greene moves

    Plot/Setting:




    After the death of her mom Katie Greene moves to Japan to live with her Aunt Diane who is a English teacher. All Katie wants is to go live with her Grandparents in Canada and escape Japan. However, all chances of returning to normalcy vanishes when she witnesses Yuuto Tomohiro break up with his girlfriend and sees one of his drawings moves.




    Ink is Amanda Sun's debut novel and a start to a new series called the 'Paper Gods'. It was an amazing book and I highly recommend it. The author steps out of a North American/or fictional setting and takes reader to a whole new country, writes about it culture, foods and the hardship Katie faces with language barriers and cultural differences. Readers are able to leave there comfort zone and embrace something new. I cannot think of one other book that focuses on someone from North America going to Japan.




    This paranormal-romance debut is unlike others in that Amanda Sun has skipped the norm (vampires, werewolves etc;) and brought to light Japanese mythology which I haven't seen present before in recent YA novels. This makes Ink stand out from others recently released in that genre.




    The book is fast paste and easy to understand. There is a Japanese glossary in the back to translate the Japanese words.




    The plot is well done and flows nicely throughout the book. However, I felt that there could of been more action involved.




    Characters:
    YA needs more asian boys :D Man...Tohomohiro is so sexy. Ever since I found out this novel was being released, thanks to Goodreads, I had been patiently awaiting it release date because a) I am moving to Japan this fall for University and b) sexy asian boy as the main love interest ^_^




    Katie: Katie is very much a brave, determined, curious and headstrong character. She is the type that runs towards danger without thinking it through. Also given with all her hardships (mother death, moving to foreign country, learning a new language) she does pretty well and does not give up. I did not find myself, as a reader, annoyed with Katie at all. I personally envied her and found her quite enjoyable as a protagonist. However, during the Love Hotel scene I wanted to shake her and say "connect the dots".




    Tomohiro: ^_^ He has got the whole "I'm in pain", bad-boy, confident and modest thing going on and I liked it. I really felt a lot of sympathy towards his character and there were times when I wanted to hug him, shake him and say 'your awesome' and then there were moments when I wanted to beat the crap out of him. However, Tomohiro always puts others above himself and that is enviable quality. However, I think he needs to be a bit more selfish and realize he is super awesome.




    Also bonus...my best friend (she is japanese) is in a relationship with a guy and for the life of me I could never remember his name. However, thanks to Ink I can since the first part of his, first name, is Tomo :D




    Jun: I am conflicted at who I like more...Jun or Tomohiro.




    Yuki, Tanaka, Diane: the side characters were the best. Yuki and Tanaka cracked me up. Diane tries so hard to make Katie fit into her life in Japan. She also pushes Katie to cross new boundaries (learn a new language) and helps Katie develop  into a better person :D




    Yakuza: I hope we learn more about them in the next book ^_^




    Artwork:




    This a paperback book...and it has the most awesome artwork both on the cover and inside the book. Readers will be delighted to find flip art ^_^ I really wanted there to be more of that and hope the second book will have it as well.




    I am actually excited to see what the second book will look like.




    Also the book contains Q&A with the artists, the author , discussion questions and a sneak peak at Book #2. BTW when is book #2 coming out. I do not think I can wait a whole year haha !!




    Overall:




    This is definitely a book that everyone should be on the lookout for. I finished this a week ago and I am still replaying it in my head.




    The Author gets points for bringing something new to the paranormal romance genre, stepping outside of YA normal boundaries and making the readers starve to death as they read about all the delicious foods they are missing out on.




    Things I did not like: could of been more action, a little more physical descriptions of the characters and some of the places around them




    Thing I loved: all the characters, flip art, storyline, the japanese glossary, cover and the japanese mythology.




    This book definitely deserves 5 stars :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Okay so every since I first seen the cover of this book, I knew

    Okay so every since I first seen the cover of this book, I knew I was going to be reading it.  And then I got lucky enough to get a digital advanced copy of it and lets just say I woke the neighbors squeeing  as loud as I could.  
    I love how the cover of Ink looks a little like a tattoo (which is the first thing I thought of when I seen the title ) but it is very detailed and very intense with the vibrant colors.  
    And then I found out that the story was based on Japanese folklore/mythology and I was again squeeing like a ten year old girl.  I love mythology so much and I absolutely adore that this one is based on some lesser known mythologies.  
    But Ink was so much more than just a YA mythology book; it was more like a cultural explosion.  Amanda Sun incorporates everything Japanese in the story line so it feels like we are immersed in the society.  I loved how she included Japanese words in the story to help us become more acclimated to the whole cultural difference.  
    The way Amanda Sun sets up the world building and descriptions of the areas in Japan made me want to visit there in person so bad.  (Too bad I am so afraid of flying) She is very good with her descriptions and you can tell she truly has a passion for the community.




    Besides the setting, the characters are pretty intense too.  
    Katie is a very strong female heroine that definitely had me enthralled.  She thinks she isn't tough but I find that hard to believe.   Katie lost her mom and goes to live with her aunt in Japan.  She has learned so much and subconsciously finds she calls Japan home, while on the outside she battles with her acceptance of Japan.  
    Katie is very well at adapting and I think that what makes her such a strong character is her ability to adapt to her surroundings as well as the reality that surrounds her.  
    Then there is Tomo.  Oh Tomo.  What a snarky, brooding, artistic, gorgeous guy!  Tomo is an enigma indeed.  He has this tough guy exterior but we soon find out there is so much hiding in his many layers.  He has this amazing "old spirit" quality to him and the fact that he shares the same heartbreaking past as Katie has makes him that much more of a love interest.  
    There is so much going on in Ink that it is hard not to fall in love with this story.  You get a true romance, a strong female character, and a plot that surprises us with its many twists.  And to top it all off: Japanese mafia.  You really can't beat it.  
    Warning:  Every time I picked up the book and began to read I craved Japanese food.  You will too.  Probably.  If you are anything like me.  And don't feel bad Katie, I still can't use chopsticks either. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    AWESOME BOOK!

    This book is amazing! I highly reccomend it to tween and young adults!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A whole new world of adventure! Ok there are so many things abo

    A whole new world of adventure!

    Ok there are so many things about this book that I loved, but the first thing that caught my attention was the location, Japan! I love Japan and everything about it, but there aren’t that many YA books set in this place and the books that are tend to be based mainly in the past. The author gives us a glimpse into the contemporary Japan and using imagery and humor shows us many of the places and things that I would love to see for myself one day. I also loved how she was able to interweave a lot of the culture and mythology of Japan without making it seem like a history lesson.

    Then there was the paranormal aspect to the story. I really liked the unusual powers the characters had with Ink and trying to figure out exactly what it was and how it worked. There was a lot we learned about it, but just as many questions arose from it as well and I can’t wait to find out more in the next book.

    Katie is a really strong willed character and I really admired her spirit. I liked that although she made mistakes she still kept trying. Just like when she was trying to learn the language. At first she wasn’t that great at it and even though her friends didn’t mind speaking to her in English she chose to keep on trying and perfect her Japanese instead of just giving up. She is a fun character to get to know and a bit quirky at times too.

    Tomohiro was an interesting character and although I was a bit leery of him at first I really came to like him right along with Katie. He keeps to himself and for good reason, but once you get past that hard outer shell he really is a sweety and really funny. I love how he interacts with Katie and the way he sometimes teases her. It is so much fun to see them together. It was also great that he could also be so lighthearted and have a sense of humor about things given the situation he is in. I think he and Katie make a great team and I can’t wait to see more of them.

    I also loved Katie’s two friends Yuki and Tanaka. Yuki is one of her first friends and she is one of my favorites. She is always cheerful and a lot of fun to be around kind of likes Tanaka who is a bit of a goofball. I liked how supportive they were of Katie even when things got really weird. They are definitely the kind of people I would love to be friends with.

    Overall this is an exciting read with an imaginative new world that I am dying to read more of!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Awsome book

    I love this book read it in one night then turned around and read it agan if you like anime and manga this ones for you five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book! For it to be Sun's first book, she d

    I really enjoyed this book! For it to be Sun's first book, she did an exceptional job. I loved the way she intertwined a sweet and forbidden love story into the fascinating folklore of Japan. Even the way she described Japan was deliciously descriptive. Having knowledge from manga and anime, I say she pretty much nailed what Japan is really like. It felt like I was reading a manga but in novel form. 
    I so recommend this book!! I could not put this book down. This is the first time in a while that I have read a book for pleasure and actually finished it before a ridiculously long amount of time hehe I like to stick to reading fanfiction lol. But yes this book is amazing, plot wise and literary device wise!!
    The only criticism I could out out there is about the main character. I really disliked Katie. If I was her, I would have approached things very differently but I can't hate her for it because of her bravery throughout the story and the fact that I have never fallen in love with a hot Japanese boy yet unfortunately. 
    This book was amazing! Especially if you are an anime and manga fan. Great job, Sun!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    An AMAZING read!!

    I couldn't put it down. I strongly recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Loved it

    It was a fantastic book. In one night I had already gotten to the middle of the book it was so interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Harmonie

    My mom found out about th txting. I will b on a much as possible. But if i dissapper, tht meas they gavemy nook away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    S

    Madi?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    Ink shows Amanda Sun's knowledge of Japan, its culture and its l

    Ink shows Amanda Sun's knowledge of Japan, its culture and its legends, as well as her own sensitivity and I admit that I was pleasantly surprised by the depth of this story.
    Katie is in a foreign country, coping with her grief, trying to make friends and learn a new language. How can a reader not feel empathy for her? Moreso because we can see her efforts, particularly not to let her mother's death effect her day by day.
    Katie is drawn to Tomohiro because he is a loner too, and because she thinks she sees his ink drawings come to life, which naturally makes her curious about him.
    At points in the story Amanda Sun attempts to introduce a good versus evil plot but often the lines become blurred making it difficult to distinguish which side the character belongs to.
    Ink is an innovative and creative novel in which the fantasy world exists parallel to that of the human world. It seems that in particular the illusionary images and events are connected to the emotions of Tomohiro and Katie; they have both lost their mothers and Tomohiro's grief is exhibited as anger, which he encourages Katie to feel, and although Amanda Sun allow them to share a more sensitive side with each other in their relationship, the reader speculates which element of their personality will win.
    The reader is also in the privileged position of learning about Japanese history and the Kami (although Amanda Sun does not sound like a history teacher!!). I enjoyed the part when Katie and Yuki stay with Niichan in Miyajima, visiting the Itsutushima Shrine as I thought it just brought made the story more genuine.
    Although I could probably carry on for pages about this book I wouldn't want a loooooonnnnngggg review to stop you from reading a clever and amazing book! Oh, the plot isn't straightforward so expect a few surprises thrown in there :-)! Definitely one I recommend you read NOW!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Jordan

    Mhm. Last question... If you were boosted to manager, how would you run the shop?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Be still, my little fangirl heart!

    Came across this book by accident, and as an avid manga fan, i was beyond ecstatic! A must-read for fans of Japanese culture!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Ink

    Loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    EXCELLENT

    I can not wait for the next one. The prequel is a must read as it adds so much to the story. Very good story and well written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The beauty of INK is subtle and seductive, from the cover to the

    The beauty of INK is subtle and seductive, from the cover to the conclusion.

    It didn't take me long to get into this one. The cover is luscious and, really, how can you not be drawn (Snicker. See what I did there?) to a story set in Japan that promises you "Paper Gods."

    Sun creates great characters here, each nuanced and realistic. Katie is a strong female character while still being a teenage girl who gets lost sometimes between her heart and her head. Tomohiro is cute and broody but Sun never asks Katie or the reader to abandon all sense and fall in love with the guy just because he's cute and broody and a little bit dangerous, consequences be damned. And yet the characters are not mini-adults, making choices and viewing things through an over-mature lens.

    The best part of the novel for me was being taken to Japan to experience a place I'd never been and live among a different culture for a while. My copy of INK has a glossary in the back. It's a testament to Sun's skill that I didn't realize that until the end. In spite of the fact that she doesn't whitewash or English-ize the setting and characters, she unfolded the world like one of the flowers on the book's cover, slowly revealing the whole without swamping you with too much detail all at once and sending you looking for a list of definitions and explanations. You can't ask for better than that in a multicultural novel.

    It felt less like a fantasy book than I expected, which is funny, because the fantasy element is completely intrinsic to the plot and is part of the whole from the first pages. I could see non-fantasy YA readers enjoying this one as well. Though if you're looking for a fantasy read for the lost-in-Narnia feel, this isn't where you'll find it.

    A great debut and thoroughly satisfying story for any YA reader. The multicultural elements really put it above and beyond and make this one you'll remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1